BMW Credit Card Key concept: multifunctional key

BMW Credit Card Key

I’m sure alot of you are aware of credit card features such as Mastercard Paypass and Visa Wave, but what if you could integrate something like that into your car key? That’s precisely the idea that BMW Group Research and Technology had when they came up with this concept multifunctional smart key.

The new smart key is multifunctional like what a MyKad is supposed to be – it can store a credit card and even stuff like lectronic tickets for bus, train and air travel.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 9:13 am

so this is all bragging rights to let everyone know u have a bmw, the sad case is that, people might target u and ambush u and steal the key away from u. or sad case, u drop the key and all ur data is in it. much like a thumbdrive

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 10:01 am

I suppose if a Mykad was stolen, you need to report your licence, bla bla bla well not much to do. If a wallet was stolen, report your licence, credit card, Atm(I suppose rich man do not use Atm?), well max member card. If a BMW car key were stolen, licence, cc, well…a BMW..byebye..

• chee89 (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 11:37 am

er… if u have a BMW , why take the bus?

say even u take bus, plane or train, u bring u car key around … without the car?!

• red7 (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 11:53 am

good point chee89!
    bmw engineer hv too much ideas i think!

• delos3nos (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 12:08 pm

better implant it in your tumb and when Wave at the counter, have more style

• szw (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 7:40 pm

cool !!!

• csv (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 10:23 pm

what happen if car key stolen? he go pay downpayment for new car?

and sekali the key destroyed or lost how?

the credit inside gone? this are some of the issues they have to resolve.

intelligent key for me good enough liao.

• seat-belt (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 11:22 pm

hahaha…stupid BMW engineer…their just waste their own company money… i think it is better to change the car key into pendrive or thumbdrive or maybe mp3??

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 1:07 pm

its time to say farewell for MY-CARD !!!!!!!!!!!!! hahaha………..

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 6:24 pm

mykard? got use one meh?

• David9988 (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 7:18 pm

hey peasants!! look at me!! I have a bimmer and u dont!! boohoo

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 9:52 am

easier for the robber to rob. just give me ur car keys