Miata fighter – 2010 BMW Z2?

bmw_z2.jpg

While the small, cheap-ish and cheerful fun roadster market is currently being dominated by the Mazda MX-5 Miata and the Pontiac Solstice, Car and Driver magazine has news of a potential Miata killer by BMW called the Z2. Scheduled to be released by 2010, the new BMW Z2 will have the current Z4’s underpinings, and is expected to cost below US$30,000.

So wait awhile, and you’ll be spoiled for choice if you’re in the market for a fun roadster – an American, a Japanese or a German!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• myviRS (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 3:22 pm

don't like the rear angle view.. looks cheap! how's the real performance? could it fit massive 3.2 litres powerplant as what Hartge did to 1 series? can't wait to see that :)

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 4:43 pm

And despite all this, the Miata still is king…of the cheap and cheerful roadsters. Not the most powerful, definately not the most beautiful, not the cheapest, not the best handler, but somehow manages to get most things right in balance. It's still the only one that offers either a soft top or retractable hard top.

While looking amazing, the Soltice and its sister, the Saturn Sky sacrifices utility with a non existant boot.

We'll have to see if the Z2 will dethrone the "king". However, just as every other manufacturer tries to dethrone the 3 Series as the entry level sports sedan (and usually fails badly), it would be tough to do the same for the Miata. 17 years running and still the favourite.

Knowing its German, probably dictates that it will be another overly complicated roadster.

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 5:09 pm

I like what I see in the picture, the car should look interesting! In terms of practicality, I think this BMW will lose out; the short rear makes it difficult to provide ample storage space, but they can probably make up for it by making it wider.

• drM (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 7:11 pm

Miata's capacity is what..ermm 1.6? 2.0? well, to enter an unfamiliar territory king-ed by the Jap sport rocket would bring the best out of BMW although I still struggle to figure out the strategy to be use in dethroning the best selling car in the world!

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 8:28 pm

only the letter "M" and "X"is properly used by the bmw. Z is simply %@$^

NOT a proper retro…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 9:11 pm

uurrrgghh…mbe good in term of driving dynamic…but..the dsg….uuuurrrrggghh…

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 11:55 pm

well, if it were someone who could compete with mazda in this class then it would have to be bmw rather than pontiac.

under 30k usd might still be expensive. but i expect it to be a close one but i dont think they can dethrone mazda on thier first try.

you'll be amazed at the number of driving instructors who own a mazda mx5 or miata ad recommend (to buy) it over other sports car.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 12:30 am

just wonder how BMW reintrodude MINI sucessfully,

something must be wrong here,

GO BACK to history find the best model to REVIVE, keep the essense of the old, reinteprate it without too OVERSPICED

dont have look like a recent BM, chop chop, there u go, …………retro.

dump a rocket power engine and go tail happy,

this Z is simply an "F" (failed…………)

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 7:19 am

yes, I agree this looks like BMW trying to experiment into cheap market teritory without being cheap.They are relying too much on brand power. The failure can be seen in the 1 series which is meant as a stepping stone. I think 80% of the car price is the badge, while the rest is the car.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 9:21 am

Err…somebody was complaining about boot space? Hahahahha! I am sure you will never find the Elise appealing then! Hahahaha! Stick to your Myvi dude.

Trust me, with a Bimmer badge stuck to it, the car will not be difficult to sell.

Miata to me is still the king because it is already coined as one of the best modern car it is. Simple and very basic, it gives you tonnes of fun without forking much. Even a used Miata is still cheap to maintain here in Malaysia.

• szw (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 3:54 am

seriously , is bm building dis ?

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 10:41 am

OOo..Interesting..But i think It will just stay as a potential miata killer.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 4:04 pm

This might do better than the 1-series… if it doesn't cost more than a 320i.

• Hikaru (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 10:05 pm

I like Mr Chrisbangle's attitude to the car and those who need space buy a Naza Kia or something! Don't get offended but the truth is ppl who buy Miata/MX-5 or this new 2-series would be looking at a second car and would probably have a big saloon/MPV to ferry the family around.

Anyway I for one am excited that BM is putting the cheap back into fun (well i hope the car is not rubbish but BM cars are hardly and they sell is cheap!). I would be really considering this car if they ever put it into product and if i am in a foreign country. Reality strikes and i find myself in Boleh Land, so it's back to the potongs.