863 orders for Proton at the 2008 Thai Motor Expo

ProtonProton managed 863 bookings at the 25th Thailand International Motor Expo held this month, which is the sixth highest amount of orders received at the event among the other car manufacturers with an exhibit at the show.

Thailand’s “national car manufacturer” Toyota held the top spot of course, with 4,193 bookings. This was followed by Honda in second place with 2,552 orders, Isuzu with 1,760 orders, Chevrolet with 1,194 orders and Nissan with 1,008 orders. Total orders gained for all manufacturers at the show is 14,000 orders, which included brands like Mitsubishi (756 orders), Mazda (767 orders), Ford (301 orders) and even Malaysian brand Naza with 154 orders.

The top Proton model sold at the show was the recently launched Proton Persona CNG with factory-installed dual-mode petrol or CNG fuel capability.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• muryadi (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:16 pm

Congratulation to P1.

• lfsism (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:21 pm

Congratulations to Proton for having a good start.

• HMMaster (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:24 pm

Good job proton! quite amazing that they manage to beat Japanese/American manufacturer.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:26 pm

maybe proton will launch the neo cps there?

• kingbrutal (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:33 pm

Not bad… not bad at all… but as usual, don’t get too excited yet Proton. It’s still a long way to go. And to think that Thailand was in chaos for the last few months… they still were able to make about 14k orders.

Hmm… expecting some negative comments after this.. as usual.. ;)

• afkar (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:37 pm

people @ proton, congrats!

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:44 pm

Good job but its just a start. Long way to go.

• Islandman (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 4:02 pm

YES! Keep this up.

• CFA28 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 4:05 pm

i hope its not for taxis cos with the CNG installed,

• gunblade (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 4:09 pm

That’s why Mitsubishi wants to collaborate with Proton.. because they also need to learn something from Proton.. at least how to sell more cars in Thailand than Proton.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 4:11 pm

Are those CNG Personas available in their home country yet?

• torque (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Applaued towards Proton for a good start! Still, it’s a long way ahead and the road is gonna get bumpy real soon as recession working it’s way around the world. Wish all the best!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 5:04 pm

be prepared for the bashing.. ahaha…

• szw (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 6:45 pm

no rubbish people here please…
    if those who wanna criticize proton , go somewhere else and cry…
    don waste your time…
    good job proton…

• afhstingray (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 6:55 pm

IIRC CPG is different from the LPG we get in m’sia

• Paul Tan on Dec 16, 2008 at 6:57 pm

Malaysia is using CNG.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:47 pm

btw… im no proton basher… good… make business outside… largen the scale… strenghten the brand…

the most important is, give money to malaysia…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:49 pm

they bull shit one. thailand i never see anybody drive proton. oh yea, maybe those sore losers who plot to throw out every prime minister installed until they become prime minister themselves.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:09 pm

ntahapahapatah komen…

they are no loser my friend.. they got money to buy car, so they are success in what job they r doing… true loser is, the ppl doin nothing but complaining…

• n8cky (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:38 pm

GOOD JOB!!!!!!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:38 pm

can beat ford and mazda good enough already

• MyviKiller (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:06 pm

At least the former sifu got beaten in sales…

• szw (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:19 pm

bashers have nothing to fuss about ?
    cause they have nothing to say
    hahaha !!!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:49 pm

basher is busy finding a point…

then they will talk about iswara, perdana, wira, TM, tax, govt, pak lah, toyota, honda, airbag, tin milo, grabox, overpriced, open market, mahathir, crony, pakatan rakyat, merc, terengganu, penang, perak, camry 2.4, vw, general motors, loss, power window, angkasawan and etc…

just wait… the whole things wil be repeated…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:51 pm

owh forgot waja and mv agusta…

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:55 pm

i bet they will tell you their granma story..
    the power window especially.. (it was a mitos now – none the story anymore)

else.. they will keep cursing G, oso saying other f words ..

anyway.. good luck proton!.. you’re going better!.
    and please, some may envy thai if p1 lauchin neo cps there 1st!

• Alpina the 8itch (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:18 pm

I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ said,

December 16, 2008 @ 7:46 pm

nothing to fuss about

======
    Shut up then, no one asks you to read every articles or news here okay.
    ======

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

December 16, 2008 @ 7:49 pm

they bull shit one. thailand i never see anybody drive proton. oh yea, maybe those sore losers who plot to throw out every prime minister installed until they become prime minister themselves.

======
    You are blind, or your eyes are made out of sh*t.
    Or perhaps you are looking for “male” prostitutes there all the time when you were there, didnt look on a single thing other than them.
    Then you have too much and find yourself making the verdict as in your name.
    ======

• szw (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:24 pm

autojohndoe, i really agree wif u…
    well , if they have a life they might keep quiet…
    haha !!!

• rsrulz (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:00 pm

Well done Proton, the Thai market is proving to be a good one but don’t get to excited yet as there is a long way more to go.

• Swift Matrix (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:18 pm

More and more positive response from public to Proton’s car…. Good work Proton. Perhaps next year its will be more exciting with their “Grandis Junior”… opps… Proton MPV… :)

• red7 (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 12:00 am

job well done

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 12:15 am

you guys are overlooking the fact thats its only bookings. frankly even thier ‘sales’ reports are merely a lip service. as evident in all countries around the world.

but they seem to keep some malaysians happy. in that sense, well done proton.
    Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me….you can’t get fooled again
    hahaha

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 12:59 am

863 is not so many to get overexcited like a bunch of teenage schoolgirls. You don’t even know what sort of package was offered and how much price discount they give – maybe to the point of losing money on every car sold.

Thai market still relatively new to Proton………wait till they discover all the not so pleasant “surprises” Proton has in store for their owners like most malaysians found out the hard way in 90s. Wonder how many bookings then eh. :)

Anyway, since ppl are so excited over Proton “proving” itself in Thailand, why not open the local market as well. After all, its good practice for Proton to learn how to compete overseas right? Or we need to give them their crutches and spoonfeeding foreva?

• peYno (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 2:37 am

not_ah_beng said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 12:59 am

Thai market still relatively new to Proton………wait till they discover all the not so pleasant “surprises” Proton has in store for their owners like most malaysians found out the hard way in 90s. Wonder how many bookings then eh.
    ======================
    prfffthhhh u see
    like someone said , they still keep talking about granny story, 90s, power window problem , wira, iswara, waja bla bla..

pls update your knowledge and ur bashing style la…
    u r kinda old fashion of proton basher..

prrrfthhh

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 3:58 am

Well done…. a good step towards the right direction.

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 4:09 am

I have seen Protons in Thai roads, even further up north you can see them on the highways. I say Proton deserve a clap given the short time that they have been there.

Excellent job to Proton and the distributor.

FYI, don’t think the Thais are stupid. They are much more than what meets the eye. They are smart survivors. I dare say for every Malaysian visiting Thailand, the Thais can succesfully empty your cash in your pockets by the various offerings of goods and services,agree?

• BlackJKX (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:59 am

do lah whatever u wanna do proton,nothing change

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 8:12 am

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/12/17/business/2826084&sec=business

good news for the basher…

but sad to me…

• Ralliace (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:58 am

Selling for the first time is NOTHING! SUSTAINING a customer is EVERYTHING in a fair market trade environment. Good luck Proton!

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 10:20 am

BlackJKX said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 7:59 am

do lah whatever u wanna do proton,nothing change
    —————-

Some things changed….. Ppl with positive thinking would see what changes has happened…

Positve acc balance at end of year, better quality.. etc…

only when ppl choose to always and always look at negative side and still living in the past see no changes….

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 11:17 am

hmm..the news (refer link) is shocking.
    hah, i think proton’s lawyers are already aware of this :)

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 12:30 pm

folow up with this :
    http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/12/17/business/20081217113752&sec=business

Below is the statement released by Proton on Wednesday:

Goldstar has employed numerous tactics to frustrate and delay the proper legal process following the termination of the joint-venture contract (JV) earlier.

Goldstar has severely defaulted in its obligation to get the necessary licence to enable the JV to star manufacturing cars. Goldstar has failed to get the necessary manufacturing license over a period of three years.

By these reasons, Goldstar’s failure has frustrated Proton’s initiatives to get the JV to start producing cars in China.

Proton has commenced arbitration proceedings against Goldstar in accordance with the JV contract in respect of Goldstar’s breaches of its obligations.

In addition, PROTON has obtained an anti-suit injunction in the Singapore High Court to restrain Goldstar from commencing or continuing with any other court proceedings.

The recent legal suit is clearly in violation of the arbitration clause and the injunction order.

It’s about goldstar play play about deal.. seems not proton’s fault.
    but, to be judging at singapore.. i dont think the good result may go out.

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 12:52 pm

Congratulation P1. Hope will do better for the future in Thailand and other countries also and not to forget in your home country.

• Swift Matrix (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:12 pm

I’m not realy sure about the quality of Proton’s car nowday. But I’m pretty sure that they had improved since WAJA debacle (for 1st few batch I think). Today,I heard a lot of positive response for Saga & Persona. Thats good… For me as Malaysian (though I’m not owing any national car), I will support them should they keep improving on their quility. For me they have to improve. If not, then they will not going anywhere, not even to our neighbour ASEAN country. But as what we can see now, their car already reached there, and now to Middle East and China market…. Hmm. good sign I think.. Keep up your good work Proton.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:34 pm

bmpower said,

December 17, 2008 @ 12:30 pm

folow up with this :
    http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/12/17/business/20081217113752&sec=business

Goldstar has employed numerous tactics to frustrate and delay the proper legal process following the termination of the joint-venture contract (JV) earlier.

Goldstar has severely defaulted in its obligation to get the necessary licence to enable the JV to star manufacturing cars. Goldstar has failed to get the necessary manufacturing license over a period of three years.

By these reasons, Goldstar’s failure has frustrated Proton’s initiatives to get the JV to start producing cars in China.

Proton has commenced arbitration proceedings against Goldstar in accordance with the JV contract in respect of Goldstar’s breaches of its obligations.

In addition, PROTON has obtained an anti-suit injunction in the Singapore High Court to restrain Goldstar from commencing or continuing with any other court proceedings.

The recent legal suit is clearly in violation of the arbitration clause and the injunction order.

———————————–
    proton do stuff like shit one. bad management. cars also like shit, ceo also look like shit.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:36 pm

why singapore?

must be crony of the china men… ahaha…

lawyers… dont lose like we lose the batu putih… oopss. politics…

• alihms (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:42 pm

bmpower said

folow up with this :

—————–

That seems to explain why the news does not affect Proton stock. Initially, I expected Proton stock to tumble down. It remains stable – recoding only a negligible loss. The trading volume is also unsubstantial. The investors apparently aren’t that concern over it.

In any case, this could be a double whammy for Proton. Not only it faces the prospect of having to cough out RM520 million to Goldstar, its “invisible” alliance with Youngman is also at stake. Youngman is selling Europestar under the pretext that the cars were European. When this piece of news plastered all over the places in Chinese media, it will wreak havoc on Youngman’s marketing gimmick.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:44 pm

autojohndoe,
    a little bit of politic that i can tolerate :)

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 2:06 pm

“like someone said , they still keep talking about granny story, 90s, power window problem , wira, iswara, waja bla bla..

pls update your knowledge and ur bashing style la…
    u r kinda old fashion of proton basher..”

Hello………..this cars are still on the road……..and in case of waja esp still in the market! Heh.

I suggest you update YOUR knowledge.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 2:43 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 12:59 am

Anyway, since ppl are so excited over Proton “proving” itself in Thailand, why not open the local market as well.
    ____________________________________-

you shouldnt be asking people to update their knowledge, if you yourself dont.

people can say what they like, but from what I know, i think the market is pretty open already as it is.

in the past, proton enjoyed a 60-70% market share. that was under full protection. Unknown to most people, you included.. the govt has already slowly reduced protection.

first you had the new “national carmakers”, perodua, inokom and then naza.

also, the significant reduction of duties for cars from thailand..

you also need to ignore the generally higher prices for foreign makes also at the moment, and dont hold your breath, as i dont think they’re gonna lower their prices drastically anyways.

all these factors have reduced proton’s market share today to about 30-32% in Malaysia.

so for proton to lose more than 30% market share in less than 4 years, is it still fair to say they are well protected?

but on another note, they have already gained market share in the last 2 years from a low of 20something % to where they are now.

• JejalanMknAngin (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 3:13 pm

good news & congrats

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 3:14 pm

read not_ah_beng comment…

his or her point usually on sales, iswara, open market, tax 300% and summore i dont find, sori not_ah_beng or may be ah_lian…

ur point usually about the 90’s….

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 5:59 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 2:06 pm

Hello………..this cars are still on the road……..and in case of waja esp still in the market! Heh.

———————————-

He did not say that those 90’s cars are not on the road anymore…. What he meant is the issues u mention abt those cars are 90’s problem…

waja is still in the market.. but does ppl that own new waja cps or normal waja built around 2005 onwards still facing the same problem? I don’t think so…. maybe there r a few…. but not as much as in 90’s…

Pls la… don’t say other ppl r lack of knowledge when u urself cannot understand a simple comment…

prffftttttttttttttt

• szw (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 6:52 pm

not_ah_beng please go bang your head on the wall or go jump into the river…
    u don belong here…
    u think u very good right ?
    then go buy a BMW or Merc lar…
    don’t talk only…
    u update ur a** lar…
    brainless fella…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:06 pm

just leave him with his comment…

he live in the past currently, everyday is still year 2000 i think, i bet he still thinks our PM is Dr Mahathir, Malaysia is ruled by BN, fuel price is RM1.10, the proton is full on the road…

or mybe he is using Windows ME… huhu…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:21 pm

wow, some people are pitying proton….like they own the company..oh yea the people who depend on proton for jobs. and proton is very malaysia. so is a mitshubishi lancer evo 6 tommi makinen edition, very malaysian also.

• peYno (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:38 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 2:06 pm

========================
    ah beng
    they r not selling ur 90s wira , iswara, waja, satria in Thai market..
    they sell new era of proton product such as savvy,neo,and persona..

came on, be a smart basher.. atleast UPDATE ur bashing style

prrrfthhhh

• peYno (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:45 pm

szw said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 6:52 pm

not_ah_beng please go bang your head on the wall or go jump into the river…
    u don belong here…
    u think u very good right ?
    then go buy a BMW or Merc lar…
    don’t talk only…
    u update ur a** lar…
    brainless fella…
    ====================
    he doesnt own BMW, i think he just upgraded his 15years old iswara to Myvi…
    woww.. he got JAPANESE car mehhhh

prrrfthhh… pity him

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:18 pm

PAUL~! TONIGHT GUANG MING DAILY REPORTED THAT CHINA GOLD STAR IS SUEYING PROTON RM5B~! They mention that Proton sign another contract with another Chinese company Jinhua Youngman and that bredge the contract that sign with China Gold Star and mention that they are the sole distributer in China. Proton is in BIG TROUBLE in China now…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:23 pm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/business/14389-pm-says-proton-needs-foreign-alliance

Here the link..

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 9:53 pm

proton doesnt need to fret. the malaysian public will just have to foot the bill.

peYno said,
    new era of proton product such as savvy,neo,and persona..

hm…..as far as i know these products are not very successful at all. you should take a round the world trip and see for yourself.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 7:33 am

Littlefire85

it is 1 bil yuan = rm511mil… not rm5bil…

true, it is something big, but not as big as what u stated… read carefully…

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:06 am

let proton decide on what they are going to do.

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:24 am

all,

bout Goldstar issue..

The past show how difficult proton engineers to develop the car..
    Now, its time for proton lawyer n proton legal dept to do their task…hahah

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:31 am

peugeot should buy proton and close it down like what it did to austin, hillman etc.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 11:12 am

topgunthang said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 9:53 pm
    proton doesnt need to fret. the malaysian public will just have to foot the bill.

peYno said,
    new era of proton product such as savvy,neo,and persona..

hm…..as far as i know these products are not very successful at all. you should take a round the world trip and see for yourself.

I have to agreed with you some of it.
    but i do believe they are currently build in reputation for some of it.

Neo = Satria is the best brand of proton right now. (s2000 perhaps give them more)
    Savvy = best economic acceptable in uk, aus, thai.. well they might still below par, but someday?
    Persona = this one still nothing outside of malaysia.

i just imagine new Satria with Evo engine + lotus handling + paddle shift = Satria Gti . To make satria neo as a legendary car for proton itself, they just have to do it.

Anyway.. Roman Empire’s only build in thousand years.
    It’s a long joourney btw. Fail to try is the best failure after all..

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 12:45 pm

“Fail to try is the best failure after all..”

Fail to try??
    or u mean fail after trying…..

or i misunderstood what u r saying… LOL

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 3:04 pm

i think he urged proton to try.
    fail to try = not dare to try

• mukhri88 (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 5:05 pm

Good job in Thailand, Proton! Now, LET’S OPEN UP THE MARKET IN MALAYSIA! We’ll still buy Protons even at level playing field, right?

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 6:26 pm

open the market also means proton price will be lower than current…. atx on proton will be abolish too…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 6:27 pm

**typo**

atx=tax

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 8:51 pm

Let read what have Proton UK owners say about their Proton cars.. some of them admit that Proton cars are badly underrated.. click link below for thoroughly go to their forum… :)

http://www.protonownersclub.co.uk/forum/index.php

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 12:06 pm

mukhri88 said,

December 18, 2008 @ 5:05 pm

Good job in Thailand, Proton! Now, LET’S OPEN UP THE MARKET IN MALAYSIA! We’ll still buy Protons even at level playing field, right?
    —————————-
    sure…go on buying. then i can make fun of people who buys proton. now cannot because a lot of people buy proton because they can’t afford to buy anything else.

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 8:21 pm

testing…testing…. :smt068 :jacko

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 11:22 pm

u test what?

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 20, 2008 at 8:39 am

Nothing to do with u laa….. :D no one will insulted… just testing my voice for upcoming singing competition….

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 20, 2008 at 1:05 pm

oh good luck

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 20, 2008 at 4:20 pm

yep… thank you…

• lambov12 (Member) on Dec 20, 2008 at 10:47 pm

Good job proton !!

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 21, 2008 at 1:44 pm

savvy and neo below par is an overstatement.

without the price protection i predict the proton market share will drop to 1% of new cars. that i am pretty sure as evident in other markets.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 1:46 pm

in other markets is -0.5%

• Kurt Denvers on Mar 15, 2009 at 9:42 am

Heard rumours that Proton lost Arbitration in Singapore!