Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Renault Logan Pickup

Advertisement

Renault Logan Pickup

Another variant of the Renault Logan has been launched, one with a pick-up body, making total variants now up to 4 – a sedan, a station wagon (Logan MCV with windows and Logan VAN without windows), a hatchback (Sandero) and now a pick-up.

The 4500mm long, 1740mm wide and 1550mm tall Logan pickup has an internal luggage compartment of 300 liters. The pick-up bed fits objects as long as 1880mm. The rear opening width is 1200mm, and maximum payload is 800kg.

Under the hood is a choice of one petrol engine or two 1.5 DCi turbodiesel engines. The petrol engine is a 8 valve 1.6 liter that makes 90 horses at 5,500rpm and a peak torque of 128Nm. The 1.5 DCi is available in two stages of tune: 70 hoses and 85 horses. All engines are mated to a 5-speed manual.

More photos after the jump.

Renault Logan Pickup

23 Comments »

1. fyzal said,

February 19, 2008 @ 3:13 pm

Saga MK2 shud have tis type of pick up body too… :-)

2. maibatsu_thunder said,

February 19, 2008 @ 3:23 pm

Nice. Remember Arena? Even Mini had a pickup version. Morris Minor too, for those of you who studied in KL around Kg. Pandan and Jalan Pasar in the late 80s the ‘Charcoal Man’ who drove around drove a Morris Minor pickup. Very cool.

3. ndmervin said,

February 19, 2008 @ 3:36 pm

Any car that is a pick-up sure the cool factor for me! Kudos to Renault with the Logan.

4. sxe10r said,

February 19, 2008 @ 3:40 pm

Arena need it … 1.5TDI

5. wildthingz said,

February 19, 2008 @ 3:57 pm

arena brother maybe……

6. naikmotoje said,

February 19, 2008 @ 4:04 pm

yeah…. like arena or proton jumbuck…

7. nuajon said,

February 19, 2008 @ 5:04 pm

interior like BLM

8. e-nabilll said,

February 19, 2008 @ 6:23 pm

this gonna do very wel in places like africa,south america and india…very practical

9. joe203 said,

February 19, 2008 @ 6:51 pm

What a horrible looking thing
    Lets do Persona pick-up!

10. chap_de_x said,

February 19, 2008 @ 7:24 pm

erks don introduce it here…no wun will buy it…but second though maybe some will buy it since it is not p1…import brand is always good….(some of the typical malaysian thingking)

11. abtm said,

February 19, 2008 @ 7:45 pm

someone thought the proton jumpback was a good idea…

12. szw said,

February 19, 2008 @ 7:59 pm

proton is way better i think…

13. raptorclans said,

February 19, 2008 @ 9:41 pm

Haha that’s cute… but I think the Arena looks a lil better…
    The Arena’s still a bestseller down under… :)

14. Cyberkayu said,

February 19, 2008 @ 11:21 pm

proton basher leh?
    come here n bash it like u are bashing proton arena~~

15. nmh said,

February 19, 2008 @ 11:22 pm

Imagine a pickup persona

16. mystvearn said,

February 20, 2008 @ 12:22 am

An arena style pickup. Not sure if it will sell well. Maybe it will in idia…

17. MyviKiller said,

February 20, 2008 @ 12:51 am

Seen the car in sedan form when I was Mallorca, not bad at all, slightly bigger than our MK2 Saga, a serious contender.

As for the pickup, I think Proton has its own plans to develope the Arena replacement model (Gen-2 pickup?) and maybe the Saga pickup as well.

Time will tell.

18. mitlanevo said,

February 20, 2008 @ 1:09 am

our Arena aka Jumbuck looks better than this (exterior)…..

19. azrai said,

February 20, 2008 @ 6:52 am

Renault version of Arena. We heard of the PSA-Citroen collobration between them and Proton right? Is this another technology transfer to Renault from Proton? Vice-versa the engine used in Savvy and the now defunct Waja 1.8.

20. normaluser said,

February 20, 2008 @ 7:26 am

You are asking whether Proton is transferring their ‘Arena pickup’ technology to Renault????
    How I wish that is true! hahaha. It should be vice versa la bro.

Another thing, there is no such thing as PSA-Citroen-Proton collaboration. It falls apart and never took place.

———————–
    azrai said,
    February 20, 2008 @ 6:52 am

Renault version of Arena. We heard of the PSA-Citroen collobration between them and Proton right? Is this another technology transfer to Renault from Proton? Vice-versa the engine used in Savvy and the now defunct Waja 1.8.

21. tanasi said,

February 20, 2008 @ 10:00 am

proton has two units of Logan for benchmarking purpose.

22. hyundai said,

February 20, 2008 @ 9:28 pm

Dacia is the company that Proton should learn from…

23. nazianzus said,

February 23, 2008 @ 2:36 am

this is just a rebadge Dacia Logan lol…some former communist created car for the masses. i assure you that the Proton Arena is much better looking then this

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Honda Elysion and StepWGN available in Malaysia
next post: Porsche Cayenne Fuel Line Fix