Fiat eco:Drive lets you analyze your driving pattern on your computer

Fiat ecoDrive

This is something seriously really cool from Fiat. They’ve actually incorporated social network elements into their car ownership together with a very cool and gadgety way of teaching you how to drive your Fiat economically.

It’s called Fiat eco:Drive and it’s basically it’s a software that will allow you to record detailed information on your vehicle as well as your driving pattern’s efficiency and later analyze it in a software on your computer.

All you need to do is plug a USB storage drive into the Microsoft Blue&Me USB port and the data will be copied to the drive. After you’ve finished driving, just plug the same drive to your computer and let the eco:Drive software analyze it.

The software will let you know how fuel efficient your current driving pattern is and how you can improve it. It will also give you a score out of 100 – something Fiat is calling the eco:Index. Just follow the tips the software gives you and watch your eco:Index go up, hopefully. A user of eco:Drive is also part of the eco:Ville social network. Users will be able to interact, share tips, as well as watch how much CO2 and energy they are saving together as a whole.

The video after the jump shows so much more about the software. It’s really quite a cool piece of software and has quite nice graphics. It’s built on Adobe AIR so it works on both a PC and Mac. It currently works only on the Fiat 500 and Fiat Grande Punto but Fiat is working on making it compatible with the rest of the Fiat range as long as you have Blue&Me installed.

Watch the video after the jump.

Video: Fiat eco:Drive with Blue&Me

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ignas (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 9:29 am

this is seriously interesting. when will this tech comes to msia.

• lchan (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 11:48 am

this is also found in the fiat bravo

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 3:41 pm

Well, talking bout transmission. We’re Malaysian, most of the time were caused by the uncle who drive slow blocking the road, who felt nothing but frequently affected those behind running on 2nd gear at higher rpm..zzz..

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 4:11 pm

“Eco Drive is free, and ready to download now”..was what i heard last.
    Yes it’s free, but not the Fiat with a USB slot, lol…

• csv (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 4:15 pm

those who are not computer or tech savvy will not bother using it.

guess they purely marketing this at the gen Y people.

i prefer in car display, must take out put to computer abit leh cheh.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 4:25 pm

I’ve downloaded the program. Basically it’s useless without the Blue&Me data.

• haroldz (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 10:10 pm

there is a website where u can upload ur mileage n FC.
    then u can compare it to the same model wit owners from all over the world..
    tp lupa la d link..

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:03 pm

fiat will one day rise again