Rumours of VW winning Proton bid

XinHua Finance (XFN Asia) says an industry source informed it that Volkswagen AG has signed an agreement to buy a substantial stake in the manufacturing arm of Malaysia’s Proton Holdings Bhd. The stake involved is the rumoured 51%, and an announcement is expected to be made on Feb 8. This syndicated news report caused Proton shares to surge 90 sen to close at a price of RM7.75, more than 13 percent higher. This proves to be an instant win for shareholders like the EPF which recently increased it’s stakeholding in the national car manufacturer.

In response to this, Proton issued a statement saying it could not confirm this report and it was purely a shareholder’s matter. It said to wait for the government’s announcement before the end of Q1 2007. The PM also spoke regarding this issue, saying he did not want to comment as the matter was still under negotation.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• normal_user (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 3:37 pm

Sometimes speculators create rumours to hike the market price & fill the pockets of the privileged few. But, I hope this rumour is true. Just have to wait and see. VW is the best 'parent' to groom up Proton compared to other candidates.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 4:12 pm

Not very interesting, as EXPECTED lah! As we all discussed before, because this is the choice OUT OF no choice mah.

Sigh.

• motorhead (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 5:25 pm

Better than china partners la.. but how soon we can start to have VW here?? 2-3 years more ka?? talk only more than 1 year oredi… VW or what, i wish our market wud be more open, so ppl can choose… if continue like this, apa pun tak guna, kita terus jadi mereka punya lembu…

• Infinitt (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 5:39 pm

VW is the best partner so far. All the best Proton – VW !

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 5:48 pm

So.. we should be seeing a Passat rebadged as a Perdana soon eh?

• mattyboy (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 6:14 pm

Does anybody smell INSIDER TRADING?? I don't for one moment believe that the investment committee "guessed" the timing of this confirmation.

Coming from a related industry, if I acted to buy shares on non-publisised information I would be looking at 10 years prision!!

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 7:05 pm

the VW/Proton news are not just speculation created as rumours to hike up the stocks. the news were back up by the German government and German Chamber of Commerce and Industry (GCC) for pushing the partnership since late last year. not suprising after all…

i don't understand the hype of malaysian seeing VW is a better partner for Proton. is it really VW quality is so superior than we think?

check out this report: http://used-cars.autos.yahoo.com/consumerreports/…

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 10:00 pm

Well, the Golf GTi is nt in the worst used car, so I like it!!!

• transformer (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 11:01 pm

as far as it goes, still VW is the most popular suitors

hope VW could improve P1…

if i'm not wrong, VW had revived SEAT & SKODA before…

lets keep our finger crossed!

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 11:29 pm

VW or not Proton should improve… if still the same then no point… ahh.. Golf :)

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 2:34 am

proton give me a good car very soon la

if not i buy renault kangoo turbodisel
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/articl…

• ICER (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 4:03 am

Hope the Proton management System will be change if VW got 51%!

If not Proton still Potong!

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 5:02 am

i wonder what omnicp is true,

reliable? seemed that toyota honda on the top list and today honda

any way ,toyota honda nissan …bla bla japanese, relable i agree, i use to drive honda clocking 190k km ,no problem with its engine at all, apart from abs false signal pulsating at a wrong time, but braking still good.

vw never on the chart, perhaps its not a problem with european because car are cheap, less then 10 years old -go for a scrap already, ..but here, once bought it, sometime will go for 10 years or more, ,,,swaping car is so expensive, more if type of car with high depreciatetion, well RELIABILITY that makes the good second value ,which makes downpayment for the next car, if bad second value (less reliable car), no chance to change car, stuck with balance, stuck with high mantainence, or next car go smaller with 2 loan intallment,

may be,

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 5:03 am

I just hope that after merger gov goes AFTA fully. No more outrageous prices

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 8:10 am

rumours…. another rumour.

This issue is like as Mawi Ikin news from the stupid Mangga magazine. Jellyfish Juwie said this, they denied, even if Paklah said that, they denied.

Proton is like a spinster that full of controversy news.

By the way, i'll interesting if it's a fact. VolksProton.

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 8:13 am

did y'all get it?

proton need som1 to teach em how2 design better looking car n interior styling!!

hahahahhahahahaha

from wot i remember passat could b the 1st model assembled in proton plant if they get this deal done.

i'll be driving proton GOLF gt nx year,woohooo!!!

nah……bulak jak bah

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 12:08 pm

Is that mean cheaper car price in near future, is not how VW can export the car to thailand and indonesia…

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 12:09 pm

Is that means cheaper car in near future? If not, how VW can export their car to other Asean countries…

• dzat46 (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 2:23 pm

Hopefully ths deal btw VW&Potong will go thru…..Proton/VW Polo Diesel for RM30K??…hopefully more small diesel car from VW/Ptn will be available…..can save $$$ on fuel cost

• 1NZFE (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 4:52 pm

I think all VW cars will b cheaper in Malaysia coz all VW cars will CKD in Tanjung Malim plant. Then, VW will export their car to other ASEAN countries….. I didn't think there will b any rebadge car here. I think VW will teach n assist Proton how 2 design a better looking car like their son, Skoda.

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 5:21 pm

if vw ,
    if wanna go cheap, every parts should be made in malaysia, means sach, bosch, behr, what ever component originally germany that made the whole car should be made here,

like old beetle made in brazil, suprisingly you can buy bumper , carburator, side mirror ,made in brasil, and suprisingly affordable parts avilable even here,

but still remain a question..
    how many percent vw become proton,
    what happen to proton platforms
    what about campro,
    JEMPA

afta

——–??

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 12:00 am

VW is rubbish ler……..

Proton takeover with Perodua then merger with UMW Toyota……….superb deal………..

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 12:03 am

VW as a partner is not so nice ler……….

P1 takeover P2 then merger with UMW Toyota……..

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 6:14 am

well…you problably wont get any vw cars but a whole load of proton cars all over again.

instead of just dying.