Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 7-seater MPV

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso

The Citroen Grand C4 Picasso is a 7-seater version of the C4 Picasso. It is priced at RM168,000 with a 2 year or 100,000km warranty. The C4 Picasso loses its egg-like contour thanks to the third row which gives it a more traditional shape towards the rear.

It is powered by a 2.0 litre engine with variable valve timing producing 143 DIN horsepower and 200Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. The Euro 4 compliant engine is mated to a 4-speed automatic transmission.

The interior is particularly impressive especially at this price range as it features a massive glass sunroof that is laminated and tinted for anti-UV and anti-infrared properties. That combined with the panoramic windscreen and the large side windows gives the interior a very roomy and airy feel. There are air vents for all 3 seating rows, and the third bench folds down flat with a 50:50 split whenever you need the luggage space.

The second row features tables integrated into the front seats, like the ones you find in airplanes. The steering wheel features the trademark Citroen fixed hub which does not turn together with the wheel. Headlamps and wipers turn on automatically when needed.

Safety features include a 5-star Euro NCAP rating and 9 airbags (2 x front, 2 x front side, 2 x side, 2 x curtain and 1 driver’s knee). There are seatbelts with warning indicators for all 7 seats to ensure everyone including the third row buckles up. ISOFIX child seat points are found on the front passenger seat and three 2nd row seats. Stability control and ABS are standard.

A comfort pack is available which adds Bluetooth handsfree, ambient lights, and a telephone kit for RM3,000. Leather wrapping on the steering wheel costs an additional RM400 while leather for the seats cost RM1,800.

Look after the jump for more photos of the Grand C4 Picasso.

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• n8cky (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:47 am

lol…Paul u really slp late..
    Picasso at 168?…hmm

• SureBoleh1.. (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 1:07 am

late nite update? sure must drink tongkat ali 1. hehe. but it’s exterior design wasn’t suit my taste. “massive glass sunroof” good for star viewing instead of sun. Rm168k ok lah.

• Martin (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 2:05 am

RM168k is quite reasonable. but second hand value would be the major concerns for most uncles… haha

• OpenMind (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 6:59 am

This car looks better than wish (Especially internally) and provides much more features than some of the MPV on the street like Grandis, Wish, Stream.

But the price is really steep comparing the brand name in Malaysia. All these European car especially Renault, Citroen, Peugeot, Audi, Alfa, Volve, etc had been associated immediately with low second hand value and expensive maintenance cost. If you ever drive one, you will realize that it is not expensive on the servicing part, at least not that much compare a small japanese sedan.

Even tough this picasso (and some other continental cars) offers much better safety features, more natural or enjoyable driving experience, more fancy features than most if not all of the japanese competitors (within the same range of midi MPV), this migth not be enough to lure too many potential car buyers.

I personally thinks the following might help the sales of this model:

1. bring in the 6-speed gearbox (this is really more recognized for this futuristic car
    2. bring in the one with hydrolic suspension (this is still optional)
    3. Extend warranty to 5 years (2 years warrantly is the lowest that you can get in today market) as this would provide more confidence
    4. Provide free service (up to 3-5 times), or could also do it up to 2 years (Honda city also get free service)
    5. Lower the price (compare this to the previous price of old picasso, I think it’s around RM12xk). This model is not that expensive in Europe compare to the old one, but the price magnified out of proportion in Malaysia. I guess, the margin would be very good for this car. If you are operating 3S, without more and more citroen on the road, you will not be able to leverage your service center that much.

• aksMs on Oct 27, 2010 at 5:31 am

I was a previous owner of C5. Personally I think Brookland has jacked up Citroens prices way too much. C5 was a sub 200k car. When the franchise move to Brookland, the new model has gone over the 200k mark.

170k is agreed, quite steep for such market. It’s a C4, not a C8. It should not be more than 150k. What a waste.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 7:26 am

It’s pretty

• kingv6 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 7:41 am

Paul, the 4th pictures from top (blue colored) is that another variant of Picasso?
    It looked rather sleek & sporty than the rest of the pic. The rear lamp also in different orientation.

• jaygan (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:27 am

Very nice. I like it.

Why no diesel version, eh ?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:39 am

europeans always built the safest MPV’s, and their spec levels are very high, but as usual, japanese makes sell the best, end of story.

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:42 am

the car>>
    exterior: simple & stylish.
    i like the tail light, vast viewpoints
    interior: simple & practical.
    non-fuss-airplane-alike dashboard

the aweks>> cun :)

• narrowband (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:47 am

The third photo after the jump is also Picasso? Looks a little different from the rest. Anyway, C4 reminds me of a certain country adjacent to China.

• ka_one2000 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:31 am

kingv6 said,
    August 26, 2008 @ 7:41 am

narrowband said,
    August 26, 2008 @ 8:47 am

Thats the 5 seater version; C4 picasso.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:37 am

Ya! why the blue one looks different on it’s rear light?
    But this is one nice looking car.
    but for the roof top design, i rather want it to be close. The whether condition in M’sia would not allow it to be open all day long. Which means no use even though there’s a double layered UV coating on it. It’s still hot!

• lembagatanah (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:04 pm

wah very nice mpv. looks and spec better than japanese brand. only one disadv, once buy need to use it until die, very low value after used.

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 2:27 pm

i love the steering! looks so cool! remind me of space ship ;-)

• s60t (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 2:32 pm

Looks nice.price range very close to C8 but I think this one looks better.How is the legroom in the 3rd row,enough for an adult?I am surprised that someone remarked that maintenance for european cars is the same of japs.not from my experience anyway(I have owned 2 volvos, 1 peugeot,1 toyota,2 hondas,1 mazda,3 protons,1 nissan).cheapest car to maintain was nissan 130Y 1984 model.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 4:59 pm

i hate the car, i love the girl

• DRC (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 6:21 pm

Toyota is VERY GREEDY. They ask for RM3000 for combination leather seats in INNOVA (basically an empty-box MPV for that price — DON’T EVER BUY like a stupid me). It was my first Non-national car; short-sighted that time.

• isfufushah (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 6:40 pm

Yeah,

`Great’ family car, `great’ leg room, `great’ price (reasonable and good looking car). But, i m afraid its not so `great’ engine & maintenance. Because my cousion owned a 5-seater C4. It always break-down and the most recent 1 is when we on our way to Terengganu last March.

:-P.

• WXX8XX (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:38 pm

168k is ok I think for continental new car. But don’t know much what’s the reputation of French cars. Is it reliable? The engine? The service centers?. I know the suspension is great.. 168k for suspension only is not a good deal i think.. but much better than a lot of tissue box with engine in our road today(innova,avanza,juara(r.i.p)..etc)..

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:45 pm

Looks quite good for a familiy car, can tempt the Wish owners out there

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:51 pm

wow, the exterior is quite amazing, and interior looks great too…..

• jackson91 (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 11:56 am

very interested. but haven’t looked at the car in real life yet. showroom too out of the way, spare part and service place not closeby. price a bit too high. dont care about the name and continental stigma, just care about the features.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 5:30 pm

does this have the hydrapneumatic suspension?

• what’s rhe 2nd hand price right now?

• i think that the arangement of the seat similar to peugeot 5008