Sport Concept CR-V by Honda at SEMA

crvsport1.jpg

Since we can’t do much about the new 2007 Honda CR-V‘s quirky D pillar and it’s smiley grille at the front end, we might as well deck it out in some nice kits to see if it does the SUV some good.

Painted in a color called Agile Blue, the Sport Concept CR-V shown at the 2006 SEMA Show features new front and rear bumpers along with a sports suspension which also gives the CR-V a lower ride. Wheel arches are filled up with 19 inch wheels wrapped with 245/45/R19 Bridgestone Potenza tyres.

On the interior, you get new sports fabric seats with blue custom stitching, with the same stitching on the steering wheel and shift knob to match. Is the new 2007 Honda CR-V’s design growing on you yet?

More photos after the jump.

crvsport2.jpg

crvsport3.jpg

crvsport4.jpg

crvsport5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ChipS (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 12:53 am

I definitely Want THIS !! Yeah !

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 1:04 am

HONDA seemed in a state of P A N I C ! when design this.

• kody (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 1:24 am

wahlaueh….

This one definetely 'Chun', sporty & cool. but i wonder the performance…. :)

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 1:52 am

interesting 3/4 front view, smiley face is a potential TREND SETTER…..

overall …nice

• drM (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 1:54 am

this is all wrong! The old CRV is a proper vehicle for a young lady executive and looking all right on the appearance. And this NEW CRV is not the proper vehicle it used to be!

It is almost a 180degree make over from the proven/ traditional CRV. This is too bulky and fat, and I am assure you those young executive do not like fatty and bulky things that MUCH..

• bpkid (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 2:11 am

this cr-v looks better than its original stock form.

• Celicazz (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 2:24 am

uh ah? i see a smaller stavic here…

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 2:28 am

rear roof line does look like a stavic. i think the older models look so much more efficient design wise.. this new crv, seems bloated somehow.

• xg9 (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 2:58 am

i want one… dont care about the smiley face anymore… the backside is nice… looks like volvo v50 backside..

• normal_user (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 3:01 am

drM, why not fatter cars? fatter cars shows thay the owner's wallet is fat too. lol

just look at the previous camry & corolla. totally fat like ikan buntal. but many people still proud to drive em. at least they can scare those 'thin cars' out of the way on the freeway.

• kakimotor (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 3:53 am

I hate this Japs they always left the best for themself. Like this CRV they got the Mugen tuned CRV Roadster much meaner than the USDM one. USDM Honda lool lame compare with JDM Honda. Check it out guys!

http://www.mugen-power.com/street/CR-V/introducti…

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 4:06 am

I knew I hated the Kyron for the front grill design and Honda went and copied it.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 4:28 am

Now this is what a SUV should be, nice bodykits, nice wheels, nice paint, and with the combination of great interior, this CR-V is PERFECT!!!!!!

Don't make it a dumb concept, roll it out for production version!!!!

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 5:01 am

2007 CR-V (stock) takes time look over and over again, slap on face once or twice,

D A M N !!!! it GENUINE beauty

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 5:49 am

Uh…no…that just doesn't look right…

• acbc (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 5:56 am

OMG! Stavic + RAV4 mutant! Yucks!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 6:06 am

Don't you think Honda should do something about the D-pillar and the front end before even thinking about producing the new CR-V? Let alone designing some barmy bodykit…heheh… :P

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 6:42 am

unlike the previous crv..wil never like the shape of this this generation one…no matter wat bodykit u put on..it wont hide the fact that its a Kyron…its hideous…wish thy have a bodykit here for the current crv….

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 6:54 am

Oh my goodness…must you mention the name "Kyron"? *PUKE*

• J (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 6:55 am

Now it looks nicer :)

I notice car makers thesedays like to come out with "Special Edition" of their mass production cars. Car accessaries shop is having less and less business thesedays. (How offen new car buyers now install new stereo system in their car thesedays ?)

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 7:00 am

this latest CRV is MANLY stuff!,

still like the old one?

macho man driving on old GIRLY model?,

NOO WAYYYYY!

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 7:31 am

Liked the original, liking this one!

• hctiu (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 8:05 am

WOW, engine upgraded !

Transmission also upgraded !

Front suspension still been using Mc Pherson Struts ?

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 8:18 am

THIS should be the stock CRV..

• floyd2006 (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 8:44 am

Ouchh!!! this is a smaller version of the Ssangyong Musso. Hate the musso…borrowed merc engine and spoilt the good name of the german.

The CRV has lost its curves and i think this will attract the guys more this time around. Still I dont fancy CRVs.

• shaif (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 5:36 pm

I still love the previous design which look blocky and sharp end. This roundish theme just put me off.

• RM (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 5:51 pm

It ain't a Comfortable Runabout Vehicle (CRV) no more. Don't know about the new power trains but hopefully its more brawn than bulk. New design is controversial but looks should grow over time. Brandname is key factor. After all the highly controversial looking 7-Series "tugboat" BMW, designed by Chris Bangle is now the best selling 7-series ever.

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 8:06 pm

somehow the absence of the spare wheel makes it seem a lot less macho… very girly and added with the back part of the roof

• alamak (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 8:37 pm

This new CRV looks good and does feel more macho than the previous ones. Should be a good city SUV..

• KL-ATR (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 8:40 pm

The front 3/4 view sure looks dumpy… but the kit beautify it. I think this new design is one of those that will grow on you.

• DtG (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 12:35 am

It definitely looks better than it was originally.most of its ugliness hidden by the modifications. however, the 1st 3 pics seem to remind me of the Avanza! maybe it's because of the colour and body length, and in the 2nd pic, the lights. seriously, if u look at it from far and pay very little attention to the details, it looks like an Avanza!

• DAN (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 3:19 am

not bad on it.

• szw (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 4:47 am

it looks better than standard crv , but its still ugly.

yucks !

• Supervixen1995 (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 3:15 pm

Why didn't you approve my comment?

• mohdazizee (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 12:15 am

front view like kembara with wide bodykit

• ian (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 1:51 am

I didn't like the "smile". I think the front bumper "smile" is reduced, then it'll look better. A simple fix with a bumper redesign.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 8:18 am

CANCELLED!———- buy PROTON (germanic one)

• familyman (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 6:51 pm

looks like a morphed version of honda stream…