VIDEO: MEM Proton Satria Neo Super 2000

Satria Neo S2000

We’ve all drooled at the MEM Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 Rally Car built by Mellors Elliot Motorsport according to FIA Super 2000 rally specifications. The Satria Neo S2000 car uses a 280 horsepower 2.0 litre normally aspirated engine based on the 1.8 litre Renault engine in the Waja 1.8X.

Look after the jump to watch a video of a young driver trying the car out and listen to the 280 horses and 271Nm of torque being unleashed through the 6-speed Xtrac sequential transmission. Hopefully more videos of the S2000 Neo will make its way onto the web for our enjoyment soon. Thanks to reader IsaacVky for the pointer.

Related Story:
MEM Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 – Specifications and Photos

VIDEO: Proton Satria Neo S2000

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 7:10 pm

zoom zoom proton

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 7:11 pm

damn..how can matsaleh test our car first….envy him..

• Ralliace (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 7:11 pm

Looks too slow to me!

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 7:21 pm

holy shit, tat kid can drive! -.-” its quite powerful, notice how it do tat corner? its not slow at all, since its on gravel/sandy road…not as much grip as on tarmac

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 7:44 pm

Kids? He might be older than some of us! Joking….

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 9:01 pm

Whoa…

It sounds like a…

dirtbike on steriods!!

Nice and badarse whip !!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 10:04 pm

how to get 280hp without turbo or super?

• WXX8XX (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 10:24 pm

Nicceee… but still wondering… When the hell are we going to get Neo GTi?.. C’mon Proton.. turbo? twin turbo? supercharge?.. we don’t mind.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 10:25 pm

The fact that a British kid can handle a rallycar shows us how behind we are in terms of competition in Malaysia.

Will the next Karamjit Singh stand up?

• freeze (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 11:05 pm

*stands up*

• ENZO (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 12:53 am

“How does it feels?”
    “Really really good!”

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 10:28 am

Cooll..can do some drift..for sure many locals want to have this..hehe

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 10:38 am

if he can do that in a proton, he can do wonders in an impreza

• torque (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 12:41 pm

MisterBenjo,

Not only matsalleh but a kid some more! Hahaha….envy…envy….:-)

• torque (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 12:45 pm

WXX8XX,

I’m with you man! Don’t care lah what ever force induction Proton wanna put in their Neo GTi (if they wanna launch one that is), I also won’t mind want it lah. Hmmm…imagine a Satria Neo GTi with 280 HP selling for RM120k…hahaha, nobody will buy Hyundai Coupe la…hahaha! :-)

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 12:57 pm

1 – so 1.8 waja engine can fit to neo engine bay.
    2 – how to produce 280hp power from that engine.

if i know this (#2), i must be buy 1 :D

• japankiller (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 7:17 pm

this is a kids toy, doesn’t mean for more professional driver.
    ahaaa..this is just a joke.
    this car is quite responsive, very light weight.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 8:07 pm

Sounds quite good.

• buttercity (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 10:37 pm

I am drooling..

• runpandarun (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 2:54 am

omg!!!!

he is so mother f-ing young!!! he is so lucky!

• ... (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:08 am

That kid is 13 years old!

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 10:20 am

is he (boy) is a son of the team foundeR?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:30 am

racing is money.. just coz you see a young brit kid in a rally car, doesnt mean there are no malaysian kids in a racing car.

in malaysia.. kids with money have parents who prefer to put their kids in a go-kart with the aim of getting into single seater racing(thats where all the money is, if you’re good enough). a good example is jazeman jaafar, who won last years formula bmw asia championship in his 1st attempt, beating much older and more experienced drivers.

unforunately, there just isnt enough money in rallying in malaysia. i’m assuming most companies prefer the “glamour” of single seater racing. if you look at F1 today, its part racing, part hollywood. the drivers are treated like gods, and showered with money.

because rallying get less money, it gets less prominence and less media coverage, which leads to less companies willing to put their money into it.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:44 am

also, motorsports development will always be a problem in our country.. how many race tracks do we have as an example? only 2. in the UK who has land than we do, there are more than 10 main circuits, not counting the many other smaller circuits around. They also have a huge industry supporting motorsports, from large companies like mclaren to the small cottage industry types with hitech capabilities.. they dont call the UK “Home of motorsports” for nothing.

• Desmoquattro (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 8:48 am

totally agree with u BanyakMasukWorkshop..

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 10:38 am

bmpower said,
    August 23, 2008 @ 12:57 pm

1- so 1.8 waja engine can fit to neo engine bay.
    -can maaa…that’s why proton using Renault engine, cause the campro engine derived from renault engine.

2 – how to produce 280hp power from that engine.
    -spend alot like rm20k to bore the engine, new racing piston, crankshaft, racing pulley, camshaft, valve spring etc…then you can get those powers…but believe me you don’t want this wheels for daily commuting, cause i believe it will always stall when you launch it at traffic light..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:22 pm

“it will always stall when you launch it at traffic light..”

it will always stall only if you dont know how to drive it properly. its a rally car after all, and it needs to be driven on public roads (following the laws of the land-no speeding) when travelling from SS(special stage) to service, and vice-versa.

It will need to contend with all normal road conditions on these “transport stages”, ie. traffic jams, slow traffic, roundabouts, traffic lights..etc. there is usually a road “map” on the ECU for driving on normal roads.

Rules for Super2000 state that the engine must be homologated from an existing engine used in the manufacturers family of cars, and must be in mass production. Due to the unsuitability of the mitsu V6, the renault 1.8 is chosen for this purpose. The Impian(waja) BTCC cars also went the same route with the 1.8 from the waja. although proton bought the engines for use in their cars, they do not own the property rights to it.

the campro family of engines is only available in 1.3 and 1.6 and was developed from ground up by proton with lotuses help. it is not a renault derived engine. proton owns full rights to this engine.

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 10:05 pm

Aliff, I ingat u masuk sekolah balik la. Cikgu BanyakMasukWorkshop boleh ajar.
    Heheheh…jgn mara haa…nnt kene juai! Cikgu BMW, ajar la lagi….~

• SureBoleh1.. (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:58 am

ok.. new geng here…. hallo… just wanna comment a bit. from d video it’s a kid. but not suprise cos in Brit u can attend Racing School like rally, single seater or other. Which will be teached by those racing veteren or pro. Including on site practice. they will let u drive those modified car of theys.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:05 am

bmpower said,

August 24, 2008 @ 10:20 am

is he (boy) is a son of the team foundeR?

———————————————-

I also think its Chris Mellor’s son. Chris mellor was a works team rally-driver for ford in the 80s.

• leonachin (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 11:43 pm

is that car gonna join APRC?

• akbarwaja1.8x (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 4:20 pm

huh?sure anot?i drive waja 1.8x le..renault laguna euro 5 star ncap engine,,frm singapore,,,dam powerful car,,,,

• proud…proud…proud…goo go go go proton bolehhh

• go go go

• look!,they know thats we got a great2 product!NICE JOB PROTON!!!TO MALAYSIAN-DONT JUST SAY NONSENSE TO PROTON,,rmmbr

• [quote comment="176788"]The fact that a British kid can handle a rallycar shows us how behind we are in terms of competition in Malaysia.

Will the next Karamjit Singh stand up?[/quote]

excelente el nuevo auto satria..me gusta amigo bye

• aizam on Oct 03, 2009 at 4:32 am

today in tv3 news announced that lotus and proton are currently in final stage developing their new engine of 1600 housepower!!! damn fool the news reader…