Proton shares dip on government denial of Volkswagen winning Proton bid

Proton shares dipped 40 sen to RM7.35 after the government denied any conclusion to the Proton-Volkswagen talks. Before the rumour reported by XinHua Finance, share prices was RM6.85, then it surged 90 sen to RM7.75, more than 13 percent higher. Although the final share price was not as high as it was as it’s peak during the rumour, Proton shareholders still benefited from a higher than before price, an increase of 50 sen per share.

In other Proton news, Proton Holdings Bhd has made a move to acquire the remaining 49 percent of shares in it’s Indonesian unit, PT Proton Tracoma from Tracoma Holdings Bhd. The stake transfer benefited both parties as Proton wanted more control over the Indonesian company and Tracoma wanted to streamline it’s business. The transaction will complete by Q2 2007 and will involve RM35.5 million. PT Proton Tracoma reported a net loss of RM5.41 million for the financial period of between April 1 to Dec 31 2006. Also, PT Proton Tracoma has liabilities owed to non-trade creditors and provision of taxation of about RM8.77 million ringgit.

The rumoured announcement date is February 8 2007, that’s another 8 days more. Let’s wait and see if what XinHua Finance reported is true.

Rumours of VW winning Proton bid

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 10:30 am

malaysian style market,..lah

anyway for me tie up is affirmative,

under a new boss, proton have to work hard putting some innovatios to its product in order to compete with others,

right of way from vw dealership or outlet simply is an opportunity,

well let see,

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz..z..z z z

• normal_user (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 3:45 pm

I wonder how come a report from a not well known financial news provider can spark wide speculation in the local stock market. Its not weird if its from thomson, WSJ, bloomberg or FT. Somebody in Xinhua perhaps want to get easy bucks.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 4:29 pm

What's next? Start a rumour that Toyota is buying a stake, then denying it again. Too many speculations out there, but for now, Proton is still a Proton to me.

• Matthew Seleigh (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 4:38 pm

Paul, the rumoured announcement date of 8 Feburary is just that – a rumour. Look for the official release closer to March, if not in March, closer to the new financial year.

Until then I am certain the speculators and those with a personal stake (such as one 'clever' local who will take home RM2000 per VolksProton if the deal goes through) will continue to pour petrol on the coals with fiction provide to the press as truth.

MS

• Tracks (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 4:47 pm

They speculate to drive the share prices up obviously but also to drive down as well. That way, the old folks at P1 would have benefit easily in order to gather a hefty retirement fund. If not, once the new management take control many of these old folks would be left out or kick out. They got one more month or less to play around before they are forced to retire gracefully.

• Tracks (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 4:55 pm

"In other Proton news, Proton Holdings Bhd has made a move to acquire the remaining 49 percent of shares in it’s Indonesian unit, PT Proton Tracoma from Tracoma Holdings Bhd. The stake transfer benefited both parties as Proton wanted more control over the Indonesian company and Tracoma wanted to streamline it’s business."

Yeah right they need to buy all the shares just to have control over a company. Does that sounds right to anybody in the corporate world. What the above means is that Tracoma who is dying now want P1 to absord all the loss for the mistake that they made together since P1 is a GLC with funding from the rakyat and Tracoma is not.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 5:52 pm

Ooops…………. another trick for share price speculation. Proton is selling like hotcake now, everyone seems want to take over Proton…. but not for me. hehehe……

• kandasami_bin_chong (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 6:07 pm

why speculate la?, i'm sure we have PROTON fellas in this forum what… they will be more than willing to share what's happening here.

• stupe (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 6:35 pm

i thought if VW buy over, their stock would increase…hehehe…shows the level of confident the shareholder has with this merger…not entirely sure who would be the bigger loser, Proton, or VW.

• gonggok (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 6:37 pm

I think it's a done deal, after all nobody from the Govt is going to say 'yes were selling to VW' when the PM himself said 'I will be the ONE announcing it'….

• gonggok (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 6:41 pm

I think it's a done deal. After all no one from the Govt is going to say 'yes we have decided to sell to VW' when the PM himself has said the HE will the one announcing it…

Career suicide anyone?

• ben_g_khorkhor (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 7:12 pm

IMHO,i dont think this VW deal will materialse. All along its just ploy to speculate Proton's share in the open market.No concern over proper planning or long term plans to improve the current state of Proton.

i have accepted the fact that as long it remains political entity, Proton will not be transparent and those who are running the company on a daily basis have to just kowtow to the invisible forces behind.

Me being just an ordinary Malaysian not at all concern who Proton's future partner would be as if wont benefit me directly anyway. Do Proton show any sort of appreciation for any kind of support from the general public?

I doubt it. May be they can be more transparent in their dealings if it is said to be a national project and its the pride of all Malaysians.

For me its just another GLC toy of cronies. Malaysia lu paling Boleh!

• motorhead (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 8:31 pm

Damn… what can i say.. i wish i can use the worst vulgar word here…. it seems that denial has become their habits especially the gov.. they simply can deny this, deny that,… and we have no idea what is really goin on… well, only one thing for sure.. only shits goin on in the whole country.. & make me sick… i am really sick of it…

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 11:15 pm

If you are sick, go to hospital…………IF not, leave the country……..apa beza…???

Hehehe…….this blog is about motors/auto/CBUs/CKDs etc……..if u r sick with the G, do something about it………..u r just the minority!!!!

Long Live Paul Tan for this enticing blog…………..yummy yummy………

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 4:00 am

i just hope all the pariah behind the scene will not get what they want from this whole soap drama.

• mits27 (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 7:11 am

Don't care, I only care when we can get cheaper price, I hope I am not dreaming…useless gov…

• shooter (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 8:57 am

i said this once and i'll say it again, the fat cats at Proton have no business in the car business. regardless of who would be with Proton, the net result should be quality products that meet market demands at reasonable prices. Paul, if you could just not post anything about Proton untill its run by the Germans and produce products of real substance and compete without any protection from the the G, that would be very nice, because I sakit hati la tengok U punya blog space wasted on something so insignificant.

• ben_g_khorkhor (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 9:02 am

Sure, if motorhead had realise he/she was sick,he/she will definately find a remedy to it.

Its just funny and that some people just dont realise that they have been sick all along. realising a problem is one thing, taking steps to solve is another.

Oh, yeah indeed its a automotive blog….which is why "minorities" in all levels of society sectors can relate to blogs. back in time, certain groups were also minorities but now the masses have to be mindful of what they say and do in order not to offend these group of people.

Actually ada beza…kalau negara yang saya cintai ditimpa masalah, tindakkan yg wajar ialah untuk pikir apa yang patut dibuat utk menyelesaikan masalah itu..oleh itu, leaving the country is an option only cowards would consider.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 4:28 pm

hameed koyakuti said,

If you are sick, go to hospital…………IF not, leave the country……..apa beza…???

Hehehe…….this blog is about motors/auto/CBUs/CKDs etc……..if u r sick with the G, do something about it………..u r just the minority!!!!

————————

He is not minority, but he is just one of "silence majority" speaking out in Paul Tan blog. These "sickness syndrome" are to a certain extent, diretly come from high petrol price and NAP patriotic Tax, lousy quality P1 cars or the like that mostly originated from auto industry and initiate by crocs, cronies, etc in the G.

Our hospitals do not have sufficient resources or doctor to attend to this type of "sickness". Or to be more accurately "diagnose" your interpretation on Motorhead statement, you quote out of context his meaning on "sick". His meaning of "sickness" is more on dissatisfaction, unhappiness and anti P1 sentiment that very obvious and prevalent among car customers on G's NAP

and P1. And this dissatisfaction, unhappiness and anti sentiment isfairly to say is not categories "medical syndrome" that need doctor attention and healing. This sickness is more to do with social and right of customers for good quality and reasonably price car that being rob by crocs and cronies under NAP.

So, anything to do about leave this country? Despite claimed "…….this blog is about motors/auto/CBUs/CKDs etc…….." but make very funny and low class cheap talking by relate it to migration?

Ask you one more funny question? Is "leave this country" is the medecine to Motorhead's "sickness"? Ha, ha, ha, a lot of self contradictory cheap talk come out when someone don't use their shit-head!

So here, another "silence majority" joint the bandwagon and speak out pertaining to the above "sickness"! There are 2 options, we can choose 1 or both to overcome this sickness.

1. What G need to do – "Demand" G dismantle the NAP and STOP using tax payer money to support P1 (including "play-play" in share market) as well as "force" cusumers buying relatively low quality, high price yet unsafe Milo tin on the wheel that make consumer life "cheap-cheap" (i.e. "nyawa-nyawa ikan") on the public roads including toll highway! (suck rakyat money from every corner).

2. What consumers need to do – STOP THE BUYING – STOP THE SUCKING!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 4:32 pm

" ….. someone don’t use their shit-head!…" shall be read as "….. someone don’t use their brain but use shit-head!…"

• motorhead (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 7:51 pm

Thx guys.. esp ben_g_khorkhor, joe & frens….

it seems that this shit head is the minority here… who r u ask me to leave the country??.. if that so, u may ask MB kelantan nik aziz to leave the country.. he is sick with the gov oso… may be more than me.. or u can ask Kit siang or Karpal singh to leave as well.. they all minorities ehh?? who the hell r u, hameed koyakuti ask ppl to leave the country??.. this country is not belong to BN!! how old r u?? r u stupid?.. if i feel sick with the news, what is ur problem??.. do u have any problem with me?? u r free to comment on the topic, u can say u r happy with it or love it, & i just won't give a damn about it… u like to mess with ppl, eh?? damn…

ps: Minorities??.. wait for next GE!! we'll see about that…

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Feb 02, 2007 at 8:02 am

I think we should not emphasize so much on the political issues here, although the future of the automotive industry lies to a certain degree on the hands of the policy makers.

What makes us think that a new gov will not do what the current gov does? Are we really ready for a drastic change in terms of who is the administrator of this bolehland?

Let's place more emphasis on car issues here, afterall this is a blog about cars.

Frankly most of us here want to see p1 over by VW, better still we don care about the fate of p1, just let us have the choice to buy a car without the !@#$%^& taxes and down with NAP. E.g. let us buy the camry 2.4 for about 90+K, the price in lanjawi.

• motorhead (Member) on Feb 02, 2007 at 5:11 pm

Unfortunately, our auto industry related closely with politic… and the politic is at the hands of those who r making profit of the policy, for their (family & friends) own interest…

ps: M'sia car policy = politics… got it?