Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

New Honda Freed MPV with up to 8 seats

Advertisement

Honda Freed MPV

Honda Japan has added one more vehicle to its line-up, the Honda Freed MPV. Based on the Global Small Platform which underpins cars such as the Honda Fit as well as the Freed’s more boxy cousin the Honda Mobilio/Mobilio Spike, the Honda Freed is powered by the new L-Series 1.5 liter i-VTEC engine (118 PS at 6,600rpm, 144Nm at 4,800rpm) mated to a CVT gearbox with a torque converter as its start-up device. It has 3 different seating configurations: a 5-seater, a 7-seater (2,2,3 with second row captain’s seats) and an 8-seater (2,3,3).

The Fit platform’s innovative flat floor allows maximum interior space to be used (Honda claims to be able to carry a 27 inch bicycle without taking off wheels or handle bars), and Honda says the 7-seater seating layout allows any passenger in any row to exit via any door thanks to a “walk through layout”. Looking at an image of the 7-seater interior seating configuration found after the jump, they are probably right as there is a clear empty space between the front two seats as well. The 8-seater version uses a 60:40 split fold bench for the second row.

The dashboard gets Honda’s latest two-tiered design, with both speedo, RPM and multi-info display located at the top deck nearest to the windscreen for easier visibility. The lower deck hosts the air conditioning controls and the gear shifter. Smack in the middle of the two decks in a rather high position is the 2-DIN player – a high position like this could allow the rear passengers to view it easily in case an in-dash LCD screen with DVD player is installed.

The front suspension design is of the MacPherson strut layout while the rear is a H-shaped torsion beam to minimise interior intrusion of suspension components. The Honda Freed uses an Electric Power Steering system, and safety features include ISOFIX points for child seats, optional Vehicle Stability Assist, and a maximum configurable option of 8 airbags including front, side, curtain and third row side airbags. Certain models have HID headlamps, but all lenses are reflector lenses.

As Honda model offerings are regional, the Honda Freed is not likely to make its way anywhere to the ASEAN region unless the Japan office gives the green light. The Honda Fit is sold over here as the Jazz, but you could say the Jazz platform-derived Mobilio looks too boxy for regional tastes. The Honda Freed is a new execution of a Global Small Platform car that can carry more than 5 people with design cues that should be very acceptable here.

More images after the jump.

Honda Freed MPV

VIDEO: Honda Freed MPV

38 Comments »

1. ndmervin said,

June 2, 2008 @ 10:57 am

The exemplary hybrid design of the Jazz and the Accord. Starting to love Honda’s creative ideas lately… :D

2. wookie00 said,

June 2, 2008 @ 10:57 am

nice model. looks fully geared towards a family oriented car. I suppose those extra features for the disabled are optional. Too bad if it were to be a 1.8 instead… so is it going to be in Malaysia?

3. … said,

June 2, 2008 @ 11:24 am

We can expect the new Perodua MPV having the same concept as this Honda Freed. Myvi/Boon/Sirion/Passo/Justy platform elongated into a mini MPV. Can’t wait to see it.

4. adil2008 said,

June 2, 2008 @ 11:38 am

Honda just launch the “Freed” about 1 week ago in japan, well respon from the market, it will same as “Fit” as well, maybe the Malaysia office will bring in this model like what the HM done before, the Civic Type R. I think should receive a good respon from the market.
    Well done HONDA, well done freed.

5. azrai said,

June 2, 2008 @ 11:52 am

They already have the airwave right? The extended and elongated Fit/Jazz actually.

6. Roti Naan said,

June 2, 2008 @ 12:01 pm

yes, now even great grandma and great grandpa can come along holiday trips too……

if got room left, mummy’s little Poochy can come too!

7. msmar_453 said,

June 2, 2008 @ 12:10 pm

Can we compare this Freed with Merc A180?

8. Paul Tan said,

June 2, 2008 @ 12:11 pm

airwave is a station wagon, not an mpv. it has no option for 3rd row of seats.

9. Xoomie said,

June 2, 2008 @ 12:18 pm

Will the latest generation of Honda City share any of Freed DNA, that would be super cool. 1.5 i-vtec… hmmm… 1.6 i-vtec sound better…

10. abtm said,

June 2, 2008 @ 12:37 pm

it’s one of those good japanese sushis which areavailabl only to Japan

11. Allan said,

June 2, 2008 @ 1:50 pm

For you dog lovers….this may interest you: http://www.honda.co.jp/dog/

12. 4G63T DSM said,

June 2, 2008 @ 2:09 pm

Looks encouraging if Honda Malaysia brings it in.

Looking for more competition on car based 6/7 seat Compact MPVs. Something just one size smaller and once class cheaper than the Stream and Wish.

Right now, there’s only the aging Citra and the Grand Livina. I could use some competition and choice in the 80k range. A 1.5/1.6/1.8 is good. Works against the oddly thirsty 2.0 in the Citra.

Perfect!

13. mitlanevo said,

June 2, 2008 @ 3:32 pm

a bit of B-class, a bit of Serena, and a a bit of Honda……

NOT NICE AT ALL……

stuck a model in between Jazz and Stream (or Oddysey) is not a good idea….

hopefully this is not the sequel to the nightmare of Mercedes Benz Vaneo…..

14. figo said,

June 2, 2008 @ 5:45 pm

Good interior with two tier dasboard and roomy headroom. The exterior also look good like estima(bullet head). I will put my money if this 1.5 V-tec selling at RM 90K.

Overall better than our Nissan Livina and Toyota rush/avanza/innova.

Honda, please bring in your “freed” MPV.

15. L15a said,

June 2, 2008 @ 6:53 pm

almost like the stepwagon with different look

16. mystvearn said,

June 2, 2008 @ 7:49 pm

I like this a lot. I never like people carrier, but I like this one. Can put 2 bicycles in. How much will this cost in Malaysia. Please bring it to Malaysia!

17. hyundai said,

June 2, 2008 @ 7:58 pm

This car should be introduced in Malaysia then we can see an interesting fight between Freed, Livina and Avanza…

18. szw said,

June 2, 2008 @ 10:26 pm

fight against avanza…

19. ezralimm said,

June 2, 2008 @ 11:04 pm

with rising fuel prices, this is a very wise move by honda… other car manufacturers would do well to follow.

20. batudelima said,

June 3, 2008 @ 12:21 pm

Paul pls tell Honda Malaysia to bring in this model with competitive price .It’s look so cute .Hope our government reduce the tax to let more people get their dream cars / transports.

21. batudelima said,

June 3, 2008 @ 12:45 pm

Actually the price of cars / transport in Malaysia is very expensive compare to US , Europe or middle East .Eg let say our RM4000/month ‘ Car prices- Waja =RM60K, persona =RM40K-50K , Merc /BMW =RM200-RM600K, Subaru+RM100 ,proton BLM /Saga RM30K ++

In USA income USD4000 ;car prices Subaru = USD 13K- USD30K

In UK income 4000Pound/month , car prices , Waja /Persona =6-7Kpound………….example only For more info can get from web.
    Thanks

22. JasonMaxx said,

June 4, 2008 @ 8:31 am

the rear looks like Mazda MPV and Toyota bB…rite?

23. arcana said,

June 5, 2008 @ 9:11 pm

everything about the car is perfect until the pic of the rear appears….
    they could have made it better looking at least…….the front is awesome, and i like the practicality of this MPV….low CC = good enuf to carry ppl around and not consuming too much.

24. Arise said,

March 11, 2009 @ 4:55 pm

[quote comment="166251"]Actually the price of cars / transport in Malaysia is very expensive compare to US , Europe or middle East .Eg let say our RM4000/month ‘ Car prices- Waja =RM60K, persona =RM40K-50K , Merc /BMW =RM200-RM600K, Subaru+RM100 ,proton BLM /Saga RM30K ++

In USA income USD4000 ;car prices Subaru = USD 13K- USD30K

In UK income 4000Pound/month , car prices , Waja /Persona =6-7Kpound………….example only For more info can get from web.
    Thanks[/quote]

You should count yourself no one bash you for your comment. Try post it in the Exora’s thread. You will be sad.

25. msi said,

March 11, 2009 @ 5:42 pm

odd looking design..but nice interior(bolehla)

26. SNSD said,

March 12, 2009 @ 11:10 am

If you read the problems Honda Freed had in Singapore due to instability.
    They have risen the height of the car while keeping the width dimension, believing the rigidity was good….but..taking corners on this is like driving a lorry in Kenari 14″ rims.

This isn’t a car for outstation, long drives….it’s slow city travelling like Citroen Berlingo – Renault-Kagoo segments..

where the money goes from S$65-70k, I would have gone for a Honda stream RSZ instead, or trusty durable old Toyota Wish….

27. vena said,

March 25, 2009 @ 12:21 am

wow I love it …
    Tell me when it ‘ll be coming to Indonesia…
    I want to buy it as fast as It come…
    It’s really good 4 the fammily…..
    How much 4 the price ?
    Just tell me when Honda Indonesia’ll sell it?

28. Djoni Luvena jesslyn jessica said,

March 25, 2009 @ 12:29 am

wow it’s look like a baby alphard…
    i really love it….
    When it’ll be coming to Jakarta Indonesia….
    i want to have it and i must buy it….
    I love it…..
    But it’s that expensive as alphard from toyota ?
    Faster come to Indonesia…. My lovely Freed…..

29. Sam said,

March 27, 2009 @ 12:27 pm

Ha…I reckon the price is gonna be steep in Malaysia. There is no reasonably good price for a reasonable good MPV from Honda and Toyota.

30. one9712745 said,

March 29, 2009 @ 4:08 pm

To BatuDelima
    1) You have to be able to specifically state your comparison – i.e to which country? All is not gold there, e.g: while prices of cars mayB low, but their insurance are HIGH, not just car insurance but accident/medical insurances. etc
    2) Never been to US, but then again, do you think it is easy to earn 4K in UK with current economy?
    3) To all those car-modifying lovers, M’sia is consiered a heaven for car accessories… in Europe don’t even think about adding those rainguards. might b penalized if not ‘inform’ authorities
    4) Besides buying, maintainance and repair is the next important thing. Here U can go to ANY workshop anytime as you fit, there it is the other way around. Even if your car KO in the middle of the road, you have to make an appointment with the mechanic.

So, although I partially agrre with you that prices might be “cheaper” there but I suggest that when you make a comparison, do not directly convert 1 GBP to RM6, but compare 1GBP to RM1, which is more reasonable. Take for instance, what can you buy in TESCO for GBP50 compared to RM50….. of course a whole lot more. So when you buy, say a Ford Focus (about GBP 20K i think ) of course it is “cheap” there, but remember that besides insurance, their road tax will also increase, based on CO2 emission (which I assume would increase as part of wear&tear of the engine)
    So there is pros and cons of M’sian car industry, but I would suggest a more constructive and reasonable argument.

31. ionstorm said,

April 23, 2009 @ 2:57 pm

hurmmm….

no body complaining about the engine thought…
    1.5 vtec, 118 pps & 144Nm…

no underpower ka..??

off course..it’s a honda, nobody yelling…. :p

32. Freeman said,

April 28, 2009 @ 9:14 am

Hello from Singapore,

Please feel free to check out Freedclub.org where our members post everything about our Freed pros n cons……

The best feature that my family liked about Freed besides the awesome interior space especially the central aisle so we never have to fold the second row seats to access the third row is the power sliding door. Both my aged parents finds it so easy getting in and out of Freed, even in very tight parking places.

Do not worry about the power, it is a Honda!

Do not worry about the FC, it easily does 16km/L (my old Wish is 12km/L).

Do not worry about cornering, if you like to corner at 120km then this car is not suitable for you. You have talent to be a F1 driver! This is Freed1 that lets the driver and passengers enjoy a safe and leisurely drive.

Do not worry about interior space, compared to the Stream this Freed is a big river without obstructions.

Cheers,
    Willy

33. agus susant said,

June 20, 2009 @ 3:00 pm

how much the price of this vehicle…. It’s really fantastic

34. yans said,

July 1, 2009 @ 5:39 pm

wah alus pisan emang uy uing ge kabita hayang lah lamun aya anu gratisan mah hihihi 237 juta cenah mah karek bulan juli 2009 di indonesia luncur tuh cenah mah top markotop uy

35. Amel said,

July 6, 2009 @ 10:59 am

Honda just release Honda Freed to Indonesia auto market by June 29, 2009.
    Its a seven seater MPV. The price from Rp. 237 Mills (RM 81,724) up to Rp. 257 mills (RM 88,621).
    (1 Ringgit Malaysia = 2,900 Indonesia Rupiah)

36. swoT said,

August 3, 2009 @ 12:37 pm

Saw the Freed in Indonesia. Looks better than the picture. Its big and tall. I have asked Honda malaysia when we are getting it cos my wife’s Honda is due for a change.

37. Web SEO said,

September 23, 2009 @ 9:57 am

This car seems borrow a lot of concept from Toyota Raum and implemented lot of new nice feature on it.

I am currently using Toyota Raum 2004 and I love this Honda Freed now. it si really freed me out. I want to throw my old car away but I will wait for a couple of years to get the price down a bit.

38. Jason Tehea said,

October 24, 2009 @ 7:45 pm

Please advise when will Honda Freed lauch in Malaysia. It’s seem better than Toyota Rush.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: New fuel subsidy plan in the next 3 months!
next post: Government to ink deal for free rear seatbelts