Unregistered Nissan GT-R spotted in Malaysia!

Reader Donovan Chin (he has the new D300 SLR, lucky fella) spotted this unregistered white Nissan GT-R parked next to the new Jaya One building in Section 14, PJ. Look after the jump for more shots of the car, including a glipse of the quad large diameter tailpipes that looks oh so menacing.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• darkwizard (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 4:46 am

The one picture spreading in the net of 1st unit in Malaysia was black color…Now we get to see the White color one. The car looks Big. How much do you think they will sell this kind of car Gray import? Tan Chong Motors import new?

• dilwy on May 21, 2010 at 4:04 pm

nope… i think this is imported by other car sellers… tan chong doesn’t want to sell such expensive cars… 600k ++

• ENZO (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 5:25 am

i thought the GT-R only comes in one colour (silver), but it also look nice in white.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 7:52 am

Ohh la la
    But it loook so plain in white
    Should have been in silver/black with red interior
    Fierceeeeee!

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 7:53 am

The GTR looks quite tall & bulky, from the pic we can see that its height is not that low for a supercar (compare with the Myvi in front & Latio behind).

• kakilubuk (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 7:54 am

Wonder about the price. Mesti mahal giler.

• King Samurai (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 8:08 am

Hmmm…what’s the car doing in front of Honda M’sia office (1st pic)??? Honda Malaysia putting a test on this car??? vs Type R kah? Cannot match laaa.I heard they have the new Altis in their garage to do all the test vs Civic..

• moha774 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 8:48 am

Maybe the new owner just want to show the Honda guys that, he can get a GTR faster than waiting for their Civic Type-R….

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 9:09 am

wah..so lucky!! i always lalu that jalan everyday but maybe the day it was there i dont lalu that jalan la.. i go to have delicious cendol at seksyen 17,(near the pasar one!)

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 9:29 am

corolla_KE70 said,
    March 17, 2008 @ 9:09 am

wah..so lucky!! i always lalu that jalan everyday but maybe the day it was there i dont lalu that jalan la.. i go to have delicious cendol at seksyen 17,(near the pasar one!)

=========================

which pasar la? hmmm…. ceeennndoooooll…. (in homer simpsons tone)

• abtm (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 9:31 am

lets hope tan chong brings this in as a limited edition official import…platstation 3 on wheels… i reckon they will sell as well as the civic type R

• mohdjiman (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 9:40 am

this is superb car…already drove it…in Need For Speed Prostreet…heheh :)

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 9:41 am

This car has supercar specs, but it’s not supossed to be sold at supercar price. It’s suppossed to be about 40% less than your 911 Turbo. Multi function display on the dashboard is BEST GILA!! NOTHING COMES CLOSE!! If they sell this car in Malaysia for more than RM720k, then buyers kena tipu.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 9:43 am

Gran Turismo 5 la… This is the same game designer team that created the dashboard display in the real car.

• xenith (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 9:46 am

GODZILLA…!

• ganz (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 9:52 am

if i drive this monster.. i dunno how big my nose could be,… kekeke.. far far away from my dream..

my dream car

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:02 am

Girls with money will buy Italian or German supercar. This is the toy for BOYS!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:09 am

are there any plastic model available in toy/hobby shop? gonna get 1 becoz cannot afford the real one.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:18 am

This car for driving only. I think it’s too ugly to be put on display as a model on a rack next to your reventon or testarossa or veyron.. hehe.

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:23 am

“if i drive this monster.. i dunno how big my nose could be,… kekeke.. far far away from my dream..”

—————————-

kahkahkahkah funny one bro…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:25 am

Hehe if you drive this car you can’t help but look around at traffic lights looking at people gawking and drooling at the car.. So uncomfortable.

• proton12vauto (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:43 am

this which “kasi asap” Porsche…

• mrm (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:50 am

Paul,

May be you can confirm this point, assuming the source is reliable (Japanese Govt website):

If we refer to this Japanese Govt website Joint Press Statement, may be 2008 is already OK to buy Jap CBU cars (over 3000cc including the 3.8litre GT-R, if we can afford one) as it is only about zero to 5% maximum of duty/tariff applicable. 5% is not that bad (compared to the old days when it goes as high as 160% to 300%). May be AP cost is more prohibitive these days.

Reference:
    http://www.mofa.go.jp/region/asia-paci/malaysia/joint0505-2.html#1

Extract:
    “JOINT PRESS STATEMENT
    Japan-Malaysia Economic Partnership Agreement
    Attachment 1
    INDUSTRIAL PRODUCTS
    1. General
    In the field of industrial products, both sides will eliminate tariffs on essentially all goods within 10 years from the date of the entry into force of the JMEPA.

2. Specific
    (a) Autos and auto components and parts
    (i) Market access improvement by Malaysia

Tariffs on autos and auto components and parts in Malaysia will be eliminated as agreed.

Completely Knocked Down (CKD): immediately eliminated

Auto components and parts other than CKD: 0-5% in 2008 and eliminated by 2010

Passenger cars exceeding 2000cc up to 3000cc, MPV exceeding 3000cc, Trucks exceeding 20 tonnes, and buses: gradually eliminated by 2010

Passenger cars exceeding 3000cc: 0-5% in 2008 and eliminated by 2010

All the other CBUs other than above: gradually eliminated by 2015

————————————————————-

Interesting, as the price for big engine cars (>3000cc) from Japan do not really reflect the JMEPA arrangement. May be importers want to take advantage of BIG PROFIT MARGINS without telling buyers, eh?

As a quick calc:

Japanese GT-R basic spec, price starts at about 7.77 million yen = RM248k
    5% excise duty of above factory price = RM13k
    Estimated AP cost = RM50k
    Transport cost = RM10k
    Other estimated applicable taxes (sales etc) = RM40k
    Importer profit margin = RM???k

Total price inc all duties but excluding importer profit margin should be around RM361k…

Assuming ETCM or any gray importer wants to make about RM100k for each car then the THEORETICAL price under Japan-M’sia FTA for 2008 should be less than RM500k (all inclusive)…

But we know this can only happen in an ideal world, and as we dont live in an ideal world… the real final price can be anything….

• nizam80 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 11:06 am

mohdjiman,

i also drove this car already…….. in Gran Turismo 5 Prologue… muahaha

Jokes aside, this car looks heavy and solid. If i’m not mistaken this car is also available in solid red. Hmm… can it beat the F430 on a track?

• pirate (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 11:11 am

Estmated to cost RM550k. ‘Cheap’ for a brand-new supercar – a 997 Turbo slayer!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 11:28 am

i think above 550k…the brand new z oredi 500k…how come dis one onli 550k in here…mabe arnd 800k n above…lugila x dapat tgk in live…so…how many gtr are there in bolehland rite now???izit 2???the black one and dis???

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 11:44 am

Half mil, a lot of upper middle class can afford. That would be about the same price as a fully loaded E Class. If upper middle class can afford two Merc, why not one Merc and one GTR for weekends. Maybe we’ll see a lot of these babes if dealers try their best not to cheat upper middle class.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 11:48 am

AP Importer brought in this car. Going for 700k

• donovanchin (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 11:49 am

Yeah.. the owner contacted me and it’s confirmed that it’s a grey import. He wouldn’t tell me the price tho. Hehe

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 11:53 am

If Japan-Malaysia Economic Partnership Agreement is correct, then AP importer ‘makan sampai kembong perut’ innit?

• iguanaa (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:38 pm

…was quoted at RM 680K without insurance & registrations…damn…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:38 pm

better buy dis than the porsche 911…but if u gt a chance to choose between dis and r8…which one will u go for??

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:40 pm

Surely from Naza…

• wan@auto (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:49 pm

em.. a gret car actually, but not my favourite. sumtin is not right wtih the design. too fussy? maybe? ive seen the interior in autocar, and its ugly. too complicated

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 1:01 pm

ya…lack of the interior dsg…nt great at all

• mrm (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 1:26 pm

some cars are not bought because of its exterior and interior design (eg it does not matter if it doesn’t look right like a Lambo or a Ferrari exterior & interior wise)…

a car like the GT-R may not have the design ‘flair’ but it is meant ultimately to explore and showcase the cutting edge engineering capabilities of Nissan engineers and all the money is spent on making sure that this target is met…

what other standard production car can go 0-60 in 3.5sec and lap the Nurburgring in under 7 min 38sec (and getting faster…)…

even if it is sold at more than RM680k in relative terms, it is still cheaper than a brand new top of the range S-Class…

but the sad case is, we know how much it cost the Japanese to own one… only RM250k…

• I my (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 1:55 pm

wow!! nice…! if this car really going for RM500k++ for sure there r lots of them will be on the road soon. in stock itself is damn fast liew!! hope to see them in the track soon.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 2:34 pm

He CuLpRit said,

March 17, 2008 @ 9:29 am

corolla_KE70 said,
    March 17, 2008 @ 9:09 am

=========================

which pasar la? hmmm…. ceeennndoooooll…. (in homer simpsons tone

==========================

if not mistaken on jalan 17/1… so delicious one la the cendol!!

• trustgtr (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 2:53 pm

went to see several units around town..there must be around 5 that i know which are for sale..going for just about 700k +- 20k on the road inclusive road tax and insurance..all are obviously japan spec, enquired about the gps activated speed limiter on japan models but the sales person can’t seem to confirm..will wait for a while until price to stabilise or even recond in two years…still a bargain considering it is faster around the ‘ring’ than anything else out there..veyron included..(2 sec faster)..having wet dreams already..

• trustgtr (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 2:57 pm

In japan, it goes for US30k…just under RM100k..we can’t get a civic for that price here..he3..hopefully when japan free trade agreement comes into effect in 2010 we might see some reduction on duties…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 2:57 pm

Means importers makan RM200k per car… if they makan RM50k per car, I guess they’ll sell more units, but hey.. perfect world.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 3:05 pm

W16 engine no good lar?

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 3:10 pm

In UK 911 Turbo cost 100,000 pounds, GTR 60,000 pounds. that’s about RM700k here. I guess they’re looking at UK prices. Unfair.

• ezralimm (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 3:14 pm

trustgtr said,
    March 17, 2008 @ 2:57 pm
    In japan, it goes for US30k…just under RM100k..we can’t get a civic for that price here..he3..hopefully when japan free trade agreement comes into effect in 2010 we might see some reduction on duties…

nub lol…

An average accord goes for about RM100k in japan :-D

not including the additional costs like parking permits if you’re in the city.

• harry potter (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 3:18 pm

3 weeks ago, i saw a black Nissan GTR R35 near Taman Tar. Didn`t manage to snap the photo. The car have nice number plate KCE 5

• harry potter (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 3:21 pm

the GTR that i saw is in your forum

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 3:38 pm

even if v import jap spec gtr into malaysia w/o our malaysian track in database, it will just limit speed to 180kmh…what a waste…another thing is, u can hardly touch the engine, n the worst case, not even the wheels…sensor every where! wheel weight different, u cant run the car, if ur not in a registered track (since they use gps to locate where r u to unlock the speed limit) u cant speed over 180kmh…what a waste…do u think ppl buy gtr is js for show? what i know is they buy gtr is to mod…not just for show

• peggy (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 3:41 pm

pardon my ignorance, since its an unregistered car… why is the number plate blacken out?

• crasher7 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 3:42 pm

Cant wait to see more of this car on the road… I love this car!!!

• peggy (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 3:42 pm

pardon my ignorance, since its an unregistered car… why is the number plate blacken out???

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 3:53 pm

Nissan designed the whole system to be mod proof. But hey, it wont stop tuners from trying. A simple request to Nissan HQ telling them you’re outside Japan will do the trick with the GPS limiter.

• LeonardFoong (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 5:01 pm

I think people who don’t know shouldn’t speculate on the price and how much importers profit of the car. They usually end up just making a fool out of themselves when someone who knows (or the owner) sees their comments. =)

The car is from Zaibi Motor Sdn Bhd and not from Naza.

There are rumors that Tan Chong will be bringing in some but limited quantities because Chris Tan is interested. If this happens, they might bring in equipment to service and support the car.

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 5:01 pm

Since nissan-renault aliance. (some said, renault already bought / bigger share holder now).
    The size is big . Maybe not only for asia market. also to enter europe market more. What i like about nissan now is.. it’s Continental + Japan look.

A bit muscle car look is there. :)

• _xXx_ (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 5:51 pm

mukhri88 said,
    March 17, 2008 @ 9:41 am

….If they sell this car in Malaysia for more than RM720k, then buyers kena tipu.
    ———————————-
    Wonder what car in MY no tipu? 120k for the new Altis is the current biggest tipu!

• DAN L (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 7:05 pm

i drive a gtr whit rafidah aziz in the gt4 play station. crazy malaysia policy creat by stupid gov that only bring down malaysia!

• Tracks (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 7:45 pm

peggy said,
    March 17, 2008 @ 3:42 pm

pardon my ignorance, since its an unregistered car… why is the number plate blacken out???

That’s the trade plate being blank out and you could see the string hanging from the inside of the rear boot.

The R35 looks good in white too.

• faizfadil (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 8:52 pm

OH S**T!!!!!!!!!!! Dreams REALLY comes true……. wish and planning 2 own 1…… CRAP!!!!!

• ICER (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 9:06 pm

Work whole life, also dun know can get one or not

• szw (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:04 pm

according to the pix , it looks like tan chong is bringing in the car…
    i guess it’ll cost like 600k like that if according the way they sell it in UK .
    dis is becoz dis car is in the price range of a BMW M3(new one).

• familyman (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:16 pm

perghhh
    GTR
    enuff said

u lucky bu$t@rd!! i’m so jealous..
    so kaya lahh.. got a GTR, park by the road side.. behind myvi.. quite close to the curb..
    if you curb the wheel how? fly in replacement from JAP?? :P hahaha

• transformer (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:42 pm

its tail light seems made from gems and diamonds………….. ABSOLUTELY AMAZINGLY AWESOME!

• freakster991 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:54 pm

The car is the Grey import markets. Going for RM650,000. This is the black permium edition.. So the normal ones should be around 10-20k less. Unless people like to get conned la.. Expect plenty of these to hit the roads within the next one year.. Sunway area will be full of these when upgrades are available.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 11:49 pm

nice photos!!! :-)

still carry on the elements and spirit of the Skyline, great….

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 12:34 am

So which Dato’ got this car :P Looks nice, maybe this is the car his son wants

• nanashisan (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 1:02 am

nice… however, im still waiting for V-Spec version to be released end of this year. more powerful, lighter and better.

20″ rims is humongous in malaysia. i wonder that latio in the pic fit with GTR rims.

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 11:26 am

i dont need to wait for a gtr skyline. not going to try and afford it. hehe

whatever happened to thier silver only policy. by the way, i’ve noticed alot of malaysians like white. especially girls who think its cool.

bloody nice camera though. got the uncompressed pics?

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 2:19 pm

nice is nice… too bad we might not be able to see any heavily tuned version of the new GTRs… since the car is not tat tune friendly… even changing the wheels may affect the electronic components of the car…

• xavier_lert (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 3:02 pm

nice pict…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 3:46 pm

mines and nismo had oredi released their tune version of gtr…quite nice…especially the mine’s

• donovanchin (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 5:33 pm

topgunthang … I didn’t take them in RAW. All taken in jpg but at 12MP. If you want the orginal sized pics do contact me at donovanchin.com

• EddyHyip (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 6:29 pm

You know what…. Malaysian are not poor
    Many of us own car….
    Without national cars, we could have enjoyed better cars.
    Those who drives:-
    Perodua Kancil = Toyota Aygo, Suzuki Swift 1.3
    Proton Saga/ Iswara = Toyota Vios
    Proton Waja = Toyota Altis/ Civic/ Sentra
    Proton Perdana = Toyota Camry/ Accord/ Mazda 6
    So many proton saga and wiras outside should be vios and altis la…. damn

Ppl work like hell to own a wish or harrier shud be buying merc c class d…
    n parents buy swift and aygo for their teens daily drive 2 school or uni…
    Average malaysian owns 2 car….
    More tuning shops….
    More GTRs on the road…
    More illegal speeding video on youtube….

Life…. Australia/ thailand= reality Malaysia=hell

• ah liew (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 10:45 pm

i wonder who’s the lucky fella who bought the car…. Sultan Johor’s son perhaps…?

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 11:42 pm

The owner is Leonard Foong, that’s why he knows who’s the importer of this car :)

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 12:02 am

malaysia=expensive car+cheap petrol
    others=cheap car+expensive petrol

which 1 u prefer?
    think for it for long term ~~

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Mar 20, 2008 at 5:32 pm

I saw one the other day near there also, right after getting my SPM results. Actually it was more like a fleeting glimpse, so I couldn’t take a picture. It was black.

• eifs (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 4:29 pm

GTR in Brunei was quoted at B$90k.. equivalent to RM$180k++.. just my 2 cents ;)

• irvingctl (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 6:26 pm

spotted one at sunway. black color WCP 757

• irvingctl (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 6:27 pm

spotted one at sunway. black color WCP 757. dont know how they got it so fast when others in more privileged countries are finding it hard to get one themselves

• ah liew (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 9:14 pm

Who is Leonard Foong the owner of GTR?

• fuad.samsuddin (Member) on Apr 09, 2008 at 11:36 pm

The Nissan GTR is selling at RM728k at Naza. I think they still got a few units left. At the showroom there are the black and white color. The dark grey metallic is also available but is sold out. Prices is neg. The 1st unit will be registered soon and its going to be the 1st in Malaysia to be registered.

• ramesh on Jun 04, 2009 at 1:22 am

kancil is far beta den gtr la..uguys dunno anything..

• guys thats my car there ur drooling over… tsk, tsk.