Thai auto industry executive thinks Proton should continue to be supported

Proton logoThai Summit Autoparts Industry’s executive vice president Thanathorn Juangroongruangkit said in Bangkok today that although Thailand and Malaysia took different routes to develop their automotive industry, both were successful in their own ways.

He also added that the Malaysian government should continue supporting Proton as it had become crucial to the backbone of various industries here such as autoparts, steel, and petrochemicals. He claims that without Proton, industries will collapse and thousands of people will become unemployed.

He thinks that a self-developed automaker is viable and said that if he could have made a decision 30 years ago, he would have gone for an ASEAN car for the Thai auto industry rather than a national car, as the Thai market is just too small to sustain its own car. But now its not possible anymore as the window of opportunity is closed, he admitted.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Cire (Member) on Jun 19, 2008 at 6:37 pm

Obviously true when the speaker here is actually on the receiving end of the whole Gov-Proton chain.
    TS wants more monies for its investment in msia..so what other way to do it simply if not thru some Gov.link cash cows!

In short, it is like asking the Gov.to continue supplying drugs to the addicts so that they will not create social problems.
    LPPL !!

What he should said is plotong need to join-big group companies so as to jump start its products’ innovations etc..
    Not asking for more floats in the spiralling sink hole !!

• kody (Member) on Jun 19, 2008 at 6:42 pm

wahlaueh…

another foreign ass making blind judgement… without proton… may be he is not at the position right now. thenMalaysia become Asean car assy hub & more jobs will be created than current!!

• car_craze (Member) on Jun 19, 2008 at 6:43 pm

I think P1 can now survive on it’s own now, but the future depends on who they tie up with, to achive the economies of scale. Furthermore, new platfroms and technologies are too expensive for a small manufacturer to go it alone.

• chee89 (Member) on Jun 19, 2008 at 7:40 pm

c’mon proton! you’re on fire.. just hope u dont puff out!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 19, 2008 at 9:04 pm

You sure he is not sarcastically saying that to make Malaysia unattractive to other car makers? Thailand has BMW, Toyoya, and going to have VW factories there. I’d say they got the better deal

• bestofamat (Member) on Jun 19, 2008 at 9:19 pm

whether proton should tideup or not, it’s up to them..
    for me, proton should study collaboration such as mitsu-peugeot-citroen, few mitsu’s models has been “cloned” like airtrek.. and it is proved successful..
    and also to fully utilise Lotus!!!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jun 19, 2008 at 9:37 pm

“without Proton, industries will collapse and thousands of people will become unemployed”????

wow, i just finished reading the FUNNIEST joke of the century!!!

Proton will be Proton, Malaysia will be Malaysia, and corrupted Gov will remain as corrupted Gov….

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 19, 2008 at 10:03 pm

wow, most of you really hate the Gs. Actually proton is not that bad really! Just that some part of the world took graunted for the thing that earns money.
    I would say let proton to decide what they want without Gs disturbing on the way.
    Go away! If it wasn’t for the Gs, we maybe drinving VW@ proton cars now….

• Goddess (Member) on Jun 19, 2008 at 10:26 pm

ask him to die pls…

• ekoh (Member) on Jun 19, 2008 at 11:15 pm

“without Proton, industries will collapse and thousands of people will become unemployed”????

i think he mean without Proton, Thailand automotive industry will not be so successful as today, create thousands of jobs for the Thais. Thank you Proton

• delos3nos (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 12:15 am

GOOD and BAD

GOOD is he is partly right without proton lot of people will lose job.He insult us and our gov took the wrong step toward auto industry where all our potential customers are in they hand now. As we can see the result as auto industry in Thailand.They gov think for they people and ours gov think for them self first
    Well our gov will never change in another 100 years because they are too smart and treat other like stupid.

BAD: Nill we learn the hard way why our putrajaya organisations are getting dumb and dumbmer

• ezralimm (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 12:21 am

? i really dont get you ppl.

Thailand makes lots of Toyota cars.

Vietnam makes lots of Nike shoes.

but oh no, our govt so corrupt and we are left with brands like Asadi.

w00t.

You guys do realize that:
    1) Imported cars are cheaper in malaysia than in thailand*
    2) Proton cars sold in thailand are more expensive OTR than in malaysia, yet proton’s prices are amongst the lowest over there.

*or so my thai friends claim…

The thai automotive industry is as successful in making cars as malaysia is at making microprocessors (intel/amd). So what, it’s all foreign owned…where do you think the profits end up?

• drebar (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 1:01 am

what a stupid noob.

ever wonder why the hoo-haa about proton being back in the black has died down? truth is proton actually sufferred loses! but government funded them and allowed it to be in the accounts, that’s how they make profits! that’s taxpayers freaking money!!!!!

another thing dsai should do if he ever comes to power is close down proton immediately!

• drebar (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 1:02 am

test

• trustgtr (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 1:39 am

what he is saying is proton is the biggest contributor for Thailand’s automotive industry..if proton didn’t exist, most manufacturer would choose M’sia as it has the biggest passenger car market..protective policies of the m’sian govt has made Thai a more attractive..thanks M’sian..!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 2:11 am

trustgtr makes the most honest comment. he is hoping malaysia continues to support proton so that thailand will continue to get all the investments. while the malaysian public continues to pay top dollar for low quality and no choices.

petronas is government owned and you all know who owns proton. guess where all the profits end up??

• car_craze (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 8:08 am

Drebar,

your comments are really like a ‘Drebar’ – no facts, just insinuations.

• bmpower (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 9:07 am

actually.. in my deep heart.. I think..

we don’t hate proton, we like it because it ours.
    but we do hate the corrupted and stewpid govt those handle it.

• sloan (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 9:39 am

Thai summit is one of the biggest auto suppliers in Thailand (they make everything except engine, I think). maybe he’s saying that to be on the good side and ink some supply deals/ local dealership with Proton?

Proton is successful in Thailand..many sales and showrooms coming up. Good review by Autobild (Thailand) too.

ezralimm is right…toyota/nike/intel all foreign owned. We only get the labor wage in the value chain.

• lchan (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 9:39 am

Thanathorn Juangroongruangkit Vice President of Thai Summit Autoparts Industry’s is a smart man. He knows that the path taken by Thailand is a much better way forward for Thailand. The continuation of Proton will lead to Thailand being an even more viable choice for foreign investment. And at this rate it goes, I am not supraise if the benefits reaped by Thailand is much greater then Malaysia. And he knows that the words that come out of his mouth are praises that Malaysian Government takes to the liking very much…basically..his words are like bananas to monkeys.

• rexis (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 9:58 am

Yes, very true indeed, it had become so crucial to the backbone of various industries here, so many companies existed just to produce spare parts for protons.

Perhaps someone would like to point out too that they as well need 11 more years to learn to stand on their own feet.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 10:50 am

Lets not forget that some of these vendors today that support proton have graduated to supplying parts for other automakers as well, like honda, and toyota.

• lchan (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 10:59 am

well..lets say they graduation to supplying parts to other automakers is government enforced policy to foreign car makers to meet the locally assembled criteria/requirement. Good for us tho in some ways.

• azrai (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 11:23 am

Can we trust this man? He make profit from Proton, or maybe he is Thailand agent to make sure automobile FDIs stay in Thailand.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 4:33 pm

Somebody should tell him that windows are never closed. They just get complicated. But never closed.

It would be great to see an ASEAN car. There lies the ties that bind us together. ASEAN has always purported the idea of ‘prosper thy neighbour’ but never got around to actually finding out HOW to do it. If the various countries could be bandied together, we would surely have something truly amazing. The EU have done with their aerospace industry. We could do it with our own car. It would bring the ASEAN coutries closer together and put more smiles on our faces when we greet them.

Nice!

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 5:06 pm

His intention is very clear, as long as Proton still exist, BN will support. Impartial / double standard drives all car manufacturers away from Malaysia and they direct their investment to Thailand. Thai are smart..

• ezralimm (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 8:15 pm

The thai guy was very very careful to be politically correct in the interview.

1) He did not say thai’s way was better
    2) He did not say malaysia’s way was better
    3) He DID say that an ASEAN car was a good idea.
    4) He correctly mentioned that the local car industry forms a backbone for many other industries.
    5) He did not say that we would have been better off if we followed thailand.

It’s sad to see so many people drawing all sorts of conclusions from a well worded and possibly well meaning commentary

I think the idea of an ASEAN car platform is a good idea. A common set of parts for cars going to the ASEAN region… makes commercial sense. Of course, implementation would be another issue.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 9:25 pm

anybody ever seen anybody driving a proton in thailand?

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 12:40 pm

anybody ever seen anybody driving a proton in thailand?

nope..but i did saw a young thai guy wearing t-shirt with a big proton logo on it
    during my trip to hatyai last time …im feel proud as malaysian

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 2:06 pm

of coz they want proton to be supported or who else going to invest billions in usd on Thailand auto industry? at first i thought hes an idiot for not knowing wat was happening in malaysia but if I were in his place I would say the same thing!

Consider this, umno cronies like what the thai exec says, Thai would love to see Proton being supported. Isnt that win-win situation for them? as usual our govt suka shiok sendiri.

• the man (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 11:55 pm

please support proton, close the door for any equity take over and all the billions FDI will go to thai. sigh..do malaysian lack of real economist and finance expert to advise the PM how to do the bussiness and run the country. ..? ops I forgot…all of them now working with Thai gov. :)

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 2:42 pm

ISNT PROTON THE GOVERNMENT?

• aliBaPa (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 4:44 pm

he just want Malaysia auto industry die so we won’t compete with them!!!

• bisco (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 7:22 pm

In a country where marketers like Bonia, Carlo Rino, Valentino etc have to FOOL us into thinking we’re buying imports, it’s no wonder the Proton bashing never ends.

Let’s admit it if the country is run by Malay ke, Chinese ke, Indian ke, BN ke, PR ke… we will never be as good as we ought to be. N.E.V.E.R! Nobody is ever satisfied/supportive of one another.

Even local cars also we are asked whether want “local” or “genuine” parts. What kind of mentality is this?

Proton tries buck up also you guys hentam to close. How constructive is this?

GLCs make money you all bising, GLCs not make money also you all bising. Only Singapore can have GLSs meh? What do you want?

Stop hiding behind “people’s voice” and admit the racist that you are.

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 2:14 pm

the reason why ppl bought proton is because proton is CHEAP. I never heard of ppl buying proton for its quality. Anyone felt proud driving CHEAP and nasty proton?

haha