Mitsubishi Triton to get facelift in Malaysia soon

Mitsubishi Triton

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has put up a teaser image on its front page of what appears to be a facelift for the Mitsubishi Triton. There’s a new mesh front grille that looks like the one found on the Triton 3.2, and a new front bumper with smaller but sleeker foglamps.

This is clearly the facelifted Triton that has already been launched in Thailand, but in Malaysia we’ll get it sometime next week. Look after the jump for full unshrouded images of the Triton facelift from Thailand, but the Thai images show the Triton sporting a different grille from the one that the teaser image from MMM shows above.

Triton Facelift

UPDATE: Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia will be using the double chrome bar grille for the Triton Lite which you can see after the jump, while the normal Triton will be getting the mesh grille shown above.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=452]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• afkar on Aug 27, 2009 at 3:16 am

it keeps having nice interior and exterior..

• mockviper on Aug 27, 2009 at 3:17 am

i thought it was already been launched.

From mudah.com ad (triton lite)
    http://img2.mudah.my/images/76/7650630981.jpg
    -NEW FACELIFT BUMPER + PAINTED

-NEW STYLISH HEADLAMP

-NEW FRONT GRILLE

-LONGER CARGO BED

• budin on Aug 27, 2009 at 3:20 am

why dont the facelift look alike Mitsubishi Pajero Sport.., with projector headlamp…

more nice i think…

• akupunya on Aug 27, 2009 at 3:23 am

i prefer ranger…huhu

• also prefer ranger…hihi

• OrangSarawakModen on Aug 27, 2009 at 4:25 am

Noticed the numbers of "Lites" are increasing on the road (at least in my part of Sarawak..)

The images sure can instill more "prospective" buyers,

As for me….still at heart,a RANGERMAN…..

• apsal mcm sedih je? enjin kurang oomph kot?

• Lancermania on Aug 27, 2009 at 4:48 am

The bumper look nice 2 me..

• thatzit on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:23 am

Common, it's just the same model. They took out the previous parts and paste new one.

• nyawere on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:58 am

Nevermind the facelift, I hope they have incresed the specs. If only the Triton came with a 5 speed auto, then it would be perfect. If you have used a 5 speed auto on a common rail diesel engine, then you will never buya 4 speeder. The difference is soo significant. Dont understand why even the 160k++ Pajero Sports comes with a 4 speeeder. Almost everybodyelse in the same category is using a 5 speeder.

• c14man on Aug 27, 2009 at 7:50 am

LOL from macho face become sad face…

looks moody….

• facelifted forever on Aug 27, 2009 at 7:58 am

nowadays , facelif is a new trend for automotive industry…

facelift like MJ~~~yeah

• dulu aku tengok pun dah sedih, karang lagi sedih la mukanya.

• better no change, the previous ver. more good looking & sporty than this one~

• mohd hafizzul on Aug 27, 2009 at 3:32 pm

Kesian….sedih ke? ceria la sikit…wakakak.

• clement on Aug 27, 2009 at 3:57 pm

sad face…..

• littleboy on Aug 27, 2009 at 4:18 pm

i prefer Hi-Lux Vigo or D-Max….for stability on hi-speed….and off road abilities……Ha ha ha

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 27, 2009 at 4:26 pm

If only the Lite has a regular Titon's engine.

I would care less about the 4wd gear. Having it a 4×2 will increase drivability and economy…not to mention price.

• Give you a new shirt and charge an additional 2-3k. Should be RM95k-RM96k OTR for this.

• azrai on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:36 pm

The starship troopers get a new nose.

• dewataraya on Aug 27, 2009 at 7:05 pm

Looks like autobot face

• Wak Rempit on Aug 27, 2009 at 8:45 pm

I second to some comments above…. it does look like a sad puppy. Quite a contrary to Mazda's happy face isn't it… hehehe

• Jumbsuck on Aug 27, 2009 at 8:46 pm

Proton Arena lagi lah nampak sedih.. ;(

• Toyota Vigo still the best.

Mitsubishi Triton can wrap up and go back home.

• For me l rather prefer Navara SUT, powerful and spacious both interior and cargo bed, only one aspect not perfect: rear seat little straight unlike Triton, best seating position. BTW unless you're serious about offroad Triton is decent choice than "weak" engine underpowered yet overpriced Hilux.

• lowprofile on Aug 27, 2009 at 11:32 pm

4G63tDSM said,

August 27, 2009 @ 8:26 am

If only the Lite has a regular Titon’s engine.

I would care less about the 4wd gear. Having it a 4×2 will increase drivability and economy…not to mention price.

4G63tDSM,

I'm with you on this. They should spec up the lite and perhaps not call it lite. In Thailand, they have low-rider versions which are highly specced.

They can still have the lite but it should be for commercial use only whereas, the not-so-lite, lite will have greater appeal due to the lower price (i'm guessing) without the 4WD gear but with almost the same creature comforts as the 4WD version.

• J Hii on Aug 28, 2009 at 1:25 am

Why not turbo engine for Lite?

• The Watcher on Aug 28, 2009 at 2:55 pm

You guys' suggestion for Triton Lite to have Common Rail turbo intercooler is not bad. However, the product manager(s) of Mitsubishi Malaysia will give any reasons, which sometimes very unacceptable for not bringing in specific models (like low ride Triton in Thailand) some people want, though they are not majority.

• frankie on Aug 28, 2009 at 9:30 pm

i just bought the triton today because i found out that the cargo bay for the face lift version is too big for me. mine is dark blue in color. i dont see that color from their official website

• Well, I find it nice looking!!!

• Gobuk Taragang on Dec 18, 2009 at 5:47 pm

which one is better;

1. Isuzu D-Max

2. Mitsubishi Triton

3. Toyota Hilux Vigo

• peminat 4x4 on Dec 24, 2009 at 4:53 pm

triton model baru ni nampak cantik sikit sebab ekor dia dah straight… Tapi aku suka HILUX sebab lebih lasak. Kalau tak caya try pegi cameron highland bersepah hilux, triton takde…

• Gobuk Taragang on Jan 18, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Quantity does not reflects the quality or 'tahan lasak'. Come to Borneo (where a rough dan tough gravel road waiting you) compare these two machine and you will know the result.

• vw beetle on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Paul and Danny, the Mitsubishi Triton sold in Singapore will be priced from SGD63,988 to SGD90,988 (Approximately RM153,354.92 to RM218,063.66), this is more expensive than in Malaysia. Why compared to Mitsubishi Lancer, the Triton is cheaper in Malaysia but more expensive in Singapore?