100 Honda Civic Hybrids on Malaysian roads now

100th Civic Hybrid in Malaysia

There are now 100 Honda Civic Hybrids in Malaysia brought in officially by Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd. Since Honda claims that each Civic Hybrid on the road potentially reduces their owner’s carbon footprint by 1 tonne a year compared to if they were to drive a regular car, these 100 owners have reduced by footprint by 100 tonnes a year collectively! Honda targets to have this number increased to 200 by end-2009.

The 100th owner is Michelle Lu, but she admits that the idea was actually her engineer husband’s. “When we first got the Civic Hybrid, our friends asked us why, because like myself, they too have the perception that it is a low capacity car with only a 1.3 litre engine and has no power. My perception has definitely changed now. It drives like a 1.8L vehicle and it is so much smoother and quieter,” said Lu.

When the Civic Hybrid was first introduced it was pretty pricey but with the government tax exemption (that’s sadly only valid for 2 years, I believe 1 year is gone now), the price has been brought down to RM129,980, which is about the same price as a 2.0 litre. But Malaysians are not exactly taking it up in the droves.

Before this we can say it’s too expensive, but what’s stopping us now? Lack of power compared to the 2.0 model? Uncertainties on how long the battery will last and how much servicing the car will be? I believe its more of the latter.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wilfred on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:32 pm

The exemption is just not sufficient.

Our government is not looking in any move of promoting lower polluting vehicle.

All Hybrid, EV, Hydrogen FuelCell, etc should receive full tax exemption.

Only this way we can help push people to accept the change, and lower the cost of ownership.

To protect Proton? WTF, ask them GROW UP!!!

faster adopt to the game, or get retired~

don't sacrifice our environment and money for the sake of a non-sustainable business.

• Jamal on Jun 06, 2010 at 9:53 pm

hahaha it never happens, Malaysian govt producing petrol if they promote this kind of vehicles how to sell petrol? Subsidy is just a gimmick to rob public money.

• shahzane on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:34 pm

For me, the main deterrent is the high maintenance cost compared to the 2.0 model.you can check it out with Honda's maintenance schedule table.the major services cost a bomb!

• azrai on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:57 pm

Wah! He miss 1 thing here. The battery only lasted for 10 years.

• government already slashed the import duty 100% and excise duty as much as 50% for hybrid car and why the price is still high? is it could be that honda malaysia didn't slashed the price accordingly to the incentives given. My 2cents idea.

Link here : http://paultan.org/archives/2008/08/30/budget-200…

• Jamal on Jun 06, 2010 at 9:58 pm

Price in USA is USD23K = RM 76K only here, so we don’t know who is froud, GOVT or HONDA?

• Darren on Jun 26, 2009 at 11:23 pm

if my income is high, i wouldn't mind the hybrid.

• PROTON Civic on Jun 26, 2009 at 11:35 pm

what a lovely couple with nice car.. hope they will happily live forever..

semoga pasangan diatas sentiasa bahagia hingga ke hujung nyawa ^^

• How save this car consume petrol? Viva,kancil or savvy?

• Chris Chong on Jun 26, 2009 at 11:42 pm

Actually, Honda would do more good if they brought in their excellent European-spec diesel engines; more power AND greener. Plus, they wouldn't need to worry about how our garmen would handle the disposal of all those Ni-Cd batteries.

And since we're talking about diesel – Since we've got so much palm oil in the country, why hasn't biofuel research yielded anything other than academic results? Why can't we buy biodiesel from every petrol station in the country?

• gen2lama on Jun 26, 2009 at 11:45 pm

let us start protecting our environment by Natural Gas….

anyone?

• Jolly_idiot on Jun 27, 2009 at 12:20 am

Oh… wat a lovely couple… but with a disaster car. Hope they'll enjoy to pay for the maintenance and scratching their head for parts and batteries.

• helmi on Jun 27, 2009 at 12:27 am

I heard the battery cost about USD3000 (RM12000). Need to replace 3 to 5 years, depend on usage. You save the fuel but you lost to battery.

• Black Dog on Jun 27, 2009 at 12:43 am

Tax exemption given 1 year ago but now only Honda want to reduce price. Honda has been dragging it's feet and doesn't really care about the environment.

I heard Prius is coming end of this year, is it true Paul? That is a real hybrid worth waiting for.

• Prius-fan on Jun 27, 2009 at 12:52 am

Just saw a model of the Prius here in Manila, and does it look sleek and smooth. Does anyone know if the Prius is coming to Malaysia???? Paul says it is!! Our govt just can't lose face, time really time to grow up and let Proton and learn to swim.

• Black Dog on Jun 27, 2009 at 12:56 am

If you count ringgit & cents, definitely Hybrids cost more. Just think, if hybrids are cheaper, everybody will be driving one now! Maybe 5 – 10 years later, petrol go sky high & hybrid technology improve further than possible to be cheaper.

Currently, it's more for people who do their bit to protect the environment, UNLESS the Govt. make it tax-free altogether then will be comparable to normal cars.

• roti naan1 on Jun 27, 2009 at 1:21 am

heheheh…after looking at the maintenance cost, the couple may sell off the car later….

i think this is a just a Honda publicity trying to sell their cars in Malaysia.

"Hi, Perfect Couple, If you two want to save money and do a bit for the environment, please JALAN KAKI"

• Jolly_idiot on Jun 27, 2009 at 1:43 am

Agreed roti naan1. But i wonder even they wanna sell of the car. Will there be a buyer or not? Unless they giv a real deal. RM50k for a <1 yr hybrid civic.

• Tiadaid on Jun 27, 2009 at 2:11 am

Hybrids are useless if you have a heavy right foot. Top Gear has shown that if you drive a Prius at high speed and drive an M3 at that same speeds gets the Beemer gets more miles per gallon than the Prius!

• Luqman on Jun 27, 2009 at 2:29 am

"Cars promoted as eco-friendly were criticised yesterday for pumping out up to 56 per cent more carbon dioxide than the manufacturers claim.

Three models, including the Honda Civic hybrid, performed so badly in tests that their environmental claims were dismissed as a gimmick."

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/environment…

Potentially reduces the owner's carbon footprint ?

• Carbabe on Jun 27, 2009 at 3:04 am

Not worth it.

• gtaste on Jun 27, 2009 at 3:49 am

Hybrid is overrated. The carbon footprint before the car is driven off the dealer's parking lot is 100,000 miles more than a fossil fuel car. This is due to extra carbon footprints created for mining the nickel for the battery(not in japan), shipping of raw nickel to processing plant(not in japan), shipping of battery to toyota plant.. Yadda yadda yadda.. you got the point..

• Tungkai on Jun 27, 2009 at 4:41 am

I saw 4nos of Toyota Prius on Federal Highway yesterday morning some where around Batu 3 flyover

• Its not worth it. Overhyped and overrated. If the gov is serious abt hybrids, which they obviously arent, they would lower it and make them affordable for the public… Everything is gov is doing is just a charade, they are not actually doing things to proof that they are serious abt saving the earth. I applaud britian's gov as they do walk the talk by increasing tax based on the car's polution rate (mgc or whatever the measurement it is)…

• LorenzOoOoO on Jun 27, 2009 at 5:14 am

ciVic HYBRID !!!!

What the new power source we have now!

Just using little of petrol only that will claim more milage for everyday driving!

WooOOWWW!!!!!

I want get mine ONE!!!!!

• TonyZai on Jun 27, 2009 at 6:09 am

I think our government will start promote those low emmision/zero vehicle after they launch thier beloved electric powered "Potong" vehicles.

• i support diesel rather than hybrid.

hybrid is just a gimmick

• dont think so…. competitor is coming… will see…..

• Donovan Chin on Jun 27, 2009 at 8:18 am

It's for the tree huggers. I don't think that the technology is there yet. Plenty of better options like the diesel engines as someone mentioned above. Disposal of the batteries will be a nightmare as well.

• atmh3993 on Jun 27, 2009 at 10:12 am

I was an automotive engineering student, and we did a test recently with our lecturer which driving a Civic Hybrid bought recently… and we found out that the FC for that car was about 10.8KM/L, not much different compared to a car which run with fully petrol, and the price are very expensive for me, not worth it, somemore need to sacrifice the performance…..btw, just my few cents, no hard feelings…..

• rexis on Jun 27, 2009 at 5:03 pm

The tax exemption by malaysia gov is not sincere at all by only giving two years tax relief for a car that not affordable to most of the people.

What happened two years later? Forget everything?

• willpower on Jun 27, 2009 at 6:28 pm

what a damn expensive hybrid car in MYS.

What happen to Hybrid Camry, Harrier or Estima here?

Hybrid Car?? Too early for MYS citizen.

• Battery issue

• willpower,

the civic hybrid is already damn expensive to the general public, bringing in h.camry,h.harrier and h.estima, doesnt make sense with this current gov around!!!

• Nozzydive (Member) on Jun 27, 2009 at 9:48 pm

Before I read this post I was like…..damn buy this car and get a girl….lol

• CocoBear on Jun 27, 2009 at 10:55 pm

I prefer cycling. End.

• 129K is way too expensive.

The RM20K difference can pay for about 3-6 years of petrol for a normal car.

So even if the car has half the fuel consumption of a nonhybrid, it'll take 6-12 years to break even just on fuel costs. And I doubt the hybrid is so much more fuel efficient.

The fact that the car costs so much without taxes either means someone is making a big profit or it requires more resources to build.and thus is unlikely to be that environmentally friendly.

You might as well invest the RM20K elsewhere.

• altimasss on Jun 27, 2009 at 11:47 pm

I just bought a brand new Civic 2.0. Before I decide on the 2.0, had some very long thoughts whether to take the Hybrid version.

In the end, the battery life put me off.. I cant imagine the resale value when the car reaches 5yrs old.. they price will probably drop by half of actual new price.

I'd love to drive green cars and save the environment, but too much to lose especially when cars are so blardy expensive in this country :(

Guess I'll wait for the full EV from Nissan.

• Civic hybrid owner on Jun 28, 2009 at 2:00 am

As an owner myself, I feel the same as the couple about the car. It is not underpowered. I get about 18km/l mixed driving without having to drove like a grandma.

I know a guy who is an owner of a 7 year old prev gen civic hybrid had no battery issues. His car is still getting similar mileage to mine.

Too expensive? Maybe, if you also consider civic 2.0 expensive. Maintenance is same as 2.0. Brakes don't wear out as fast due to regen braking.

Singapore and Japan have a high adoption rate for hybrid cars. But their gomen also give better incentives. With so many adopters, this tech can't be that bad. :)

• HONDA marketing stra on Jun 28, 2009 at 2:11 am

buy one HONDA Civic in Malaysia and also get beautiful girl!!!!

hurry while stock last…..

• greencar on Jun 28, 2009 at 2:16 am

the hybrid car market is still in its infancy… we need more hybrid models to compare and the car makers and distributors need to promote harder in order to create the awareness…when is the Prius coming in? Seen enough in car magazine review already..

• dcwhz83 on Jun 28, 2009 at 5:38 am

now not Prius alrdy… its Honda Insight :p

• Prius-fan on Jun 28, 2009 at 6:16 am

Hybrids are about the image and the statement, if not enough saving the fuel. I'll support it! Do what you can now. Sure the battery and the extra tech will need more processing. Support the company who are more responsible for the environment. And thats definitely NOT proton.

• Bodowee on Jun 28, 2009 at 8:48 am

This hybrid this is too complicated for malaysians …higher maintenance cost , slightly better FC …more cons than pro in the long run ..

if < 80K ok la ..my wishful thinking

• proudnewowner on Jun 28, 2009 at 9:25 am

I L.O.V.E my car!!it's so quiet, so cool and it really does drive like a 1.8 civic!

the battery- hopefully it will last…i also saw the maintenance…exactly the same unless the battery gives away too early.

weird as it is, it's my first car…

i compared the fuel consumpsion with my family's 2 kancil– it won hands down, and i havent even refilled it yet..and my first refill still havent finished and it's way past the mileage from the 1st one…but im not one to drive too fast anyway

right now,for me, it's the best— the comfort, looks, performance and maintenance of a civic, and the mileage even lower than a kancil..and i get to do my part for the environment (noise+air pollution)

who cares if it's shipped from Japan, or the parts are also shipped from elsewhere…just about every other car, and nearly probably all imported/luxury cars are imported…dont tell me you made all the other cars from local materials, and they are not shipped too…

• TonyZai on Jun 28, 2009 at 2:37 pm

If either one battery manufacturer successfully develop a better kind/quality battery, i think i'll cause a major trend of hybrid or electic powered car.

For now, maybe new generation diesel engine might suite our needs. Diesel engines in nowdays are more fuel efficient and more reliable than gasoline engine. Agree?

• l love Honda brand more than any Japanese brands BUT when it come to HYBRID l'll pick Prius than anything else.

Civic hybrid not really deliver like it was HYPED.

#2: HM play like UMWT in this case; NOT really give up all the profit to the customers despite of Government's effort to reduce taxes significantly.

Otherwise NOT only Hybrid, the fossil 1.8 and 2.0 will be price lower than now (in fact the price now dearer). Because of overwhelming demand they can become old days Kah Motors.

• hmm… septmeber!!!!!!….

• yup gov is going nothing… i drove by near zahid hamidi's house and saw two hummer h3 just arrived front of his home.. and he has countless car….. i dont where he got all his money

• xenogearz on Jun 29, 2009 at 7:15 pm

Saw Toyota Prius on the road here in Malaysia already. Must be 'em UMW people test driving the car or something. Heard that UMW will launch the car sometime in July 2009 (next month). Since it is 1.8L, I'm sure the price will be expensive, around RM180k (considering that 1.3L Hybrid Civic is priced about RM130k).

• James on Jun 29, 2009 at 9:03 pm

I feel RM 180,000 is too expensive. Using the Civic Hybrid as a reference, I am estimating the price of the new Prius to be around RM 138,000.

• Paul Tan on Jun 29, 2009 at 9:04 pm

New Prius will be Camry 2.4 price.

• Anonymous on Jun 29, 2009 at 9:41 pm

Get the european diesels… they beat the hybrids hands, feet and pants down for fuel economy… as low as 4l/100km. Friends of mine who drive the Civic Hybrid only manage about 6l/100km.

whoops.. forgot we have crap diesel quality. oh well.. malaysia boleh ;)

• Read somewhere in brit magazine (can re-call either autocar or something…)…testing done btw TDI & hybrid…conclusion, TDI are more frugal & way more powerful + Cheaper. If only our diesel are Euro 4 compliance

• $One Five O K for Pick R I United Speed Month Of 9

• James on Jun 30, 2009 at 7:01 pm

Wow, if the new Prius has a similar price tag as the Camry 2.4V – RM 170,000 , for me that is way too expensive and a put off.

It is still darn expensive even with all the tax cuts and all for hybrid cars.

So what is the point of the tax cuts then? It is rather pathethic, extremely pathetic.

• If gov can promote the green car and also bring in Toyota Prius, I would like to get one too…

But make sure it is low price, dun think this happen in here….dream on…

I think Toyata Prius is sold at USD24k…

• Victor on Jul 01, 2009 at 7:11 am

Not everyone is concern on the fuel price lah.. It's a Hybrids car, which made no pollution to the earth. Be green, PEOPLE !

• 170 after discount is 150…… hmm.. september….. grand opening..!

• Omanjedi on Jul 06, 2009 at 1:30 am

hug or do anything else inside the car please..huhuhuhu

• I think the honda civic hybrid is reasonable if u want to save money on fuel. i have use this car for two month and the fuel is great.. i save a lot of fuel. the car can do 700km++ with full tank of Rm70.. well, it maybe sound not much, but i must remind u that im not driving like a hybrid driver which drive slowly and make sure the car get the best consumption.. i drive faster then other normal car. the car 1.3 engine does have enough power to get the car to 180km/h easily. for me, that is enough.. well, the toyota prius might coming in town soon, that car is alot better in terms of tech and fuel consumption, but the estimated price is abit high.. it about RM 185,000.. so, its about Rm 60,000 more then the honda.. i think i will always prefer honda civic hybrid for the better handling and cheaper price..

• James on Jul 15, 2009 at 9:55 pm

I did some rough calculations on the possible price of the Prius and still cannot fathom how it can reach RM 170,000 or possibly more.

Example:

Price in USD = 26,000 (Prius IV) – from US page.

50% excise duty = 1.5 x 26,000 = 39,000 (USD)

10 % sales tax = 1.1 x 39,000 = 42,900 (USD)

Car Price + Tax Only (RM) = 42,900 x 3.6 = 154,440 (RM)

If I take RM 170,000 – RM 154,440 = 15,560 (RM).

Now what in the world would contribute RM 15,560 extra to effect the price to RM170,000 or more ????? Processing fee, handling fee, insurance fee, custom fee, delivery fee, transportation fee, paperwork fee, cargo fee, 'others' tax, etc… Now what other fees or 'other' taxes did I miss………..hmmmm

This is just a rough estimate but I could be wrong on the tax and all. Will know exactly the price and misc fees once Toyota launches the model.

• Paul Tan on Jul 15, 2009 at 9:58 pm

@James An explanation could be that UMW Toyota may not be getting as good a price as Toyota USA because our volume prediction is way lower compared to the crazy amount of Prius they sell in the USA. Naturally when you buy less, your price is higher, if you buy more in bulk, your price is lower.

• James on Jul 16, 2009 at 4:06 pm

Hi Paul.

Thanks for that thought.

Appreciate it.

• parasolx on Sep 22, 2009 at 1:09 am

First comes in mind of Malaysians about car is two only: Prices and Engine. A lot of COMPLAINTS keeps talking on engine power and price. So here i give an explanation to whom more focus on engine.

Honda Civic Hybrid is design with a lot of new technology for its engine. Why? Here you will gets with HCH:

1.) 3 cam profiles engine, (high mode, low mode and idle mode) while 2.0 and 1.8 civic only have 2 cam profiles only.

2.) i-DSI engine to increase fuel efficiency which have 8 spark plugs (2 for each cylinder) to gets a FULL fuel combustion. If you buy Ferrari also they still use 1 spark plug for each cylinder.

3.) VCM, Variable Cylinder Management WHICH you only get in Accord 3.6.. its not Accord 2.0 or 2.4.

4.) i-VTEC cam profiles engines, the latest engine tech from Honda

5.) Electronic Power Steering, only available in Accord 2.4 and 3.6.

6.) Intergrated Motor Assist, only hybrid is having this feature.

So, if you want to compare engine 1.3 against 2.0, please considered of having technology above also. Having HCH is not focus to the engine power but its technology. Theres a lot of way to increase your car performance and power, but can somebody list out the way to increase fuel efficiency in the manner with the cost to archieve 40/45mpg compared to HCH.

Thanks.

• David on Dec 13, 2009 at 11:51 pm

Hi. I am thinking of buying a Hybrid. Initial Malaysian brochure claims fuel consumption up to 31km/litre. However, when I read the US brochures (I believe it is the same Hybrid Civic), it claims 40 MPG (City) and 45 MPG (highway), which when I did some conversion turns out to be about 17 km/lit (city) and 19 km/lit (highway).

Question: Am I wrong with my conversion? If not, then is there some differences between Malaysian hybrid and US hybrid (Civic)?

• parasolx on Dec 14, 2009 at 5:50 am

David.. there's nothing wrong with the conversion and it is the same spec that US used and Malaysia used. What are diff is the driving skill. FC that US claim is based on EPA standard testing which is very tough and rough driving skill. In US there using miles/h instead of kilometres/h.

In US the normal speed they drive between 80-90 miles/h which when you convert to km/h is around 128-144 km/h. That is main reason 40 for city and 45 for highway comes out.

In Malaysia, statistic shows average speed for driving at city is around 80-90 and highway around 100-110km/h. I have try driving at 100km/h (RPM 2) give FC up to 22km/l, while driving at 80km/h (RPM 1.5) give 32km/l.

• David on Dec 17, 2009 at 3:42 pm

Parasolx,

Thanks for your valuable feedback. And wow! You mean you actually clocked 32km/l and it is not a fictitious number than Honda printed on its brochure to make it look more attractive?!

OK, so anything above 80km/h will drastically reduce the fuel efficiency from the nominal (maximal) 31.7km/l. Does that mean the cruising speed of 80km/h is the threshold where the car runs predominantly on electricity, and speeds above that will then require the fuel to "kick in" to provide that extra torque / boost?

• parasolx on Dec 19, 2009 at 6:26 am

Well actually, all is based on physics. There are two forces when a car is moving. Acceleration force (AF) and resistant force (RF). AF is produce from engine combustion while RF comes from air resistant, road and weight.

If AF > RF, fuel will use a lot, while AF < RF, car move slower. When AF = RF, fuel will used at optimum usage. To get this optimum threshold, HCH and any cars must run between 80 to 90 km/h depend on car's weight, type of tires, road condition and weather condition.

What I have been observed, optimum speed for HCH is between 80 – 85 km/h because it has large weight. While for other more light car, it can go up to 90km/h.

Don't be confuse, at optimum speed, HCH still using fuel but with a very small amount. Without fuel the car can't move forward. Special with HCH is it has a wide of VTC which affect a little bit gear ratio changing although the fuel pedal is press a quick lot. So you can control fuel usage for stable and efficient than other car.

• David on Dec 20, 2009 at 4:16 pm

Dear Parasolx,

Thanks for your technical explanation, which I really enjoy. I understand better when facts are put across rather than the "simply say" approach. Now that you tell me that 32km/l is actually achievable, I am more inclined to get the hybrid, as opposed to buying the 1.8 which consumes about 14.7km/l as stated in brochure.

In your explanation, what I still don't get is where and when does the battery kick in to replace fuel? I know City has CVT but it doesn't run 32km on 1 litre, so the battery of the hybrid has got to be helping with generating the torque (power). I believe at 80km/h, fuel intake is at its minimal because like you explained, AF=RF, and the battery is used to generate most of the torque (power). I am not a trained Honda engineer so I am just guessing based on my little engineering background.

One last question, my friend advised me NOT to buy hybrid because of its battery life, which he says is only about 3-5 yrs! Is that true? And I heard from the salesman the battery costs about RM12k, is that true? RM12k for 3-5 yrs is not economic. I am trying to go green here, but it must make good economic sense!

• parasolx on Dec 20, 2009 at 5:56 pm

Main objective on archieve high FC is to reduce the engine CC. Large CC with consume large fuel but produce large HP. In HCH, it has built the engine at maximum of 1.3L. Act, it is not a common 1.3L engine. It produce high HP compared to other 1.3L. I have try drive the car without battery power and it can reach 180km/h.

But, small CC engine have less power of acceleration plus big body size. CIVIC concept is it never being built underpower… thats the main reason, battery or IMA is integrating with the engine to supply addition power during acceleration. When IMA is activing, 1.3L is now same with 1.8L engine.

In easy say, the battery only kick in when computer detect HCH need more power to help 1.3L engine. But when you achieve optimum speed, the car only RUN on engine, will IMA turn mode into micro charging. So at this time, battery not helping engine.

Like i said, HCH engine is such a great engine. It has been built with a lot of new technology such CVT, i-DSI, i-VTEC and VCM (Variable Cylinder Management). At optimum speed, City run with engine 1.5L while HCH run with 1.3L. That's HCH hve high FC. And, HCH can be run using 1,2 or 4 cylinder while City maintain run using 4 cylinder everytime.

But, HCH still can run using battery solely at 40-45km/h. Why at this speed? Because it is the optimum speed for IMA and also not to damage the IMA. It is reasonable speed for traffic jamm.

About the battery, you search in internet the first produce of HCH was 10 years ago. Still today, the battery can function well without any problem. Actually, number state battery have shell life 3, 5 and 10 years is probably about the warranty not its actual shell life.

You can search also how the battery is make. It produce from metal-hydride which have a long shell life and not less than 10 years shell life. From information i get, when the battery is charging and using as normal, it will still remain same as long as it being used.

Meaning that, you need to make sure that HCH is function well, go for maintaining at the right time and drive using hybrid technique. If you keep drive HCH like normal car, it will reduce the engine and battery shell life.

• vinnie on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:08 am

Parasolx,

thankyou for the great details. I would like to know what are the driving skills required in order to maintain the battery shell life ?

• David on Dec 21, 2009 at 4:03 pm

Dear Parasolx

Thank you very much for your detailed explanation. I am now very clear about the hybrid. I may be a hybrid owner early next year!

• parasolx on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:09 am

No problem.. welcome to da club dude..

• izputra on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Hi parasolx,

HCH got cruise control or not? HCH brochure (from Honda Malaysia website) mention nothing about it but I noticed from the picture in the same brochure, got buttons at the right side of the steering wheel. Upon zooming in, i suppose it was a cruise control buttons (same cruise control button as Civic 2.0 if I'm not mistaken). From the same brochure also, got another button below the cruise control button..I wonder that button is for what function…

• parasolx on Jan 07, 2010 at 2:26 am

No. For this version HCH doesn't include cruise control. I don't know why. maybe to reduce the price. The first second gen also doesn't have. On the left side, what you can see is the player control. not cruise control.

but what i heard, in second phase for second gen HCH got cruise control and navigator. but still don't know the price would be same. i think it may go up for about 5 or 6K.

• Peter on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:28 am

good!