Chrysler to sponsor Terminator Salvation movie

Terminator SalvationNot wanting to lose out on the latest fad of automobile manufacturers sponsoring movie franchises, Chrysler has announced it will be sponsoring the new Terminator 4: Salvation movie, which will see Chrysler cars being product placed in the movie. Chrysler did not say how much money it would be spending on this though.

The other big Detroit automakers also have/had movie deals. Notice the many Ford cars in the last two James Bond movies and the new Knight Rider, and the GM placements in the Transformers movie.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tananiki (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:40 pm

1st…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:51 pm

no money survive can afford to sponsor terminator

• mangkuk (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 2:55 pm

I’ll be back..!!

• hotwheeler (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:07 pm

Is it me or does this not really make sense? Like, I understand wanting to drive a beautiful silver Aston Martin because James Bond or I drive one. But unless there is this scene where John Connor and the resistance find an untouched Chrysler dealership and they wip the cover off a load of pristine vehicles like in THREE KINGS I don’t see any reason for there being anything other than a piece of shit half-totalled Chrysler jeep left in the post-apocalyptic planet Earth wasteland that is stalked by machines destroying everyone and everything.

• Paul Tan on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:19 pm

Maybe Skynet modifies all the abandoned unsold Chrysler vehicles left around in parking lots when Chrysler goes bust in the future into mobile Terminators.

• WinterAngeLs (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:21 pm

Lol… No more Schwarzenegger? May be he is too busy being a governor =)

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 3:32 pm

@WinterAngeLs ,
    actually, this is new storyline, in this T4, Arnold ‘model’ hasn’t built yet.

just like Batman movie.. old batman movie – vs – begins and darknight.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 4:21 pm

haha speaking of batman, theres christian bale, the bruce wayne/batman character in this movie, lol

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 5:13 pm

how come Schwarzenegger didint appear in this film …

it looks more like batman plus transformer ..

i dun think this will be as good as the previous Terminator .

• torque (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 5:16 pm

Aiya…no money also want to sponsor meh?!! When I said no money…Chrysler where got money wan…its the American taxpayer money la woi….sigh! Memang cari nahas btul la redneck ni. Go invest on RnD la, built more smaller displacement engine but better in fuel consumption and reliability la. Even Honda also pull out of F1. My god! If they lame excuse is for wider exposure and advertising….that just silly! Exposure?! You nearly go bankrupt and begging for money is damn huge exposure already lor….

• KTK-L (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 7:17 pm

did anyone spot a white satria neo at dataran sunway,pj?i not manage to take a pic…but i saw it was broke down at the road side n the mechanical was reparing it…i saw the engine cover…which is the cps enginie…and the rear and the front bumper was covered…any idea?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:03 pm

If its cheap then its money well spent. You imagine how many people will watch and rewatch the movies. Not to mention dvd sales after the movie releases. I was hoping they sponsored something like spiderman or other big story. Maybe CSI is better. Its a series, so you will see the cars again and again

• csv (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 11:31 pm

no money still wanna sponsor eh, obviously the chrysler management didnt get it through their thick skulls that the public is pissed at them for wasting taxpayer’s money.

on other news, hope this is a hit movie, like all movies christian bale acts in. he revives the genre. Batman, Equilibrium and now T4.

• rexis (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:29 am

A terminator mech…

Arnie I guess will appear in the end of the movie, in a Chrysler.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:22 pm

terminator crosses with duke of hazzards. the t300 drives a new dodge charger, doors cannot open, enter from windows, confederate flag.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 11:31 am

Bad move, Chrysler. Seriously.