2009 Honda City officially unveiled in Thailand!

2009 Honda City

Honda Automobile (Thailand) Co., Ltd. has started selling the all-new Honda City in Thailand today. It will be sold in Thailand for between 524,000 to 694,000 Thai baht. We don’t have much details on the wheelbase and some other details yet.

The new Honda City is powered by solely by a 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine mated to either a 5-speed automatic or a 5-speed manual It is 4,395mm long, 1,695mm wide and 1,470mm tall, so it is slightly longer (+5mm), slightly wider (+5mm) but not as tall (-25mm) as the previous model. Making it wider and not as high reduces the whole hatchback with a boot tagged on look that the City it replaces had.

It’s quite an attractive car and the lines flow alot smoother than the model it replaces. I hope that for those who don’t fancy the grille at the front all that much (as expressed in some previous posts), there will be a replacement Modulo grille that they can opt for. This was an option that Accord owners who preferred not having an “empty” grille – they could opt for a Modulo grille that had a little bar running through it.

UPDATE: More photos including high resolution photos of the new Honda City have been added after the jump. The new City is sold in Thailand in three variants: S, V and SV. The S and V variants come with a beige interior while the top of the line SV model comes with a dark interior and all 3 variants also come with different alloy wheel designs.

Six colours are available – Habanero Red Pearl, Deep Lapis Blue Metallic, Alabaster Metallic, Polished Metal Metallic and Bold Beige Metallic and Crystal Black Pearl. Sadly white is not available but maybe it will be in Malaysia if Honda Malaysia deems it as a potentially popular colour, which I think it would.

More details to be updated soon, for the moment please have a look at a collection of photos of the new City after the jump.

2009 Honda City

Click for enlarged image

2009 Honda City
Click for enlarged image

2009 Honda City
Click for enlarged image

2009 Honda City
Click for enlarged image

2009 Honda City
Click for enlarged image

PHOTO GALLERY: 2009 Honda City
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:77]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DtG (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 1:44 pm

been trying to get a look at it for the past hour after waiting the countdown to no avail… anyway.. now that i see it.. hey it’s actually quite neat, even the interior looks better than it seemed… nice… worth the wait

• sudha (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 1:47 pm

sweet looking model from honda….the wife will love this!..

• austin_cipan (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 1:47 pm

this is real nice… can’t wait for it to be available here in malaysia…

• edperdana (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 1:53 pm

Gr8 looking front..rear only soso..interior looks better. Front passenger facia design resembles the refreshed G2?

• iskandar (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:01 pm

Looks to me that the manual & auto has slightly different accesories.

You can see the position of the antenna & the different rims. I wonder what else are different.

Anyway, congrats to the Thais for getting much cheaper car.

694,000 Bath = RM 69, 438
    524,000 Btah = RM 52, 396

• dzat46 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:03 pm

Nice new city..how about the “ultra seat”?…is it still available,..very useful

• dzat46 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:05 pm

the rear design remind me of the prev vios…hmmm

• alexio (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:05 pm

Only 3 colours shown, hope there will be a black 1.
    I see a bee sting anthena…
    Over-all a very very attractive car.

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:09 pm

This design is far more sophisticated compared to Vios IMHO. :)

Thumbs up in terms of design.

• szw (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:16 pm

to tell the truth i quite like dis car looks

• armandd (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:21 pm

nice, but i don’t quite like the rear. how about the fuel consumption?

• hvannees (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:39 pm

wow!! such nice looking. lots more better than dugong. hope the price is not far from dugong also.. please…

• juanbeibei (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:40 pm

nice.. but da rear looks kinda weird.. n da gear shifter.. no longer like before..

• kucau (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:42 pm

ermm the exterior is quite nice , but the centre console looks a lil cheap.

• cyborgx (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 2:45 pm

by design wise imo,

accord beat camry
    civic beat altis
    city beat vios

honda wins.

• CatDawg (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 3:10 pm

good job honda, matilah engkau vios dugong, your days are numbered…
    like the meter & info display panel, the plastics on centre console look tacky, gear lever has fattened and look similar to nissan’s. i noticed that the auto gear position is PRNDS, and no low overdrive gears. does this mean this new honda city is equipped wth paddle shifters? or does the silver button on the gear the overdrive gear button?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 3:11 pm

the centre console may look cheap in the photos, but having seen actual metal finishes on other hondas, i’m sure the real thing will have a quality look and feel.

• libralcl (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 3:28 pm

Nice. Can’t wait for it to be launch here.

• mytouch (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 3:47 pm

alanchai comment on previos post :
    August 24, 2008 @ 7:27 pm

if u guys not believe, lets see the real one when launching, the actual ugly then the photo one and also the current city has better looks then the new one.

So alanchai,what you gonna say this time? Still wana say it ugly although majority of member here do agree that it is far better looking than Vios Dugong? Hek hek hek…

• l3ryan (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 3:53 pm

god please let this nice looking thing outsell the fugly vios dugong when it’s out here in m’sia, i just can’t take anymore of those “eyesores” on the road anymore X.X

center console looks cheap tho, especially with its silver plastic (probably HARD plastic) material and the cheapo lookin integrated head unit… and the 3 dial aircon controls..
    well that’s what your get for what u pay, i won’t be complaining if i own one.

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 3:55 pm

Butt looks bad… Dashboard looks cheap compared to those on Latio and SX4…

• ignas (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 3:57 pm

o? the steering wheel is not leather warped? nevermind, as long it has the AUDIO BUTTONS! nice! i prefer the 5 spokes rim, does anyone know is it the same size as the other one? man i cant wait it to come to msia….

• csv (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 4:34 pm

nice design!

now wait for the pricing here.

jack up by how much i wonder.

• xstan (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 4:36 pm

Hhmm…am interested in the car price. Is there sharp increase in Thai pricing. Paul Tan could we get pice comparison??

The rear is simply nice & classy…& definately in no way similar to the old butt of Vios. Go check the comparison. There is hardly any curve line in the old Vios butt..just plain OLD hag Butt.

Simply hope the later price of this new gen City remain.

Now anticipate of its goodies offered ..ussually some innovations features. For sure it has :-

1. Paddle shifts (None in Vios)
    2. 5 speed gear (Vios with only 4 )
    3. Auto Cruise (stranger to Vios)
    4. Stylish Steering (Vios old conservative 3 spoke)

Hope it also maintained old good features which Vios unfamiliar with..Ultra adjustment rear seat, water proof seats, biger boot, wider spaces that u can roll ur things at the rear seats bottom etc.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 4:46 pm

looks like honda has a winner here!! frankly, malaysians aren’t too bothered about the hard plastics in the dashboard or the minimal crash protection a car offers. as long as it is within their budget (or even if it is slightly more), have the class pre-requisites which at this point in time are in the form of 2 airbags, variable valve timing, twin cams and 16 valves and also a japanese brand name.

• aki_zz (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 5:04 pm

exterior is nice, but i’m not sure about the centre console. still better look at the real thing to comment.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 5:04 pm

trust me, this car will sell !!! :-)

the rear is something new, but who cares? its a Honda, not a damn TOY…..

very nice design, well done Honda…

• abtm (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 5:12 pm

the vios looks like a proton next to this, please honda msia can we have a manual version please…

• Hikaru (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 5:13 pm

From the spy shot it is clear that this car is a looker. I always thought that the Gen 1 city looks a bit like a fish from the profile (side) cause of the short front and high roofline coupled with boot that kicks up like a fish’s tail.

Now that they lowered to roof line, the whole car looks much more cohesive and a much better package. I believe now, it is kind of like a Junior Civic but being smaller, more nimble, feather weight boxer. If only it packs a bigger punch in terms of performance and technology.

Also kudos to the flappy paddles. I would buy one for that and also because a Merc C230 with flappy paddles is beyong reach, for now atleast……I hope…..

• redwings (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 5:16 pm

The red one definitely has a higher spec that the blue one, looking at the bigger rim, foglight and side-mirror indicator-light…

The exterior definitely out beat the current duyong, as for the interior, the new city keep the similarity of the civic on the curve and design.. Well suite the current trend and taste. Futhermore, with the dark color on the seat, it is a taste well for everyone… Double Thumbs up..well done Honda..

5-speed automatic gearbox will definitely a good thing to have..

Can’t wait to see the rating in term of safety, handling and consumption.

• kingglim (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 5:23 pm

Wah, this 1 can send toyota vios, nissan latio makan dust…

• mokkf82 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 5:41 pm

The front end is great looking car, but the butt really doesn’t match with the front at all.
    It just look that too simple.
    But i’m sure the front already kill most of the cars d. So when Honda M’sia brings it in

• klx (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 6:18 pm

From Honda Thailand website:
    Old city pricing – from THB484,000 – 645,000

New city pricing – from THB524,000 – 694,000

Also check here:
    http://www.honda.co.th/city/flashsite/index.html
    But as expected, traffic is heavy, so, you probably won’t be able to get in.

• White Jack (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 6:24 pm

Waaaa this one come out, then nobody buy VIOS lorrr..

• sutheshkumar87 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 6:25 pm

OK.
    i think a lot may disagree with me but i think this latest City is way ugly.
    except the front end,which is goo. but overall, a big no no.
    the shape is like a mismatch between the euro civic and the fcx clarity. and the interior, sorry to say looks cheap. at least the steering makes it look ok.
    overall, i think i will wait for the all new vios. *ouch*
    but at least the engine is good.

• pju_3 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 6:35 pm

xstan said,

Now anticipate of its goodies offered ..ussually some innovations features. For sure it has :-

1. Paddle shifts (None in Vios)
    2. 5 speed gear (Vios with only 4 )
    3. Auto Cruise (stranger to Vios)
    4. Stylish Steering (Vios old conservative 3 spoke) …

From the steering itself, I do not think it have auto cruise function (the buttons on the right hand side of steering). Don’t you think so?

Many people will still buy Vios even without feature 1,2 & 4. From previous verson of Vios VS previous version of City. Let’s see how this time.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 6:44 pm

Thumbs up for Honda “Bandar”.

Wonder Toyota has anything under his sleeve…..

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 6:49 pm

Looks nice and tidy, and because this is honda, cheaper to maintain too

• Perl (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 7:00 pm

This are picture from Thailand in the opening day.

http://www.pantip.com/cafe/ratchada/topic/V6984209/V6984209.html
    By:spiderjoyday
    Look the picture ,and you’ill like modulo set ,it’s very damn nice

and this, The picture from showroom ,it’s better shot ,maybe you can change ur mind about this.
    http://www.pantip.com/cafe/ratchada/topic/V6984510/V6984510.html
    By:Tunk
    http://www.pantip.com/cafe/ratchada/topic/V6982624/V6982624.html
    By:aitudz

• maserati (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 7:40 pm

OMG,ppl say the vios front is ugly..but this honda city back is ugly and totally does not go with the front at all.To add insult,the dash and the middle panel looks odd and does not match with the steering.Latio and Vios interior much better.

The back looks like it copies the BMW 3 series but it totally does not suit this car.

For those who say this car is good looking,i bet ya all are just Honda fans and just dislike Toyota.

• Bbingbong (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 8:01 pm

walao eh toyota fanboy start to angry..

• B1u3Be@m (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 8:12 pm

The back lights looks kinda same in shape like the previous vios..

Is it me or i think the outgoing model’s interior looks a lot more pretty than this?

• hvannees (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 8:27 pm

come on.. even you say honda city rear is bad looking as vios, but open your eyes to see front look of honda city, really “handsome” compare to vios “dugong” face.. lots of people say that. even the beauty is subjective, but when many people say it beauty, so it is really beuty lar.. come on.. lol..

• hvannees (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 8:30 pm

thanks for the link Perl.. very useful.. very nice..

• DtG (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 9:01 pm

sutheshkumar87 said,

September 10, 2008 @ 6:25 pm

OK.
    i think a lot may disagree with me but i think this latest City is way ugly.
    except the front end,which is goo. but overall, a big no no.
    the shape is like a mismatch between the euro civic and the fcx clarity. and the interior, sorry to say looks cheap. at least the steering makes it look ok.
    overall, i think i will wait for the all new vios. *ouch*
    but at least the engine is good.

Looks are always subjective but u must understand that this is an entry level honda that tries to pack as many features as possible within the price range and cars of this area normally have looks as secondary so you cant expect it to be built from ground up as a looker. U gotta admit honda did quite a good job, in many ways better than when toyota replaced the vios in terms of looks and features. And as for all new vios, wait all you want because the japanese market just received a facelifted belta (vios) and a new model won’t come around any time soon…

• dewasemut (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 9:01 pm

Production for new City will start in October this year at Honda Malaysia’s plant in Pagoh, Malacca. The car will launch to our local market most probably early next year, maybe before CNY. So, start saving for your downpayment guys! Maybe can go to Honda dealers for advance booking.

Click the link provided by Perl i.e the Thai launching… the Modulo grille is really nice, man… wahh… if end of this year my salary revised – up RM1K… might consider to buy one after my Waja finished installment next year!

• gey2718 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 9:12 pm

criticise so much, wat dugong la, immitate bmw butt la, bla bla bla, can’t afford to buy just admit, don’t talk so much nonsense!

• EVO8223 (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 9:14 pm

fuyooooooooooooooh…………………..

Nice job honda…………….

Agree with DtG. it depand to how you feel about it. The one who complain that new city is ugly, no matter how ugly is it, it still better looking than the current vios…………..

Cheer…….Hope to see it soon in Malaysia.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 9:54 pm

front handsome is important becos ppl can see u when ur coming. back so nice for what, not as you gonna impress ladies with your reverse parking with ‘skill’. and oh my modulo god…

• s60t (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 9:54 pm

much nicer than the vios.must be one of the best in the class

• lanminardi (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 10:11 pm

way too nice !!! i want it instantly ..now even…but have to wait !!!

• jaymashimaro (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 10:52 pm

dun be ridiculus,
    it looks like old vios
    interior not bad
    but toyota still is the best
    thats why thier sales is highest in the world

• semut (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 10:57 pm

design wise, honda has been much better compared to toyota in most models. however, toyota cars have much better ride. camry is so much more comfortable than accord, altis better ride than stiff-suspension-civic… and i dont think we buy cars as ornaments in garage. so, i hope the new city drives better and is more comfortable than vios. else, the good looks are wasted..

• iskandar (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 10:59 pm

.. yeah! Does that mean Perodua cars are also the best cars in this country because their sales is the highest ?

What a dumb argument.

Anyway, this City looks better than the City from the outside. The interior looks a little weird. Hopefully, the one assembled in Melaka will fix the rattling dashboard problem plaguing most City.

• iskandar (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 11:00 pm

Correction: I mean this one looks better than the old City.

• l3ryan (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 11:02 pm

HONDA M’SIAN SDN BHD, listen properly, please make the stickshift a.k.a good ol’ MANUAL available for us REAL DRIVERS for this new City!!!

and price it somewhere around 70k+ would be just nice TQ…

• doraemonkiller (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 11:16 pm

I dont like the interior…
    Current City have better interior

• michishige (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 11:17 pm

oh no.

3 quarters angle shows ugly proportion between front and back

i would prefer to look this car from my rear view mirror instead of getting stuck behind it in traffic.

ugly center console dashboard it reminds me of a daihatsu and not honda
    if i were to drive this i would only put my eyes on either the steering, speedometer, and the road – would ask somebody to switch the radio frequency (^_^) LOL

• ignas (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 11:24 pm

iskandar, you’re rite. what a dumb argument lol.

i notice too the weird angle, but maybe modulo or 3rd party mod kits will do the trick? ah…i can imagine all sort of things i wanted to do to it already, just cant wait to get my hands on it…. *drool*

• doraemonkiller (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 11:27 pm

if the price of city in thailand increase by 8%, that means the price of city at malaysia will increase to RM91K
    regret to wait this new city
    Even the current city have better interior and nice high class look exterior compare with this.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 11:43 pm

i would say each hav their own pros n cons. but i vote the new city is the winner! just look at all the extra features and accessories, they’re making my eyes blink blink. man i can stare at these pics for the whole nite. hope they include the water resistant seats too : )

anyway, u still can go for the last batch of the current city as this is the last month for production, tat is if its still not fully booked. good luck!

• dato.m (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 11:51 pm

You guys..so bias.

For me..this city looks really sucks.especially the interior and rear design. yeah, i know the front grill and body make this car very attractive..but nothing to me. i know u guys fan of honda will be f**k me..lol.go on.. why call new vios as dugong? admit la u guys so jealous with toyota..toyota is a top company car maker in the world..admit it. eventhough the design is like dugong what so ever..in term of fuel econ..enviroment friendly..toyota is still the best.

cheap interior. the antenna for blue one look long..why not used glass antenna?? rear copy old vios. front copy from previous model..just like cut and paste.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 12:06 am

looks like a mini accord euro.

i can imagine people upgrading thier cars with type r stickers.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 12:16 am

finally someone can manage to design cheap car properly, last time city’s designer drunk maybe…and vios designer had crosseye problem all seems to become symetrical and result the meter at the centre…luckily not the steering wheel. SX4 sedan is the only…oklarrr. However its freakin expensive in malaysia…pay 70k-80k to get “cheap car for asean market” which uses torsion beam rear suspension

• Perl (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 12:53 am

again with modulo
    AD picture

http://www.pantip.com/cafe/ratchada/topic/V6985933/V6985933-0.jpg

http://www.pantip.com/cafe/ratchada/topic/V6985933/V6985933-1.jpg

• tehcho1 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 12:57 am

yeah me too regret to wait for so long, very dissappointed.
    front and rear really not match or not balance…
    back look like cacat….
    front ok lah very sporty….
    door panel, dashboard all cheap plastic no diff with dugong…the door panel worst than dugong all cheap plastic….
    somemore got batang entena….???
    something is wrong with the design especially exterior n balance…
    meter look cheap…this type of car 1 to sell above 90k??? need to rethink n think twice to consider…just the ivtec and 5 speed attract ppl….marketing only…recently dugong got better offer, very much cheaper, 3 yr free service, high trade in, lowest interest rate %….or choose old city better….

transformer city autobots transforms….

• casper1787 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 3:38 am

dah macam GEN-2 lah from d back….hahahaha…my grandpa dona love it!!!!!!!!! he is a fan of honda!!!! hr tu br je dia cadang nak tukar his previous city with new civic….aiyoo0o0o0…nice lorrrr!!!! n it come with paddle shift!!! damn!!! good job honda!!!!

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 4:39 am

toyota? normally those people who opted to buy vios r those who dun know technology such as ah beng and those aunty who only drive it to morning market… cut it short, ppl who brainwashed by the toyota brand name
    toyota technology? thumbs down… hahahaha…!

• azrai (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 6:33 am

Nice looking car. Baby Civic should I say. So this will roll out from the Pegoh plant. Hope honda will price it right. i beg the waiting list sure will be long.

• ferarri (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 6:37 am

The interior middle unit looks a bit like sylphy. Why still bee sting antenna in 2009? Why is cvt no longer offered on city? Did cvt have problems or honda cvt technology is not as advanced as nissan xcvt? Hope to get some answers here, hopefully from Paul Tan.

• Jaybond (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 7:54 am

Body lines way better than the previous model it replaces. Styling-wise, Honda has injected a fresh yet attractive design language.

Front grille looks good, they should maintain it for Malaysian market. But the rear door window & rear section could have been tidy up a little bit.

Interior design should be acceptable for this class & price range.

• Bob_B78 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 7:55 am

From my point of view, the overall design is ok la. However, it seems that the new city retains the windscreen to engine bonnet angle. In other words it still has that seterika design up front but with gen2 hatchback at the rear. Anybody agrees with my observation?

• car_craze (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 7:59 am

The front nose drops too much as compared to the back. The front design and rear design is not harmonious. Overall proportion actually looks like the old Toyota Vios, especially from the side.
    The interior is cluttered and not harmonious too. Maybe use from differnt parts bin available at Honda ASEAN?
    Seat materials looks ok. Steering wheel is carry over and shared with other Hondas.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 8:43 am

previous city has short front, now it has short rear, many say still not proportionated. even if it looks like the old conventional vios i dun think is tat bad, to me at least it doenst come close to the current vios’s glorified dugongness.

then again, ppl have their reason buying honda cars just like toyota buyers. even of vios dugongness, ppl still believe in toyota badge. same goes to city, so what?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 8:51 am

I expect there to be 2 (auto) version when it goes on sale here.

the cheaper one will come with the standard cream for the lower interior (seats, door panel), standard steering, side-mirrors without the turn signal and maybe missing some other equipment (auto-fold mirrors, ambient lights, vanity mirror and all those sh*t)

and the higher priced one will come with an all-black interior and leather bounded steering (if you look at the earlier spyshots, the steering had some grooved leather bit on it) and turn-signals on the side-mirrors.

not entirely sure if there’s a flappy tranny option for the City and if there was one then the premium one will have that too.

Price? My guess would be rm83k-rm90k.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 8:56 am

OK…. looking at the Pantip pics courtesy of Perl, Maybe there won’t be any leather-bound steering afterall… the car with black interior had the normal looking steering too.

The car in the spyshots may have had the Civic’s steering (as how last time we caught Waja’s steering in the Neo shots)

• shamel (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 9:24 am

If they sell City manual for RM70k, easily Vios Junior at RM69k will die. BTW Honda can make our City better with redesign AC-dials. Look very cheap and not consistent with exterior design.

YES. The best seller doesn’t mean the best car though the manufacturer(s) make handsome profit (at the expense of buyers when they pay higher for fewer features as most of the money goes for BRAND). Toyota is reliable and good quality BUT what for if we get less features?

• xstan (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 9:35 am

There’s simply 2 side of view. The Real Guys who luv sporty stlylish design of this City.

or some has said…the feminine sde of the guys who simply luv dugung Vios. This side of group ussually prefer everything old.& conservative…such as bare flat butt. Well clear cut the design such as this City is basically UGLEEE..not suit for ladies u know..Just simply not cute enuff.

Well its split that real guys who LEADS (leaders)in character go for City whereaes guys who prefer average daily live & is always the FOLOWERS with no leadership quality..well just go for the old conservative design.

Anyway..in M’sia there is certainly only few Leaders ..few greats..wheraes there need supporter or need to guide the FOLLOWERS. So sales of Vios is always better..there is sooooo many Aunties/Uncles..& sweet little young things. Cant blame..u ask an uncle to luv this new design..he will say ugleess….

By the way..for the BLINDs..get ur facts right is u think the rear is similar to Vios. One with muscular look (after workout) the other butt of uncle.

• Jaybond (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 10:10 am

Latest City is far better & more sporty than previous City (which has short front front but long rear)

• az_garfield (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 10:30 am

I think, short of saying everyone else to have skewed sight apart from our own selves, it would be easy enough just to try to understand from Honda’s current design language viewpoint.

They did a boo-boo in the previous City design. But I would rather call it an experiment. The targeted audience was a third-world country with practicality, space and price being the more important facets of the product.

When the previous City (unfortunately, still current in Malaysia) was launched, it was an instant hit. I remembered it was price as the most important point; build quality and brand name as the bonus. I thought the rear design looked like a guppy, and yes, it was not proportionate at all. In short, hideous.

Then we all saw the big boot, and immediately I understood why Honda chose practicality over beauty. The marketing department was quick to stress this point and even organized a competition to highlight this fact.

UMW knew they lost the marketplace and when the second generation Vios was launched for China market they knew that it must be quickly introduced to reclaim that territory. They didn’t saw it fit to sell the first generation previously because they knew it was ugly and Malaysians are suckers for the brand name Toyota. After all they made handsome sales and profit from the Corolla perceived quality and reliability.

As ugly as it was, the previous City was a breath of fresh air and opened up the market for (more) Malaysians to at least enjoy other makes than Proton. Then Vios underlined that cheap does not have to mean ugly and Malaysians fell in love again with Toyota.

However, Toyota lost the plot with the current Vios (Belta) in the attempt to make it more upmarket than just the third-world market (more in line as Yaris’s ‘sedan’). Honda had just shown that they were learning; with the futuristic (well, a bit back then) Civic that trounced the Corolla (Altis). In the second round, the big brother Accord again won hands down against Camry.

Many would have preferred the latest City interior design to follow the latest Jazz as it previously did. But it doesn’t. One thumb down to Honda. But then I remembered that the first generation City had bog-ugly interior but (some) Malaysians still bought it. Somebody pointed out that the layout actually followed the previous layout. So, it’s not too bad. But this should point to the fact to distance itself from the more upmarket Jazz, and make it a lower price entry point.

Most of us have been familiarized with the ugly previous City that we quickly pardon the new one for it’s (lesser) flaws. However I’m glad that Honda infused their latest design language in the latest City for us lesser beings. For those of you who still cannot see the plot, just stare at the current Euro Honda Civic front and you shall see the familiarity. And if you still need to be reminded, have a look at the latest generation Honda Insight for the stronger family resemblance. I still can’t see why some people object the rear design though, other than they don’t like that Honda have learnt and may have ‘copied’ the previous Vios silhouette. But why not? That’s why people liked the previous Vios and detested City in the first place!

Toyota can have the No 1 position in the world market for all they care. Honda may not be big enough. But that’s why they should pay attention to us third-world market. Well, this is the last bout and the most important for us; because that’s where the mass market is. From the general viewpoint in this forum, Honda seems to have captured the audience; albeit some hardcore UMW fans (sorry, Toyota).

My take, it is now standing at 2½ : 0 (Honda : Toyota). What they need now is the last punch: give us the most attractive price proposition as quickly as you can Honda Malaysia!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 10:39 am

Why can’t I comment?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:17 am

ingolstadt said,
    September 11, 2008 @ 10:39 am

Why can’t I comment?
    —————————————–

I think you just did :-P

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:30 am

the new design is good. but i beleive they can do better. honda and toyota need to stop ripping msians by segmenting/seperating yaris/jazz from vios/city as the former being more upmarket. honda can afford to put the jazz quality into the city and the same goes for toyota. while i agree proton has set the car industry standard in msia very low/lousy but i think msians need a change and be treated fairly by other makes since we are already abused by proton.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:33 am

well culprit …. some of my comments were ‘lost in transaction’ ….. just that i did my own preview on the new City and would like to share it here… cheers.

• jflee169 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:38 am

agree with topgunthang, the design is good, but the butt…..
    overall i think it will well receive in m’sia.
    talking about the m’sia spec, i think honda m’sia will only launch 2 spec i.e. the V spec (with peddle shitft) and the normal spec (without peddle shift).
    as for the price, hope it won’t exceed 90k (for V spec) and definitely will more expensive 1k or 2k than the old model.
    the above just my personal view and guess.

• jflee169 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:40 am

something to add, from the photos, i guess no more ultra-seat.

• my1sthonda (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:50 am

What? No CD player is this car?? OMG, serious cost cutting here…

• Bob_B78 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:53 am

I think the basic price for new city in malaysia will start from 85k until premium spec for 95K. For city to be priced below 80K, it would be a 1.3l version and that is if there will going to be such model.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:53 am

I saw a similar 3-series back lamp~

• jaymashimaro (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 12:00 pm

previos city looks ugly in term of design and handling
    now city looks better, and compare to vios, city looks ugly also
    vios design is more artistic.

please malaysia honda sux , their production is slow,
    services is bad,
    no after sales service,
    this happen to my accord recently
    salesman dun even wanna bother u at all
    they treat u like god before u bought
    after that, they treat u like flies ,

i bought it from butterworth honda, formula venture company
    even i complaint, the manager didnt do anything
    this is very dissapointing me,
    this is freindly reminder from me to all buyers who intend to buy honda
    services is last for them

• eayamhj (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 12:17 pm

The exterior of this new city is nice. But the centre console, especially the dials is a huge let down….might need to wait longer and compare them to forte or new waja before deciding to buy this car.

• darren82my (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 12:32 pm

Actual i do agree az_garfield said. Toyota is the best seller in the world coz of their service care, and the quality of products. My friend bought Vios and used about four years. There are minimise maintenance problem appear (cant be said no any problem). And, i bought honda city and the sametime, oso used it about four years. we are used in same town and i even drove less outstation campare to my friend Vios. And now, my City absorber starting lose and can hear some weird sound oso. My friend’s vios still in good condition.

I knew that the quality control of Honda mayb worse than Toyota. But why i still prefer to buy honda car???

The reason is it give more excited and enjoyable while travelling. And the interior is more comfortable compared to Vios. It doesnt means that i dislike toyota, Infact i prefer new Toyota camry with skirting kits rather than The new Accord (though the current vios look not so nice, haha). I jz follow what is my feeling in current condition.

Therefore, i will vote Honda city as winner. Haha.

• az_garfield (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 1:04 pm

Bob_B78 said,
    September 11, 2008 @ 11:53 am

I think the basic price for new city in malaysia will start from 85k until premium spec for 95K. For city to be priced below 80K, it would be a 1.3l version and that is if there will going to be such model.

Bob_B78,

Come on la, unless you work for Honda Malaysia ,what we should not do is to license Honda to rip us off with those kind of pricing, like what the market had done to itself many times before e.g. on how Nissan priced its Latio and Livina models. To not say “we think the price will be such and such…..” Honestly I think Honda Malaysia and other automakers do pay attention to Paul Tan and if our comments are all heaps of praises and would pay so much to get our hands on their product, they would do just that.

Let it be known, comparing apple to apple on what Thais get to pay for their Vios and new City, the entry level for a manual City should be between what we pay for Vios J auto & manual, and the entry level City auto to be just a few K over Vios J (list price 73+K only). Even the top end model should be cheaper than what we pay for Vios S (list price 88+K). SO WHY SHOULD WE WANT TO PAY MORE at 95K???

In the end, it would be their marketing strategy, either they want to capture the market back from Vios; or they want to make tonnes of money from gullible Malaysians like you. I say WE MUST DEMAND FAIR PRICING FROM HONDA!!!

If what they think is to release only the more expensive models first to create image, I say it here that they will be making a mistake. What image when this is an ENTRY LEVEL car? I know there are people in droves buying Vios J just because they want a cheap T-brand car and most of them know nuts about this new City coming and they don’t read Paul Tan’s blog.

Honda Malaysia did a very good job pricing their premium Accord at close to Camry’s here in Malaysia where in other markets the difference is more noticable (read: much more expensive). They can do it if they want to….. I don’t like to give credit to Toyota but I would rather not buy if Honda wants to rip us off.

PLEASE WISE UP MALAYSIANS. PAY ONLY WHAT WE’RE SUPPOSED TO PAY.

• h22-c (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 1:13 pm

heard from honda salesman that this Honda City will lauch in malaysia 18 Dec 2008,

first batch will be delivered in Jan 2009, so that year made will be 2009.

• h22-c (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 1:14 pm

heard from honda salesman that this Honda City will lauch in malaysia 18 Dec 2008,

the price should be RM85k to 90k, not sure.

• az_garfield (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 1:32 pm

h22-c said,
    September 11, 2008 @ 1:14 pm

the price should be RM85k to 90k, not sure.

This is a classic case where the salesman put in our mouth the pricing that they want to make and indirectly let us confirm that it is indeed what we want and shall be prepared to pay if we want to get hold of the cars.

I wouldn’t even guess what is the low-end model price shall be. Going by what I wrote before, the top end should be LESS THAN 88K!

Again,
    PLEASE WISE UP MALAYSIANS. PAY ONLY WHAT WE’RE SUPPOSED TO PAY

• gogorock (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 1:45 pm

From Az-garfield:
    Again,
    PLEASE WISE UP MALAYSIANS. PAY ONLY WHAT WE’RE SUPPOSED TO PAY

Az, i support u, if the pay is higher then the current price, well, we still can go for other brands right? We got few choices, vios, latio (a bit more $$) , suzuki sx4 and so on.

We should use our money wisely, as they are our hard earn money.

• TheDuck (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 2:13 pm

Wow! a New City!!!.

If you ask me, the car looks great. Knowing Honda cars, the reliability and fuel consumption is probably the best in the class.

Of course, I just hope the price is reasonable this time.

Congrats to Honda for introducing something great.

• doraemonkiller (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 2:27 pm

previous honda city interior nice leh that is why i waiting for a new one.
    but the new honda city interior exactly the same like vios. dang

• niomr1 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 2:30 pm

I enjoy az_garfield’s analysis.
    Honda guys, take note.

• TypeR (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 2:41 pm

The new CT sure looks good. I’d seriously consider trading in my Vios for the SV version if it does launch here. However, I find that the rear-end really needs some “rework” in the form of a rear bumper skirting, either Mugen or Modulo. Overall, a very good-lookin’ car.

• az_garfield (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 3:00 pm

I thought I’ll do ourselves a favour. I did a simple spreadsheet to come out with an estimation of the price based on the extrapolation of apple to apple comparison between Thai Vios and new City price available in the internet against Malaysian Vios price. This doesn’t take into account of discrepancies resulting from % of funny taxes we have in Malaysia lah. And of course I can’t read Thai so I don’t know the specs list yet.

S M/T ~ 72K
    S A/T ~ 76K
    V A/T (ABS) ~ 81K
    V A/T (AS) ~ 83K
    SV A/T (AS) ~ 88K

My point is, just tell your salesman that you don’t want to pay more than what you’re supposed to. When you put your booking, just say that if the final price is more than the above you want your money back.

You shall be doing everyone a big favour. Thanks!

• lanminardi (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 3:01 pm

duh !!! sick and tired of people comparing toyota and honda !!! Okie here it is …Honda are excellence in their project of making and designing new technologies for their vehicles !!! Toyota aim is only to gain profit from customer by doing their best in selling their vehicles !! In terms of production model Toyota have outperform Honda !!! Toyota even boost their sale by opening new local assemble factory in asia and europe !! However Honda even did it !!! For the fact of truth !!! Most Toyota cars available in Malaysia are not really design by the Japanese !! For example Inova,Hiace,Vios,Wish,Hilux,Avanza,and Rush !! all are not in the Japanese Market and are from Asian continent !!! But then Honda are mostly from the Japanese design team !! Only the new City is from India Production Factory !! Making a general statement here Toyota is still number 1 in market is because they boost more and emphasize more on vehicles !! While Honda on the other hand did not only emphasize on vehicle,but motor ,and as well as airplane !! To say who is the winner for selling cars and maintaining reliability Toyota of course will be the winner !! But to say in terms of technology and going further beyond the limit Honda is truly the winner !!! but seriously this generation Honda City really looks better then Toyota Vios !! but the interior Vios is much much better !! The previous generation i would say design would be Vios ..but in terms of ride quality Honda city is the best in its class .They are able to soak up sound and road noise very very well !! But Vios is vice versa causing the engine sound to enter the cabin and making the feel of ride uncomfy and it really does irritates !!!

• CFA28 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 3:05 pm

Is the rear seat compartment based on “Flat Floor Panel”. One of the pictures seems to suggest that it is not the “Flat Floor Panel”. That said, it will be more cramp to seat 3 adults in the rear, just like the Suzuki SX4. That said, pretty need to hold an umbrella under the rear seat but would prefer flat floor panel.

Thought Honda was expert in Flat Floor technology. Vios is already Flat Floor, else 3 adults in the rear will also be tight.

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 3:36 pm

The car is very nice, but feel like the front doesn’t really match rear, too bad this car didn’t come earlier, my wife already got the latio sports…

• alexio (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 3:52 pm

az_garfield said,

“PLEASE WISE UP MALAYSIANS. PAY ONLY WHAT WE’RE SUPPOSED TO PAY”

Totally agree…Banzai!! Now the only thing that comes between me and the new city is the price. Pls put up a resonable price Honda M’sia.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 3:58 pm

i thought most honda cars are from the US design team. at least the ones that msia gets like civic and the usdm accord and maybe even s2000. thought its also up to headquarters in japan to decide which designs get the go.

qiuite disturbing to find no cd player. thats equivalent to a sticker on the window saying ‘ipod in the dash…please be gentle with the window’. well unless you can actually just plug a usb stick and the music is processed on board.

i think it could use a wider range of colors though. very boring colors for an entry level car. they need to think ericcsson T10.

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 4:53 pm

A vast improvement over the current City – much more sleek, even though the rear is not attractive and the interior lacks a classy look. As I posted long ago after seeing spy shots, the interior is a disappointment because it seems with the same amount of investment Honda could have had a much more winning interior design. Good I guess they dropped the CVT because of reliability concerns but I liked it’s smoothness. Most everybody will appreciate the 5 speed auto more than the 7 spd CVT. I usually agree with topgunthang, but I can’t believe he called the red and blue “boring”. I think the red is awesome! Many youthful buyers will like the electric red and blue I think. I agree they should have more color choices though, especially since the beige/tan looks yucky. Why no white in these hot, tropical countries? I don’t get it.

Overall however, a redesign well done by Honda and they will sell many many of them. But I won’t ing be buying one because of the so-so interior design and quality of materials inside.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 6:17 pm

my gosh..no cd player? but no worries, can be solved by forking more $ for after market cd players and bracket. no longer flat floor panel? is it because of the fuel tank no longer under the front passenger seat? ya noticed smaller boot too. hope the price better be reasonable.

• s60t (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 6:37 pm

lanminardi,I agree that most of the toyotas here are for the asean market,but don’t insult the wish by putting it in the same boat as the inova/avanza. It is a japanese design model.

• CFA28 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 6:50 pm

Wonder what the rear suspension is going to be? Torsion Beam again. Does the current City have “springs” for the rear suspension? my experience with Torsion Beam is when u have fat ppl behind, it tends to hit the undercarriage when going over bumps. Especially if no flat panel, difficult to squeze 3 fat ppl behind

• Lopburi99 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 7:00 pm

topgunthang said, no CD player – thats equivalent to a sticker on the window saying ‘ipod in the dash…please be gentle with the window’ HAHAHA!!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 7:51 pm

i wished cars in malaysia no FM/AM receiver, casette player, cd changer, cd player, cause all i use is the ipod connection…the malaysian radio stations suck

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 8:53 pm

That is a brilliant place to put the unbrella. If not normally you put behind the rear seats, driver & front passengers cannot reach too far.

• mct (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 9:03 pm

i just wan to correct some statement
    wish,vios,hiaca can be found on japan
    wish is original design for jdm only but now it export to 4 ~5 country
    vios name in japan is call belta, us call yaris sedan

• lanminardi (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 9:06 pm

s60t I’m sorry for that but the fact that is !! Toyota Wish model does not exits in Japanese market !!! They only have the higher end model likewise Previa and Alphard Check it out at toyota.jp website!!! Toyota Wish (R&D) and manufacturing is base in Thailand nevertheless the Japanese did include themselves in the R&D however the whole production model is from Thailand !!! Thats why it is not seen in Japan !!! BDW when will da the new replacement model for Wish ..its way too long having the same model on the road !!!

• s60t (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:05 pm

our UMW wish is assembled in Thailand but most of the reconds are imported from Japan.The Singapore wish is also imported directly from Japan.

• PrinceFamiliar (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:08 pm

sorry but i tend to believe toyota wish does exist in japan…
    i remember vividly naza have promotion of toyota wish CBU japan import with GPS not too long ago…

try google toyota wish japan.. it seems…it does exist in japan

refer to the link below
    http://www.batfa.com/new_car_toyota_wish.htm

http://www.cars-directory.net/gallery/toyota/wish/

Toyota WISH

The Toyota Wish is a 6/7-seater minivan equipped with either a 1.8 L or 2.0 L engine. First launched in 2003 by Toyota, it is positioned below the Ipsum, and above the Spacio. Consequently, its main competitor is the Honda Stream and the Nissan Liberty.

Apart from Japan, the Wish is also assembled in Thailand (for Thailand only) and Taiwan.

The Wish was launched in Japan in January2003, under a massive publicity campaign with Japanese singer Hikaru Utada singing the CM and also coinciding with the launch of her new CD-single. The car is marketed under the “Wish Comes True” slogan. Codenamed ZNE10G (FF) and ZNE14G (4wd), it uses a 1.8 L 1ZZ-FE engine, producing (JIS) 125 PS (92 kW) and 161 N·m (119 lbf·ft). It is only available with 4-speed automatic. A 2 L version (codenamed ANE11W for the 6-seater version and ANE10G for the 8-seater version) was launched in April2003. Equipped with the 1AZ-FE direct-injection engine, it has (JIS) 155 PS (114 kW) and 192 N·m (142 lbf·ft). It is only available with a CVT gearbox.

The Toyota Wish was updated at the end of 2005 with the introduction of a facelifted model. In addition to cosmetic changes to the headlights, bumpers, tail-lights etc., the car was given digitally controlled climate control and revised dashboard. The drivetrain and engines remained the same.

i think it’s better if we do some googling before made any statements??huhuhu

• transformer (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:14 pm

lanminardi said,
    s60t I’m sorry for that but the fact that is !! Toyota Wish model does not exits in Japanese market !!!

Actually Wish exist as JDM, click below link:
    http://toyota.jp/carlineup/name.html

Do add the above linl to your favourite for your future references….

• transformer (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:21 pm

Nissan JDM website:
    http://www.nissan.co.jp/CARLINEUP/index.html?id=1&bt=7

Honda JDM website:
    http://www.honda.co.jp/auto-lineup/

• lanminardi (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:47 pm

Yea what i mean here UMW Toyota Wish is from Thailand ,keep aside Those imported AP cars !!! of course imported and recond are from main!! Even that the price for the recond Wish in Malaysia isn’t that affordable !! going for Mazda 5 would be a smarter choice !! But we cant stop buyers since its a fact that Wish is from Toyota !!

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 2:30 am

Just a wild guess.OTR price.
    S-MYR 82,800.00
    V-MYR 87,800.00
    SV- MYR 92,800.00
    Lets start a price tag guessing game,lol.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 2:55 am

jaymashimaro said,

September 11, 2008 @ 12:00 pm

previos city looks ugly in term of design and handling
    now city looks better, and compare to vios, city looks ugly also
    vios design is more artistic.

please malaysia honda sux , their production is slow,
    services is bad,
    no after sales service,
    this happen to my accord recently
    salesman dun even wanna bother u at all
    they treat u like god before u bought
    after that, they treat u like flies ,

i bought it from butterworth honda, formula venture company
    even i complaint, the manager didnt do anything
    this is very dissapointing me,
    this is freindly reminder from me to all buyers who intend to buy honda
    services is last for them
    ———————————————–

When i was choosing between Altis and Civic, I went for Altis..y?
    This is a feedback from me huh, if any Honda sales person is seeing this, no hard feelings,k?

I went to Setapak(Jln Usahawan) branch, i was totally transparent there, walked in as a wind, went out as one.(p/s:i’m only 24, and looks like 21,lol)..

Not getting any brochure, i went to Pj ss14, everyone was eating their sandwiches, like too busy for lunch but only sandwiches, and no one stood up for me. So, i went to the front desk asking:” I want to have a look on Civic”.Lol, that particular salesman, for me, he was kinda rude and tried to cock me, calling his colleague:”xx, get me the booking list, someone interest on Civic” and turn back to me,:”3k for booking it.”

Went off with ‘grungies’, i went to Jln222, same..I went in like a wind and went off like one again..but b4 i went off, someone dash out n say,:” that brochure are not for customer, there, u can take this.”..All i can do was just,lol..

p/s: all these happened in one day, having faith, the next day…

I went to another honda showroom along Old Klang Road, same thing i did, ask about Civic, then the sales person turn to me n say(b4 i said any):”This require a payslip of at least RM3000/month for 9years repayment. And turn to a malay couple, left me there.

Then I went to Jalan Ipoh Honda. Ppl though I work there, because I was standing there like nuts~

So where my sale went to? Ngam ngam April, and there goes Altis, I went to Kepong’s Toyota, two salesman took my contact.

Right afternoon, Toyota salesman from opposite tropicana called me.

Winner was~~Ta Dang~ Setapak Genting Klang Toyota, because she gave me either RM1000 cash rebate/ RM899 steering locker(I took it)..

Something to learn~Honda~

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 3:00 am

oh ya..Suband UMW..They push me into the test drive unit before i asked anything about Altis. Honda Jln Usahawan, waited for 30-45minutes, because they need approval from manager..(or because they’re uncertain whether to entertain me or not?)

Just a feedback.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 3:03 am

Jln Usahawan test drive was 2nd visit on Sunday, maybe less ppl so they entertain me?

• alansmith14 (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 5:27 am

inside this new honda city have cd player o not??
    can anybody tell me?

• shamel (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 5:41 am

n8cky said,

September 12, 2008 @ 3:03 am

Jln Usahawan test drive was 2nd visit on Sunday, maybe less ppl so they entertain me?

——–
    Dude, if you going to Honda showroom(s) again please go to Jalan 222 and try to find Nichol. She’s nice and the rest pretty cocky like UMWT Federal Highway. Jalan University is worst dealership. Vut UMWT near Section 19 PJ is nice, most of the SAs.

For me for the average Mercedes-Benz Federal Highway is the best experience l ever had. Forced me to have test drive, even treat me with coffee and ask if l need their brochures. Maybe because l’m 30s BUT l went there with kapchai.

Auto Bavaria Glenmarie nowhere close to Mercedes Benz.

• az_garfield (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 5:50 am

n8cky said,
    September 12, 2008 @ 2:30 am

S-MYR 82,800.00
    V-MYR 87,800.00
    SV- MYR 92,800.00

Guess lah all u want brader but please don’t say out loud what you are willing to pay for something not worth that much. I already outlined above roughly what you should pay if we Malaysians are treated equally like Thais by Honda Malaysia:-

S M/T ~ 72K
    S A/T ~ 76K
    V A/T (ABS) ~ 81K
    V A/T (AS) ~ 83K
    SV A/T (AS) ~ 88K

Don’t really know why Malaysians like to create this artificial demand that make prices artificially high with these guessing games when the price is already out at our neighbour’s. Not that we’re not burdened by high taxes already. Like saying….. So Do Me please……

• Bob_B78 (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 9:08 am

to az_garfield said,

The price i stated is just a comparison with what they priced for the new jazz. If compared the old jazz pricing with new one, you will see that there is an increase of more than 5K per each model (entry vs entry, premium vs premium). When i mentioned 95k it includes the modulo body kit. Without it the price should hover around 90k. So far i have not even seen any new jazz on the road till date n believed the new city will suffer the same fate should it be priced so expensive.

So who should be blamed 1st? our GOVERNMENT la for imposing ridiculous tax on non national cars
    Who should be blamed 2nd? Honda marketing ppl….on absurd price for new models

Hopefully the new city will be priced as cheap as possible so that more ppl buy a good n reliable car. I really really wish i was wrong on the pricing

• xstan (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 9:41 am

CD player slot is below the play button. Kinda of hidden.

kinda of curious why isnt there a flat floor design. City back then was the 1st to design such ..follow by 3th Gen Vios.

• doraemonkiller (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 10:16 am

I agree with n8cky
    I and my mom went to honda showroom at Subang, even there is 3 sales person at the counter but none of them stand up and serve us until we call them. No test drive service. So we went to Subang Toyota showroom, salesman come to us and test drive services provided. After 1 week my mom bought the Vios. And I atcually waiting for new City but too bad the interior like shit. Cheap quality and design. Exterior from high class turn to sporty like Civic which I dont realy like. technology ok but I wont feel better sitting inside the car showed on top.

• Max88 (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 10:33 am

Honda City 1.3BLM i-CPS version: Baru Lagi Murah, New Yet Affordable.

Meanwhile, Honda Malaysia also will introduce entry-level variant of the new Honda City. It will be called Honda City 1.3BLM i-CPS. Powered by Honda’s ancient 1.3 litre i-CPS engine, it will feature more economical yet practical features such as unpainted front and rear bumper, manual window or handmatic power window to minimise power window problem, auto-reverse cassette player, load-sensitive rear leaf spring (tied with rattan-steel strappings) and the i-CPS engine was co-developed with Tata India and Geely Cars China and will be built in free-zone Aruba Island. Hand-assisted GPS nav system will be included, only with maps manually inserted inside the centre console for easy reading. Honda Malaysia indicative price for this model is RM29,888.00 OTR without insurance.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 11:04 am

shamel said,

September 12, 2008 @ 5:41 am

n8cky said,

September 12, 2008 @ 3:03 am

——–
    Dude, if you going to Honda showroom(s) again please go to Jalan 222 and try to find Nichol. She’s nice and the rest pretty cocky like UMWT Federal Highway. Jalan University is worst dealership. Vut UMWT near Section 19 PJ is nice, most of the SAs.

For me for the average Mercedes-Benz Federal Highway is the best experience l ever had. Forced me to have test drive, even treat me with coffee and ask if l need their brochures. Maybe because l’m 30s BUT l went there with kapchai.

Auto Bavaria Glenmarie nowhere close to Mercedes Benz.
    —————————————–
    I’ll only change my car after 5years, if l~…if i can afford to register a city/ vios for my sister, definitely i’ll find that ‘chick’?lol..coz Nichol sounds like a babe to me. Besides, I love Honda’s design, not to say I dislike Toyota’s. Not like others, i choose to love it before i say i dislike it( coz i kena kaokao about beauties b4). Maybe the sales of toyota/ honda has something to do with customer service?lol

• TheDuck (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 11:19 am

Have to agree with the previous comments. The service at Honda Showrooms certainly has to improve.

But if you ask me, since we are paying for a RM70K++ car its wise to select the car that best suit our NEEDS and DESIRE; and not depend on the attitude of the Honda SAs to determine our perception of the car.

As for the cocky SA, we can always go to another branch and find one that is humble and helpful to gain our sales.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 11:30 am

az_garfield said,

September 12, 2008 @ 5:50 am

n8cky said,
    September 12, 2008 @ 2:30 am

S-MYR 82,800.00
    V-MYR 87,800.00
    SV- MYR 92,800.00

Guess lah all u want brader but please don’t say out loud what you are willing to pay for something not worth that much. I already outlined above roughly what you should pay if we Malaysians are treated equally like Thais by Honda Malaysia:-

S M/T ~ 72K
    S A/T ~ 76K
    V A/T (ABS) ~ 81K
    V A/T (AS) ~ 83K
    SV A/T (AS) ~ 88K

Don’t really know why Malaysians like to create this artificial demand that make prices artificially high with these guessing games when the price is already out at our neighbour’s. Not that we’re not burdened by high taxes already. Like saying….. So Do Me please……
    ——————————–
    Do you?lol..like went into barber, or ladies make up center and say:”wateva price, do me pls.”? lol..

Ok, I get your point of view. You’re trying not to come from “customer sourcing for price tag”. Wat i’ll say about price tag is, These price were generated by pass experience on how they tag their price. I’ll definitely not buy City if it’s out, if it’s bloody over-priced(yet to know), yet, the dash board looks like plastic for me.

Wat i’ll say here is, Honda and Toyota never learn from their clients. At least my Altis, i bought it cheaper than the previous batch of Altis. 1.8E was like 115k(forget)? and i got it 109k.
    At least Altis learn from Vios’s “bad experience”, and vios were forced to facelift at age of 1year?lol-ed?

The sequence was>>(rough only, lazy to find actual price)
    Civic – 113,800k, 125,800..those time, Malaysia economic ‘ok’, no oil crisis.
    then Lancer – 114,800 for 2.0..starting to went down.
    then latio – 90k+? for 1.6/1.8..
    then elantra – 93k for 2.0..even it’s not compatible to japs, but stil cheap for 2.0
    then dono somewhere dash out Vios – over priced.
    then Altis, learnt from Vios, not to over priced. 102 for 1.6
    then Vios knew they were over priced, and launched free services/ package?, 4get.
    then Vois knew it’s not going well, still.. launched ”Vios J’
    stil not going well, launched facelift in Thailand?4get.

Roughly something like tat la..
    then Accord, if their production is really tat slow, i’ll wait.. If it’s not slow production, I can’t really see much otr, still over priced compared to Camry.
    Then Jazz..1.5 full spec mini MPV selling at Altis (1.8 sedan lo)..109k
    Now City, if they stil over price like wat i said
    S-MYR 82,800.00———————–AT LEAST SLASH 10K
    V-MYR 87,800.00———————–SAME
    SV- MYR 92,800.00———————-SAME/OR ELSE VIOS
    They’re going to die..die kaokao..NOTHING TO DO WITH DESIGN.
    Even Livina is selling so cheap. ps:I dono where to slot Camry.

• az_garfield (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 1:00 pm

n8cky said,
    September 12, 2008 @ 11:30 am

Ok, I get your point of view. You’re trying not to come from “customer sourcing for price tag”. Wat i’ll say about price tag is, These price were generated by pass experience on how they tag their price. I’ll definitely not buy City if it’s out, if it’s bloody over-priced(yet to know), yet, the dash board looks like plastic for me.

Yes, you’re right to see that point of view. Many times in the past Malaysians got excited about a new car; even though many times we get ignored by carmakers and our launch was always way after the other (insignificant) markets, except when we got our Mitsu Lancer GT.

Because of the delay in introducing the new models to our market, we can see the prices others are getting; only to get a little disappointed when we finally know the asking price here. Yes, we have these unfair taxes, but the % for the same class of model should be consistent. The difference would be whether the cars are sourced from e.g. Japan or Thailand or CKD.

Mitsubishi had shown the light, that it is actually possible to price the cars sensibly. Too bad that delivery became an issue to them. Nevertheless they have demonstrated that it is possible; and most importantly how much we have been screwed, with carmakers using the taxes as excuses all this while.

Over the years I have seen people speculating about what the prices of new models would be, and many take the perspective from the SO DO ME position, by that I mean from the position where we have been screwed by their competitor previously. The nett effect? We always get screwed because the carmaker is only interested in a certain market share and were not prepared to shake the market. Well, they can get more money per car from less numbers of car sold what….. Not just supply and demand, but less work to get same amount of money what…..

BUT HONDA….. PLEASE SURPRISE US….. PLEASANTLY

• TheDuck (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 2:46 pm

Agreed. Please HONDA, price the new City at RM60-RM65K. Surely, 1 year waiting list. hehe.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 4:18 pm

If they price at 60k-10%(d-payment),
    54k + (54k[9years x 3.3%])/108 months=RM648/month.

Persona 48, 499 -10%,
    44k + (44k[9 x 4.5%])/108 months=RM572/month.

Which one u prefer?

Waja CPS 61, 888…lol

Government ain’t stupid, they always know how to corner consumer~

• legacy88 (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 6:16 am

Cheh! Why Honda don’t want to use CVT again like IDSI siti? To afraid ah? Or takut jahanam? Talking about superior technology. Back to old stickshift and slushbox.

BTW, this become the fanboy wars and a lot talking kok lah. At the end of the day Govt will smile because they can impose tax kaw kaw to those suckers who want gaya, heh heh.

Better buy Proton Persona, much nicer than this low spec tomyam mari compared to jepang model. And cheap too thanks to beloved Govt. Also the dugong company don’t care la wei if you don’t like their seacow design. They’re very good at making money hah hah and people will flocking to buy once their introduce new model.

Now waiting for fetus Honda fanboys to comment and bash back. Heh heh.

• JasonMaxx (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 9:14 am

The Vios is OK.. But the new City is much better than Vios…
    City is better b’coz it got I-VTEC engine and looks nicer than Vios..

and..

I’m not a Toyota or Honda fans…I’m Mazda fans..

• lonelyfree (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 10:33 am

y ah new city din have cd player 1…. got some disappointed

• h2k (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 4:56 pm

from side view looks nice…like a mini honda civic…definitely improvement over the old city

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 5:43 pm

legacy88 said,

September 13, 2008 @ 6:16 am

Cheh! Why Honda don’t want to use CVT again like IDSI siti? To afraid ah? Or takut jahanam? Talking about superior technology. Back to old stickshift and slushbox.

BTW, this become the fanboy wars and a lot talking kok lah. At the end of the day Govt will smile because they can impose tax kaw kaw to those suckers who want gaya, heh heh.

Better buy Proton Persona, much nicer than this low spec tomyam mari compared to jepang model. And cheap too thanks to beloved Govt. Also the dugong company don’t care la wei if you don’t like their seacow design. They’re very good at making money hah hah and people will flocking to buy once their introduce new model.

Now waiting for fetus Honda fanboys to comment and bash back. Heh heh.

——–
    lol, enjoy ur ride~

• lanminardi (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 7:34 pm

sesat kes fella !!! craping whole hell lot !!! wonder wats da price gonna be !! any estimated true value !!! Love da design fusion of civic and accord !!! lovely

• alvinlai133 (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 10:28 pm

hope the price between rm75-rm85. then vios will b dusted.

• alvinlai133 (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 10:37 pm

To honda:
    we never ask u to put the price lower than vios
    but put the price net to net with vios.
    then we can say bye bye to vios.
    Lets DUSTED VIOS.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 10:35 am

indeed, i too will be heart broken if it cost more than i can afford and put extra burden in my pocket. anyway hope they price the premium maximum at the same price as the current ones. because they introducing a totally new car, so lets not be over confident and arrogant. then we can altogether let vios to be dusted.

• mmsaidi (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 11:42 pm

this car is one ugly son of bitch. honda engineers have done wonderful with jazz but they don’t know how to put bits and pieces when they transform it into city.

i guess honda engineers know best how to to nose reengineering only. just like accord, from the frontal view the car looks so executive with the frame grill panel. come to rear side of accord’s buttock is like one fat lady with full of cellullose. city is not exceptional. accord is just a pretty face lady with a big dropped butt.

accord, civis and city demonstrate inability of honda to sculpture art by using technology. they just machines that deliver performance with less artistic.

• yk (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 7:55 am

I booked the City VTEC and switched to waiting list for the new 2009 model one week after. That was went, everyone is waiting for the Thai City launch.

After the new model’s revealed, with much consideration, I switched back to the current model.

Reasons:
    – May be priced higher in relative to the current specs.
    – May not offer 2 years/40,000 free service maintenance (new Jazz only has 6 months), which could easily save me 1.5K
    – Don’t really like the new look, especially the front.
    – Cheaper looking interior
    – May be crampier (longer front but only 5mm increase in length)

I’m not sure if I’d made the right decision, but I’m happy to save a few thousand bucks not to wait for this release in end of year or early next year (I’ve got an old car to trade-in).

• alexio (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 1:26 pm

mmsaidi said,
    this car is one ugly son of bitch. honda engineers have done wonderful with jazz but they don’t know how to put bits and pieces when they transform it into city.

i guess honda engineers know best how to to nose reengineering only. just like accord, from the frontal view the car looks so executive with the frame grill panel. come to rear side of accord’s buttock is like one fat lady with full of cellullose. city is not exceptional. accord is just a pretty face lady with a big dropped butt.

accord, civis and city demonstrate inability of honda to sculpture art by using technology. they just machines that deliver performance with less artistic.

Wow, wad a rude remark. Ghee…..i bet u have a nice ride.

• lanminardi (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 2:18 pm

to yk..here are some advise !! but you may ignore !!
    the current VTEC city has alot of advantages when it comes to selling !! Honda malaysia implemented free maintainer service for 2 years or distance in KM !! they are trying to boost their sales as much as possible to clear the stock available ,since the new model will be launching soon !! it really sounds worth more is it !! however the current city is running on an older engine VTEC and a CVT technology !! come and think of it is the CVT reliable enough in the long run !! or are there more spare parts available for the current city for the next 3-5 years !! since the new city is running on I-VTEC and does not have CVT !! which i would suggest for more reliability !! It might cost more about 7-9K for the new city !! but u got more additional specs !! for instance BA,5AT,WMA MP3 IPOD compatible music player !! and of cause Honda’s legendary I-VTEC + etc etc….the engine which have better fuel efficiency and higher output as well !! the new city does looks better then the current city !! think of it if you were to drive an old city in the couples of month time where the new city will be on the road !! if you insist of choosing the current city !! nvm but just dont regret in the mere future !! BDW i could not justify any more about the new city until i see the real model and test drive it !!

• mct (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 5:53 pm

s60t I’m sorry for that but the fact that is !! Toyota Wish model does not exits in Japanese market !!! They only have the higher end model likewise Previa and Alphard Check it out at toyota.jp website!!! Toyota Wish (R&D) and manufacturing is base in Thailand nevertheless the Japanese did include themselves in the R&D however the whole production model is from Thailand !!! Thats why it is not seen in Japan !!! (by lanminardi)
    lanminardi :

YOU STATE CLEARLY THAT TOYOTA WISH ARE NOT SOLD IN JAPAN,INFACT WISH IS A PURE JDM VEHICLE UNTIL IT IS PLAN TO SELL IN TAIWAN AND THAILAND , AFTER MAKE SOME STUPID STATEMENT AND THEN YOU DO NOT WANT TO ADMIT WHAT HAVE YOU SAID ,SHAME ON YOU !!!!!! PLUS TOYOTA IN JAPAN ARE RICH IN MPV ,YOU WILL FIND DOZEN OF MPV YOU NEVER SEE IN YOUR LIFE, SO PLEASE DO RESEARCH BEFORE YOU MAKE ANY STATEMENT NEXT TIME

• TheDuck (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 5:56 pm

Alamak yk, its foolish to get the older design i.e. older design, resale value, older tech, older looks, etc. Since you are about to pay over RM75K, lanminardi has a good point here, wait for the new City.

Again, if u ask me, you might just regret getting it dude..

• engdau (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 6:11 pm

No doubt the new City is handsomely looking. Nonethelessly, Vios has a more pleasant and “classy” dashboard design.

In addition, City is more appearing on male buyer. Just look at its front view. Vios, on the other hand is more feminine towards female buyers. However, dunno why some has given a nickname of Vios as “Raksasa Dugong”. Ah, “raksasa ke”? It’s a lady’s car bear in mind. Keke…

The main crucial consideration is the pricing of these difference cars. Under this budget car model, I would say a rational buyer would consider the pricing apart of its built quality.

Thus, Vios won’t lose out the majority portion of potential youngsters. It’s just a matter of different cup of tea for different buyer. Keke….

To me, instead of paying twice for Japanese CKD car, I would rather go for the national car, i.e. 2008Proton Saga. Size wise, it’s slighly shorter (roughly the length of a short ruler) and with some quality issue and technology lacking behind, it’s a worth buy for Malaysian. Unless I have plenty of money to spend,…. hahaha, I will go for either “Raksasa Dugong” or “Transformer”.

Note: Commenter.. [Lanminardi]… Toyota Wish is sold in Japan la. Somemore, JDM Wish is sold in 1.8 or 2.0 litter with either 4AT or 5AT. Just check it out from www.toyota.co.jp. The comment from TheDuck is truthly 100% correct.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 6:17 pm

in terms of $$, i would say the diff in both old n new = free services + your old car trade in value + your new car resale value + new car price. anyhow i look at it, hmm kinda rugi in long run if buy current model now.

so its up to the buyer, if he doesnt like the new model, no point forcing rite. but then again, how sure is he that the new model is really tat bad if didnt really see it in ‘metal’ flesh, and he cant hold onto the current one for too long… delima delima delima….

• yk (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 8:34 pm

Hi all, thanks for your advice. I was thinking the same – hard – hard. It’s true that when everyone’s talking about i-vtec I should not have considered vtec.

I’m a tech freak, so I really went in depth to study them. I was thinking of getting it for the sake of the newer engine, and forget about the rests.

But, I’m scared – look at the current Vios. To many, the new one doesn’t seem to be always better in every way.

Yes, I may rugi if I sell this car within 3-5 years. But technology moves so fast, who still bothers if I paid extra for my Pentium 166MHz with MMX vs without MMX last time if I would sell it now? How much difference if we are to buy a Proton Saga 1.5 8-Valve vs 1.5 12-Valve?

That’s how I deduce and stop the nightmare of thinking hard – Go! Haha..

• ignas (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 9:20 pm

haha good good. respect your dedication. its either appreciate the perfection of the current city or embrace the challenges of the new one. either way, enjoy ur new city. ah…i cant wait for mine to arrive…

• klx (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 12:06 am

I went to honda jln222 over the weekend and placed a booking for the new city – just need to pay RM500 as booking fee, and its FULLY refundable if you don’t like it after you see the real thing. if u like it, then, u top up another rm1500 as actual booking fee is RM2000.

the ppl @ 222 looks friendly to me. i arrived around 11+ and the entire sales force was gathering at the reception area, and as soon as i open the main glass door, 1 of the female Sales Advisor was kind enough to serve me. have to admit i had a bad experience at honda usj. in and out and no one bothers about me.

• hata120ps (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 8:53 am

question again…

Any problem appear for previous new launched city?

im doubt it.. isn’t best time to get new city o not?

bcus im selling my car last month n book for new city..

is quite not convenient without own car..everytime i come back.

• lanminardi (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 3:23 pm

oh really than i must be making a big mistake for not noting out the UMW model Toyota Wish !! which is suppose to be in Malaysia and Thailand only ..Thai Model !! Are there any new technologies in this new City ?? likewise Adaptive Power Steering or advanced LSD !! How nice if have it !! haha but of cause the price will be killing !!

• lanminardi (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 3:32 pm

bdw mct what a shame on you !! human are not perfect there are mistakes in life !! mind your words !! no manners at all !! speak to the hand !!! i might be sorry for not stating UMW Thai model Wish !! which is not availabe in Japanese market !! sorry its my mistake but you mct you are really please !! if you are that “clever” !! enough

• alvinlai133 (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 9:18 pm

Any friend had test drive the new i-vtec city in thailand? Hope some 1 can share the experience.
    I think this city should b more powerfull. but the fuel consumption is it better than the old city v-tec????
    it is more horse power means more higher fuel consumtion???

• CFA28 (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 4:22 pm

Since the engine is the same as the Jazz engine, there was a good review of the Jazz on 22 Sept 2008 CBT (NST). Conclusion that its a City Car, not to be pushed hard, unlike the Civic. Accrelartion for last 2-gears not very “good”.

• calvinsoul (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 9:50 pm

Hi Guys,

Honda India launch the car today see their website for your self: http://www.hondacarindia.com/city/

• lopaque (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 2:12 am

i think too many honda fanboys here…no wonder….

• albertx46 (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 5:59 pm

this new-gen City looks real cool…reminiscent of its brother- euro-spec Accord. The late trend of Honda’s styling touch is unbeatable! If priced right this car is gonna sell!

• hegoat (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:59 pm

hi guys, correct me if i am wrong… has anybody notice that there is no temperature meter? refer to picture number 19, counting from the top.

• engdau (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 4:03 pm

My fren…hegoat,

Honest speaking, I believe u did not drive the most modern cars for the past 3 yrs. If u drive an existing City (either i-Dsi or i-Vtec) or even new Proton Saga, there is no longer any analogue Water Temperature.

If u look at the pic no 19 (counted from the top), the water temperature gauge is available via the digital indicator bars (something like ur hand phone). Open ur eyes big enough and u would able to spot it just besides the digital mileage gauge.

In fact, New Proton Saga comes with digital indicator bars for both water temperature and fuel gauges.

Bro, keep urself up to date by reading more latest motoring articles.

• hegoat (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:48 am

engdau, u r right… haha.. ops… sorry… Keeping myself updated

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 2:26 am

The tail looks like an OLD VIOS to me, but it is nice…

Or more like BMW 3 Series?

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 2:31 am

Got manual one ar? where the picture ar? im blind la…

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 2:33 am

Bee sting antenna? not good la, not aerodynamic, even new vios use the one at the rear window ! thus make it higher FC, even a little !

• SeeToh (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 2:05 pm

d

• eddie999 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 11:09 pm

Proton ! Proton ! look get japan car they have a vision and R&D model keep on changing to global market. Our PROTON SAGA ,WAJA 20++ over years still the same and selling so expensive to ours country user ..KNN mana boleh fight sama orang!!!

• Meerza R Khan on Jun 25, 2009 at 5:49 am

Pretty close design to the classic 80s Porsche 924.

• Rabil Choudhury on Oct 20, 2009 at 1:02 am

Great design to become someones dream car,what a dashing style honda had made, ihave not seenlike this car ever before n i m really gonna buy it. i have never thought that honda will bring such dashing car in India's market.HONDA U R TOO GOOD !!!!!!!

• Hello for all…i plan to buy NHC before the end of this year. I noticed the major different between S and E specs is about the Paddle Shift that only available on E specs. My SA told me that from survey conducted from her customers, she found that seldom customer use the Paddle Shift feature during traveling. She advised me to buy S specs if I am not really concern about accessories or added cosmetics. Referring to the car review from various E specs owner, the fact is that the Paddle Shift is very useful during escaping corner in short time…and that will make saver fuel consumption rather than using D mode in gear. Some claimed that for long travel especially for uphill and downhill purpose, it is better to use S mode in gear for better FC. Is that true for all review facts??? I am in confuse now…… I hope any E specs owner can explain in details here for assisting me in making decision…… S or E, E or S…..huhu confuse for all time……… :cry: Thanks :D

• Akashi on Oct 27, 2009 at 7:17 am

hi yie

I'm a proud owner of grade E city and i love so much about its paddle shifter. I always use it when cruising on highway and when overtaking. Since my driving style quite aggressive, so to me the paddle shifter is practical. When using this feature, my car can easily reach its top speed of 190km/h (limited). Acceleration also better in S mode (paddle shift). Going uphill also better in S mode as I already experienced climbing Genting. But if we compare to manual transmission, i think the manual is still the best.

• Oh…i see. Thanks for your sharing, Akashi……

• What?? on Oct 28, 2009 at 5:32 am

I got no $$ to buy. Buy Cherari good arr? Opss I mean Chery V.

• What?? on Oct 28, 2009 at 5:34 am

How about Chery V? Any comment?

• akashi on Oct 29, 2009 at 2:20 am

mmsaidi said,

accord, civis and city demonstrate inability of honda to sculpture art by using technology. they just machines that deliver performance with less artistic

—————————————————————-

then you must have very high taste in car appearance. most toyota cars has boring and dull look, same goes to nissan. but look at past model hondas, their design still have the wow factor. their engine also reliable enough. that's why the price for 2nd hand honda is still high!

• whizurai on Nov 06, 2009 at 6:58 pm

Went to Honda Jalan 222 to view the City, no one seems to bother entertaining my family and I. They just looked at me and continue doing whatever they are doing. Not as friendly as people in the forum said they would be. hmm…

• Harimau on Nov 21, 2009 at 12:42 am

Hi Paul ,
    Do u know when the Minor Model Change units like the one recently launched in India market will come to Malaysia ?
    thanks

• Any one from Thailand, i need one big favor, i live in pakistan i bought this car in Auto tramission the features are almost same the console has a problem there is no arm rest in it so while driving auto car u need to rest your elbow to fullfill the auto car purpose, i want to buy that piece from thailand i wrote couple of emails to honda dealers in thailand but no one cares to reply, if anyone can do that favor buy me that console for auto gears, ill send the money and you ship it.

please do reply. my email is [email protected]

• italian boy on May 25, 2010 at 12:44 pm

uhmm… in italy this car have name civic but just 2 volume … (short) and now we change model because this design is old from 5 years… what have new? and price 700,000 bats.. 18,000 euro ..,in italy the same car 14000 euro..
    thai people . open eyes!!!

• rexmar aquino on Apr 14, 2011 at 12:10 pm

so beauitful…

• esempoi on May 16, 2011 at 4:00 pm

i like red color, why no city red color in malaysia?