All US cars must feature stability control by 2011

skidThe National Highway Traffic Safety Administration of the USA has now made stability control mandatory on all vehicles below 4535kg beginning September 2011. The September 2011 deadline applies for carmakers that produce over 5,000 cars a year – other manufacturers will be given more time to put the technology in.

So now stability control systems like DSC and VSA has joined the ranks of mandatory safety systems in all vehicles, airbags being one of them. This will indirectly make ABS mandatory, as stability control depends on the same functions as ABS to selectively activate brakes.

The NHTSA expects SUV rollovers to drop by 59%, and passenger cars to drop by 34% once the regulations are in effect, making stability control available on all cars. Of course, most manufacturers will include an option to disable stability control for some crazy driving opportunity in safe, controlled environments.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 11:56 am

we r stil "negotiating" if airbags should be a compulsory option….by the time we make Stabilty Control Mandatory,US and Europe Will Hav Rocket Lunchers as std accessories !

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 1:10 pm

While US has moved to Stabilty Control, we still have cars that sold without airbag… Seems like gov don't think malaysia life are important…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 4:25 pm

While the concept is noble, I can't help wonder if it will lead to more incompetant drivers…since cars now can basically "drive themselves" out of trouble……

I remember being tought proper braking techniques in slipery conditions by my late grandfather before we even had ABS.

It seems the only place you can learn proper driving is at these special advanced driving courses, which unfortunately not many can afford.

• seancheaw (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 4:51 pm

with some new cars you can buy today dated back to the technology of 20+ years ago, no airbag, no abs, 'fragile body shell', questionable crashworthiness, and the government is yet to made it compulsory to all new cars to be fitted with neccesary safety equipment, don't forget the way malaysian drive. MAY GOD BLESS ALL OF US THAT DON'T HAVE AIRBAG OR ABS.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 5:50 pm

With better technology in the car, I think the drivers will tend to be less skillful in the future since the car will compensate for most driver errors.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 9:10 pm

Don't take US as your reference, sometime their LAWS or REGULATION are only applied in the USA not for Global. Sometime is TOO CRAZY not practical to be followed.

For example, Dummy CRASH test regulation, Seat belt are not compulsory to be applied for these tests. As a result, Airbags supporting force and pressure requirement became severe until the childrens can be death. Not kidding you!

• sewell (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 11:44 pm

malaysia government wanted to makan more, malaysia car price is so expensive but provided with the most lausy parts. take a look proton in oversea, if convert back to ringgit the car is much more cheaper. oversea they pay less to get good thing, we is the other round.

• nmh (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 12:05 am

gov care more to mat rempit

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:50 am

haha, this mandatory in US by 2011, In malaysia will be discussed in 2051 :P

Now Euro 4/5 fuel, we only started Euro 2 LOL

• transformer (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 7:12 am

would only introduced here after P1 went busted!!!

coz when P1 don't have, rakyat don't have

but when P1 have, doesn't mean the rakyat also have! Sigh!

"passive" saves lifes….