Fuel price cut tonight: 10 sen for all fuels

Fuel-Wallet GaugeThe Prime Minister’s Office has announced that the prices of fuel in Malaysia will be slashed by 10 sen each effective midnight tonight. The slash includes diesel fuel, which is good news I suppose as it was previously indicated that diesel fuel would not get futher price cuts this time around as it was still being subsidised.

The following are the new prices of fuel in Malaysia slashed by 10 sen each effective tomorrow, the 3rd of December 2008:

Fuel Old Price Reduction New Price
RON97 RM2.00 RM0.10 RM1.90
RON92 RM1.90 RM0.10 RM1.80
Diesel RM1.90 RM0.10 RM1.80

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• CFA28 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:15 pm

10 sen seems to low but still better than nothing.

• White Jack (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:22 pm

Hi Paul, your last sentence:

The following are the new prices of fuel in Malaysia slashed by 10 sen each effective tomorrow, the 2nd of December 2008:

… is it 3rd DEC ?? today is 2nd.

• HMMaster (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:24 pm

and i pumped this morning.. >:( why they always reduce just after i pump the petrol? >_<

• droll (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:44 pm

yayyyyyyyy

• droll (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:45 pm

yayyyyyy now i can buy petrol and use it to masak-masak, bathe, and wash clothes because the govt and some people think we will become wasteful when petrol is cheap. at rm1.90/L it is cheaper than mineral water so set lah, i’ll use it to water my plants as well.

LOL!

• n8cky (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 5:51 pm

HMMaster said,

December 2, 2008 @ 5:24 pm

and i pumped this morning.. >:( why they always reduce just after i pump the petrol? >_<
    ————
    Tat’s y i always pump RM30 to prevent this to happen..

• mokkf82 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:04 pm

We cannot prevents it from dropping one la. But this really silly. why can’t they study all the possibility and reduced it once and for all. Then the date for the oil reduction, pls make a firm date for this and not just giving guesses.
    Say petrol reduce before Haji, but reduce tomorrow pula. what la….

• BrakeFader (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:24 pm

They are still deciding to set floor price or let it float with market price. While waiting, we are still paying higher than global prices. In other news, vege and fish price go up due to floods.

• SelekohBoi (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:42 pm

Come on la, we are ody paying much higher than market price, which G is not paying the 30sen any>. I’m ok with the 2 weekly price revise, but why should there be a floor price, if we’ll susidizing the G (like now)? Isn’t right to pay as it should (when it go up to Rm150/barrel)? Then those that make $ (u know who), will js goyang kaki like before the 308.

• arch747 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:16 pm

how much can u save btw if u want to wait for the new rate? Not much I would say. say u usually pumped in RM70 during old rate. And with this 10 sen reduction, u will only save RM3.50, which IMO is not that much. instead of pumping RM70, u will be pumping RM64.50 for the same amount of fuel. Dont be so frustated people if u all already pumped in your tank to the fullest today.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:17 pm

yay, good thing. School holiday now, 10 sens goes a long way

• chevelle_84 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:25 pm

Gov always blamed us for being ungrateful whenever we complaint about their irrelevant decision to slash fuel price for a mere a few cents.We are the one should not be grateFOOL but it’s our greedy Gov should be grateful & thankful to us as we are forced to pay more for the petrol(donate money to Gov) than the actual price we deserved. Rakyat Malaysia is so charitable towards their Gov..:P

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:30 pm

Another flip-flop decision. Say slash 15 cents now only 10 cents. You might think it’s not alot but if you think of it this way let’s say someone supposed to give you 15 cents but give you only 10 cents. It means you’re receiving 33% less.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 9:05 pm

Fast up, slow down.

• theanswer (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 9:45 pm

mokkf82,

govt wont give exact date because they dont want pump owner to manipulate their sales and consumer wont buy and wait for the fuel price goes down. whatever u guys wanna sed abt the govt..i’m trying to be as grateful as i can. thnx govt.

• theanswer (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 9:49 pm

nway, u cant blame govt 100% for being slow to reduce fuel price. u guys look at consumer’s point of view which u guys want a cheaper fuel price..but how abt the petrol station owner? they also got family to feed…fuel price structure is not abt 100% buy and sell petrol only. try to look at a wider scope of economics.

• lambov12 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 10:11 pm

haix …

i think now the govt should let the price flow with world market ..

i dun think keep on subsidising the petrol is a good way …

However, in order to do that, the govt MUST abolish the STUPID IMPORT TAX !!! So that everyone was not forced to buy P1 or P2 cars ..

• nic (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 10:17 pm

WTF ?!
    I thought $1.85?

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 10:23 pm

another crapping drop !!!!!!!

• Dogster (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 11:30 pm

YAHOOOO!!!. Its back to V-POWER FOR ME!!!

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 11:53 pm

G is sucking blood at entire time.. this is crap. it should be far more cut. always create excuse for the sack of own ashe.

others goods price still not much come down even until now…
    even nasi lemak is getting smaller and smaller already. adui.

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:03 am

When the fuel price increased, we complained. Now the fuel price have decreased and we say its not enough. We may pay a fuel tax because market price is lower, but think of all the years where fuel was subsidized. Think of all the irresponsible people took advantage of the low fuel price for their own personal profits by smuggling fuel to our neighbours. Blame them for the fuel price, because of them the govt. no longer trust us with low fuel prices. Isn’t it fair that we cut the govt. some slack? And talking about other goods, it’s the businesses fault the prices are still high. They’re only thinking about making astronomical profits at the expense of regular Joes like us. But we as the consumer has the power to force them to reduce their prices by not consuming those products! If each and everyone of us sacrifice a little bit for a while, I’m sure they will back down and reduce the price.

• droll (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 7:03 am

tiadaid: in some cases it is true that as a consumer you have a choice. but when the goods you buy do not have substitutes, it becomes a difficult situation.

for example, baby milk powder went up by RM17. what alternative does a parent have? sigh.

• Mavmanuel (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 7:24 am

what happen to the 5cents?? for me an individual, it may be peanuts. but take this 5cents and multiply it by just half of MY population, 12 million:- 0.5 * 12million = that is 6million!!! (6,000,000)

• Mavmanuel (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 7:34 am

news flash for those who are not aware, most petrol stations are owned by G people; they can feed a new BMW to their 3 year old kid la..!

• biggie (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 8:03 am

Price went up too fast? The fuel price went up as at that time the price of crude is at very high for very long time, and going up at unbelievable rate. After many months of mulling (profiteering by the smugglers) the govt. decide to increase the price to a level suitable for the price.

Now the price is coming down, G is decreasing the price as it goes along first 1 mth average then 2 wks average. I think its good enough as it is.

Mavmanuael,
    If you don’t own a station then dont just point fingers lah! There a thousands of pump stations and mostly own by ppl who do not have any connection to the G except being a rakyat of the G.

All,
    Anyway I’m all for fuel taxation (even when fuel is high); it forces us to conserve which is much better for the environment.

As also all for high quality fuel.

• wuttaheck (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 8:20 am

Mavmanuel said,
    December 3, 2008 @ 7:24 am

what happen to the 5cents?? for me an individual, it may be peanuts. but take this 5cents and multiply it by just half of MY population, 12 million:- 0.5 * 12million = that is 6million!!! (6,000,000)

—-

i believe the 15cent reduction as announced by shahrir samat earlier is only indicative value of what might be the MAXIMUM price drop… 10cent is reasonable but it is nicer to get more tho…

• Apathy (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 8:25 am

Thank you Big Bro. Always better than nothing. Now, I’m waiting for the kueh seller to sell 3 pieces for RM1 instead of the current 1 piece for 40cents / 5 pieces for RM2…..

• Apathy (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 8:31 am

biggie said,

December 3, 2008 @ 8:03 am
    —————————–

bro….when fuel goes up, everything goes up too la. inflation also rises.bla bla bla.

• car_craze (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 8:45 am

Thanks to the G for the price reduction, but the prices for food and other consumer products remain high. Even a piece of roti canai is 0.90sen. No price reduction.

I guess we should all enjoy it while we can, because one day it will go up again. Now it’s the best time if you want to take that holiday trip you planned with your family around Malaysia, or even Singapore or Thailand.

Happy holidays!

• zack_chan (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 8:52 am

Hi Paul,
    My first time comment here. Can you put in also the subsidised price from goverment for easy reference, as i know now every liter we pump in seem like we are subsidise our goverment…..

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 9:11 am

Drifter sure excited hearing this news.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 9:13 am

I Pump Ron92 for my kancil today.Wow i got full tank…long time never happy like this…fuel cheaper but salary still the same…US credit crunch good for me!

• raverus (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 9:22 am

Firstly, thanks G for screwing up everythings’ price.
    Secondly, we are still paying tax through fuels so they should cut tax not epf.
    Thirdly, looks whos greedy, 10 cents? lmao!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 10:05 am

better than nothing… OPEC wants to reduce production, so it may up again…

• ckengyo (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 10:09 am

i’m not very excited like the other just very piss. when cruel oil 50+, our market price should b 1.60. but when now 40+, our market price should b 1.37. (55-47=8/55=0.145.1-0.145=0.855×1.6=1.37). early promise subsidy 0.30 per liter so we should b paying 1.07. even charge us 1.10 is still the more affordable promise price. they intend 2 postpone until b4 the raya n play dump on monday, after they realise a upcoming Kuala Terangganu by-election. so they quick adjust on tuesday.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 10:26 am

some of us… when the global price drop we shout for lower price… but when its is up so high, we shout for govt to subsidized…

whats wrong to subsidize few cents to govt (im not mentioning cronies or etc coz i dont know about it), because in the future the money can be used for our own sake even not the whole accumulate amount…

to note, im not rich, just average working class ppl, but i want to see it in positive aspect…

• wuttaheck (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 11:06 am

agreed with autojohndoe. just hope the ‘G-unit’ will use all of the money saved from fuel subsidy as a dampener if the fuel market price increase again…

…same note as autojohndoe :)

• layman (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 11:07 am

Damage already done, continue to drop petrol price is pointless. All other item’s price is still sky high. For example, is transporter going to adjust their fee to before increase ?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 11:17 am

Can someone tell us how much is the Rakyat is subsidizing the government again? Last update was 38 sen per litre. Since we are subsidizing, it is only fair for us to know how much have we “contributed” to the government. Since the crude oil price dropped further and we only got 10 sen less, we are very much subsidizing more than 40 sen per litre!

Bravo! Citizens of oil producing country is subsidizing its government!

• rufus-x (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 11:33 am

agreed to some of the comments..
    and also at least grateful for the price reduction..

but i think..
    at least to me, rm2/litre for petrol is still ok..yeah, maybe others do not agree..
    but what i wanted to say is, rather than reducing only 10cents on petrol, isnt it better to let it at rm2/litre and reduce MORE on diesel..
    the diesel shud be much much lower than that as its the main cause of all the hike in goods price rite? (ya la..they claim all their transport use diesel rite? – buses/lorries/vans etc)
    so, i thought why dont they concentrate more on reducing diesel price than petrol if the G really can control the market price now?

as of all the ppl that dont want to reduce their goods price, then some action MUST be taken to enforce them..not just relying on consumers to boycott everything..

hey,which of u guys doesnt mind paying rm4 for just a glass of teh tarik? – i know some ppl dont mind at all..those rich ppl la..(richer but stupid to me..)

so, how on earth the rest of us can make sure the boycott would even really change anything?

thats just my 2cents..
    do correct me for anything i do not know..

• moonier (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 11:35 am

RM1.50 per liter still higher than market price. Petrol in Malaysia suppose to be RM1.50 per liter. After that u can see harga barang turun..

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 11:43 am

Subsidy government at this point of time when the oil is cheap isnt the problem but the problem arises from of all these taxes we paid, how it’s used? Will it be used to offset the future high price or spent on some private bungalows? Our government has proven again and again that transparency and acting in the interest of the majority of the ppl is not their cup of tea. Resources are running out and we cant allow our government to waste it and then “harvest” it from the ppl. At one end they dont have a pro foreign investment policies with lengthy procedures to follow so how do they expect we can keep paying what they demanded from us? Like the wave of opportunites in foreign car manufacturing/assembly plants to setup locally was a miss by our government to only know how to protect our local car manufacturer or in reality, the few suppliers behind it. Why cant it be done? We can allow them to setup plants here with strict environmental controls to ensure they wont pollute the country while applying sales taxes to offset the lost in import duties. Restricting these foreign car manufacturers to only buy parts from the few suppliers locally is totally unwise so as demanding the board to be stuffed with imcompetent/irrelevant local ppl. Of all these minority interests in mind, who’s the majority suffering?

Meanwhile with all the taxes in place, why is it that even the basic amenities can go up and out of orders? Why crime rate is on the rise? Why essential items are rising price? Government should put in a control mechanism where if there’s less than 3 direct subsititutes of a essential items like milk powder from 3 different manufacturers of similar capacity in reputation and quality, then the price must be controlled. While the fundamental transportation system for commercial goods and services has to be examined to see if the claim of “high cost” as per the transporters is the result of inefficient operations thus high cost or pure greed. Limiting the licenses to setup transportation business and those unnecessary cost adder like the ineffective vehicle check can only worsen the situation. Compulsory check is necessary but it can be done with mobile teams deployed to the site where all the trucks are stored can help to minimise the cost (either a fixed site at each suburbs or a location as required by the company with a little surcharge, ie. cost to cost recoveries). On the other hand, heavy fines on the transportation trucks broke down on the road can help to ensure the trucks are serviced regularly while repeated offender will get trade license suspended and owner even jailed.

We cant take our natural resources for granted anymore. It has to be done in the context of sustainable development with effective measures in place.

• rufus-x (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 11:47 am

i doubt the harga barang will turun even the price of petrol goes down to rm1.20/litre..

maybe it will..but for a mere 10cents per roti canai maybe..
    or a couple of ringgits closer to the original price it was before the 78cents hike for anything else..

someone must do something to keep all these goods at accepted level price for everyone..

cuz someone dont care to pay rm4 for a cup of teh tarik while others will surely bakar the kedai oredi..haha~

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 12:04 pm

In terms of the price of essential items, I think the onus should be on the part of the businesses. They should have no excuse of reducing the price of goods, but alas money blinds even the most righteous of persons! The government can only do so much to curb high prices, by setting ceiling price the producers will simply reduce their production even if the demand is high. What happens then? We have a shortage, and life would not be any better.

• calvinfoo (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 12:12 pm

When the Gov annouced 0.70 increase in fuel prices, the transportation hoo-haa and increased their price imediately. Coach from Penang to Johore increased from RM50 right up to RM65 on the very next day. A total of wooping 30% fare increment.

Now, the price decreased 5 times and now it is RM1.90 per liter, did the transportation company do anything about that? NO! THEY STILL STAY AT THE FUCKING RM65 AND EVEN RISE FURTHER TO RM70 FOR THIS MONTH HOLIDAY SEASON!! A BIG THANKS TO THE FUCKING GARMENT FOR DAMAGE THAT ISN’T REVERSABLE!

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 12:18 pm

Hai there,

As usual drama-politicking in Paul.Tan.Org will always lure more hits!

Anyways, with regards to fuel dropping decisions, it must have some kind of financial analysis and risk assessment done beforehand. In economist point of view, if fuel price drops lower than RM30/per barrel, majority people will be out of jobs.

This is because fuel is considered as ‘neccessity commodity’ that empowers the world market. The preferable fuel price should be ranging in between RM50 ~ RM 70 per barrel (this is what some economist claim). If the price is too cheap or too expensive, the economy will still suffer in whole. If fuel is getting too cheap, many people will be out of jobs (this could be easily explained using “supply and demand theory”). Giant oil and gas companies will have to retrench a lot of workers. Engineers, technicians, mathematicians, geologist and etc. will be out of jobs as demand gets low and low (as price gets cheaper and cheaper). Not to mention, support businesses which is directly or indirectly tied up with ’em will suffer as well. We are talking on individuals who are actually ‘breadwinners’ of the family losing jobs.

In oil and gas industry, there are many players behind the big ‘curtain’. We have the OPEC (the Pak Arabs), the speculators, Multinational Oil and Gas Companies (Shell, Petronas, Exxon-Mobil), Government Policies, the Consumers and etc. in which everybody will have their very own role to play and these roles can affect on each other as well.

Cheaper fuel may not really be a good idea…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 1:30 pm

” At one end they dont have a pro foreign investment policies with lengthy procedures to follow so how do they expect we can keep paying what they demanded from us? Like the wave of opportunites in foreign car manufacturing/assembly plants to setup locally was a miss by our government to only know how to protect our local car manufacturer or in reality, the few suppliers behind it. Why cant it be done? We can allow them to setup plants here with strict environmental controls to ensure they wont pollute the country while applying sales taxes to offset the lost in import duties. Restricting these foreign car manufacturers to only buy parts from the few suppliers locally is totally unwise so as demanding the board to be stuffed with imcompetent/irrelevant local ppl. Of all these minority interests in mind, who’s the majority suffering?”

Aiyya… oil prices high Proton got blamed also ka???

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 1:36 pm

Correct me if i’m wrong…

Crude oil prices means unprocessed oil right? If 40 or 50 dollars a barrel for crude oil prices now, isn’t it wrong to just calculate the oil prices sold in petrol station using that price?? You need to add the cost of refining it, transportation costs, taxes etc…. isn’t that is what contributing to the oil prices that we have to pay now???

just my 2 cents..

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 1:59 pm

CHEAPER CHEAPER

• kemosabe (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:03 pm

The environment we live in is very much “artificial”.
    The government has a hand in almost everything in this country especially in the business sector.
    To have fuel priced above market value is one thing but to have car prices high(relative to average salary) as well is like depriving people of a necessity.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:41 pm

Logically mad, most of us are aware that we are not calculating direct from barrel price. The dear minister already admitted middle of last month saying that the government is ENJOYING extra revenue from the current petrol price. Today we are paying more RM per litre compared to americans.

• corollaaltis (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:43 pm

Dogster said,
    December 2, 2008 @ 11:30 pm

—————————————————————-
    How muh is V-Power per litre??

• corollaaltis (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:44 pm

Dogster said,
    December 2, 2008 @ 11:30 pm

—————————————————————-
    How much is V-Power per litre??

• wuttaheck (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 3:54 pm

LogicallyMad, u r damn right. I’m wondering why some people in this thread keep on showing how good his/her math is by showing his/her calculation…i believe i’ve read in previous thread someone (im just too lazy to browse) already clarify this issue.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 4:42 pm

i just can’t understand why me must pay extra for fuel… pay tax to G for fuel? why? we are OIL NET EXPORTER country & if those Amaricans can pay less for their fuel then why not us? G want to save some money & use it for something better? frankly speeking, i don’t trust this G & their management skills… i

• BrakeFader (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 4:54 pm

wuttaheck, are you implying that are fuel price is too low and government is still subsidizing? here’s a quote from shahril when the price was RM2.00

“After the station operators take their margin of 12.1sen and the oil companies take their margin of 19.1sen, we are left with RM1.69 from RM2.

“If the refinery price is RM1.30 per litre for example, the Government will be taking 39sen per litre as revenue.”

RM2.00 = RM1.30 price from refinery + 12 sen station + 19 sen oil company + 39 sen from you and me

So please enlighten us that people don’t know how to count.

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 5:08 pm

Yeah we may be net oil exporter, but what about the times when the government have to pay the difference between the market price and the subsidized price (Before the 2.70 rise, of course)? That money should be put to better use than to subsidize our fuel consumption. And forget the fact that the government is not transparent or what. Don’t think short term, but think long term. That money could be saved to be used for future governments to further develop the country…

• TheDuck (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 5:23 pm

PLEASE LOWER the FUEL PRICES!!

The most EFFICIENT way to distribute the NEW found wealth is by continuously lowering the fuel prices. The current state of our G is so bad that all the surplus money made is heading for ridiculous schemes and corruptted Gov. Officials.

• wuttaheck (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 6:05 pm

i myself dont know how to calculate the actual amount we should pay excluding the subsidy. Unless there is reliable published margin taken by oil companies, i strongly believe that we should stop speculating…
    maybe BrakeFader can provide it so that all these math genius can work it out?

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 6:24 pm

If our standard of living is improved tremendously, have transparent policies, decent public transportation and most importantly a government that prioritize ALL citizens then I’m pretty sure most people including myself wouldn’t mind paying RM1.90/liter. The problem is that we are nowhere near those items stated above and yet we pay more than the developed countries. So while our complaints might be specifically about petrol, it is more than just that. Basically we’re complaining how screwed up the G works in this country.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 6:52 pm

As long as we litter while driving, did’nt use signal at intersections, road hogging & always talk bad about others, we will stay like this. Change in our country starts within ourselves.

• altis_fan (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 8:23 pm

The G will not reduce the price to its market price because it already give us
    rebate of RM625. So, I made simple calculation based on my current usage of 150liter/month. When G sets price of RM1.90, after substract RM625/year, I actually pay RM1.55/liter; which is equal to market current price. Very smart G we have ya?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 11:48 pm

I’ve already point out the calculation on how we got the price at the pump. Doesn’t that spell out that the government is trying to make extra bucks from me and you? To add more salt to the would, we are also paying extra taxes for cars to protect our local car industry. Firstly why did our petrol price hiked up when we are an oil producer? Global price shouldn’t affect what’s going on at our back yard where oil is flowing. The subsidy used in our fuel context is the so called lost opportunity to sell fuel at higher price.

Its like you grow durian behind your house. Cost you rm3 to grow one. And outside selling rm10 per piece. With that you would tell your family that you are subsidizing rm7 each cos that’s a loss when you could make money selling to other people instead for own domestic use. Crazy? That’s what happening now. How can you talk about subsidy for fuel in a fuel producing country? This is bull.

Today penang cm also said that we should be paying 1.52 instead of 1.90 which means govt is earning 38sen per litre.

• Mavmanuel (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 7:44 am

hmm… miss durians, but they are now 20bucks a fruit la… dammit!

BrakeFader,
    you got my vote.

• biggie (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 8:13 am

Yes the money from taxed from me at the pumps ensure that factory do not close down during the recession period, then I’m ok (not for long – I have news that many SME have to close down for good and MNC downsizing soon -even after govt. subsidy to them). But as long schools , hospitals and infrastructure been built and maintain then I’m contented.

give me a net exporter country that have a vibrant economy as ours? In most net exporter countries if you don’t work in oil industry then you are nothing. Here anyone can get rich on any business.

However being in a vibrant economy then fuel subsidies are stretched further as most ppl here have the ability to use cars. More transport companies to transport goods and people. More factories that consume energy. So do we need to keep on subsidizing?

Current trend when the price of oil go up, govt subsidize up to a point that it can sustain then inch up a bit with some subsidy. When the price go down some income to the govt. Its fair for me.

Price of goods should not be controlled by the govt as ours is a free country. Else we can live in a communist like country where goods can only be bought from govt. own stores at fix price. You want that?

What the govt is doing is continouos campaign for lowering good price (Good). Twist the arm of some hypermarket to reduce good (against free market policy). But how many arms the G need to twist to get all prices down?

The Penang govt. want the 38cent surplus as much as the current govt. want. The statement is just political statements that come out of any politician. Pure bullshit.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 9:13 am

the word form Penang cm mybe just to win the heart of the ppl… then the Rakyat will say “see, even the penang cm says it”…

maybe it is because he do not really see how the whole system works because he is not running the whole country in every aspect… maybe when he get a hold of the top position, the action that he takes is the same… just my assumption…

• calvinfoo (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:44 pm

tiadaid said: That money should be put to better use than to subsidize our fuel consumption. That money could be saved to be used for future governments to further develop the country…

tiadaid, I fully agree with you. the gov should spend the money wisely, like spend another US$1billion to send an Orang Utan to the Space Station, then come back to tell bedtime stories; Spend another US$1 billon to buy a few more used French submarines without inspection water leakage (which can be fixed easily with silicon gel); and setup a few more companies to give advice on how goverment to should buy submarine and charge US$5 million as consultation fee for each submarines; or fix the parliment leaking roof top with few millions of RM.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 2:28 pm

but, sometimes, i feel sorry for some new Pump station owner…

• db8 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 1:56 am

if we have a government like in sweden or norway,i’ll be happy to pay even the fuel price isrm4/liter..now with our G,even rm1/liter i feel doubt to pay..reason? corruption and cronies..simple as that.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 11:46 am

db8 said,

December 5, 2008 @ 1:56 am

if we have a government like in sweden or norway,i’ll be happy to pay even the fuel price isrm4/liter..now with our G,even rm1/liter i feel doubt to pay..reason? corruption and cronies..simple as that.
    ———————-
    bn sucks

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 2:50 pm

that’s my point.. i would not mind if extra cash given to G really go to good causes… but this G has shown over & over again that our money used for shitty project.. send orang utan to space.. pay female polar bear just to take a walk on north & south pole… asked stupid Rempit monkeys to make a jump at north pole… buying crappy submarines.. used our hard earn money to pay consultant coz put a hand brake on singapore bridge project… ex-gratia payment for judges… blablablabla….

i can’t name anything that can benefit us in general.. the ‘ikan bilis’ rakyat… & some ppl here asked us to be a little gratefull & heartwilling to give our beloved G some extra buck… pathetic…

• BrakeFader (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 5:02 pm

I could not count the number of times when the government tries to hike the fuel price, they would say that the extra savings or revenue will be channeled into public transport. We saw the announcements of new LRT lines around KL, but is there REALLY any progress on this? Until now there is no pilling works or announcement of its status?

So it is natural for us not to believe the government that they will put this new TAX revenue into good use for public transport. Perhaps the submarines and Badawi’s net jet is our Public Transport – “Transport” paid by the public.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 5:55 pm

send ur comment to “warkah untuk pm site”…. then pak lah will know…. huhu

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 8:54 pm

overthrow the government, we go shut down klia , sungai besi airport and subang airport