Honda wants to sell diesels in Japan

hondadieselresearchvehicle.jpg

Honda wants to sell diesel-powered cars in Japan by 2009, in an attempt to reignite Japan’s dead diesel passenger car market, which is also the world’s third-biggest auto market. There is only one car manufacturer in the whole of Japan selling a diesel car – Mercedes Benz with it’s Mercedes Benz E320 CDI mid-sized luxury sedan.

Honda recently unveiled it’s second generation i-CTDi diesel engine with a NOx catalyst for reduced emmissions. There are a few Japanese manufacturers with newly developed diesel engines – Subaru with it’s new turbodiesel boxer comes to mind. Toyota also has a nice 2.2 litre D4-D with a high torque output of 400Nm for the European market. Cars equipped with these modern diesel engines could be sold in Japan if the market can slowly accept diesel cars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wei_tsung (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 2:38 am

hmmm.. with current malaysian taxation for diesel powered vehicles, the savings from lower price and greater efficiency may still not offset the increased road tax.

• shamel (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 3:46 am

Paul,

I really hope diesel will be common at least next year as diesel proven be torquer, more economical than gasoline counterpart. Toyota 2.2 D-4D, Honda 2.2 i-CTDi or at least Renault-based 2.0dCi.

ETCM should test the market with 78kW/240Nm 1.5dCi in their Latio or next Livina as logistic-wise they also (through Renault division) 1.5dCi Kangoo currently for commercial registration only.

I guess the road tax should be in OK as the 2.5 diesel merely around RM1000 per annum.

• bugbear (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 4:10 am

shamel;

erm, i dun think there is point to mention about d4d…

besides, it is not d up-to-date technology for toyota's passenger car…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 5:38 am

diesel is the solution if the petrol price get too high…….in the next few years……

• BW (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 5:56 am

do you guys notice Honda seems like don have any diesel cars?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 6:03 am

yeah..me too…i wonder y?

• arcana (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 6:38 am

of course they dont….thats in japan becoz ppl's perception towards diesel is poor….but in europe Honda's are selling diesel variants…..its just a matter of introducing it to the japs…….hopefully we'll see it malaysia in years to come….

that would be sweet for passenger cars.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 4:18 pm

how come malaysia won't let diesel sedan only for taxi ??? y my fren in miri can have a 2.0 diesel wira for normal car ?? it really save fuel !!! i week travel 200 km only using rm 30 …. diesel really save then petrol ….

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 9:40 pm

i think tis because of the low quality fuel thats been sold here……high quantity od sulphur…..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 17, 2007 at 2:53 am

is there any difference in diesel petrol? I like the idea of cheaper fuel, maybe we should make like brazil ethanol fuel

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 17, 2007 at 8:39 pm

biodiesel anyone? u know the saab wit the flexfeul engine? it can run on petrol and ethanol….with ethanol, it can get more power plus better FC…..