Nick Heidfeld’s take on the new BMW X5 M

BMW X5 M

BMW F1 driver Nick Heidfeld tells us his opinion of the new BMW X5 M, the M division’s first SUV which was unveiled together with its sleeker sibling the X6 M earlier this year. But of course being an employee it’s nothing but praises for the X5 M, but it’s still a nice watch because there are some footage of the X5 M in action inserted into the clip. That blue looks pretty good. If you need a recap on what the X5 M is all about read my launch story, but here’s a quick recap: twin-scroll twin-turbo V8, 555 horsepower, 680Nm of torque, and 4.7 seconds to 100km/h. Watch the video after the jump.

DOWNLOAD: 720p HD MP4 Video

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• CocoBear on Jun 02, 2009 at 1:59 pm

Sounds like BMW is marketing on Arabs. Ya, I always c the X5 in blue that looks really good.
    Here's one good X5 ^^ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ve550P0uj7A

• mitlanevo on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:18 pm

X5 is always a nice SUV……

• Hamann on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:03 pm

impressive…

• Wak Rempit on Jun 02, 2009 at 7:56 pm

"Twin-scroll twin-turbo V8, 555 horsepower, 680Nm of torque, and 4.7 seconds to 100km/h" sigh…

I don't see the point of having above in a SUV, better get a proper supercar and drive them like hell. It looks like BMW has so many engines on the rack and they don't know what to do with them.

But for people with money… 555hp SUV… why the hell not!

• roti naan1 on Jun 02, 2009 at 8:40 pm

rich ppl toy…

• adlanb20 on Jun 02, 2009 at 10:09 pm

[quote comment="242868"]"Twin-scroll twin-turbo V8, 555 horsepower, 680Nm of torque, and 4.7 seconds to 100km/h" sigh…

I don't see the point of having above in a SUV, better get a proper supercar and drive them like hell. It looks like BMW has so many engines on the rack and they don't know what to do with them.

But for people with money… 555hp SUV… why the hell not![/quote]

Its for the tauke balak, tauke pasir, tauke sawit laa… they can't take their lambo or ferraris for a wee bit of off road laa…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 02, 2009 at 10:33 pm

[quote comment="242868"]"Twin-scroll twin-turbo V8, 555 horsepower, 680Nm of torque, and 4.7 seconds to 100km/h" sigh…

to be fair to bmw.. "we" might not know what to do with them.. but bmw sure does.. to be honest.. i agree with you also, i have no idea why someone would want an suv with so much power, and even stranger, an SUV that handles better on the road than off the road. but luckily for bmw, we dont work for them, coz they've somehow managed to identity a market for vehicles and engines like these, and are making lots of money selling them.

• nenong on Jun 03, 2009 at 2:03 am

good to see petronas is apart frm them – on heidfeld's shirt :D

• roti naan1 on Jun 03, 2009 at 2:35 am

I guess going off road oso got style….

however nothing beats going off road with plenty of mud, winches, bare chassis, highly articulated 4×4. That is hardcore and the real man off roader machine.

• roti canai on Jun 03, 2009 at 3:20 am

will off roading requires such immense power? half of the time.. it will just slipped.

like said, it will probably good for desert road.. who knows.. they receives complaints for not having super car that run in desert.. :-)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 03, 2009 at 5:59 am

[quote comment="242918"]will off roading requires such immense power? half of the time.. it will just slipped.

like said, it will probably good for desert road.. who knows.. they receives complaints for not having super car that run in desert.. :-)[/quote]

SUv's today spend more time on road then off road. as long as people still want vehicles like these, car manufacturers will continue to build them

• BRAZBUZ on Jun 03, 2009 at 6:32 am

hmmm now SUV stands 4

SUper Velocity….

• X5_222 on Jun 03, 2009 at 7:02 am

Actually to be fair.. SUV is the favorite vehicle for the people here (sarawak) where i work.. back in Singapore.. A typical small Vios or if u want 323i BMW will do.. these is depends on the country and location.. when ur in sarawak.. and you want to travel from Miri (north) to Kuching (south) the roads are bad not like semenanjung.. so u need something with ground clearence yet fast..

many consider the Land cruiser but..

1) Many ppl want to steal

2) not stable

3) power suXX (for a 4.7 V8 petrol / 5.7 v8 > slower than a 3.0 X5)

So u see some place do really need these powerful machine.. :D..

But to be fair.. not everyone can afford la..

• wan_knox on Jun 03, 2009 at 6:03 pm

It's ok if you guys dont want to buy.. I'll buy it.

• howitzer on Jun 03, 2009 at 8:22 pm

i just want to buy the engine.. is that possible?? hehe

• Engine for next M3?

• Mytechnie on Jun 03, 2009 at 11:30 pm

[quote comment="242914"]good to see petronas is apart frm them – on heidfeld's shirt :D[/quote]

Yeah! Me too!

• mitlanevo on Jun 04, 2009 at 1:40 am

[quote comment="242884"][quote comment="242868"]"Twin-scroll twin-turbo V8, 555 horsepower, 680Nm of torque, and 4.7 seconds to 100km/h" sigh…

Its for the tauke balak, tauke pasir, tauke sawit laa… they can't take their lambo or ferraris for a wee bit of off road laa…[/quote]

they can also buy the Q7 V12 with 1000nm, can tarik their stuff, haha

• mitlanevo on Jun 04, 2009 at 1:42 am

[quote comment="242931"][quote comment="242918"]will off roading requires such immense power? half of the time.. it will just slipped.

like said, it will probably good for desert road.. who knows.. they receives complaints for not having super car that run in desert.. :-)[/quote]

SUv's today spend more time on road then off road. as long as people still want vehicles like these, car manufacturers will continue to build them[/quote]

ya, totally agree, even today's Land Rover are purely a status symbol……

• land rover have lost it's real function. …agreed.

• fuyiopo on Jun 04, 2009 at 5:02 pm

Why hiedfeld and not kubica? I though Kubica is the 1st driver now????

• Wak Rempit on Jun 04, 2009 at 8:53 pm

I wonder how many of this X5M owners actually off road their car. Given the specs I think most of them preferred tarmac than dirt track.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 04, 2009 at 9:07 pm

[quote comment="243066"]land rover have lost it's real function. …agreed.[/quote]

Not only that it even lost its nationality… it (plus Jaguar) is indian now. Hats off to TATA, they really hurt the English pride

I always wanted to see TATA's president face when he first addressed his new employee from Land Rover… oi,now who's the boss!!

• [quote comment="243016"][quote comment="242914"]good to see petronas is apart frm them – on heidfeld's shirt :D[/quote]

Yeah! Me too![/quote]

you missed the one on his cap=p

• clone on Jun 07, 2009 at 2:54 am

[quote comment="242914"]good to see petronas is apart frm them – on heidfeld's shirt :D[/quote]

What's you mean "apart"?