2010 Mercedes-Benz S-Class Facelift: Official Details

Mercedes-Benz W221 Facelift

Hot on the tail of the new F01 is an updated S-Class, it’s still the W221 but with a mid-life facelift that adds a few aesthetic changes including a more prominent grille up front, a revised bumper, the LED daytime driving lights that we also saw on the new E-Class, LED tail lights at the rear, and an integrated exhaust.

With the facelift also comes the new S 400 HYBRID, which unlike the hybrid-diesel version shown in 2007, is powered by a petrol engine, the 3.5 litre V6 to be exact from the S 350. The 279hp generated by the V6 is complemented by a 20 horsepower electric motor that has 160Nm of torque, integrated with the 7G-Tronic transmission.

The motor acts as a dynamo during braking to recover kinetic energy, recharging the lithium ion batteries with them. The result is an economical 7.9 litres per 100km of combined consumption, impressive for such a large car. I wonder if Mercedes-Benz Malaysia will introduce this here. Companies might just go for it as a company car in their efforts to look green, perhaps as part of their social responsibility programs, plus there is that tax-free period for hybrids. In Germany, the S 400 is less than 10,000 Euros more expensive than the S 350.

Something new is a feature called Active Body Control which is a crosswind stabilisation feature. This is standard on the S 600. The S-Class is expected to run cross-state journeys sometimes, since the bosses here may have to visit branches in other states once in a while. During highway journeys you do get hit by crosswinds which can upset the car’s balance, thus Active Body Control tries to make up for it.

It senses crosswinds via the yaw rate and acceleration sensors that are part of the ESP program, and this data is used to vary the spring load to compensate the effects of crosswinds.

Look after the jump for a full hi-res gallery detailing the changes in the design of the S-Class. It should be quite easy to spot.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=241]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• monster become a beast..

extremely hot luxury movers…

too bad not enought money to own it…

• San Peng Road on Apr 14, 2009 at 3:31 pm

Sexxxxy!

• wah LED….

i like

• King Samurai on Apr 14, 2009 at 4:39 pm

Soooo towkeyish…how do i afford to have this beast in my garage??

• adrianclw on Apr 14, 2009 at 5:13 pm

Now the rear light seem like Maybach.

• henry on Apr 14, 2009 at 5:26 pm

this car make her big brother the Maybach looks uglier..

• This is more like it for a facelift exercise. It should be inside out.

• shan0025 on Apr 14, 2009 at 7:44 pm

heaven is a place on earth

• Black Dog on Apr 14, 2009 at 7:56 pm

[quote comment="229502"]Soooo towkeyish…how do i afford to have this beast in my garage??[/quote]

TIME! Wait 10 years then become affordable loh. Now big/small eye RM50K oso can buy.

OR rent one for 1 day lah…king for the day!

• King Samurai on Apr 15, 2009 at 12:11 am

[quote comment="229556"][quote comment="229502"]Soooo towkeyish…how do i afford to have this beast in my garage??[/quote]

TIME! Wait 10 years then become affordable loh. Now big/small eye RM50K oso can buy.

OR rent one for 1 day lah…king for the day![/quote]

10 years too long…this beast become useless small elephant oredi..But rental one can be considered..TQ for your suggestion.

• kimi_ on Apr 15, 2009 at 1:00 am

I have decided to trade in my MYVI for this babe…

ONLY if i have 20 MYVI :(

• Farhat Haniff on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:15 am

[quote comment="229614"]I have decided to trade in my MYVI for this babe…

ONLY if i have 20 MYVI :([/quote]

I dont think trading 20 MyVis would allow you to exchange for this beast. Maybe the 2002 one, used.

• Djldracio (Member) on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:09 am

The interior looks very welcoming and I personally like the visual presentation of the exterior. I do believe this will sell like hot cakes especially for those 'Tai Lou_s' who are waiting to upgrade… Bmw will need to 'up' their game on their existing interior of the 7s if they expect to match Merc's luxurious outlook..

• layman on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:39 pm

So fast facelift already, like Japanese car kah?

• babymac on Nov 01, 2009 at 1:15 am

Will this facelifted model be launch in malaysia? If yes, around when are we expecting it?