VIDEO: Tata Nano unveiling at Delhi 2008

Tata Nano

This is a series of 3 videos from the Delhi Motor Show – where the Tata Nano was unveiled for the very first time to the public. Watch the videos after the jump.

VIDEO: Tata Nano Unveiling 1

VIDEO: Tata Nano Unveiling 2

VIDEO: Tata Nano Unveiling 3

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• omar (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 3:34 am

the look is not bad though..
    i’m sure it’s really worth it to buy such a car..
    credit to TATA for their effort to build such a cheaper car for indian market…
    bravo2..

• ENZO (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 4:45 am

omar said,

January 26, 2008 @ 3:34 am

the look is not bad though..
    bravo2..

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    worth??? i don’t think so!
    yes,credit to TATA for their effort to build such a cheaper car for indian market, but build for india, then better stay in india.

• kakilubuk (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 7:43 am

I wonder if a big buffalo hit this car. Rolling! rolling! rolling!

• altimi (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 7:58 am

omar said,

January 26, 2008 @ 3:34 am

“the look is not bad though..
    bravo2..”

——————————————————————

I beg to differ. Yes, it looks ok but I don’t think it’s suitable in other market.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 9:01 am

TATA NANO…
    in india, yes!
    in malaysia, a definite no!

• scorpicore (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 11:09 am

I would say this car is suitable in any country where many of its citizens are using a motorcycle as the only tool for transportation. As when Perodua introduced their first kancil….targeting at those who can afford a motorcycle, have a little extra money but can’t afford a proton saga…Since then many have converted from riding a motorycle to drive a kancil.. However when kancil was first introduced, it cost 18K, when a motorcycle only selling at about 2K. It was 900% difference in price….So many do need more than little extra money, to a lot more to own a kancil. Now… you need 22 k to own one kancil.

Motorcycle is an affordable vehicle but the rider always exposing himself to high risk of injury. Motorcyclist and the pillion riders are expose to sunlight, rain; no air-cond and no alarm system. So if this tata nano which priced at US 2,500 (less than RM 10K, less than 500% extra than a motorcycle) can be sold in this country, i am sure many citizen would be benefited from this. Eventually, the accident rate involving motorcyclists will be reduced, although it may cause more traffic jam..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 11:28 am

always a better option than motorbike. Rain, dust, insect, road debris all pelted on motorbike riders can be avoided if using Tata.

in addition, this lil car can carry some stuff also, although there are no proper trunk.

• Alifz (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 12:00 pm

Malaysian don’t need smaller car than Kancil…

What rakyat need most, especially on klang valley ia a better,efficient and good coverage of PUBLIC TRANSPORT.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:19 pm

Well, good effort from Tata. They’ve changed the world of cars. Who knows, it might benefit everyone soon someday, somehow.

• kingglim (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:31 pm

Well done Tata…a true people car. At price of just 2 Modenas Kriss, I think this thing can replace many motorbikes. Plus, many $$ and environment conscious family people can buy this car as their daily office commute car…keep their big waja/accord/unser/camry/innova at home for weekend only.

• 707 (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 2:58 pm

ok read the article already….so its now apt to say….’Tata!!’

• nmh (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 4:43 pm

Please listen to our voice dear gov. We dont have to import this car, just need to revise the NAP, national car can be cheap too

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 5:32 pm

Remember the Nano sweet? This car can be used as part of their advertising campaign with the colour shown above!

• whodz (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 6:01 pm

Such a moment there. “promises is a promise”. That is I want to hear from Proton about Quality. The launch is not so grand and vogue but meaningful and yet compromise what Tata Nano can contribute to their peoples. Congrats.

• jtshin (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 7:03 pm

Paul, I can’t load any of your videos from here recently… I’m in London with 8mbps internet. :( what’s wrong?

• jcws_87 (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 7:58 pm

Off topic – After reading on the 2 topic on Toyota Rush, here are some info for those who are very curious of the upcoming Toyota Rush. Firstly, it will be place between Toyota Avanza and Toyota Innova as well as the pricing (but it will NOT replace Avanza as there might a facelift model coming soon – not confirm yet). Secondly, it will be launch in Feb before CNY, but Toyota have start receiving booking now,nationwide. The details : Come in 2 spec,3 variants 1.5G M/T & A/T and 1.5S A/T, 4 colour to choose for, CBU model – Indo, airbag(G – driver only, S – driver & front passenger), 16″ alloy wheels, chrome grip type door handles,wing mirror turn indicator,roof rail, avanza type seating configuration(7 seater). The size – 4410mm(L), 1695mm(W), 1745(H w roof rail)

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 11:24 pm

Salute to the developers of this car… they managed to fulfil their promise to bring a car for the masses. Not many auto makers can fulfil that role (well, maybe VW hehe)

wud like to have one of these for simple town travel :P

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 4:08 am

As far as styling is concerned, the car looks good. Aircond for the deluxe model is also another plus point. (Life must be real hard in India that Tata chose to produce a car without a/c for the nano basic model – to deliver their promise I guess). But the lack of boot space and an engine that can only be accessed from inside (??) is a real bummer.
    Should we import? – No.
    Should we make one? – Yes. An improvised version.

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 4:13 am

Did he say The Budu car? (1:38 Video 3)

• leedehao (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 4:19 am

for those who thinks this car is the worst car, unsafe unfit etc etc, I feel that you all are nothing but a bunch of spoilt brats. Sure, you can afford your BMWs, Mercedes and what not, but the point is that it is for those who can only afford a motorcycle and has a big family. In rural parts of Malaysia there are still people who actually squeeze their whole family in a motorcycle. And before you go bashing about how unsafe the car is, I think the Nano is safer than a motorcycle with 4 or 5 passenges on it. And also the government should make this a tax exempt vehicle to make it affordable to the Malaysians.

• sowhat (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 5:11 am

I think Reva the electric car looks better than this Nano.
    I dont know about the safety but this Reva electric car is already in the UK…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d27kC2uNURM
    http://www.revaindia.com/

• sarawakguy (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 7:40 am

Picture this- A family man having 4 school going kids,having about RM1000 nett pay,living in our suburb area.Having to routinely send his 4 kids on his bike,rain or shine…pity him….Wanted to get a car,but cant afford one…Along comes the NANO,selling for a nice RM9-10k.After paying a minimum down payment,he had to pay about RM300 for 9 nine years.Will he get the car?He MOST probably will.The NANO is designed to suits a very large target group in India,the low-incomed.Likewise so as our newly launched SAGA,then picture this,if the SAGA were priced RM20-28K,what will be the story?Surely,some where else (not in Malaysia),someone will have bashed SAGA too!!!!

• szw (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 4:36 pm

i wan a car that doesn’t tip over at any single corner…

• nmh (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 9:03 pm

P1 & P2 can built a better ‘nano’, actually they did it already (current model) but the gov@nap ruin the price

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 12:45 pm

sowhat said,
    January 27, 2008 @ 5:11 am

I think Reva the electric car looks better than this Nano.
    I dont know about the safety but this Reva electric car is already in the UK…
    —————————————————————-

Try G-Wiz and see, it looks like an ogre.

• manosham (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 5:45 pm

well i have read all the comments and even noted the smiley beside the report

anyway.. time will tell whether Nano is going to be a success or not

Just some updates

Most people (in malaysia) may not agree to buying , seeing and using this car,
    but the world is applauding this as the next thing after Henry Ford’s Model T
    and this was stated by CEO’s of established automobile manufacturers. Refer CNN and BBC.

Tata also most likely will be buying Land Rover and Jaguar, which I assume also you guys sneer at. Wonder if Proton , or Perodua are also bidding.

Global outlook is very varied from the Malaysian perspective, I suppose

• Cheap$kate on Apr 17, 2009 at 4:28 am

Congratulations to the Tata corporation and all involved in the design and production of the Nano.

It is always a positive when less fortunate people can have a bit of luxury they might not have had the oportunity to experience.

Having said this I honestly beleive that the Nano is a fantastic development for the likes of India and some Asian countries. As for the western markets yes Tata will sell a lot in the first few years but thereafter it will fail as the Nano will have no resale value whatsoever (sorry if it sounds bad, only my opinion)

Anyway it's nice to see families have an affordable option to a motorbike that will keep them dry, warm and to an extent a lot safer on the road.

Good luck