10% expected toll hike on Jan 1 2008

imageToll rates for 8 concessionaires are expected to go up by about 10% on the January 1st 2008 according to agreements between the toll concessionaires and the government.

However Works Minister Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu says the government is looking into the possibility of spreading this cost between the government, the toll concessionaires and the people so that the 10% can be subsidised and reduced to a lower amount.

The report from The Star did not say which highways these were, but a previous article on the toll hike that happened on January 1st 2007 mentioned the following 8 highways will have their toll rates up for review in 2008:

North South Highway (Plus)
Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway
North South Expressway Central Link (Elite)
Seremban-Port Dickson Highway
New North Klang Straits Bypass (Shahpadu)
Malaysia-Singapore Second Link
Butterworth-Kulim Expressway
Penang Bridge.

New toll rates effective 1st January 2007

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Xoomie (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 5:24 pm

WTH !!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 5:41 pm

Aiya.. expected already.. i think few months ago samy vellu say PLUS are rugi.. dont know how they manage until rugi so much money… Wif this reason naik the toll money by next year loo…

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 5:53 pm

Subsidized school fee and exam fee = once a year.
    Increase toll = got more money everyday.

that’s the way of current govt.
    samy vellu just always a scape goat / scape lembu laa..

Oh.. next public election wanna do something or not? it’s in your hand!

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:22 pm

Increase again?
    haiyo… what should we do. using LRT? motorcycle?

or changing Sammy Vellu to be Semi Value.. :)

• matty_t (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:25 pm

OMG ! every year 10%….not to mention the hike in petrol, chaotic public transportation system. what’s next people? hike in car tyre price??

• Boink (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:27 pm

Raise raise raise the toll….

Doubt it will be before the election next year.

Can we start a betting pool?

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:34 pm

screw you samy vellu

• richnet_campro (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:37 pm

everything also naik harga… why my salary never increase one?

even salary increase.. by that time, only ngam ngam can cover all these kind of expenses only
    haihzz…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 7:22 pm

Some people have all the luck. Those who leave in Sarawak and Sabah have all the priviledge of using free highways. Suggestion – why not consider moving there and you’ll never swear at SV again, trust me…

• kingglim (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 7:48 pm

SV, who?!! Oh, the guy with a “tupai” on his head…LOL :-D

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 7:54 pm

Sami Value want to collect pocket money before he retired.that why he want to increase toll again.GO TO HELL!!!!!!!!

• mzfnd (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 7:59 pm

Hopefully they’ll announce the new price before the election so that they’ll try to absorb the cost as much as possible.

• armandd (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 8:22 pm

“Toll rates for 8 concessionaires are expected to go up by about 10% on the January 1st 2008 according to agreements between the toll concessionaires and the government.”
    ——————————————————————-
    Many of us don’t realise that the AGREEMENTS made more than 20 years ago didn’t take into account the actual increase in the number of vehicles using the highway every day. The traffic volume increased exponentially all these years and so was the toll collection. The so called AGREEMENTS was very unfair to the public..

• szw (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 8:38 pm

again ?

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:03 pm

w00t. rich pwn poor once again.

• ab (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:30 pm

bloody bloodsucking government!

• ab (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:35 pm

nobodyatuk said,
    October 1, 2007 @ 7:22 pm

Some people have all the luck. Those who leave in Sarawak and Sabah have all the priviledge of using free highways. Suggestion – why not consider moving there and you’ll never swear at SV again, trust me…

err i’m from kuching sarawak, and don’t think that we are not paying but we are driving on silky smooth autobahn like highway ok! if u come to sarawak you will immediately feel how bumpy most of the roads here are. that’s why people buy cr-v and not accord here. Try taking a driving trip from say kuching to miri and you’ll see why we get the roads for free…it’s free for a reason

• unlogic (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:36 pm

logically the toll rates should decreasing year by year right. Why the opposite? they want to kutip untung sebanyak yang boleh before all tolls because free?
    latest news is Semi Value planning to ban motorcyclist from using highway during balik kampong period

• Poxxue (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:53 pm

Why am i not surprised?!…I gott tell u…I foresee tis already..
    n the next toll hike..n the next….n so on n so forth..!..Samy..Samy…
    wats got into dat big hair of urs huh?..instead of expanding or developing
    highways towards east cost ka (e.g Kelantan)…or even improving the existing ones…the only thing he and the likes of him can think of is..hike up!..hike up!.. to say that their not making money is totally absurd!..judging by
    the escalating numbers of vehicle on the road and also those using the damn highway!… I’d say they had their fair share already!..so why still want to
    burdon us!..Nak subsidise konon…!

• kevyeoh (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:55 pm

what the…..

it’s up up and away… never down at all… dah lah car prices sky high… toll also high…

i know what to do already….

• Prem3377 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:56 pm

armandd,

yeah agree with you man!!

the highway not growing longer or better..its not safe too..the safety rail and all is not built to specification,no proper lighting..and every year there is tanah runtuh and etc…if they wanna hike the price..there must be a valid reason..who made such an agreement first of all???the number of car are growing rapidly but why must we pay more every year??petrol atleast ok..becaust the reason the G give can be acceptable..more cars..higher subsidised value…but toll is not acceptable at all…more cars,more income…so why must there be a hike??you are taking 10% more from each person who using the highway..and just assume we pay rm 2 currently..a hike of rm 0.20(10%) will easily help them gain about extra 20 % profit because we usually go twice daily…and 40cents increase daily means up to rm 8 per month(20 working day usage)….times that with a million user and easily the toll company will make extra rm 8 million a month..and why do they need that much money since the highway wont be growing and they dont need to maintain it daily and etc???its too stupid i guess….anyone can give a good reason why the G usually increase the price??i m curious to know..

but this year increase will be entirely absorb by the G..so this hike is not a real one…simply to gain popularity..political gimmick….

please choose wisely before voting…we can make a difference…and we need to!!!i dont want to wait for an hour without knowing when the bus will arrive…i dont want to go by lrt and be stranded in a station for hours with hundreds of tired people after work due to sum technical problem..i dont want to go by a taxi where the meter only goes up but the car will not move because of the jam….i just want to drive to work everyday…that the only thing i enjoy doing on weekdays…so hope the G wont put a stop to it too…

• jehutyz (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:58 pm

LOL wat to comment ler….
    Already used to it. Always also like that one. RUGI RUGI RUGI…
    But every year our car is increasing….don’t tell me all the car don’t pay single toll at all at least once a week.
    Naik la… Naik la…Apa pun naik….
    Nanti announce petrol naik juga coz this year already promise no increase ma.

• avanza (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 10:02 pm

This country is slowly going into inflation! Inflation is bad news as our salary will effectively be shrinking. Sob!!!

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 10:04 pm

what a genius long term strategy. Keep sucking blood until 2020.. nicely planned out. Bravo…Earning alot still increase toll.

got proto + pero2 to make many many car. Then many people paying toll. Use lots of petrol.. later stop peto nas. Gv hohoho…. A P issue no more voice. Fat girl stil on the lose.

hybrid car tax many many ooo… no people use petrol.. rugi ooo.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 10:13 pm

hiking the toll is not samy’s decision alone..its the G..cabinet and etc…so no use blaming him…neway he is too old to think of money already…and he has been there for years..i dont think he will have enough space to store anymore..haha…so the new people who just came in is the main culprit i guess..they wanna make fast cash because they know their days are numbered…they came in..they bought a super yacht,a jet, sum big stake in huge public listed companies…a few bungalows around the world…some big contracts with high stake from middle east…a bridge project which cost way much higher than it should be..some of the subsidy money which was meant for public transport…expansion of lrt which never take off yet..just a few new buses which will not even cost 10% of the rm 4.4 billion they say the can save..and corridors(idr,penang) which is sold/selling part of our country to foreigners..when the experimental corridor not yet even expand or grow as planned(cyber and putrajaya)…so still tak cukup i guess…so toll pun naik la..haha..

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 10:41 pm

the only way to cure pain is to apply more pain.

hey charles27. i like that one….Fat girl still on the loose.

• darkwizard (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 10:42 pm

Toll increase price again? Still not making profit eventhough increase number of traffic…sound fishy and sound like someone is “Mengelapkan Tool money”

I thought they want to increase the Fuel first as they already said they promise not going to increase fuel price this year (2007) so, judging from that promise, they can’t wait till 2008 to increase the fuel price.

• bmx (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 10:44 pm

$$$ INTO SOMEONES POCKETS =
    number of cars (5x since they signed contracts, most dumb Malaysian forgot this fact) X duration of toll (unlimited extensions, most dumb Malaysian will forgot how many times extension already) X price (most dumb Malaysian will be noisy only for a short while, then forgets)

Latest news is Samy wants to ban usage of motorcycles, i.e. number of cars will increase = MORE money

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 10:51 pm

Welcome to malaysia, the tax land we always called, pay me whatever yuu can…tax, tax, tax, toll, toll, toll…this is the spirit…

• aliBaPa (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 11:56 pm

change our money to vote and vote for opposite party!!!

• tunomura (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:27 am

absolutely will increase the express bus ticket..haiya..how come nak balik kampung maa…it only makes thing worst…

• whodz (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:51 am

Guys, guys… come onla. We only want to build funds for our next election. Wrong kah? Is for you also, you know. :p

• engtaokia (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:56 am

#
    nobodyatuk said,

October 1, 2007 @ 7:22 pm

——————————————————–
    im frm sarawak. u think sarawak/sabah free highways is a ‘real’ highway kah?once you been here, you will feel how lucky u guys at West got nice n smooth highway (even tho kena paid)
    thats why most sarawak/sabah ppl buy 4wd/suv over sedans. even my house already got 2 bijik 4wd…

• ob8 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 1:41 am

vote for opposition wont result to decrease of toll. one way imo is whenever you see the toll booth, just tekan minyak. dont hit the break. if everyone do this together, it will be a success. the key word is ‘together’. :p

• mofo (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 2:18 am

LOL ob8, no one would dare to do that Malaysian kinda kaisu.

As expected, PLUS rugi meh? Imao, don’t play play lar Samy. If losing, they you better explain how come this could happen. But this toll concessionaires really a bullshit.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 2:48 am

On the other side of things, when does the concessions end and the roads are given back to the goverment?

• armandd (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 2:59 am

on the year 2020 if i’m not mistaken..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 3:37 am

daylight robbery….is thr any end to stealing and corruption….do those ppl involved think life is forever n noting else afterwards??

till wen?

• wong (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 4:05 am

Both private and commercial vehicle increased daily, which means more ‘toll payers’, should decrease not increase the toll rates,..and other prices will go up definitely,..yes S.Velu will say ‘kalau takmau membayari toll,bole guna jalan lama’…or ‘toll diMalaysia masih murah kalau membandingkan dgn nigri nigri lain…yes Gov is very fair, they “GIVE” and then “TAKE”back…

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 4:11 am

NO..Samy NO Toll…..lets sing….(like the no woman..no cry song..)

• azrai (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 6:57 am

Not even the toll gonna increase, fuel price also. Remember, if the snap poll gonna be next year we will be safe. If not, Barang Naik. Still, we pangkah for BN a.k.a. barang naik.

• rexis (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:01 am

well not even a 3 month old monkey will believe PLUS not making money, PLUS toll is nearly more then petrol cost already.

SV? Hes just a puppet la, do be silly and think that he can really make some decision. Hes just an icon to put in front for people to blame, dont forget the fact that the highway operators are the prime evils – for being more and more efficient – in sucking blood.

nobodyatuk, actually Sabah and sarawak dun really hv highway, but yeah, you can taste the FREEDOM of no toll there.

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:07 am

always naik haiya…but when come festival season..everyday go to work n back from work also jammed? WTF.. pak lah, sammy, u should turun lah..sudah lama..time to change our G ! see how..

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:07 am

Wow. This announcement is about as surprising as the fact that Samy Vellu is slacking at his job.

• acbc (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:11 am

SV promised to disclose concessionaires last year… until now, NATO already.

Bloody salesman of concessionaires! How much commission for annoying the public? 10%? 20%? 50%?

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:42 am

hmphh.. this is just a simple plan for them. the increase will be done after the general elections.they won’t highlight this issue before the election.infact, this is their surprise gift for us the st*pid rakyat after they won the election.. i’m so sick of these “barang naik” issues these days..

• mytouch (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 10:06 am

Maybe when the time come where people start to mogok,Sammy Vellu will say “saya akan buat satu “COMMISION”ARY group utk siasat kenaikan toll. Kamu semua yg tak mau bayar toll,boleh kasi naik kereta lembu”…& after that,we all might see a special toll lane for kereta lembu soon…Malaysia Boleh!!

• olowokandi (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 10:18 am

guys, can’t you see that this is unavoidable as long as we have the same gov here? we have a blessed and wealthy country, but sad to say that our fortune never being used properly. most of the money gone into a small group of people, instead of being spent wisely on public interest, such as building roads, highway and public transport system. If you have been living in other country, you will notice how pity we malaysian are. other people enjoy much lower price for cars, free or relatively cheap highway, complete and efficient public transport system in big city (such as subway and busses, leading to NO TRAFFIC JAM like we are having!), and, they have extra money to go enjoy holiday in other country. what do we have here??? we malaysian also boleh! we are proud to have national car project, angkasawan project, multimedia corridor project….the list go on. but what do we small people and normal citizen actually gain from all this crap project?? do you pay 45K for a small sedan with quality and technology like Vios or City? do you have the chance to visit the moon or more realistically, Europe for holidays? do you have affordable 20MB broadband install at your house? huh? no?? i thought we malaysian boleh??? we working like hell and earning just enough money to pay house loan, car loan, personal loan, credit card and fxxking toll fees!!! no mazda3, no CRV, no superbike, only fxxking protons with bare bone accessories! with the excellent geographically location and all the natural resources have in our country, we should at least not worse than Singapore or Taiwan or South Korea. why are we fall behind the likes of Thailand and Vietnam now?? you heard of “”ABSOLUTE POWER CORRUPTS ABSOLUTELY”? use your vote wisely in the coming election.

• olowokandi (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 10:24 am

maybe we just use 3 wheels motocycle with roof instead of cars. then we can save the petrol cost and highway fees for our holiday trip or children education.

• olowokandi (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 10:32 am

you know what?? I am sick of paying the hiking toll fees and still got stuck in the HIGHWAY everyday!!! have you calculate how much you have to pay for the toll every year? with the current rate, i have to pay around RM1500 extra per year, although i already pay for the tax!!!

• ganz (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 11:07 am

no prize to guest the price hike.. it already stated.. in every 3 years…

RM3.60(per trip) x 2 = RM 7.20 (per day)
    RM7.20 x 6 = RM 43.20 (per month).. i’m working 6 days a week..
    RM 43.20 x 50 week/year (assuming i’m working 50 week a year) = RM 2,160 per year… just for the TOLL only…

why i assume 50 week a year.. damn.. there is no way people like me can have a nice holiday… work hard for others wealthiness..

• sintiansai (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 11:32 am

Obviously, no one here has noticed that Ringgit malaysia has dropped 20sen within 2 months

last 2 months:
    1 australian dollar to RM = 2.8
    1 canadian dollar to RM = 2.9

this month:
    1 australian dollar to RM = 3.0
    1 canadian dollar to RM = 3.1

wanna know last year’s exchange rate?
    1 australian dollar to RM = 2.6
    1 canadian dollar to RM = 2.7

BOOOOOM
    economic down fall
    prepare for the worst guyssssss

• ganz (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:00 pm

nobody care about that la…kekeke those super rich people don’t care much… the most important thing.. increase all

• biggie (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:12 pm

err.. isnt’t next year election year? Can there be toll hike? May be the year after

• BigCar (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:51 pm

Watch this

debating in Parliment:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_dcV9ZjmTc

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 1:01 pm

This has turned into a political post…….

Wat to do? We love our Barang Naik gahmen so much, so anythin happens, whose fault?

• eantautjk (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 3:54 pm

What are all you guys grumblling about?

You must all follow the advise of our beloved DPM, Dato’ Najib Tun Razak. He has advise all of us to “change our lifestlye”. No more 1.8L and above cars. Everybody is to buy Persona.

Dont you guys know that our dearest goverment had spent a lot for the benefits of all of us? Dont believe, ask the Auditor General. Besides, our Goverment have much more important things to do. Like sending one or two Space Flight Participants into space and sent a batallion of cops to watch some lawyers walking.

• heavymetal (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 4:08 pm

bila tol naik barang lain pun naik harga,kita pun naik angin,naik darah,naik muak…

• darkwizard (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 7:45 pm

wong said,
    October 2, 2007 @ 4:05 am

yes S.Velu will say ‘kalau takmau membayari toll,bole guna jalan lama’…or ‘toll diMalaysia masih murah kalau membandingkan dgn nigri nigri lain…yes Gov is very fair, they “GIVE” and then “TAKE”back…

tol masih murah compare to other country is not entirely correct. One thing that someone might not notice is did they study the number of toll we have vs the number of toll other country have? Most people who never been abroad / driving in other country will not notice the difference and still thinking we have the cheapest toolsss fees.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 7:54 pm

heavymetal said,
    October 2, 2007 @ 4:08 pm

bila tol naik barang lain pun naik harga,kita pun naik angin,naik darah,naik muak…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 8:16 pm

haiya…ini G ar…sux our moneyla…go to hell to SV..pak lah n others…btw…expecting d toll rate will increase next year…baru tol…tunggu pasni ape lak org tue kerepot(pak lah) tu nak bg reason tok naikkan minyak lak…

• heavymetal (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 8:35 pm

nobodyatuk, hehe…”itu’ kena naik lah…kalau tak problem tuu…

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 2:57 am

haiya… vw take over proton.. short future G not much income maaa…
    lost on the car manufacturing market already..
    need find place to ‘sedut’ laaa… else later really no money fund ‘party’ .. where else to look at neh…

if G failed, lagi cham ooo… better everyone sponsor 10%.. forcefully. WHere got volunteer in MY ni.

haiya.. not say me sensitive laa… always want CNY time only increase one laaa. Shock-nya!! balik kampung pay extra 10%… i have to travel
    KL-Mel-JB-MEL-KL lagi.. haiz.

Expecting early year to increase petrol also laaa. Sudah biasa laaaa. Then food and even drink also follow to increase. Then boss telling company not earning much… then cut bonus. Haiya… how to CNY aaaa. Really no money buy pineaple.. have to use only apple laaaa.

Ang pao dont blame getting smaller laaa… sudah tax 29%… then toll increase 10%.. then petrol increase.. Macam tu laaa.

G want collect money now laa… wanna go space with russia already. Think cheap kaaa. 25 millions people willing to sponsor maaa. Where got scare.. we can send double team go… make in ‘twin-space’ trip. nice laaa… book of record many many time.

haiya… if you guys got see the top gear UK car review aaa… its sad when see the savvy kena kutuk gao gao by jeremy laaa. What to do.. the car really ‘prettiest’ from lotus maaa. Somemore gen2 with twin driver control.. left and passenger oso can control car… haiya… we love twin laaa. 2020 oso twin laaa…

PS.. this is not politic post.. seen someone saying this on top.
    this is citizen.. you and me posting laaa… where got see G people posting… they dont like small car we talking here laaa. Try ferrari or bugati forum.. sure can find few of them.

• panterna (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 12:53 pm

And lets’s hope we will not be paying tolls to enter KL…

• ganz (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 1:38 pm

well.. panterna… u prayer might not been answered.. :D.. just wait and see

• altis_fan (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 5:29 am

Later, minister will say “tidak akan membebankan rakyat” and then TV will
    interview and air some jerks saying “kenaikan tak membebankan” also. What
    a stupid people we have in this country! Then menteri will prove how stupid
    malaysian are by saying that the toll is cheaper as compare to Japan, etc, and of course malaysian will say Japan toll is expensive too. But not compare to free toll highway in USA. And not mention about worker high salary in Japan and USA. Why are we stupid?

• orangetribal (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 9:50 pm

politicians in malaysia are always very stupid.its a norm.they say what they like to say becuase they don’t feel rakyat’s misery.everyday in the newpaper,same ol shite,all they say is good stuff about development but heck they suck big time and we are all increasingly feel agitated with they way they govern this country.toll increse,petrol increase,food prices increase.what prices are decreasing in this damned country?