SPYSHOT: the new Satria Neo’s new wheels?

New Proton Satria Neo
Click for larger image

This rear three quarter view of the minimally taped up Proton Satria Neo was snapped by reader Keith Tay and they reveal the new design of the Satria Neo’s wheels.

The bling turbine wheels are gone now and are replaced by these new wheels which made their debut earlier on the Lotus EVE Hybrid Concept driven by the Prime Minister at the Proton Technology Week. The wheels are an alternating combination of silver V-spokes and grey Y-spokes. It seems that this same wheel design has also made its appearance on a certain model of the Satria Neo in Proton’s Thai offering.

UPDATE: Apparently those wheels are actually not a unique or new Proton design, but are in fact Advanti Racing MEDUSA wheels.

This clearer photo also seems to show that the wheel arches of the car are much more prominent than on the current Satria Neo, and they seem to have little “holes” integrated in the design much like the old M24 Satria GTi. A similiar bodykit with the large wheel arches was found on this car: Possible Satria Neo GTi?

Look after the jump for a clearer photo of the wheels snapped earlier this year at the Proton Technology Week.

Click for hi-res photo

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ignas (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 10:51 am

1st!

no comment.

• ndmervin (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 10:57 am

Abit on the complicated side of design. Good luck to the owner when its time for wash…

• johnson wong (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 11:04 am

ouh.. the rims..no good

• theanswer (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 11:34 am

uh uh..ugly~

• torque (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 11:39 am

Hmph! The wheel arches on the car is indeed bulky. I’ll bet those who bought this car with less driving skill, we might end up seeing a lot of the new Neo got scrap on it’s arches! Heh! Heh! :-)

Can’t comment on the rims though. Maybe it’ll grow on us just like the turbine’s rim design. Peace!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 11:39 am

with such standard rims, I bet most of the new owners will change the rims to other alloys as soon as the car is driven out from the showroom.

Remind me of my friend’s advert on the local forum —Mari-mari!! Brand New ori rims from Proton Neo!!! 1 set for only RM400. With tyres selling for RM600…Owner wants to upgrade his rims/tyres.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 11:46 am

might not be the final production rims, maybe they borrowed the spare gen-2 rims

anywhos, my sixth sense was right. this could be the next gti

• Imran (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 11:51 am

Huhu..they shouldn’t taped up the car..instead just use a normal number plate..no one would notice its a test car..

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 12:12 pm

…What?!

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

• indigo (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 12:19 pm

If it is the new GTI, will it have supercharger/turbo as shown in the spyshot last time.

• Poji (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 12:48 pm

I like the design. Like Tomason brand.

• awak (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 12:50 pm

i want it reasonably priced,

• db8 (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 1:21 pm

the satria tyres are too inside the arch,so look weird..
    btw paul u mis-spelled la..not Tatria but satria..reminds me of Tetris..heheh

• zzua (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 1:22 pm

Paul, pls check :

” Click here to read the rest of SPYSHOT: the new Tatria Neo’s new wheels?”

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 1:34 pm

I actually find these rims kinda ugly and more ‘bling-bling’ than the turbine design.

But then again, I liked the turbine design. >_<

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 1:51 pm

hehehe this is indeed GTI..
    the spoiler looks similar to the previous GTI but this one a bit larger
    the rear bumper must be the one in S2000 the grey colour or black one.. that is what i think…Love Gti..
    the rim? errr. the design OK. i guess dunno but cant agree more that it will be hassle to clean it.

• bien335 (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 2:11 pm

looks like some generic BSA wheels to me

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 2:13 pm

and.. i think it will look nicer if it is 17inch and… the tyre in the picture cam ke dlm sangat.

• awak (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 2:18 pm

how about this design,

http://www.esprit4sale.co.uk/images/ForSale/FS_AWI_Alloys_LEW.gif

4 bolt 17inch

• awak (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 2:27 pm

lower new design siide skirt,
    i suspect its a diffuser with twin air exit, left and right, its gonna be like lotus exige diffuser.

how about front?

• libralcl (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 2:36 pm

Paul, Title : “Tatria” Neo?

• chaku/maru (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 2:41 pm

ok…from the pic,all i can say are-i hate the strip on the back bumper,hate the rim because the complicated design,rim should be bigger n not sitting too deep in the arch.i hope this is not the final design.btw….if this is the final design,i’ll rather take R3’s.

• zzua (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 2:49 pm

agree with maru .. wheels position too deep.
    i dont like the alloy wheels, looks heavy..

• mac_labuan (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 3:05 pm

aiyayo…this is the new satria neo gtr..not gti. i got inside info frm p1.

• awak (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 3:06 pm

yes chaku r3 design is brilliant, especially front bumper is a direct desend from m24 gti,

people almost belive that r3 will be a mark ii gti,

probally si-fu will have his say here,

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 4:23 pm

The rim look kinda weird and the wheel arch too bulky…doesn’t look match with the body line…

• huckerz (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 4:23 pm

whatever it is it can be turbocharged from what it looks, cause the exhaust is still standard. But hey if it’s a gti..the hp shouldnt be more than the neo R3 which is at 135hp. Cps is at 125hp..if a new gti come wth a turbocharged then it’s more powerful than the neo R3. nway i heard tht Myvi gonna come wth turbo next year like in Japan Passo. I hope this Neo is not nore than 60k…:)

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 5:52 pm

aiya…again from the back only…is it really hard to snap pics from the front…if i have the opportunity will snap even being bang by the car behind me.:-P

• adunadun (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 6:08 pm

yeah, got bang and still alive ok laa,,so we could see ur car picture.
    But u only wear a helmet, i dont see ur picture use seat belt!!

• ENZO (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 6:10 pm

awak said,

October 18, 2008 @ 2:18 pm

how about this design,

http://www.esprit4sale.co.uk/images/ForSale/FS_AWI_Alloys_LEW.gif

4 bolt 17inch

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Too simple,plain,boring~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~etc etc etc

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 6:18 pm

when i drive a car i wear seatbelt and helmet :-P

• moongrey (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 6:33 pm

i think there is one layer tape covering the strip on the bumper and door,if u all enlarge the pic above,u can see what i mean… or maybe my eyes tell me wrong..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 7:02 pm

the wheel arches are a little too big…Macam Mitsu Storm pickup nia….

• legacy88 (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 9:26 pm

Khark Ptuih! Yuk so ugly!

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 9:49 pm

yeah… the rims look a bit ugly, the design to complicated and the blue waja rim behind neo in da pic are better.. :P

• awak (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 10:19 pm

this SE one that goes to brunei,
    frankly its so un proton, urgh,,,

http://bp1.blogger.com/_cXOyCprZToI/SG4uMqLf5OI/AAAAAAAAAMo/u7pPd37hZsA/s1600-h/satrtia_neo_se.jpg

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 10:25 pm

I love the arches… that and the diffuser are hinting GTi… but aren’t those rims Advantis? ;p

Personally I’d prefer “concept-look” wheels like the original GTi :)

• awak (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 10:25 pm

the wheel basically a strict 5 spoke, then came 4 holes punched in,
    so unperfectly out of equation, the hole seemed punched in just about anywhere it likes.

• csv (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 11:43 pm

i think just stick to those normal 5 spoke alloy rims will look fantastic.

or the special proton rims with 5 v-spoke on older models.

• davidyan (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 1:59 am

IS OK, COZ I’LL GONA CHANGE TO ENKEI RS+M ON IT TO MAKE ITS LOOKS MORE LIKE R3.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 2:07 am

Why couldn’t they make a rim look like the ones on the latest vios? So simple yet Nice!

This? a tad complicated and clutters the look!

• AH KEONG (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 2:52 am

…is ENKEI Tuning SC09

• AH KEONG (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 3:08 am

or something like this.. http://farm1.static.flickr.com/254/444037866_8b04b867b6.jpg?v=0

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 3:37 am

Nice, gonna like it !

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 5:11 am

The SE Brunei looks korean to me..

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 5:43 am

awak, tat picture -.-” beng-ish front spoiler n side skirts -.-” omg! it just doesnt fit! spoils the neo handsome look!!!!NO!!

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 8:27 am

hehehe advanti racing MEDUSA wheels, rupanye…. haha anything have proton’s logo always have bad impression.. hahah maybe individual differences, for me i dont really like the design,, regardless of its brand

• awak (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 8:39 am

anyway i just wait until for the launch of it,

for now standard 1.6 with its 16 inch turbine style wheel is handsomely right.
    and the r3 neo looks purposeful stance.

for my 1.3 AT neo, still keeping its 15inch wheel size, but replace the steel wheel by putting a good standard 2n hand naza citra 5 spoke wheel (keeping it within the factory offset),
    suprisingly it fits the neo look.

one thing i found in proton cars, its very sensitive to wheel design, only correct standard wheel design will fit the whole appearence of the car .

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 8:59 am

oh 1.3 AT can support up to 15 inch? x underpower?
    alang2 kat sini nak ty ada x masalah underpower 1.3 satria neo? i mean dier nyer capability nk tarik rims17 ke? kalau 15 tu ok naik bukit and all ke? canne?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 10:26 am

i prefer the previous turbine-styled wheel though the current one is hot too….

• lanuncyber (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 10:36 am

i think Paul did intentionally spell the ‘Tatria’. I don’t know why… :)

if u look at the keyboard, ‘S’ and ‘T’ are quite far from each other.

To me, the rim is so-so, but if somehow they could ‘pull out’ the rims a lil’ bit, it’s better… for the look…

• w_lighter (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 10:53 am

The wheel arch is abit too over size compare to the tire size…

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 11:50 am

according to proton’s technology….bigger wheel arch makes the car faster.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 12:39 pm

Where is the Neo GT-I? Maybe this is it?

• chaku/maru (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 2:35 pm

topgunthang,what r u trying to say?

doesnt make sense…to my sense,bigger wheel arch meant for plonking bigger wheel n wider width of tire…for traction purpose…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 4:01 pm

http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o306/kev84/PICT0370-1.jpg

thats my neo rims and i think the current bodykit looks good as it is :D

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 4:07 pm

http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/6449/racesport1updatedre3.jpg

this is what i did using photoshop.

• arch747 (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 5:12 pm

duhhhhhh…. topgun was being sarcastic laaaaa, proton-basher in the making.

• ah liew (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 7:17 pm

try noticing the rear windshield top left & right corner.

it has a big hole thew fulgy….

1.6 models comes with standard spoiler & it’s attached to the hole at the corners but 1.3 doesn’t come with spoiler so it’s provided a full windshield.

i came to know this when i changed my spoiler one day. the aftermarket spoiler cannot fit the standard holes so it has to be drilled on & thats ok but the problem is while removing the original spoiler left a big hole as mentioned above. so i have no choice but to have 2 spoilers on my car now :P

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 7:22 pm

hey guyz….
    i think the rim belongs to the car behind the neo is even hotter…
    it seems like waja and the rim damn nice… somewhat like BMW 7 series…
    ma gonna get it….

• Arcane (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 9:18 pm

Didn’t anyone notice the slight Allen-key design on the wheel arches?

• awak (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 7:54 am

about the add on wheel arch on satria neo, im not sure it need one.

what happened at the m24 GTI, it employ 16 inch wheel, to give more impact extra wheel arch mould needed, and the look strengthened with alan key bolt,
    why this needed, this is because m24 body basic model is 13 inch wheel with it has a flush fender, the existence of the wheel arch is purposeful.

anyway im not sure about this neo, because it already have original steel wheel arch with a very strong stance, does it really need it?

• CAKAP.Net (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 12:21 pm

Very nice if satria neo can be a 4 door car and sedan as well.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 3:19 pm

ADVANTI MEDUSA RIMs.

Yeah.. thx for the input paul.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 6:55 pm

the old rims look better, these looks cheap

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 9:21 pm

yeah four doors hatch back like mazda 3 or the subaru..
    sporty still even with four doors. damn, i always attracted to mazda 3 coz i always imagaine how will neo look like if it has four doors and the body or chasis is strecth a bit. haih..

• awak (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 10:08 pm

maddy,
    satria proton model will always be 2dr, that what satria is all about, its a unique product by proton,

it will never sit too long at proton edar parking lot, there are people asking for this 2dr , understandably its a lower volume segment of course, but i see a lot on the road.

if 4 dr are concern gen2 will be it,

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 20, 2008 at 11:41 pm

I remember when people hated the turbine design before the Neo was launched. Nothing appeals to you guys. Sheesh.

I like the WRC style rear wing.

If you take a closer look and imagine that those black urethane pieces turn into the same body color, you would see that it looks good. And doubly so as it would cover somet bottom part of the ‘zos box. But I think what they taped up is the ‘Design by Lotus’ plate that you get in the UK.

Its good to know that Proton product development guys are working hard. I would like to see a 2 door Gen-2 to be the Putra replacement only if it came with at least a 2.0l engine. Maybe in the next too distant future? Please!!! Pretty Please!!! But then, its just me. Non conformist me who doesn’t want to share a car with anybody. They just add weight.

Oh and can people stop asking for a 4 door hatch. Please. Go for a Savvy, Swift, Viva, i10, or a (god forbid) MyVi. Don’t spoil the nice lines of the Satria. Don’t add more weight to it. Its not for you. Shoo!

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 3:30 pm

Hi there,

Wow, Satria Neo CPS. The rim is nice. Really match-up with the car. Overall I’m satisfy with the Satria Neo CPS. Just don’t name it as GTi yet. A GTi should have a much more powerful engine than 1.6 CPS. Anyways, I hope Proton would consider to put CPS engine into Persona as well.

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 4:21 pm

come on its just my imagination to see it with four doors. heheh

CPS? ohh my.. let us think properly.. this little guy parades along with the new mpv and dont you think they share the same engine. according to Sifu, the MPV’s engine should never have underpower problem with that BULKY body,
    let say it is 1.8 or 2.0 i guess that should be in This Satria NEO too. well Satria GTI came with 1.8 engine right. therefore, i guess proton would never ever try to let our new NEO loose his face to the lagendary one, they will try to match for it or go beyond it.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:18 pm

just put in bbs , they look much better

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 6:17 pm

With those wheel arches and holes, I seriously think it’s a Neo GTi(or whatever they’re naming it now), and probably with CPS.

Proton should really get rid of the torque-dippy engines in their cars and replace everything that’s using a Campro unit with something with CPS or at least IAFM.

• awak (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 8:01 am

UPDATE: Apparently those wheels are actually not a unique or new Proton design, but are in fact Advanti Racing MEDUSA wheels.
    (paul)

so, its a possibility new proton design standard wheel to come?
    si-fu?

• awak (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 5:40 pm

big wing, allen keyed wheel arch,
    big masked on front bumper (recent spy shot)

almost likely this,
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/06/18/possible-proton-satria-neo-gti-spotted/

• awak (Member) on Nov 06, 2008 at 8:22 pm

current satria neo 1.6 manual
    2800rpm at 100km/h

• ideoteque85 (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 1:41 pm

please put CPS on Satria Neo very very soon so that I can purchase one.

• darkteror (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:29 pm

deng nice design!!

• huckerz (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 8:25 pm

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/10/14/proton-satria-neo-cps-or-facelift-spotted-on-test/ refer to here…. a lot of info here :)..tomorrow gonna laucnh!!! yeay yeay!

• lonely1988 on Feb 14, 2009 at 9:02 am

wah!