Robert Kubica Crash at 2007 Canadian GP

Robert Kubica CrashIf you watched the Canadian GP during the weekend, I’m sure you’ll be talking about Robert Kubica’s crash during the race, when he made contact with Toyota’s Jarno Trulli on the approach to the hairpin. The impact basically destroyed the car’s nose cone and exposed Kubica’s legs to some possible major damage. However, I guess an angel was watching over him as he ended up unhurt and has been released from the hospital.

For those who did not see the crash, video after jump.

Related Crash Posts:
Joey Hand’s BMW M3 Crash
Luckiest biker ever crash video

Video: Robert Kubica Crash at 2007 Canadian GP

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 10:11 am

Among the worth crash in recent F1 races

Damn lucky Kubica escaped with no major injury

• AMDunFreak (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 11:14 am

all 3 tires gone…

he should suffer extreme g-force when impact with the wall…

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 11:17 am

10 years ago and Kubica would've been a dead man.. this crash is even worse than Senna's was.

Pretty impressive how the cabin actually held together, especially considering schumacher broke his leg in a slightly tamer crash with the wall some years back…

If that was a normal supercar, the driver would've been blown to pieces!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 11:18 am

oh and thank God for the HANS thingy, cos the way the car bounced about, he could've easily suffered sum potentially fatal neck injuries.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 12:51 pm

i saw the ting live n i was damn sure hes dead.but the moment the accident stoped,i saw his hands clearly moving to un-strap his helmet! like noting hapened! really amazing wat a strong rigid carbon fibre chasis can do to save live…. but again , hes definalty lucky…to to recap..he was driving exactly 283km/h wen he cliped jarno trulli n BANG! hiting a concrete wall at 283km/h….repeat after me !!

• ukexpat (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 1:17 pm

Sorry but there were no angels, it was not a miracle, his survival is just a result of the huge advances in safety that F1 has introduced in the past 10-15 years.

• antaras (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 4:03 pm

Thumbs up to F1 safety now but I would still think that Kubica is a bloody lucky guy. 00:08. How can anyone survive or not get injured at that moment. Tell me if that's not luck or what?!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 5:46 pm

Not so lucky Alex Zanardi who lost both legs in a crash! :(

• Ricc (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 5:49 pm

That's not lucky.. Thats wut F1 Safety team is all about.. Too promote safety..

And for e-nabilll, I watched the race, and I'm damn sure Kubica will not die.. Because the cockpit is still in piece. The only possible injury is his leg.. But F1 nose nowadays can hold of 20 tonnes? (correct me if I'm wrong) of impact from front as well as the sidepod.

HANS device really saved Kubica though. Remembered David Coulthard suffered more than 100G Force of impact, and he survived.. :-)

Good job and congratz to the F1 Safety Team, and.. some not related stuff below :-

* Max Mosley, please get the hell out of the FIA.. U're useless and ruining F1.. 10k rpm cant even beat Takumi's 86 that can run at 11k rpm.. :)

• narrowband (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 6:24 pm

He got a sprained ankle.

From official pictures, his feet were clearly visible from outside.

But that cockpit frame was really tough and coupled with the HANS, he survived with minor injuries.

The real dangers in F1 lies with the track marshalls. Their safety has been taken for granted for so long. In Monza few years ago one track marshall was hit by a flying tyre and died. The remedial actions (cables attached to each tyre so they won't detach in an event of accident) are not sufficient imho.

Other than that, it's interesting to note that Kubica's the same age as lewis, and are both rookies. Okok this post isnt about lewis…

• bmpower (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 6:53 pm

sigh.. laughing at loud for some bashers those still think " AIRBAG IS EVERYTHING" .

haha!.. viva? airbag? you must be kidding me!

• antaras (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 8:46 pm

bmpower, what are you suggesting? Are you saying that public should be using HANS device on their daily cars and why the hell is VIVA in this topic?! oh ya, airbag is not everything, it's better than NOTHING.

• iguanaa (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 10:17 pm

..well lady luck is with him for sure…but more importantly is how the advancement in safety features of F1 cars that actually saves his life!

..one of F1' team's most important task is R&D and find ways to transfer the technology and know-how they have developed during racing to our everyday ride…that is why manufacturers like Honda, Toyota and others are in the sport…

..as for the airbag issues…well I must agree wt antaras on this..it is better than nothing..but to be honest…if you rammed your car into a wall at 280kmp…no airbags in the world is going to safe you!…

• wmblade (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 11:18 pm

Bringing airbag into a F1 discussion is ridiculous.

& WTF with the GP crash has anything to do with Viva?

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 12:36 am

no sprained ankle or any minor injuries at all. he just suffered concussion for 20mins and minor bruises. these are official words from FIA doctors and Montreal hospital.

the strong monocoque saves him. FIA new stringent rules and test on safety and design played bigger role in terms of survival. the crash would not been so severe if the wall has been covered with tyre walls to absorb the crash. the montreal circuit faces investigation too for asphalt peeling off at the hairpin and several corners.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 6:14 am

thanks to F1 advanced technology..

• szw (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 6:17 am

a very bad crash.

but im really impress with the f1 technology .

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 7:27 am

Wow, that's a really really close call, he's extremely lucky to walk away from that unscathed.

• neurra (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 9:26 am

that's amazing.. looking at him bouncing his head around in the car.. no injury watsoever.. O.O'

• bmpower (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 5:41 pm

hahaha.. sorry.. i just remember.. some topic here.. regarding viva / myvi vs savvy.. they told, savvy got no airbag.. no safety.. and the savvy casis strenght is nothing.. that's why i laugh lah.

so.. airbag with soft body like myvi and viva or good strenght casis as savvy?

which one? ok.. you're basher.. never let the savvy to be good one la..

Hahaha hahaha

• antaras (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 11:52 pm

bmpower, you are posting in the wrong topic. This is about Kubica's crash at the Canadian GP. It's not about whatever savvy or viva airbag.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 4:09 am

at that night, i can see his head is moving left and right ridiculously at that moment. i thought he was dead. very lucky for him.

thanks to hans. now f1 is really safe.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 4:11 am

somemore now michael schumacher is working very hard to ensure the safety in f1 even after he was retired