Petrol price may drop if crude oil below US$125

Fuel-Wallet GaugeAnwar Ibrahim has been using fuel prices as ammunition for his government reform campaign (see debate between Anwar and Ahmad Shabery), but this latest move by the ruling government may just force Anwar to look for something else.

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Samad told Bloomberg that the government may consider dropping fuel prices of petrol and diesel in Malaysia if the cost of crude oil drops below US$125 and stabilizes and is sustained for at least 3 weeks. The government may also continue subsidizing fuel for the next 10 years instead of cutting off fuel subsidies much earlier as planned.

However the report is just full of “may” and “maybes” and “why nots”… nothing is concrete, so no one should get their hopes high. Even if prices drop, it may go up again.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• carsut (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 1:15 pm

hopefuly G consider to drop some gas RM..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 1:24 pm

its nt possible..i dont recall any country droping petrol prices after being raised…economically its nt right as oil prices are related to so many political events its impossible for it to be at a stable price…we have been “sodomised” by this high petrol prices !

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 1:38 pm

talk cock only… this G is afterall a flip-flop type… say A today, do B tomorrow..

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 1:39 pm

flip_flop

• superookie (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 1:40 pm

once bitten twice shy..
    i will never trust on what they say again..

• mattyboy (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 1:49 pm

e-nabill – It is very possible, it happens all the time. In the UK for instance the price of petrol changes almost weekly if the price of oil is volatile. Just this week they have been reduced by 10p per litre

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 1:58 pm

NATO – No Action, Talk Only… Maybe? See the outcome first, if the price really drops, then we rakyat enjoy the privillage la. If not, life as usual…

• kahing (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 2:00 pm

No, the G is flip floppy indeed, but they say A today and on the same day, they will do X, Y, and Z instead. Idiots will always be idiots, regardless of what the global whatever situation is like. CORRUPTION SCREWS THE GOVERNMENT UP !

• drebar (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 2:10 pm

i don’t put too high hope on this piece of news. just glad if the price did not go up… sad

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 2:17 pm

the price should never have increased

• dzulcar9 (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 2:23 pm

And then it should reflect also

BN-Bahanapi Naik

to

PKR- Petrol Kena Rombak

He He He

• Apathy (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 2:33 pm

alaaa talking cock only la all these politicians (read: monkeys). making popular statement but no action. otak penuh TAH 1. period.

• Apathy (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 2:46 pm

If by any miraculous event the fuel price dropped to around USD115 per barrel and stabilizes, will Big Bro reset the price to RM1.92 per litre? even if they did it, will your fav mamak stall charge the old price back? I doubt it. they will say something like ini musim perayaan, demand tinggi bekalan kurang la, whatever crappy reasons etc. Greedy suppliers, greedy enterpreneurs…..

• Apathy (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 2:50 pm

Emm by the way, 1 barrel is equivalent to how many litre arr? and the international fuel price, is it for what RON? RON92? RON97? RON99? RONXX?
    i doubt that the $$$ for 1 barrel of RON97 is equivalent to 1 barrel of RONXX.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 3:06 pm

Like you said, this is just another ploy to reduce Anwar’s voice.

I’m no fan of Anwar but its clear everythign the government is going now has a political motive.

Heads are reeling now in the BN camp because of the drastic rise in cost of living. Something has to be said or done to pacify the sheep. What they are doing is nothing short of a plot to buy time.

Not to bring too much politics into this, but BN has already lost most of its Chinese and Indian support. The only real support is from thier own umnoputeras and the easily “motivated” (or unexposed – whatever you shall call it) kampung folks and government servants. High costs of living are hitting them the hardest and loosing that core support is suicide…..so much so it has begun to court PAS…padan muka.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 3:17 pm

reduce or not reduce, is only a short term solution….

lets hope electric Saga or hybrid Viva will be selling at RM20k each in few years time…..

• king (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 3:47 pm

hahah…who can trust a liar like shahrir samad??

u must have IQ of zero to trust such a person like that.

ask this stupid shahrir fella to shut his stinking mouth la… last time open the filthy mouth say no petrol increase in 3 months then what happen after that?

useless Babi Negara did it again

• king (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 3:50 pm

mattyboy said,
    July 31, 2008 @ 1:49 pm

e-nabill – It is very possible, it happens all the time. In the UK for instance the price of petrol changes almost weekly if the price of oil is volatile. Just this week they have been reduced by 10p per litre

___

this is not UK la…u better wake up…

• moonier (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 3:58 pm

if global petrol price decrease, govt MUST decrease our petrol price as well…

• Ricc (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 4:04 pm

I dun see its necessary to drop the petrol/diesel price just because the world oil price stable at USD125 for 3 weeks. Anything can happen in the next few weeks, not to say month. If G lowered the price tomorrow, and world oil price hike back to USD145 per barrel the following week, how?

Once again, petrol station is packed wif vehicles.. This will just caused un-stability of our current economy..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 4:42 pm

haha…..I don’t believe the GOVT. la…

Today, reduce 5 cents, tomorrow raise 50 cents. Worst than before.
    That is what the current GOVT good at. Making things worst than it should be.

• torque (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 4:54 pm

This is just for fun…cheer up guys,

Kerajaan mesti turunkan harga minyak,
    Sebelum rakyat semua naik minyak,
    Jangan jadi macam orang minyak,
    Rogol orang sampai naik lemak,
    Bila tiba pilihanraya kamu panik banyak-banyak,
    Sebab penyokong parti pembangkang bertambah banyak,
    Pilihanraya lepas kamu semua kena lanyak,
    Sebab sibuk kumpul harta benda banyak-banyak!!! :-)

• torque (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 5:01 pm

Don’t just talk only, buat je la! Cakap kosong memang best. Might as well just say if next election, if BN menang 100%…kerajaan akan hadiahkan setiap rakyat dengan Mercedes E200K…hahaha! Sure cock win like nobody business lah. Then again cakap kosong is easy and syok right? I just did!! Nuff said…

• infinity (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 5:04 pm

i think the price will go down…it’s a political motivated move..1st ly because anwar is weaker now..even though many dun belief wat he did (sodomising), but there are surely some effect on his strength..at the same time, if the government reduce the petrol price, the G will gain a bit popularity…anwar minus, gov plus…then gov get the advantage..

• Junn (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 5:06 pm

How come both situation also we lose ?
    just like avp tagline
    Whoever win we lose XD

• Superman_AYKF (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 5:08 pm

“if the cost of crude oil drops below US$125 and stabilizes and is sustained for at least 3 weeks.”

So many if and condition. If you are doing it, pls mean you really doing it. Don’t give so many if, may, maybe and might….stop f**king us anymore….I would be more than happy if they really willing to drop the price….

• monkeysam99 (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 5:18 pm

Talk cock only!

If government really drops the fuel price, I will let myself being sodomized in public and cut my cock after that!

• Superman_AYKF (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 5:37 pm

monkeysam99, dont talk too big first….u never know what our crazy G will do…..

• azrai (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 5:37 pm

Just another flip-flop policy from the G. my wild guess is, no price reduction. If there is drop in price of oil, the other goods will not have a reduction in price. imagine this. At RM2.70 per litre, everything goes up in the sky. When it is reduce at let say RM2.50, everything still have the same price= no reduction. then the G plan to increase it to RM2.55 per litre, surely the domino effect will take place again. Now it is time for us to give ‘incentive’ to the G in term of higher than market oil price ( Anwar did say for the business it is called incentive, while for the rakyat it is known as subsidy.)

• farghmee (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 5:43 pm

ceh..myk turun, rege barang xkn turun punya.
    apart from reduction in oil price, people want more welfare!

• numb3r7mu (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 5:55 pm

this is all the gimmick of BM and remember last time gov servent gaji 2X 1 month. in the end the outcome x sesuaile, x practicele, membazirle
    next time don’t say anything before get confirmation. 2 many if’s lastly haprak
    abuk pun tadak

• armandd (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 6:53 pm

singapore already reduced its petrol and diesel prices by 10 cent per liter respectively.

• mazri (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 7:19 pm

Clown always make people feel happy, but this clown always make people sad.

Lol, paper increase up to 80%, how do you expect those tauke will cut the price back if minyak turun?.

NGV supplier, no need to worry, those clown only dreams in daylight.

Poodah!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 7:29 pm

wait and see attitude…Don’t hold your breath

• chee89 (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 8:22 pm

all talk, no torque. as usual.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 10:02 pm

price drop? how much la?? 1 cent drop?, 0.5 cent drop maybe??

bwahahahahaha

• FrozenHeart (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 11:51 pm

If the price drop below us$125, our fuel price may drop.
    If i am uncle lim’s son, i may drive a bmw M3 to work.
    If i win lottery, i may buy a banglo.
    If i know the stock market price gone down, i may not lost my $$
    If ………… , i may ……………..
    If ……. May
    If …………..
    If …………..
    If …………..

Government , The Power Of Dream
    ……………..,The Power Of “If”
    ……………..,The Power Of “May”
    (sorry honda…)

• king (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 12:02 am

If i am shahrir, i will shut my mouth and stop talking cock

• mofo (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 12:55 am

I do remember our government said that they will review the crude oil price every months and make adjustment accordingly so Governemnt would alwiz subsidizing 30 cents from the world current market. Now different stories with terms ? – Correct me, if im wrong.

Even the crude oil drop $1, i do expect slightly adjustment should be done.

• raverus (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:53 am

Giving out some tit bits after seeing PR progress?
    The adjustment would not affect the drop of living of cost.
    Then again, flip flop G….who cares.

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:05 pm

Promises, promises, promises!

• fed-up (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 5:26 pm

Woi, betui ke ini? I don believe la, after all the things our gov messed up.

• shah74 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:08 am

We don’t really have a mechanism to simply reduce the price of oil unless it is no longer subsidised by the G. If there is still an element of subsidy especially in term of cash then it will really coz a lot of trouble and problem which IMHO it will cost more to the G.

How do they want to calculate the loss suffer by oil company and station dealer for the remaining product in their stock/depot whenever G reduced the price since they are buying at higher price. We are talking about 3000 station and few depot which stock multi million liter of oil at any time meant for domestic usaged.