Chrysler kicks itself in the nuts with wasteful “Thank You” full-page ad campaign

Chrysler Thank You Ad
Click for enlarged version

So you’ve just got US$4 billion in bailout money. What do you do? Do you immediately get to trying to turn your company around, cut costs, boost sales, etc? Well no. Not if you’re Bob Nardelli and the bunch of monkeys working under him.

One of their first moves are to blow several hundreds of thousands, perhaps even up to a million US dollars on full-page ads in mainstream American newspapers, including USA Today and the Wall Street Journal. A full page ad in the WSJ can cost between $206,000 to $264,000 while a similiar ad in the USA Today costs between $112,000 to $217,000. Of course, this money probably has already been paid for in advance via a bulk buy for the whole year.

But still, even if the taxpayer treasure trove raiders wanted to thank the public for the money (which apparently more than half the Americans did not agree to), what they could have done is write a letter to the editor’s mailbox or something, I’m sure the papers would have got it published considering how Chrysler probably regularly takes up ads for its cars. Or maybe call a press conference. Haven’t they learned by now how to get coverage through press management, or is throwing random amounts of money at problems their lazy way of solving things? Their PR people should have seen these public sentiments from miles away!

Here are some of the angry repercussions found written in Chrysler’s blog:

Mr Nardelli, Fire your PR and advertising teams and execs immediately. We the People did not want to see any more ads and money wasted on ads, be it from Chrysler, et al, or from your own pocket. You should have put up a website thanking the people and just submitted it to various online news aggregators for free. Once again, I am pained to see you are demonstrating a lack of common sense and fiscal responsibility.

First of all, do you need to spend your precious dollars on expensive newspaper space? Second of all, it’s hard to say “America” is really responsible for granting the bridge loans. One survey said that 61% of Americans were against it.

Your resignation and the resignations of senior executives who have mismanaged the business would have been much more appropriate.

Dear Mr. Nardelli and the “over one million people who depend on Chrysler” – You’ve got some nerve to thank us for our forced “investment” when we didn’t want it to happen in the first place. Isn’t forced or coerced investment akin to robbery?

Mr. Home Depot has now shown that he can take extravagance to another extreme high. Why in the world are you thanking people that didn’t want this. You need to spend the money you spent on this ad to bailout one of your line workers whose house is about to go into default.

I’m speechless. And I’m saddened that a corporate management team is so inept at understanding public opinion. Some advice: issue a press release stating that you regret that you made a mistake using taxpayers’ money in this manner.

This ad just goes to show that you and your company has not learned anything, and like the rest of the US I am upset. This opportunity was squandered, by you and your incompetance. For the sake of my tax dollars I hope you succeed with a restructure like the late 70s early 80s when you received your first bail-out. However, with the poor decisions of this ad I forsee a bad investment on the horizon by the US Government.

Obviously nothing has changed. Chrysler is still making stupid decisions by wasting its stolen taxpayer money on useless ads. I will never, ever even consider buying a Chrysler.

What a great way to spend the taxpayer money!!! Spend hundreds of thousands if not a million to put full page ads in news papers all over the country. The NYT add alone cost over $200,000!!! I will never buy a Chrysler vehicle!! You guys suck!!

Way to blow hundreds of thousands of dollars on a useless ad campaign that will surely only worsen your public image. We weren’t buying your cars before because they are all gas guzzling, unreliable, uninteresting cars that look like they were styled by the coleman plastic cooler division, inside and out. So then you steal our money through the government so you can waste more of it on useless ads, and you have the audacity to remind us all about it. Go to hell Chrysler.

Sharp words, but I bet all those billions of dollars are a quick cure for the pain. What a way to end 2008! Happy New Year people!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mike V on Jan 01, 2009 at 1:40 am

Yup .. Happy New Year to all …

That just shows how people can be made even more idiotic than usual when their used to cash being handed to them ..

• tricycle on Jan 01, 2009 at 1:44 am

Honestly, I think Nardelli did a great job for spending that $1M for advertising. What else could it be worth spending for? Hmm…Trying to get my brain working to think of better thing to do ? Nope no Idea at all at the moment.

Congratulations Nardelli and happy New year dude! May God bless America as usual.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 1:47 am

haha happy new year, this is no new years joke i suppose?

• loveyourdidi on Jan 01, 2009 at 2:05 am

cannot agree more with the rest of the respondents. what a plain stoopid move. imagine if our national car company did that..

• Epang on Jan 01, 2009 at 2:33 am

I think the ads is more like Na na na na na na, so what u ppls dont agreed to bail me out? i still got bailout.. u suckerssss..

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 7:57 am

Ridiculously Chrysler!

• Jerry Yeo on Jan 01, 2009 at 8:05 am

Hahaha! Chrysler just didn’t get it. Old habits don’t die.

• p1basher (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 10:51 am

Holy crap, an excellent first move from Chrysler to start wasting money again…

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 11:48 am

same like proton top execs, dun u think?
    mis-management of previous chief went unpunished.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 2:24 pm

Hoho…. sounds like they’re very confident. How pitiful actually.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 01, 2009 at 7:23 pm

Chrysler will go no where. Daimler AG found out the hard way.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 02, 2009 at 2:06 am

i think our nasional car company gets away with alot more than that. they will continue to churn out trash and maintain a tax advantage protection among any competition.

yea….proton promised a punishment of the previous management but nothing has happened.

by the way its very sad that nowadays companies need to use the ‘ i care for the environment’ excuse to get people to buy thier products. just do as much as you can to protect the environment and no need to brag about it.

• torque (Member) on Jan 02, 2009 at 11:22 am

Chrysler’s new year resolution for 2009 is they ain’t gonna waste anymore money so what da’ heck…let’s waste as much as possible before the new year start!!! :-) Chrysler and Mr. Nardelli…like the dude said, “You guys suck!!” Hahaha…Happy New Year to each and every paultan.org citizen!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 02, 2009 at 6:20 pm

Hey Guyz… HaPpY NeW YeAr 2oo9 !!!!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 03, 2009 at 1:33 pm

happy new year 1430H…

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 04, 2009 at 7:53 am

According to Gizmodo, those ads are prepaid at the start of the year – these companies bulk buy them yearly. I wont be surprised if they have already paid up for them long time ago.

• dr_carz (Member) on Jan 04, 2009 at 10:33 am

i think its good.. better than to buy bombs to kill iraqis and afgahnistans !

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Jan 05, 2009 at 10:28 am

Comparably, if we’ll to know how much our local car manufacturer has used the taxpayers’ money to finance its operations for the past 20 years and still going on, you’ll not be too upset this..at least looking at the bright side, they’re much more transparent but it proved that to shift the paradigm of a business entity, a all new management is normally required but company like Honda does have a very good environmental analysis where their latest decision to cancel its NSX project while enbarking into Segment A products really show its management capability to adapt to the change.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 05, 2009 at 10:49 am

funny dudes with funny ads

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 1:35 pm

very funny