Toyota iQ UK prices and specification announced

Toyota iQ

Toyota has revealed the pricing and specs for the production Toyota iQ in the UK market. The iQ is already available for booking now, with the first cars to be delivered to customers in January 2009.

The cheapest iQ will be the 1.0 VVT-i manual version at £9,495 (RM56,320). Two trim levels are available, the Toyota iQ (£10,495 for the auto) and the Toyota iQ2 (£10,495 for the manual, £11,495 for the CVT). The iQ has 15 inch alloy wheels, manual air conditioning controls, adjustable heated wing mirrors, an LED rear stop lamp, an auto-dimming rear view mirror, a 6-speaker audio system with MP3, WMA, CD and aux input, steering-wheel audio controls, ABS, VSC, and 9 airbags.

The higher spec iQ2 adds automatic headlamps, automatic rain-sensing wipers, keyless entry and start, automatic climate control, high-gloss 15 inch alloys, smoked headlamps, and a chrome trim for the rear light cluster.

In addition, there is a choice of 3 accessory packages – the iStyle, iSports and iUrban. iStyle costs £250 and consists of chrome side sills, a rear chrome garnish and aluminium scuff plates. iSports adds a rear roof spoiler, rear skirting and a chrome tip for the exhaust pipe for £400. The iUrban package adds reverse sensors, a reversible velour/rubber boot liner and carpet mats for £350. Satnav is a £950 option while leather seats will cost you £700. If you add all of these options it can bump up the cost quite abit.

Two transmissions are available – a 5-speed manual and a Multidrive CVT. There is obviously no emphasis on performance as the Toyota press release does not mention how much power the iQ’s 1.0 VVT-i engine produces but they do quote a road tax-free 99g/km CO2 output (110g/km for the CVT) and a 65.7mpg combined cycle fuel economy.

Look after the jump for a video of the Toyota iQ.

Video: Toyota iQ

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 8:18 pm

I really wonder if UK people will buy this so called “4-seater” Micro car… Anyway, it is a Toyota…

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 9:18 pm

So CUTEEEEEEEEEEE
    Luv it

• csv (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 10:50 pm

9 airbags for such a small car!!!!!!

wow!

even our BMW and mercedes benz lesser.

if the crash didnt kill you, the airbags probably would.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 11:23 pm

i always think of those cars as wen u buy thm…use it for a while,u will probably regret getting it….as u most probably will want abit more power,abit more room…u will regret not spending abit more geting a bigger more power car….

• db8 (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 12:14 am

56k ?? better buy new perodua SE =P

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 12:30 am

56k is a direct convert. Sales tax n import, think this mini IQ doesn’t price like a mini in Malaysia..Well, whether is coming into Malaysia is stil a question to us.

• cyberx11 (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 12:56 am

Possible to be Myvi Lite in boleh land?

• droll (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 12:14 pm

i’m very imrpessed with the speed with which toyota brought this car from concept to commercialization.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 2:30 am

You have got to be kidding me. If Brits are buying this, I’ll have a very different view of them. Ok, so everybody is entitled to his own alternative lifestyle. But it just seemed …odd. If the Yaris didn’t bite, why would they buy this with a Viva engine? See how I succesfully navigated around the use of the letter Q?

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 4:50 pm

Not sure why people think this car won’t sell in the UK. With spiralling fuel costs and parking difficulties in the cities this will be a perfect urban runabout. It’s already been proven with the Smart car, 106/C1/Aygo and Fiat 500 that there’s a substantial market there for efficient and stylish microcars.

Just look at the benefits that will jump out immediately at uk shoppers:
    Free road tax
    65.7mpg
    Likely cheap insurance
    Built in satnav option

Plus there are a couple features about this car that weren’t mentioned in the article:

3+1 seating -the dashboard is offset so that the passenger side front seat can be pushed forward, giving room to seat an actual adult in the rear seat. the seat behind the driver is rightfully declared fit for children only. this beats the usual 2+2 where the whole rear seat is suitable for parcels only.

5-star Euro NCAP, a very strong selling point.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:57 pm

a fiat 500, ford ka makes more sense