Samsung released sketches of its eMX Concept

Korean-based electronics giant Samsung has released design sketches of its eMX Concept which is set to be previewed at the upcoming Seoul Motor Show which will take place in April. Some of you might find this as a surprise but Samsung has had an automotive division since the mid-90’s, and sometime in 2000, Renault purchased 70% (now already 80%) of the division back in 2000, forming Renault-Samsung Motors.

The eMX, or also known as the eco-motoring experience concept is said to preview the upcoming 2010 Samsung SM3 sedan. Engine wise, the concept is expected to feature a 2.0 litre turbocharged engine, while the outgoing Samsung SM3 which is based on the Nissan Bluebird Sylphy is powered by a normally aspirated 136HP 2.0 litre engine. Renault-Samsung Motors may even drop in a 205HP 2.0 litre turbo found in the Renault Laguna GT that is also good for 300Nm of torque.

The sketches indicate that the Samsung eMX Concept is almost production ready, with a rather good looking design, especially with the aggressive front end. I can’t wait to look at images of the actual concept! Please continue reading to view another sketch.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• rexis on Mar 14, 2009 at 4:16 pm

There is nothing more exiting then telling people that you drive a samsung.

• MyviKiller on Mar 14, 2009 at 4:24 pm

Wow, has the little hint of Volkswagen at the back.

• jolly_idiot on Mar 14, 2009 at 5:12 pm

Samsung on automobils? Never ever heard before. Samsung nowdays is a giant company for Korea. Can say it's pride.

Btw, LG oso have car division? Damn, these electronic guys are going into car industry.

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 14, 2009 at 6:23 pm

looks like the car is styled to be like hyundai at the front and persona at the back

• gattaca on Mar 14, 2009 at 8:31 pm

there's mazda here n there…..

• mitlanevo on Mar 14, 2009 at 8:47 pm

Nokia, any plan for producing cars? haha…..

• Akazamabamaboo on Mar 14, 2009 at 8:52 pm

I currently drive a Nokia 3.2 twin-turbo diesel pickup…

• kimi_ on Mar 15, 2009 at 1:14 am

I currently drive a –MOTOROLA– twin-turbo diesel pickup…

• mitlanevo on Mar 15, 2009 at 1:35 am

and i'm going to buy one Apple 5.0 Hemi supercharged iPod SUV…..

• slimershine on Mar 15, 2009 at 2:20 am

im driving alcatel base-line model. huhu..

• Im going to buy hupseng batminton 2.0, heard rumors there will be hupseng pingpong 1.3 city car…..uiks suddenly turns biscuit

• BrakeFader on Mar 15, 2009 at 3:38 am

Samsung has been in a car business in Korea and most of them are Nissan/Renault rebadged. Go search for Samsung SM3 (Sylphy), SM5 (Cefiro) and SM7 (Extra long Cefiro).

So I don't see why the funny reaction from you guys that Samsung is in the car business.

• hazxkh on Mar 15, 2009 at 4:44 am

eMX is Electric appliance+ BMX bike

• Wisdom on Mar 15, 2009 at 8:12 am

Sony Ericsson might introduce new series of Walkman and Cybershot cars then…

• hidrogentank on Mar 15, 2009 at 9:14 am

pretty good design. you can see korean/ japanese wildness complemented with some clean german lines. i hav to admit…i see some "ding dong" type comments being posted by some ppl…shame.

• Huh? Samsung cars? I think AKIRA should consider building their own car as well…

• WhatGoons on Mar 15, 2009 at 7:00 pm

Samsung is a multi-business conglomerate, and many people here think they are only in electronics. They built anything from buildings to ships. Samsung Motors' cars are based on models from the Renault-Nissan group. The flagship SM7 is based on the Nissan Teana

• mkrafz on Mar 15, 2009 at 7:07 pm

the front end…

remind me of the caldina..

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 4:00 pm

actually samsung has been doin cars for awhile now, their recent SUV seems slick. but anyways some are collaborations with renault who hav a stake… wud love to have a sleek samsung sedan to go with my samsung f330 =D

• camprodohc (Member) on Mar 18, 2009 at 7:41 pm

SM 3 , SM 5 , SM 7 = samsung + renault ,

proton BLM , proton Exora = proton + lotus + LG CNS Design Group ..

"LG" ..

Huhuhu ..

• amirzaim on Mar 24, 2009 at 11:26 pm

Samsung is not just an electronic device maker but samsung also have a many divisions and that's why the giant korean company are versatile. They can do anything. I heard that Samsung had been producing heavy machines such as bulldozer that are seen at the construction yard.