PM: Proton can submit proposals for foreign partner

Proton LogoThe Prime Minister has put the ball in Proton’s court with regards to finding a foreign partner (if Proton deems it necessary).

Commenting on the earlier this week on GM’s supposed renewed interest in Proton, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi told Proton to do its own evaluation on a foreign partner and submit it to the government for consideration.

The saying goes “talk is cheap” and especially so in these flip-flop days, but this could mean either one of two things. One – the PM could have renewed confidence in the aptitude of Proton’s management, trusting them to decide on such business matters.

In previous partnership talks it looked like Khazanah Nasional was handling everything, to the point that when this news piece on GM broke in the media, Proton said partnership talks should go through Khazanah.

The other possibility is something abit more negative but interesting – the government could want to appear to wash it hands clean off Proton matters after previous talks failed.

As for GM’s renewed interest in Proton, some updates have emerged. Sources reveal that Steve Carlisle had actually told the media that it would be open to exploring partnerships including a partnership with Proton if Proton or Khazanah Nasional were to ever approach GM to renew talks, but did not specifically say GM wanted to or was happy to re-open partnership talks.

What he actually meant was GM would be open to evaluate any potential partnerships – and any interest would depend entirely on the evaluation results. The sources used by our previous report as references had jumped the gun a little.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dr_carz (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 7:39 am

ITS A GOOD THIN FOR OUR GOV TO MAKE PROTON TO MAKE ITS OWN DECISION.

SO BIAS WRITING AAA PAUL

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 10:25 am

all the best proton~~

• indigo (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 10:51 am

Paul, there is a new teaser at proton’s site about Gen2 or Persona. Could you find out what is it about?

• bolo (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 10:55 am

GM as proton’s partner? This is like hoping Titanic will save you from your sinking boat!!

• torque (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 10:58 am

Yup! Talk is cheap…still, I firmly believe joining GM isn’t such a smart move.

• rt (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 11:28 am

I think the GM’s guy are trying to be diplomatic or doing PR thing.

Of course la, if someone come to you and ask you, would you entertain anybody coming for talks. they will certainly said yes.
    If or when the meeting will ever took place later, it would be different matter.

I agree with you that the media looks a little bit jump the gun.
    Might be someone is eyeing the huge commission if this partnership do take place.

rt

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 2:17 pm

GM – oh no!!

• freeze (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 3:42 pm

indigo,
    I think its a special edition of something for Persona not Gen2. (430 litre boot space gave it away)

But seems like nothing special, just accessories only apart from the auto cruise.

• freeze (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 3:46 pm

tentative price at RM59900.

• rt (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 3:59 pm

freeze & indigo,

It is Persona IAFM?

You could see it in proton edar’s page.

Open for booking

PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) A/T BASE-LINE (M) RM 48,949.00
    PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) A/T BASE-LINE (S) RM 48,499.00
    PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) M/T BASE-LINE (M) RM 45,949.00
    PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) M/T BASE-LINE (S) RM 45,499.00

PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) A/T M-LINE (M) RM 53,300.00
    PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) A/T M-LINE (S) RM 52,850.00
    PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) M/T M-LINE (M) RM 50,300.00
    PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) M/T M-LINE (S) RM 49,850.00

PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) A/T H-LINE (M) RM 56,800.00
    PERSONA 1.6 (IAFM) A/T H-LINE (S) RM 56,350.00

RT

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 4:05 pm

Whatever… So long it produces results.

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 4:09 pm

I thot Malaysia has reported to the UN about USA messing in our country. Now why does GM is all the sudden interested in P1 and given blessing by The Sleeping Guy ?

Something fishy or mau tutup malu ?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 4:48 pm

just sell off proton to volkswagen

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 4:59 pm

Just sell of Proton…..habis cerita. Alternatively, proton can close shop

Why solve the problem’s problem? Get rid of the problem at the first place, then no more problem lor….

Then this is just my comment…..I’m not shoving all my comments in your ears.

• ys (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 5:54 pm

not sure if the talk will works.
    anyway, better than sit and wait to be shoot dead

• legacy88 (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 9:20 pm

Just close shop. No more cronies. No need to support this pathetic company. Full stop!

• RM (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 10:28 pm

While the millions in this decaying country of ours may be split in so many ways, the one thing that binds us, the one thing that all Malaysians and even Jeremy Clarkson can agree on is that Proton needs a whole lot more than a strategic tie-up.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 10:39 pm

maybe partnering is an alternative way to get some high tech car with affordable price other than close shop… simple close shop wont resolved any issue

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 12:00 am

Can partner with TATA also I don’t care. As long as its beneficial.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 12:13 am

here we go again… sigh..

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 1:06 am

Finally Proton has been given a chance by the GOV to improve themselves, I hope they use it wisely. As long there is no political intervention, everything will go smooth.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 8:40 am

I also can submit porposal to gov la, and i am sure it will yield same result as all other porposal submitted to gov.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 12:02 pm

proton cars are even worse than zhiguli, lada etc…

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 12:04 pm

If PROTON really don’t want any other party to do takeover of them they should plan to get back their share in Khazanah, so that gov had less says in Proton..

• japankiller (Member) on Aug 16, 2008 at 2:58 pm

sounds like somebody is going to make a quick profit from share market again.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 1:32 pm

sell it off to GM so we can get rid of the national car and hopefully watch the americans make it thier national car and charge high taxes on thier citizens on all the other cars in the market.

that would be fun to watch

• yippi33 (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 1:45 pm

Nah..GM is just interested in protons existing plant in Tg Malim..sure save their cost if partnership with proton to produce their models..technology sharing wise i doubt that..

• delos3nos (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 3:29 pm

Proton boleh caya kinzal pun boleh panjat pokok. mau share naik bukan macam itu pak, itu kesah lama tu

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 5:30 pm

alpina bmw,
    “proton cars are even worse than zhiguli, lada etc…”

sorry dude, but have you actually ever driven a lada? I have.. and a proton is at least 500 times better. please qualify your comments the next time..

and as usual, proton has said nothing about this GM rumours.. same with VW, same with all the others..and everyone is already jumping. i think a clearer picture of any partnership will only come when proton themselves actually make a statement.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 17, 2008 at 7:31 pm

well, a proton definitely can’t win a race round the garden ring in ???????,plus the face controller of the clubs in russia won’t let you in

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 1:12 am

Guys, this is just the initial talks. so why are we jumping up and down for this?
    I think this is the same old story that happened on VW as well.
    But either way, P1 did have to step out and start competing with others (without gov’s help)

• intermilan (Member) on Aug 18, 2008 at 3:15 pm

this piece of thing about proton partnership .. no need to put in this web site la.. waste people time only.

• torque (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 12:28 pm

intermilan,

Hahaha…I think I’ve got to agree with you on that one dude. Yup! Just a waste people time only…

• car_craze (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 1:29 pm

ALPINA BMW,

You are talking gibberish. What do you mean ” ..can’t win a race round the gardern ring in..??” ” plus the FACE controller of the clubs….”???

• anj97 (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 12:45 am

Proton can never improve in their research & developement.The PM should just close off proton and just concentrate to bring the foreign can price down.We idiotic morons in Malaysia are being conned by the BN goverment to buy over priced proton cars which does not have any quality.Just survey all the 2nd dealers aroung klang valley.So many proton cars sold as 2nd hand.No one wants to buy.Bloody expensive.Basically all malaysian should have realized when the persona was launched.Just extention on Gen-2.Otherwise all the same shit.Buy yet still people buy.Why?Simple answer..its because malaysians are idiots and the BN goverment is taking advantage of it.So what happen to Proton Putra?Hardly can be seen on the road.What happen?Basically all are scraped or parked at 2nd dealer waiting to be sold.
    I just want to ask all you car experts out there,why NAZA WORLD selling cars like selling bunglow lots or aeroplanes?a 7 years old BMW 3 series costing around RM245k.Its a joke.Its a recond car.I guess the PM should look into it.But coming to think of it..bloody basic road also cant be done properly,so what does the PM or DPM cares on the car price.All idiots malaysians just have support it..buy or take rotten public transport.Basically Malaysian automotive industry is a rotten business.Proton can go to hell!!!

• avictar (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 3:55 pm

aiyaa where can GM buy Proton…the fact that Proton sells to Iran itself IS A political and business boo boo to GM….