New Fiat 500C with sliding soft roof

fiat-500c-convertible-49

Fiat will be showing the new Fiat 500C at the Geneva Motorshow next month but has released this preview of its now topless cute little number ahead of the show. Unlike the MINI Convertible which is a full-blown cabriolet, the Fiat 500C instead uses a sliding soft top design, which means only the canvas roof slides down, while other roof structures such as the top rail and B and C pillars remain.

This ensures the 500C retains all-round protection even with the top down. Unfortunately from the shot above it looks like rear visibility for the 500C is pretty bad when the top is down as the folded roof is in the way, but there is a rear glass window for when the roof is up.

The Fiat 500C has the exact same dimensions as the base model – 3550mm x 1650mm x 1490 mm and uses the same trio of powerplants. First up is a 1.3 litre 75 hp MultiJet Turbodiesel mated to a 5-speed manual while the petrol units are a 1.2 litre and a 1.4 litre with 69hp and 100hp respectively. The Fiat 500C also gets the recently announced Start & Stop system which shuts down the engine and reignites it automatically according to usage in slow speed traffic.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• alamak (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 2:28 am

i really like the new Fiat 500, especially the Abarth edition. Anyone selling it here in Kuala Lumpur?

• FrozenHeart on Feb 18, 2009 at 2:49 am

Classic~Cute~Nice~~

Just Love It, suit those yong lady~~

• nabill on Feb 18, 2009 at 3:46 am

too cute to be on the road !

• alamak said,

February 17, 2009 @ 6:28 pm

i really like the new Fiat 500, especially the Abarth edition. Anyone selling it here in Kuala Lumpur?

___________________________________"_____________________________________

Please contact local agent, Turino @ Jln Ampang.

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 4:06 am

With the roof down, I don't think the driver can see what is going on at the back just using the rear view mirror

• Gajen on Feb 18, 2009 at 5:54 am

This is my Favourite Small Car…i rather have 500 than mini cooper…fiat shud sell it here since they sell it in vietnam…surely sell like hot cakes

• moongrey (Member) on Feb 18, 2009 at 3:40 pm

the normal version of the 500 is here in malaysia…will be launch at the curve but not sure when is the date..price around 125k

• Autobahn on Feb 18, 2009 at 10:06 pm

this is fucking cool

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Feb 18, 2009 at 11:09 pm

When it comes to design, Alfa is still the best . . . .

• nonengko on Feb 19, 2009 at 2:20 am

so cute….reminds me of my dad's fiat 600 in the 70's

• lambov12 on Feb 19, 2009 at 2:56 am

wad is the price of fiat 500 when it land on bolehland ?? Rm70k ?? or RM700K ?

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 6:10 am

malaysia sucks man, we don't even have the normal 1.2 pop

• brutal_driverz (Member) on Feb 19, 2009 at 9:37 am

i think this car is not safe la,but for the rich guy okayla.

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:28 am

This car is for you to cruise along boulevard . . err Gurney Drive. Looks cool babeh!

• affanddy (Member) on Jul 23, 2009 at 3:36 pm

Door to door Test drive available for Fiat 500 please ring 0132908556 for appointmnet.Tq