W221 Mercedes-Benz S300L in Malaysia

S-Class 1

DaimlerChrysler Malaysia launched the latest variant of it’s W221 S-Class on Wednesday – the Mercedes Benz S300L, with the L denoting a long wheelbase model. The name S-Class is derived from the German word Sonderklasse, which means special class. And it is a car that will make you feel special indeed, as this S300L base model costs a cool RM639,888 on the road without insurance.

More details after the jump.

S-Class 2

The S300L model is likely the model that most S-class buyers would buy in Malaysia, judging from the amount of S280 models on the road from the previous generation. The S300L takes the place of the S280 in DCM’s S-Class model line-up here. It is powered by a Mercedes Benz 3.0 litre V6 engine with a high 11.3:1 compression, putting out 231 horsepower and 300Nm of torque from a low RPM of 2,500, maintaining that same twisting force all the way up to 5,000rpm – tell-tale signs of a very modern normally aspirated engine. This engine is mated to Mercedes Benz’s self-developed 7G-TRONIC transmission, offering you 7-gears with two of them being overdrive gears. Drag coefficient is 0.27, minimising wind noise as well as improving fuel efficiently through good aerodynamics.

Compared to the old S280, wheelbase has increased by 200mm, which benefits rear legroom, and boot capacity is now up to 560 litres – 60 litres larger. Despite all of the improvements, thanks to advancements in engine technology fuel consumption is now down by 17.9%. The S300L only consumes 9.9 litres per 100km according to DaimlerChrysler.

S-Class 3

Comfort is enhanced by AIRMATIC air suspension, which features an adaptive damping system. The ride is also self-levelling, which helps reduce any busy body roll feel when negotiating a winding road.

The interior is chock full of features worthy of a full-size E-segment limo. The driver can take control of the interior systems via LINGUATRONIC, an advanced voice recognition system with algorithms that take into account the minute nuances of human speech. It adjusts to the individual speaking style of the relevant user. For instance, in Germany, it can understand both high-German and local dialects. I wonder if it would understand “call boss lah!”, to let the driver use the in-car phone to call the boss.

S-Class 4

LINGUATRONIC can control all internal functions, including Mercedes Benz’s COMAND APS system, which is a GPS navigation system. In DCM’s release, it is mentioned that DaimlerChrysler will be issuing periodic updates of the maps every now and then as roads are not static, but I am not entirely sure if this applies to Malaysia as well.

Safety features comprise of PRO-SAFE, and ADAPTIVE BRAKES. PRO-SAFE is a system comprising of a few sub-systems – PERFORM-SAFE, PRE-SAFE, PASSIVE-SAFE and POST-SAFE. PERFORM-SAFE helps drivers to avoid hazards before they fully develop into potentially dangerous situations. This module of PRO-SAFE consists of bi-xenon headlamps with an active light function and a tyre pressure loss warning system.

S-Class 5

PRE-SAFE denotes anticipatory occupant protection. This Mercedes-Benz innovation uses sensors to take measurements from multiple points and performs pre-emptive action when it detects imminent danger. In the event of PRE-SAFE becoming active, the reversible seat-belt tensioner will be engaged, the front passenger seats will return to an upright position and all the windows will be closed automatically.

PASSIVE-SAFE encompasses the passive-safety aspects of the car; from the steering system with an integral deformation element and the front bumper with optimised stiffness and deformation paths to interior trim that is made of resilient materials and sensor pads that detect seat occupancy.

Finally, POST-SAFE is the final element of PRO-SAFE and is designed to minimise the risk of consequential damage in the event of an accident. POST-SAFE triggers automatic fuel cut-off, door unlocking and activation of the hazard warning lights. In addition, cutting points are also clearly marked out for rescue teams to expedite the process of rescuing passengers.

The W221 S300L goes for RM639,888.00 (on-the-road without insurance). DaimlerChrysler Malaysia already has 150 bookings on hand for the new S300L since it’s launch, and the company expects to exceed last year’s sales of 350 units for the S-Class. “They booked the car without even knowing the price or anything,” said DaimlerChrysler Malaysia Sdn Bhd vice-president (sales and marketing) Florian Mueller. DCM currently holds 73 percent market share for the high-end luxury cars segment.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 11:07 am

finally it has come to malaysia

the most luxury car in the world

and also the car with over 140 motors inside which 1 of them is the engine

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 11:22 am

just only launced? but there's so many already on our road! Naza ones?

• Paul Tan on Jun 07, 2007 at 11:33 am

those are the S350 and S500 models

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 1:23 pm

oh ya.. just checked, realised the lowest model b4 this was indeed S350… sorry Paul.. shall now go and write "I shall know all car happenings in Malaysia" on the blackboard 300 times.. hehe…

• cnc (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 1:30 pm

what a class; what a car!

• azrai (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 3:48 pm

Nissan Sentra face?

• kington (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 4:27 pm

Paul, is this a CKD model?

• Paul Tan on Jun 07, 2007 at 4:47 pm

yup

• ab (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 4:56 pm

i'll have one in black, debadged- i don't want people to know that boss is driving an entry level model

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:42 pm

Well i think this batch of S300L are design for Asian used.. since most Asian rich guy attitude is like this.. I want a big car with low FC, road tax and insurance! I have seen a lot of 2.0 Camry, Accord, S280 take away the logo just to hide that they are driving the entry level car… Anywayz just want to tell you rich guy that the interior and the exterior of the entry level will always the same, even u take away the logo we still know what ur car is… be honest urself and dont so shameful of ur car! LOL! S300L already seen in Singapore last year already…

• longjaafar (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:24 pm

Not anyone remove the logo to hide it's entry level status. Overseas, many opt not to have the logo. Thus, you may think it's a 520i whereas it's actually a 535d which will blow you away on the autobhan, in case you try to be funny.

In Malaysia it's different. People with a 1.8 Civic will change the logo to a 2.0. The 3 series had a 318 with a 2 litre engine and the local distributors made sure '2.0' logo is prominently installed beside the '318i' logo, just to differentiate it from earlier models that really had a 1.8 engine. Such are the 'needs' of our local motorists!

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:56 pm

Nice and classy. I like how they've kept the wooden trims to a minimum, only thing I don't like about this car is everything that's grey-colored on the steering. Cream interior would be nicer too, grey looks kinda gloomy to me.

• layman (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:34 pm

Will go for this car if I were a big 'taukeh'.

Nothing wrong with S300, as it is cost as high as S500 in oversea country I think.

• albagmane (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 9:21 pm

from the angle of the interior pic, the dashboard does look a bit similar to BMW…

• Jay (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 10:59 pm

COPY CAT . MERCEDES FINALLY WANTED AND DID COPY BMW'S 7 SERIES IN THE INTERIOR SEGMENT (2 DASHBOARD CURVE), I-DRIVE, REAR ARMREST WITH BUTTONS ON it etc. S300L gives out 231 hp whatlah …. 530i is much better 260 hp. The new S-class doesn't look that speacial to me…the previous one is better !

Even the mercedes ML class is a pure loser when compared to the Almighty BMW X5. ML's facelift sucks ! but new generation of the X5 fuhhhhyyoohh! miles ahead of ML in looks & technology !

Not all Mercedes are great….only some i presume….i personally love BMWs.

Viva …. BMW … loser Mercedes !

• layman (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 11:40 pm

Copy BMW ? No big deal, everybody is copying BMW, why not Mercedes. Look at Civic, Camry, Lexus, Rexton ….on…. and on….

But one funny thing is when BMW come up with new design, some people will scream ugly, and later when the copy cat is out, they will say it is very nice looking.

• arcana (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 11:59 pm

yeah, ure right about that torishimeyakuin…..those rich dudes aint got da time to understand all those techno crap in da car and not like they drive it most of the time to learn about it…..

to them its like buying another common car…..unless they’re buying maybach or bentley maybe RR, then they gotta learn a few things about it to brag to their wealthy friends on a golf trip ehh….

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 2:27 am

BMW and Mercedes..apparently this two benchmark setter in automotive world will resume to be on hail for thousands of years to come..that of course if the world would still lasts for that long.

Some say..

If you a man with big monies and you'd like to have a magnificent car to be chauffeured around while you sitting at the rear, then go for the 3-pointed star. But if you are the one who always like to get the feel of driving a luxurious magnificent car, then go for the Beemer…

As for me, hehe..i'll go for both….

• arcana (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 3:30 am

what a typical malaysian buying attitude…..book before knowin the price or info of the car…….sigh how desperate can we be

but i dont blame them for not knowing information…..there's too many gadgets to even learn….maybe they just know 1 thing….i'm buying a S class….good enuf, cant go wrong.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 4:34 am

#

arcana said,

June 7, 2007 @ 7:30 pm

what a typical malaysian buying attitude…..book before knowin the price or info of the car…….sigh how desperate can we be

but i dont blame them for not knowing information…..there’s too many gadgets to even learn….maybe they just know 1 thing….i’m buying a S class….good enuf, cant go wrong.

Haha..Arcana,

A man who is capable of buying this kind of car at the first place, really no need to know the price nor any sophisticated info that might come with it.

And rather than wasting much time on learning the unknown gadgets, they would spare the time on learning how to yield more bucks !!

Whether you like it or not, that's the reality. Isn't it a bad decision ? It is.. for such an ordinary layman, but for the big bosses, that's how they entertain and motivate themselves…playing around with the monies by buying high regarded luxury toys.

One more thing..the S-Class is targeted on specific group…literally for special high class people. Its name tells everything..Sonderklasse. For this kind of people, to know even 1 thing about car as simple as "i’m buying a S class" is sufficient since they know hundred of ways of how to make big monies..Buying a S-Class is just like to buy a big toy for them..So do they give a foot about what you were lamenting about ? I don't think so….

Furthermore…it's the S-Class boy…the high marque of Mercedes Benz flagship. I think not only Malaysian but almost the rest of world will go for it should they are multi-millionaires…of course beside the Beemers, Porsh, and the likes.

• szw (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 4:40 am

S350L is 1.2 mil ar ?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 5:09 am

I think new S350L is between RM800K-RM1milion.. The one u saw less price is either recon or secondhand cars from Japan or Europe…

• 8918 (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 5:19 am

This S300L is 640k,what make it the most luxurios car in the world?

The earlier version of S350(CBU) cost 1mil.

• shooter (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 6:28 pm

i'm not a big fan of limos, but i have to admit this new S class has a rather cool, undeniably German look, and if the manufacturer's figures are correct the fuel consumption is respectable indeed for a big Merc. they sure know how to build cars.

• wookie00 (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 11:45 pm

thing i hate about these cars on the road is that most of the time, the toakay with too much money to even enjoy these beauties are being chauffered.. the drivers themselves enjoy the ride. Often you see these buggers park by tall buildings or VIP space, with the V6 or V8 engine roaring into wasteful space… air con full blast taking a bloody nap. Jeez… aint' that a job.

• electron (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 1:18 am

If you look at the main/cover pic of the merc (3/4 angle), don't you think that the rims look fake/photoshopped? I noticed the same pic in the local papers and it looked like the rims look like a cut-and-paste job executed by a 7-year old for his first class project.

Strange, especially from Mercs' impeccable high standards. I would expect such oversight from proton..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 4:11 pm

how much will this cost…

• wiwatchang (Member) on Jun 20, 2007 at 8:36 pm

Just after test driving the S300L in Thailand we came to the conclusion that it's worse to drive than the S320CDi which cost THB 90,000 more (around RM 9,000) due to lower torque.

http://www.bangkokpost.com/080607_Motoring/08Jun2…

However, we then learned the CDi has been discontinued – much to our disappointment.

Is it the same case in Malaysia and Singapore?

• Does the Malaysian S300 have the same engine/performance as the UK/Europe S280?