Lexus teases us with Lexus IS-F rear end

lexusisfteaser.jpgLexus released this teaser image of their upcoming BMW M3 competitor, the Lexus IS-F, which will be the first model in it’s new F range of performance tuned vehicles. The Lexus IS-F is expected to have either a 4.6 litre V8 or a new 5.0 litre V8 making close to 400 horsepower.

I like the color that they used for the teaser images, it’s a very nice hue of blue like the ones we get as an option on the Toyota Avanza locally, but the vertically stacked exhaust pipes are just too weird for my tastes. Though only one side of the rear is shown, it’s probably going to be quad exhaust pipes, with a similiar design mirrored on the other side. How strange for conservative Toyota/Lexus to pull off design stunts of this sort.

You can also see how they are positioning the new F logo of their performance division, placed next to the IS logo on the rear boot, styled in a nice chrome. More updates as Lexus releases more information on the new Lexus IS-F. Word is that there will be a real life show of the car at the 2007 Detroit Motor Show.

Lexus M3 competitor to be called Lexus IS-F
Lexus IS500 Preview

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 11:02 pm

I like the stacked exhaust, it looks outstanding among the side-by-side quad pipes.

• Nemo (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 11:06 pm

Wondering why "F", no class leh. What do you think if someone say "Hey, you see the "F" car has just passing by"

• pinoybeho (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 11:24 pm

There goes a design concept of toyota again – copying the rear configuration of a bmw. Yet those japanese complain about design infringement by the new breed of chinese. Y don't the japanese maintain design studios instead of industrial spies and come up with a new trend of being unique and functional and lead the world automakers in auto design? Soon the chinese will establish its own world market and compete among fellow chinese leaving the japanese and koreans out in the cold. Will the IS-F be called an Altezza again? Altezza, by the way, is far more efficient as it uses a 4 cyl. to produce 200PS while the American version IS200 uses a 6 cylinder engine.

• transformer (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:01 am

eeee…… yuks!

• transformer (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:03 am

F=Fun ?

F=Fast ?

F=Fierce ?

F=Furious ?

F=Fools ?

• layman (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:10 am

Another good try from Toyota. The 'F' just does not sound/look right.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:11 am

stack exhaust starts to look INTERESTING,

• layman (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:21 am

Stacked exhaust is not good enough, if the exhaust pipes design to place in the roof, that is visionary. Motorcycle has done that years ago.

• legacy88 (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:43 am

Now everyone copying everyone, what is the big matter about it? I think Lexus design is rather good now, especially the new IS.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 1:16 am

unique…

• shaun (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 2:03 am

Each company gets their styling cues from each other there's no denying that fact. Extra points for BMW though for leading the styling pack.

Honestly to me if this Lexus resembles a BMW then that's great for me but not so great for BMW owners haha.

I think the stacked exhausts look interesting but not enough of a design marvel for me to go 'wow'.

I quite like the IS-F name. Sounds like a name for some sort of fighter jet.

• bugbear (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 2:05 am

yea… indeed, there muz be reason, why they named it as "F"

do anyone here know what is it?

• BobMarley (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 5:20 am

I read somewhere that the "F" simply stands for Fast. I think toyota/lexus is just trying to set themselves apart from the common "GT" and "GTS" badges that everyone else uses.

• maxtek (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 8:20 am

Come to think of it, I'd say that Lexus has a far better quality offering compared to BMW and Merc… The only thing is Branding… A lotta people think that Jap car technology is just somewhere behind… I read an article in Autocar Asean last month, saying that Lexus is actually coming back to Malaysia, similar to what VW did… You go Lexus…

• king (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 8:47 am

spot on…..lexus is only a toyota with a branded badge.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 3:33 pm

aiyoh… u guys are a hard lot to please… if put exhaust middle, copy Mini.. if put side, why no dual or quad exhaust….

so wht i think of the exhaust above? its abit weird, but it looks damn garang! its a look tht will definately grow on u… see lar.. slowly others will do it too.. kudos to toyota for the originality!

but errr… why "F"??? and the logo damn lame one… well as long as its performance is good with a capital F!

• kington (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 4:03 pm

Toyota has several design studios in the world, with the Calty Research Centre in California being its main art house. Those of you who pinpoint Toyotas and Lexae cars as copy cats for designs from BMW and other manufacturers are wrong. In fact their designs have always been an evolutionary process; trace the looks of the first batch of Lexae and see the process for your self. Even Proton now has developed a family look for its subsequent models to adapt to.

In terms of quality, Lexus and Toyota are very much top of the world. Not because they make their cars with craftsmen like in Aston Martin, Bentley and Rolls Royce, but considering that their operations and manufacturing facilities are sophisticatedly automated, what they have achieved in minimising production faults, lowering costs and on-time delivery is indeed a feet no other manufacturere on earth could match. As pointed out by several international analysts 2 years ago, Toyota was the world's richest manufacturer, being able to buy out the entire Ford Group (world no.3) in CASH and with their success continuing to escalate, the rest i believe, you can certainly predict.

I've driven the first IS200 with the 6 speed manual box and though the car lacked low rev torque, it behaved significantly well and on the PLUS highway, 200km/h was done in sublime fashion; cool, calm and collected they might say, and if i was given the blind folded test, i would have thought it was a Teutonic Beemer or a Merc.

• cyber (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 7:16 pm

Well, Honda is famous with the Type 'R'. So now Toyota wanted to promote their type 'F'….

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 7:30 pm

agree with Kington fully…. Lexus cars arent copies of BMWs… Lexus definately have their own family look..

If this IS200 was just released and if they were to remove all d badges and ask pplz wat car this is… i'd bet everyone into cars will knw immediately its a Lexus…

• layman (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 7:55 pm

shaun said,

December 7, 2006 @ 6:03 pm

Honestly to me if this Lexus resembles a BMW then that’s great for me.

———————————————————–

This is the biggest problem, why pay so much money and still feel that your car resembles another car.

• AmiR (Member) on Dec 10, 2006 at 9:14 pm

did they just said the "F" word?

• Deodorant (Member) on Dec 10, 2006 at 11:23 pm

I'm sorry, but I think that exhaust pipes look like crap.