Beijing Auto to buy rights for old Saab 9-5?

Old Saab 9-5

It looks like Beijing Auto has fast-tracked its plan to reap the benefits from its Koenigsegg/Saab investment. But of course knowing the mainland Chinese stuff like this were probably the plan all along.

BAIC is thinking about buying the tooling and design rights for the outgoing 9-5 sedan that has been just replaced and putting it back onto the market.

But of course the questions then would be what badge it would be sold under and which markets would it be available? The 9-5 is a premium car – parts and maintenance will not be cheap, so it has to stay as some sort of a ‘premium’ car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• If malaysian see Korean as competiotor, you will fail. They already as good as Japanese top auto maker toyota/honda. (Other small Japanese auto makers, nissan, mazuda, mitsubishi, suzuki…etc… are already ‘inferior’ than Hyundai/Kia)

Proton’s worry is a Chinese.

Chinese are comming!

“BYD has set its goal and intends to reach it. “It’s our company’s long-term target to be China’s No. 1 automaker by 2015 and to be the world’s leading car maker by 2025,” said Jasmine Huang, a senior marketing representative for BYD.”
    http://rumors.automobilemag.com/6558283/green/chi…

I 100% bet, Proton will crushed by Chinese.

Save this article in your CD-Rom media, and see my comment after 20 years.

• Chinese want Malaysia-China FTA, after that, ‘Made in China’ stuffs will dominate in Malaysia. Who buy a proton? Malysian will enjoy Chinese Geely who buy a Volvo technology.

• kimi_ on Oct 05, 2009 at 4:38 am

At that time, who in the hell in China will buy proton

• Whatever……Ill buy proton over chinese…..always, lotus tech

• ………….and i buy original nokia phone also

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:16 am

proton or chinese? i rather walk….

• even now, i'm tempted by the Eastar MPV, my next purchase, I will keep Chinese cars in the list as well…

• damn. i like saab.

• klguy on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:45 am

y proton is not rebadging lotus cars here and sell <100k?

• boleh! on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:56 am

last 20 years, no one cares about made in china….

but now, whole US is full of Made in china stuff.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:57 am

Yeah i agree wth Mazda 3 MPS. Buying one of those rubbish i prefer walking, even maybe crawling. Trust me BYD wont be the best auto manufacturer maybe until 2100. They are infact the best cheater by copying other people's design. the best chinese brand is still Chery and by a big margin.

• lowprofile on Oct 05, 2009 at 6:14 am

i thought we're supposed to be talking about the saab?

• ommph on Oct 05, 2009 at 7:18 am

the Chinese could buy the tooling and design, still the end product would be made of cheap and low quality materials thus the famous " Made in China" product.

• i will never buy china made vehicle again, i owned one before and it was absolutely terrible.

it was an LMG, fit and finish was non-existant, i had panel gaps like 1-2 cm between doors. engine was terrible, considering its old tech. and ride was painful, leaf spring.

i rather save some more money and buy a better car to reward myself rather than get a china made car and worry every single day.

imo, 2nd hand even better than new china car.

• mystvearn on Oct 05, 2009 at 12:03 pm

I am not sure who wants to buy a Saab. Don't care if Chinese want to bring it back to dead. Saab is not really a car people aim to buy

• azrai on Oct 05, 2009 at 3:52 pm

China main advantage is low cost and hing percentage of market (1.3 billion people). Anyway, we will see more cap ayam SAAB after a few years to come.

• lowprofile on Oct 05, 2009 at 4:29 pm

boleh! said,

October 4, 2009 @ 9:56 pm

last 20 years, no one cares about made in china….

but now, whole US is full of Made in china stuff.

not only in the US. even europe. just look at the souvenit items of the eiffel tower, the london bridge etc. all those stuff are made in china. for all i know, souvenir items of our very own twin towers and kl tower could be chinese made.

as for saab, well it is not to everyone's taste but after driving one, the perception of the person could change for the better. it is not a looker for sure to many but to those close to the brand, they're happy that stands out. for better or worse :)

• Andy Lee on Oct 05, 2009 at 7:13 pm

Well, I travel extensively to China and all I can say is that the typical Malaysian in Malaysia has yet to seen the better Chinese cars- hence the deep prejudices. I myself drive mainly the imported Lexus and Toyota while in China, but I can assure you that the Chinese-assembled Hondas, Toyotas, Cadillacs, Citroens, Madzas, etc are all fitted very nicely- much better than the Thai-assembled versions that we get back in Malaysia.

Moving away from the Chinese-assembled cars, the actual Chinese cars are also pretty good. It's strange that we are getting the out-dated versions of Chinese cars back in Malaysia- the ones here, even the Alado brand that we have selling in Malaysia, are all pretty well-fitted with current technology that would put Proton to shame really (although I am a great Proton supporter as my first car was an Iswara). There are basic and premium Chinese cars over here- and Malaysia seems to be only getting the really-basic versions thus far. Even my Chinese counterparts laugh at the versions that we are getting- it's their older models with older technologies.

Hence, many Malaysians are like the proverbial "katak di bawah tempurung" when it comes to Chinese cars- no thanks to the really-basic versions that we are selling back in Malaysia. In China, same-car-to-car-comparo, price per car is higher than in Malaysia and the Chinese are largely into premium cars for face value, so the make and finish is top notch here.

Cheers, Andy

• hi,

just giving an opinion,

why not this web give a space for forum to us…. so that we could talking more about car and everything about it…

there, some one can asking about his problem to public in a specific forum…

just want to know…

who know the rate of interest for local car? some one can help me?

• Brian on Oct 05, 2009 at 8:47 pm

I have spent adequate amount of time in China and am really impressed by their auto market. Proton cant sell in China because the performance and material used is inferior to their national car. In Malaysia, we are getting only a very small fraction of made in China car. The reality is they have a lot of better and up model. Dont be ignorant people.

• Sure Beijing Auto wanna buy rights for Saab?

No need la, China can CIPLAK it, without paying a single cents. They have been doing this without shame or remorse all these while….

• @Brian

"Proton cant sell in China because the performance and material used is inferior to their national car. "

That is the truly sad.

Proton established in 1983.

But, BYD established in 2003.

Geely established in 1986.

Chery established in 1997.

China auto makers are 'follower' of malaysia proton.

but, proton have no hope in China.

I think China auto maker wil dominate malaysia. Malaysia auto industry will crushed by China soon.

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 05, 2009 at 9:53 pm

No worries for Proton as Malaysians will always buy the national car.

1. It has Lotus ride and handling you know, no Chinese cars have it!

2. In 2011 it'll have a 1.6L turbocharged engine, developed by 70 engineers in the UK after 2 years!

3. Saab 9-5 will never be as prestigious as the time proven (already 10-20 years) Perdana V6.

Go Proton! Go 6 feet under.

• If i am a Malaysia Goverment, I follow 'thailand' model.

Malaysia auto industry is so protected.

Thailand have numerous Japanese auto makers factory. They export 'made in thai' Japanese cars to all of the world. Thailand auto parts industry deveoped as well.

Malaysia auto industry is so protected. So, proton can't survive in outside of malaysia.

someone says, korean are also protected like malaysia. But, fact is.. their car import tax is only 8%. Their auto parts import tax is only 8%. Their best selling no.1, no.2 foreign brand are Lexus and Honda.

Malaysia auto industry is so protected. if proton buy a auto parts from all of the world, then Malaysia auto industry will competitive as well.

• @P1_P2_Are_Shit

"No worries for Proton as Malaysians will always buy the national car."

Chinese are comming.

There is no enough time for proton.

Chinese cars will come to Malaysia with cheap price & good quality.

• Maybe the Chinese mistaken this for a Saab 39……….

• barca on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:21 pm

poooodah, i say, to chinese-made cars!

cheap they will be, quality they will not.

this is sad…..great marques like saab and volvo are going to the dogs. i should make it clear that the term "dogs" here refer to, what i expect to be, substandard and dodgy manufacturing practices only for the numbers and not for the enjoyment of potential owners.

• Tscks on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:32 pm

Brian said,

I have spent adequate amount of time in China and am really impressed by their auto market. Proton cant sell in China because the performance and material used is inferior to their national car. In Malaysia, we are getting only a very small fraction of made in China car. The reality is they have a lot of better and up model. Dont be ignorant people.

—————–

If that's the case then, Chinese sell quality cars locally and export junk to us.

Hey at least it's better than P1, we export better junks than junks sell at home! Oh..neverending suffering for us Malaysia.

• Casey Liew on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:58 pm

Hate the lights…… disgusting really Urghhh!!!! Even the Stavic looks better than that crap.

• Tiadaid on Oct 06, 2009 at 12:29 am

G said,

October 5, 2009 @ 1:57 pm

Malaysia auto industry is so protected. So, proton can’t survive in outside of malaysia.

someone says, korean are also protected like malaysia. But, fact is.. their car import tax is only 8%. Their auto parts import tax is only 8%. Their best selling no.1, no.2 foreign brand are Lexus and Honda.

—————————————————-

Koreans often buy Korean products, even if the product ain't as good as imported brands. Malaysians will NOT buy Malaysian products even if it's as good as foreign brand. Why don't we just close Proton, close Perodua, close all the industries in Malaysia and return to agriculture…

• @Tiadaid

"Koreans often buy Korean products, even if the product ain’t as good as imported brands."

lol. you are 100% downright silly.

You think all of Korean's sucess belong to "buy korean" only? lol. You are very mistake.

They were not made world class auto mobile. But, Now they made world class auto mobile. Unlike Malaysia 330% import tax, they are only 8% import tax.

——————-

In 2003, According to Consumer Reports, Hyundai’s reliability rankings tied Hondas.
    http://www.usatoday.com/money/autos/2003-03-11-cr…

In 2006 JD Power and associates quality ranking, overall the Hyundai brand ranked 3rd, just behind Porsche and Lexus, and beating long time rival Toyota.
    http://www.autospectator.com/cars/hyundai/0024213…

In 2006, Hyundai was awarded 'Top-rated 2006 Ideal Vehicle' by Autopacific, Marketing research and consultancy firm for the automobile industry.
    http://www.autopacific.com/index/news-app/story.3…

In 2007 Strategic Vision Total Quality Awards, Hyundai Motors leads the most vehicle segments in Strategic Vision’s Total Quality Index, measuring the ownership experience. They attempt to measure more than just the number of problems per vehicle. Hyundai tops in Strategic Vision Total Quality Awards. For the first time ever, Hyundai has risen to share the position of having the most models leading a segment. three models with the top Total Quality Index (TQI) score in their segments, including the Hyundai Azera, Entourage, Santa Fe.
    http://www.strategicvision.com/auto_tqa_winners.p…

The Hyundai Elantra is listed as EPA (United States Environmental Protection Agency) Picks Ten Most Fuel Efficient Vehicles. The Elantra ranked #2 in 2006 and 2007 in the category of most fuel efficient sedans, and also was ranked as the most efficient non-hybrid mid-sized sedan.
    http://marketplace.nwsource.com/nwc/autos/researc…

The Hyundai Genesis has dominated the latest test of upscale sedans by Consumer Reports, beating the Acura TL, Lincoln MKS, Nissan Maxima and Pontiac G8. At the same time, the Jaguar XF ranked near the bottom of a group of 12 luxury sedans that the consumer watchdog tested, it said.
    http://www.edmunds.com/insideline/do/News/article…

The Genesis has received a number of well-recognized automobile awards worldwide. Most notably, the Genesis has been named 2009 North American Car of the Year, the first for Hyundai.
    http://www.northamericancaroftheyear.org/2009.htm…

It also won the 2009 Canadian Car of the Year (Best New Luxury Car under $50,000).
    http://www.ajac.ca/files/ccoty/CCOTY_Category_EN….

The Hyundai's V8 Tau engine in the Genesis, which develops 375hp on premium fuel and 368hp on regular fuel, received 2009 Ward's 10 Best Engines award.
    http://wardsauto.com/reports/2009/tenbest/best_en…

Hyundai Accent Named Most Dependable Sub-Compact Car By J.D. Power and Associates
    http://www.reuters.com/article/pressRelease/idUS2…

The 2009 Elantra was the highest quality compact car by J.D. Power's quality study, beating out the segment-defining Toyota Prius, Honda Civic. The study measures 228 attributes, including the overall driving experience, engine and transmission, and a broad range of defect and design problems reported by vehicle owners.
    http://timestranscript.canadaeast.com/wheels/arti…

Look, this Kia Soul Crash test picture.

Even if Kia Soul is a small car, it archieved…

*Euro NCAP maximum five star safety rating.
    http://www.euroncap.com/results/kia/soul/360.aspx

*maximum five star safety rating by the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP).
    http://www.ancap.com.au/results/328/

*’Top Safety Pick’ from Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) in the US.
    http://www.theautochannel.com/news/2009/08/13/474…

• acerman on Oct 06, 2009 at 2:28 am

You sure have so much ample time googling all the facts… where do u work bro…

• Tiadaid on Oct 06, 2009 at 3:04 am

lmao said,

October 5, 2009 @ 4:58 pm

@Tiadaid

“Koreans often buy Korean products, even if the product ain’t as good as imported brands.”

You think all of Korean’s sucess belong to “buy korean” only? lol. You are very mistake.

—————————-

How do you think Korean cars improve? Because support by Koreans. We only know how to bash and give stupid idiotic comments…that's why!

• I said, there is no time for proton.

chinese are comming!!

Chinese cars will come to Malaysia with cheap price.

I'm not sure proton quality is up par than Chinese made cars.

Only 2~3 years are remain for proton.

• After Chinese comming…

Next times is India made cars are comming…

Did you hear tata motors?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tata_Motors

If proton enjoyed by goverment protection, and enjoyed by high import tax, there is no chance for them.

• seat-belt on Oct 06, 2009 at 3:29 am

Tiadaid said,

October 5, 2009 @ 7:04 pm

lmao said,

October 5, 2009 @ 4:58 pm

@Tiadaid

“Koreans often buy Korean products, even if the product ain’t as good as imported brands.”

You think all of Korean’s sucess belong to “buy korean” only? lol. You are very mistake.

—————————-

How do you think Korean cars improve? Because support by Koreans. We only know how to bash and give stupid idiotic comments…that’s why!

that is what i'm try to talk about in the previous paul post….the korean improve bcoz the korean ppl fully support their car industry even tough it is suck at initial..not like malaysians…."tahu bangkang sahaja…"

(maybe all the P1 bashers are pembangkang??)..hehe..

it is not wrong for us to judge P1 is good or not…but make sure it is LOGIC and acceptable.. as example like the Littlefire guy…even tough he is a P1 basher but mostly he give some logical reason why he hates it and sometimes he give some good opinion n ideas…it is acceptable. not just like the other basher..only know to said "p1 bodo" n so on…

• fredo on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:00 am

SO many communists in here!

• Rulered on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:12 am

When I was in Korea in the early nineties, I was so surprised to see almost 98% of the vehicles used were Korean , plus other of their local products such as handphones, TV and other electric and electronic gadgets not to mention their heavy machinaries such as cranes and ships. What I don't see is widespread use of imported items from basic items such as clothing, bags etc right up to the things I've mentioned (especially). Of course they have the population to support their own products, but I thought, hey if koreans can do it so can Malaysians. But then I realised something about Malaysian that will give a hard time not only to Proton or whatever other local products, we have colonised mentality and until we are out of it, even if Maldives were to export their cars, it would still be better than ours. Other than that I do hope politicians to stay out of the car industry just like certain people should stay away from Malaysian football.

• lol.

Unlike Malaysia 330% import tax(proton protected by goverment), Korea are only 8% import tax since early 1980s.

Unlike Malaysia state owned proton, Korean auto company were(are) not state owned company. They are fully independent personal owned company.

Unlike Malaysia, Korean auto company use foreign auto parts at initial. They assembled ford, after adopted mitsubishi, after create their own technology. (auto parts import were not protected like malaysia 330% import tax)

Unlike Malaysia, Korean engineers are well educated, brialliant, hard worker, and their aim's are high.

Anyway, I can not see bright future of proton. because, before Chinese build their auto industry, proton are "follower". But, after chinese are comming, proton are not "follower".

Maybe Proton will protected by malaysia,

'Chinese cheap auto vs. Malaysia Proton'

Now, begin. time to chiken games.

Which side offers more cheap car?

Which side can burn more money?

Whch side can survive till to end?

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:28 am

I hope that when Chinese cars come to Malaysia, along with cheap Indian, Korean and other automakers' car, then Proton will finally…

Rest…

In…

Peace…

Dong! (The Undertaker's Gong sound)

• kimi_ on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:56 am

Tiadaid said,

How do you think Korean cars improve? Because support by Koreans. We only know how to bash and give stupid idiotic comments…that’s why!

————————————————

Even the politicians like BN dump the PERDANA and opt for E-Class for

terengganu EXCO…..complain PERDANA like hell…

So, which people in HELL would dare to buy PERDANA for example….THINK please….

Maybe you are one of them which is diehard G and P1 supporter…..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:28 am

everytime i come back from england, i see the many proton's in front of KLIA….i really felt like crying….

• Even I'm in the GLC, I really hope Proton really RIP….

• Rulered on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:39 am

Proton will suffer once cars from China, India and more Koreans come in. But the one that will suffer most (at least in Malaysia), will be Japanese make.

• Me and my family will always support PROTON, the only true Malaysian Car Manufacturer.

• the recent why korean cars can get where they are today is because of one word. COMPETITION.

competition drives companies to constantly outpace each other, while the koreans have 8 percent import tax, the world is on the same field with them, this drives the korean to constantly improve themselves. of course the support they get from delivering on par products helps.

over here we have protection, this protection over the long term made our national car companies complacent. which is why proton is nowhere near hyundai or kia. and in the long term, support drops, and the cycle continues.

this "protection" also applies to somewhere else in our country as well. can you guess what it is?

• tikus (Member) on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:13 am

Tiadaid ,

U are so stupid lar!! Korean products improve so much in this years.LG and Samsung is going in to world market for sometime so do Korean car. If u thinks Korean support Korean goods only u r WRONG.

Korean goods get support from worldwide consumer not like proton only jagoh kampong bcoz of low price due to 330% G tax .Go to worldwide market finish mati katak. Next time use your brain to comment not yr ass to think.

• tikus (Member) on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:23 am

Tiadaid,

What is your job? I have no idea why your boss hire you after i read your comment.You are so STUPID !!!KATAK BAWAH JAMBAN.

• proton for first…never the last..

• dude said,

October 6, 2009 @ 1:33 am

proton for first…never the last..

—————————–

More like proton for first, never the second.