Geely buys Drivetrain Systems International

geelymerielogo.jpgGeely has acquired Australian automatic transmission manufacturer Drivetrain Systems International. Drivetrain Systems International is the company that supplies the 6-speed automatic transmission to Korean car company Ssangyong, which is used in the updated Ssangyong Actyon truck sold here in Malaysia. It also supplies transmissions for the Australian-built Ford Falcon and the Ford Territory.

The deal is set to help Geely expand its product line and improve its ability to develop, produce and equip its cars with competitive transmissions. Drivetrain Systems has an annual production capacity of 180,000 transmissions. No financial details related to the deal were revealed.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• First and I have never heard of those two companies before eh?

• lchan on Mar 28, 2009 at 7:22 pm

oh..i thought the all ford falcon auto trans were made by ZF.

• Littlefire on Mar 28, 2009 at 7:37 pm

Geely is from China if i not mistaken, he is also 1 of the biggest local automotive manufacturer!

Now even China local made cars are going to have 6-speed auto.. While our's still only using 4-speed auto… That why i told you after 10-20 years, for sure we gonna makan by China cars if we still move so slow…

• layek on Mar 28, 2009 at 9:46 pm

According to Chinese media, that is world's 2nd largest transmission maker.

• ehasz on Mar 28, 2009 at 11:59 pm

ya lah,malas aku nak komen kita pun polisi pemotoran,banyak kronism…LOL

• goguncas71 (Member) on Mar 29, 2009 at 12:08 am

Hmm…why make your own transmission? Transmission are just like tyres, brakes and airconditioning units, lots of different suppliers and you can pick the best priced ones.

Why doesn't proton have a six speed transmission? It's expensive to buy and 4 speed is ok (Toyota altis is 4 speed too…)

• letstorque on Mar 29, 2009 at 12:08 am

I think Drivetrain Systems International also supply 6 speed auto trans for updated Nissan Navara.

• Littlefire on Mar 29, 2009 at 1:08 am

Only for UMW and in Asean countries still using 4-speed, look at those countries with stricter emission, their Toyota have at least 5-6 speed auto or CVT… Even Honda did better than Toyota…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 29, 2009 at 1:33 am

[quote comment="225113"]Hmm…why make your own transmission? Transmission are just like tyres, brakes and airconditioning units, lots of different suppliers and you can pick the best priced ones.

Why doesn't proton have a six speed transmission? It's expensive to buy and 4 speed is ok (Toyota altis is 4 speed too…)[/quote]

exactly.. if you put in 6 speed, and charge for it.. people will say.. why so expensive? likewise with toyota in asia.. why put in a 6 speed, when your customers will more than happily continue to buy your car in large numbers with a 4 spd.

but i seriously doubt the "2nd largest transmission manufacturer" as claimed by the chinese media. or do they mean "independent" manufacturer..? GM, ZF, even mitsubishi definitely make more than 180,000 gearboxes a year.

• umw toyota always use under-spec product in malaysia just to make their cars cheaper. nowadays, there is no more using 4-speed trans. in adv countries. agree with littlefire, honda use better spac than toyata here!

• torque (Member) on Mar 30, 2009 at 10:17 pm

Smart move from Geely!

• Prismo on Apr 03, 2009 at 6:29 am

[quote comment="225066"]Geely is from China if i not mistaken, he is also 1 of the biggest local automotive manufacturer!

Now even China local made cars are going to have 6-speed auto.. While our's still only using 4-speed auto… That why i told you after 10-20 years, for sure we gonna makan by China cars if we still move so slow…[/quote]

If Geely didn't buy this company, they will stuck with 4-speed auto until today.. That mean they really cant develop their own 6-speed auto by themself.. big player aka Ssangyong also depending with this company also to develop 6-speed auto for Actyon… the most difficult part of developing a car was a gearbox….

• idham on Jul 20, 2009 at 7:25 am

New mahindra Scorpio m-hawk automatik pun pakali 6-speed Australian automatic transmission manufacturer Drivetrain Systems International……. boleh booking sekarang just 95k

• nishan on May 16, 2013 at 2:48 pm

I have a actyon suv. I need to replace my gear box from where can i get the 6 speed gear box?