Kia VG Sedan Production Photos Leaked!

kia-vg-leak-1
Click for larger image

A larger Forte with softer lines to match its more stately demeanor can’t be a bad thing. And Kia agrees – here’s the new Kia VG.

kia-vg-leak-2
Click for larger image

That is just a codename. It’s official name is not known yet, but it’s large sedan that’s bigger than the Optima, with a wheelbase pegged at 2,845mm, which is shorter than the Hyundai Genesis’s 2,936mm but much longer than the Optima’s 2,700mm Euro D-segment wheelbase.

kia-vg-leak-3
Click for larger image

For now all we have are these pre-announcement leaked production photos, but Kia previously unveiled a concept version of this new large sedan to us as the Kia KND-5 Concept so you can check out the previous post covering that for some extra details.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ariff on Oct 18, 2009 at 4:25 am

somehow looks like Toyota Camry(Aurion)……

• Hemizan Bin Azman on Oct 18, 2009 at 4:27 am

Like TOYOTA CAMRY, I don't like korean cars

• I hate KIA.

No style.

Nuf Said.

• Maddy on Oct 18, 2009 at 4:38 am

Seems like proton persona with longer hood and tail. Hehehehe

• nabill on Oct 18, 2009 at 4:50 am

looks like so many other cars..abit here,abit there….such a mess….no identity

• StarGhazzer on Oct 18, 2009 at 4:52 am

Beautiful.

The side profile is reminiscent of the F01 7 series and some people may claim it to be a copycat (like how the Forte resembles US Civic), but there's no wrong in imitating a good design.

I'd still prefer the Kia emblem to be located in the middle of the Schryer grill rather than on top on the bonnet as to reduce the gaping-mouth look.

Korean designs are on par with the Japs now, just look at this K7 and also the upcoming Hyundai Sonata.

• kimi_ on Oct 18, 2009 at 5:13 am

The side looks like Lexus

• mitlanevo on Oct 18, 2009 at 5:14 am

i thought it was new toy otak kamri…

• Proton News on Oct 18, 2009 at 5:36 am

http://www.ancap.com.au/results/342/

How many Malaysian have been died due to this?

• tamaki on Oct 18, 2009 at 5:37 am

look promising, if price tag right tat would be good but as i know forte 2.0cc high spec gonna sell in malaysia about 9+k!! :P

• wow look resoundingly similar to a Toyota Camry form the side

• white on Oct 18, 2009 at 5:57 am

better than our so called national car POTONG!

• Nice… Just the front grill wee bit too large for me. If cheap i dun see de prob.

• KIA..value for money????

NOPE..nobody want to use KIA because it SUCK the OIL too MUCH!!!

• zaff1984 on Oct 18, 2009 at 7:22 am

i think i like it

• oricon666 on Oct 18, 2009 at 7:23 am

Careful ppl….

dun simple say Korean car no good….

Some ppl might get pissed off….

u touch Korean car, they touch you… (in a bad way)

• American_born_ah_ben on Oct 18, 2009 at 7:59 am

headlights surely look like BMW X1

• Gajen on Oct 18, 2009 at 8:14 am

copied from camry…kia/hyundai never had the word originality in their dictionary

• xzibit on Oct 18, 2009 at 8:15 am

nice design … plz dont condemn the car … give some credit to the design .. korean ppl can be proud of their car … v …..cn v b proud of our malaysian car ????…

• the kia emblem should be moved to the grille la. much nicer looking.

• timber on Oct 18, 2009 at 8:24 am

a lil bit of C class DNA in it? agree?

• Felix on Oct 18, 2009 at 8:30 am

There goes the copycat again. First it was the Accord, and now copying Camry.

Kia should get their own identity. Without an identity, Kia will always be a celup manufacturer.

• ago87 on Oct 18, 2009 at 8:50 am

for my own opinion lah,if in this world that nobody copies each other than there will be no space to improve…

• loyalKOREAN on Oct 18, 2009 at 8:52 am

to malaysian>DO NOT EVER GIVE ANY OF OUR PRODUCT a -VE CMMENT…..LEAVE UR -VE CMMENT TO UR PROTON…

• Elvis on Oct 18, 2009 at 9:07 am

Looks like Camry only more Korean….

• zaff1984 on Oct 18, 2009 at 9:12 am

honestly i dont really care if kia "copy". It a way of learning… it just look fantastic.

• chuakz on Oct 18, 2009 at 9:49 am

mix of toyota….saab at the grille….and a few other cars…=.=

• nice car, better than potong car ! good job kia, but look like camry

• ricaza (Member) on Oct 18, 2009 at 12:07 pm

oww my gosh..why the 'shape' of the tyres is same with camry?? it is round like the camry..owh no!!!!!

wakakakaka..

lol..

• im thinking that camry newfacelift in next couple years…just copy than nothing

• 4g63tdsm on Oct 18, 2009 at 4:02 pm

I'm quite dissapointed with the posters what keeps screaming copycat as if there is nothing better to comment, or more accurately know how to comment.

Sad case of undrexposure.

C'mon, copying design elements from something "popular" is nothing new. Everyone is guilty of it…even Toyota with its Lexus LS'. Frankly speaking I don't see much Camry in it.

I wonder what sort of price point will KIA position this. It seems that even with its own product range, there is very little room for it between the Sonata, Optima and the Azera and Genesis on the upper end. The Genesis itself isn't a terribly expensive car to start from.

• bmpower on Oct 18, 2009 at 4:16 pm

side profile copy BMW.

our proton is better coz their design mostly original.

• cmc80 on Oct 18, 2009 at 4:27 pm

Too many car shadow…

In my opinion…

korean car's designer no creative…

like kia forte… the front bumper looks weire…

If I have to make a choice between VG & Camry…

???????!

• carslover on Oct 18, 2009 at 4:51 pm

Huhhh , seems like Toyota Camry as well as wht you all look ;D But it looks nice , maybe we can buy this than buy a camry HAHA :D

• the korean is good in coying n pasting n develop a new car.. shame on Proton!!

• helmi on Oct 18, 2009 at 6:59 pm

For me, I dont like the front look, its look like the car has a big eye bed. Agreed the design is like Camry. But in the end the Korean will always be Korean. The price also must be Korean. If they try to put at par as the Japs, like i30, Elantra etc. you can see very rare on the road despite all the positive comments around the world.

• ricaza (Member) on Oct 18, 2009 at 7:16 pm

bmpower said,

October 18, 2009 @ 8:16 am

side profile copy BMW.

our proton is better coz their design mostly original.

hrmmmmmm..original???

how many design in proton is original??

even the new waja might be using the lancer body??

original ka spicy??

wakakaka..

• Elvis on Oct 18, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Well, frankly, i dont fancy Kia at all. Hyundai in other case getting much better in term of designing their cars. But then again, i may be having a change of heart. As long as Kia design getting better, good engine and parts afforable, i dont see why not to have second look. No doubt Toyota, Honda or any japanese cars are our preferred choice but Koreans are fast catching up too. For Proton or Perodua, the outcome is very obvious, come 2010 will be the judgement day. G will have to follow free trade rules or be left out or worse, G going backrupt is subsidise oil once oil price moving upward again. If i were you guys, i would not buy any new cars until 2010. VERY ATTRACTIVE PRICE AND MODELS OH! BUT OIL PRICE VERY EXPENSIVE ONE! If price of oil start to move pass USD100. This is the very reason Perodua is holding their launch of new MPV…

• rodimus on Oct 18, 2009 at 7:47 pm

Everytime I look at the Korean design, they r keep improving in every angle though many people still saying they r copying this n that. Can our P1 copy something which they always claim that is a good design? The fact is they r really improved!!!

• DirkTooth on Oct 18, 2009 at 8:03 pm

Its copy all over..

it isnt wrong 2 copy other successful designs..

but when the resemblance is 2 much..

its just shameful..

• Wolfsburg on Oct 18, 2009 at 8:11 pm

All Japanese car copy European so what's wrong with Korean copying them?

Many people are simply bias towards Korean and most of them are envious with their success… Don't forget that the whole world are looking at Korean car now so please be fair and look at how the Korean car progress… If you always look at the same thing that will be your loss so please wake up!

• informalaysia on Oct 18, 2009 at 10:24 pm

to me this car looks like it's inpired by toyota camry…

what a shame..

i thought KIA has stopped their copy-cat attitude and wanted to be more original nowadays but it seems like they're nothing different than china car-makers…

i am disappointed..

• if you dunno how design car dun talk bout how alike this car to the others think from another view..

• tokmoh on Oct 18, 2009 at 11:35 pm

Funny how most of u criticise like mad when got lecturers from local U found guilty of plagiarism…

And now just because Koreans 'plagiarise', you all endorse it like God?!?!

• Felix on Oct 19, 2009 at 1:05 am

Copying lacks originality

• ricaza (Member) on Oct 19, 2009 at 1:09 am

car design = academics

wooo..that's a new equations..

wakakaka..

lol..

• anonymous on Oct 19, 2009 at 1:45 am

As i've said in my previous comments about korean cars are that they always have design cues from other cars and its really worrying because they don't seem to have originality, someone gave me a detailed explanation about how kia probably had the idea first but isn't it only right if they did have the designs first then they should get it into production asap because doesnt issues like this only spoil their brand image?

• hyperX on Oct 19, 2009 at 2:57 am

dear Wolfsburg,

to be fair enough,korean cars really lacks quality/mechanical reliability compared to our beloved proton..Dont believe it????my 10years old waja auto(yes until now the 10years-old gearbox still in perfect condition) much better condition than my friends's Kia 2004(i dont what name is it,,all i know naza citra is based on it)……..oh by the way,,,countless of naza ria had to be full-overhauled(yes not just top overhauled) scattered around my living area in recent 2 years during several frequents visits to many ah-beng workshops…..I can say Im good at observing this FUNNY TREND(yes its funny when moron always bashing proton without any comparison with other brands)

PROTON much better than korean cars that for sure–not like many of you guys(which most of time just sitting in front of PC)

• zaff1984 on Oct 19, 2009 at 2:57 am

ricaza said,

hrmmmmmm..original???

original ka spicy??

wakakaka..

at least proton design the car by their own… how about perodua? i dont think so it have any original design… y many ppl hate proton?

I hate my 2003 iswara, but i dont hate proton mainly because i cant afford yet to change for a new car and I see proton im proving.

• reuben how on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:06 am

When I was in korea, even the cheap minicars like i10 and Elantra comes with ESP. (Electronic Stability Program or Vehicle stability system) Even though the technology comes from Europe and Japan originally, at least they have the brains and tenacity to benchmark advanced countries. Malaysian cars? The last thing i remembered they came up with an idea of designing some space to keep some prayer items in the dashboard. I feel sorry that Proton can be this stupid. They are lucky enough to have LG CNS as a technical partner to keep them from making more stupid cars

• ladygagap on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:08 am

dear Wolfsburg,

korean cars sucks

my 10years-old waja much better condition compare to my fren's Kia 2004(forget its model-naza citra is based on it)……in the recent 2 years i make frequent visits to many ah-beng workshops around my living area….so many naza citra are being full-overhauled(now got 2 units at the same time got same issue)…i couldnt see the same trend for proton manufactured above year 2000…this sows me 1 thing…Proton much better in-term of engine reliability

do wandering & see yourself this trend(rather than just sitting in front of your PC making rubbish comment such as loyalKOREAN)

• korekorea on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:16 am

BMW 5 photocopy !

• ladyGAGAP on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:16 am

dear Wolfsburg,

korean cars sucks

reuben how,

high-tech thign such "Electronic Stability Program" is realy reliable?how long it will functioning before screwed-up??

my 10years-old waja much better condition compare to my fren's Kia 2004(forget its model-naza citra is based on it)……in the recent 2 years i make frequent visits to many ah-beng workshops around my living area….so many naza citra are being full-overhauled(now got 2 units at the same time got same issue)…i couldnt see the same trend for proton manufactured above year 2000…this shows me 1 thing…Proton much better in-term of engine reliability

do pay some frequent visits to several workshops(should also record this precious data) around KL & see yourself this trend(rather than just sitting in front of your PC making rubbish comment)

• ladyGAGAP on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:19 am

dear Wolfsburg,

korean cars sucks

reuben how,

high-tech thign such “Electronic Stability Program” is realy reliable?how long it will functioning before screwed-up??

my 10years-old waja much better condition compare to my fren’s Kia 2004(forget its model-naza citra is based on it-looks like really old car with bad paint job & bad interior)……in the recent 2 years i make frequent visits to many ah-beng workshops around my living area….so many naza citra are being full-overhauled-YES the engine already brought down(now got 2 units at the same time got same issue)…i couldnt see the same trend for proton manufactured above year 2000…this shows me 1 thing…Proton much better in-term of engine reliability

do pay some frequent visits to several workshops(should also record this precious data) around KL & see yourself this trend(rather than just sitting in front of your PC making rubbish comment)

• dear Wolfsburg,

korean cars sucks

reuben how,

high-tech thign such “Electronic Stability Program” is realy reliable?how long it will functioning before screwed-up??

my 10years-old waja much better condition compare to my fren’s Kia 2004(forget its model-naza citra is based on it-looks like really old car with bad paint job & bad interior)……in the recent 2 years i make frequent visits to many ah-beng workshops around my living area….so many naza citra are being full-overhauled-YES the engine already brought down(now got 2 units at the same time got same issue)…i couldnt see the same trend for proton manufactured above year 2000…this shows me 1 thing…Proton much better in-term of engine reliability

to all stupid proton bashers,

• comarezzi on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:44 am

in will called Naza VeGan in Malaysia….

• ricaza (Member) on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:47 am

aff1984 said,

October 18, 2009 @ 6:57 pm

ricaza said,

hrmmmmmm..original???

original ka spicy??

wakakaka..

at least proton design the car by their own… how about perodua? i dont think so it have any original design… y many ppl hate proton?

I hate my 2003 iswara, but i dont hate proton mainly because i cant afford yet to change for a new car and I see proton im proving.

——————————–

1st thing, i don't hate PROTON, 2nd i know every perodua car is copycat @ rebadged, 3rd.. i do hate my 2001 iswara aeroback..

just i really don't understand why people are so bias to koreans..it's not that i love them..but imo car design is an abstract..we cannot said it is copycat.. and it is only in pictures..if it is on the real roads..maybe it looks so different..

for proton, i think most people don't hate proton..but they hate proton cars! 1st they are not really2 cheap if we compared the tech and safety features in proton cars with another car in same category..2nd quality,but they are some improvement lately..n many2 more..so people want a car that they can be proud of, they feel safe driving it, they feel comfortable.. with reasonably price! that's proton should do! and i really2 like if proton just redesign their old cars such as saga and waja to a new stage..but still keeping the identity so that it will have generations like honda, toyota n so on..not just by copying the lancer body for the waja like the old times.. that's all..

it's my own opinion..

• torque (Member) on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:57 am

From the side view, it does have the BMW's reminiscent to it not to mention the BMW trend of putting their badge on top the hood style but I can't really say that it's 100% copycat since design and craft in this 21st century are tend to be more universal. Overall, it does look neat and subtle…can't blame the Korean to follow the German recipe if the recipe tends to work…

• mitlanevo on Oct 19, 2009 at 4:45 am

some ppl very off topic…

• OpenMind on Oct 19, 2009 at 6:30 am

I dont think it is wrong in copying firstly. They already know the risk of being condemned if the car is too similar to another, and worst, they are taking risk of being legistratively responsible (if someone taking an action)…..BUT the reality is Sonata (with the peanut shape front light design) in the past was heavily labeled as an copy version of Merz in the early 2000. But, during that time, it was the best selling 2.0 car in Malaysia, winning against Toyota camry2.2, Nissan Cefiro and Honda Accord.

I personally like the outlook of this car, looks premium and impressive components (engine, transmission)…compare with camry especially….by the way, the number of camry being stolen or robbed is getting more serious.

FYI…I am driving a camry 2.4

• OpenMind on Oct 19, 2009 at 6:38 am

We can condemn as much as we like and it could be personally or individual opinion which is totally fine…otherwise it is kind of scary if everyone share the same preference…the more the choices the better it would be for us, imo.

for Kia, just visit the following, no matter, how much it has been condemned, the result is there as they started slightly later than proton but now is about 10 times more successful than proton (comparing the number of car sold in 2008)….

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automotive_industry

• kancilrider on Oct 19, 2009 at 7:02 am

Best of luck for those who bought Korean cars!!

Those who bought it are people with safety in mind.

Other features.. You can make our own mind

• lazyf on Oct 19, 2009 at 4:45 pm

nice car overall…

• You guys are so childish.

All in all, what is best is the car to run good.

Even so, Korean cars have been going at it lately. they should've given kudos.

• korean cars are getting better in terms of design nowadays…

keep it up…