Ford might sell Jaguar and Land Rover

xf1.jpg

The latest whispers being passed around dinner tables in the automotive industry are that Jaguar and Land Rover are currently on the table, and potential buyers are Fiat. It seems that talks started in February this year but ended last month, with no resolution. Sources say the talks were dropped because Fiat was concerned on how the Jaguar would affect Fiat’s credit rating. Fiat would have benefited from Jaguar’s rear wheel drive platforms if the sale had gone through.

With rumours of BMW being interested in Volvo, and most of Aston Martin shares recently being sold, it seems Ford Motor Co is looking to offload all of it’s Premier Automotive Group (PAG) brands.

PAG lost US$327 million before taxes last year, it’s third loss in a row for three years. Jaguar has lost the most money apparently, a total of between US$500 million to US$1 billion since 2001. Land Rover has gained traction recently though, pardon the pun :)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 1:53 am

Can any one tell me how much have P1 loss this year?

Close??

• szw (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 2:12 am

wah… such a nice car .

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 3:52 am

last year… for the nine months ended Dec. 31, Proton's loss 590.5 million ringgit (US$168.7 million, euro141 million)

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 4:03 am

wah!!!!!!!!!!!

kan ne! !@#$%^&*()_

loss almost 600million!!!!!!

dun waste our rakyat money la.

better close shop.

STOP THE BUYING. STOP THE SUCKING.

• nmh (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 5:00 am

jags and land rover 'balik kampung'…….own by european….i hope

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 5:35 am

hmm…i think they do that cos of the recent fall in sales……

• BW (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 6:02 am

Anyway Proton now cost few ringgit to buy the whole company is it? So that means if it cost RM5/-, and i wanna buy it, so i just take out RM5 out from my wallet to pay them and the whole company is mine liao la?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 6:12 am

wakaka! i also don know….still clueless about stocks……

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 6:16 am

I'm just glad that Aston Martin returned to UK in the hands of Prodrive.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 6:43 am

sudenly proton losses seem so small !

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 6:49 am

BM, say is easy take RM5 buy it.. but the RM600million debts you have to pay all… u tot that RM5 pay everything meh.. Anywayz Ford is losing it's touch becoz he cant concentrate on it own car.. Like what ppl say, If the leader is worst so be the rest of the company.. So now ford is selling all the foreign share to cut his loss and start to concentrate on its own car.. Anywayz i heard that the new ford mondeo got good quality review compare to rival Japanese car.. I like ford but his car value, mantainence and cost really kill me..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 7:51 am

The company that Ford should sell off is Ford itself.

To be precise, Ford US. Then remain with Ford UK, Ford AU, Volvo, Mazda, Land Rover and Ja….. argh….. make it this :

Buy Ford US and get Jaguar for free.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 7:53 pm

I agree with LittleFire85 as he/she said: Ford is losing it’s touch becoz he cant concentrate on it own car.. Like what ppl say, If the leader is worst so be the rest of the company.. So now ford is selling all the foreign share to cut his loss and start to concentrate on its own car.. Anywayz i heard that the new ford mondeo got good quality review compare to rival Japanese car.. I like ford but his car value, mantainence and cost really kill me..

—————————————————————————————-

The resell value of Ford is not good like in Malaysia. That's why, Ford is not popular compare to Japanese cars the resell value are much higher. In the recent JD Power US survey, Ford won four quality awards which I think might help its reputations. At least they are working hard to improve their cars. Toyota dropped behind Honda as there were few embarrasing recall of their cars recently. May I know what happened to Toyota's QC? Recently Toyota has been announsed as top car manufacturer in the world as it surpassed GM. – Correct me if I'm wrong.

Is that true Ford going to sell Volvo too? It is only a rumours, right… for now? Haha…. recently so many car manufacturers are selling to other parties… Aston Martin, Chrysler, Land Rover, Jaguar etc…. Proton. Well, don't want to see one of them close factory including Proton. Hopefully, VW is buying it.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 10:03 pm

HOPEFULLY…………FORD LOSSES BILLIONS COMPARE TO P1……..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 17, 2007 at 2:55 am

what other brands make of the PAG thing? Land rover and Aston finally made money and still offloading it? I understand offloading either aston/jag as its just a copycat but both I am not sure…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 17, 2007 at 2:58 am

in our country ford is nt doin well…coz our dealer here brings a rubbish ford…they shud bring s-max,c-max,mondeo etc….

• transformer (Member) on Jun 17, 2007 at 5:50 pm

would be interesting if BMW get Volvo out of Ford hands….

Volvo are known for its safety and Turbo charged engine..

Guess how X5+XC90 vs ML500…..

would give a good shake to Merc and Audi family….

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 18, 2007 at 6:09 am

Ford losses too much money, that's why they sold Aston Martin to Prodrive. Perhaps selling off Aston Martin still can not cover the losses so they decided to sell Jaguar and Land Rover too. Try to get rid their financial problem as soon as possible by shrinking the operations. Even Land Rover and Aston Martin start to make profits, I don't think that will help Ford as you have to understand one thing, that is you must know the operating costs for each company. I don't think those profits can help to cover up the losses before for Land Rover and Aston Martin alone.

Well, we can not blame the dealers in Malaysia alone by saying them bringing the non-popular models into here. We should blame the Ford's marketing strategy. Perhaps they (Ford Merketing Manager / Exercutives) didn't pay much attention in our market here or wrong marketing strategy.

BMW can survives without buying Volvo for its technologies. BMW alone has good safety features for their car models and BMW produces few world class engines – 2006 Internation Engine Of The Year Awards. However, if BMW buys Volvo, that's mean they can share the technologies and also platforms of the cars which later can be spin off with more variants, models even faster.

In addition, I don't like to see any car manufacturers closing factory (also known as shop for some people) including Proton as it is one of the car manufacturers and not car assembler or rebadge anymore, not like Perodua, Naza and Inokom. I know they always come out with new models slow and with quality issues but the potential is there. Hopefully the talks between Proton and Volkwagen bring some good news and hopefully Proton will change under Volkswagen managements. I never think Proton is pride of Malaysia. I only treat it as one of the car manufacturer. Still remember Skoda and Seat? They produced lousy and no quality cars before Volkswagen took over. Sound familiar? And now, Skoda and Seat have changed, right?

About the car taxes and the NAP in Malaysia I also feel upsad for the way they implement it. Trust me? They should lower it down (a lot). However, to ask Proton close, no, umm… for now. – As I mentioned it early.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 18, 2007 at 5:03 pm

for last year, 2006, ford lost US 12.7 billion. their biggest lost in the history of the carmaker.