Nissan USA doubles CVT transmission warranty

small_logo_nissan.jpgThis is some interesting news, but I think it sparks up even more questions about the reliability and longevity of CVT transmissions compared to conventional slushbox automatics. Nissan USA have decided to extend its CVT transmission warranty from the existing 5 years or 60,000 miles to a total of 10 years or 120,000 miles, whichever comes first. That’s effectively doubling the length of the warranty.

The best part is for those who have already had problems with their CVT transmission and incurred some costly repairs after their initial 5 years warranty period expired, Nissan will be reimbursing the repair money paid. They will even reimburse you if you have sold your CVT-equipped Nissan car but have paid money for CVT transmission repairs in the past! You do not need to do anything to have your warranty extended but if you have a claim to make, you must do so before 31 July 2010.

Of course this is only for Nissan USA customers. I’ve shot an email to Edaran Tan Chong Motor to find out exactly what their warranty coverage for their CVT transmission is. ETCM currently sells two models with CVT transmissions – the Murano and the Sylphy.

The Honda Jazz and the Honda City used to be available with CVT but not anymore. Another common car with a CVT here in Malaysia is the Mitsubishi Lancer. The Audi A4’s 1.8 litre TFSI and the Mercedes-Benz A-Class and B-Class engines are also mated to CVT transmissions.

READ: Full announcement on CVT warranty program by Nissan

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chanel on Nov 21, 2009 at 10:52 pm

so actually is CVT really reliable or otherwise??? though very good on torque distributing & save petrol but if it is problem prone & high repair cost, it not an good idea to have it….my city cvt was required to change CVTF every 40k km but service centre recommend every 20k km so i just play save…for Slyphy, ETCM recommend to change CVTF every 100k km, info from nissan mechanic….

• Srotong on Nov 21, 2009 at 11:47 pm

The first generation of CVT's especially by DAF and subsequently Volvo in the early 1980's were woefully unreliable. There has been much improvement in technology, electronics and metallurgy since then and the present day CVTs are made to exacting standards and are supposed to last the lifetime of the car – if not abused and regularly maintained.

I doubt that slushboxes can give the efficency, economy and smoothness of CVTs, although they are supposedly more robust and can handle power surges better. A new 'original' slushbox can be as expensive, if not more.

CVT's, I think would cater better for those who do not push their machines to the limit, who form a vast majority of car owners. I own a '04 Jazz, and so far after 78+kkm on the odometer, it's still as smooth & reliable as ever.

• gilakan_nissan? on Nov 21, 2009 at 11:55 pm

isn't the sentra also using it? i'm thinking bout buying 2 yrs old manual sentra.. so is it going to be costly if i need to repair it… dang..

• so proton, dare to double ur gearbox warranty?

• At last the trouble arise !!! Luckily in the 1st place i did not buy the CVT City. It uses belt shifting mechanism. These belts wears out fast enough before maintainance. No doubt, CVT helps in fuel consumption and driving refinement, but in the long run, problems are prior to repairment.

• Littlefire on Nov 22, 2009 at 2:47 am

If i not mistaken CVT gearbox is cheaper compare to conventional auto gearbox due to material use and the complexity.

The problem is that not many expert repairing CVT gearbox which make it expensive.

Here some lesson for those ppl which think CVT is new… Have been in this world since Da Vinci time…

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/gearbox/…

• keluangman on Nov 22, 2009 at 3:00 am

CVT cannot take aggressive driving style, typical malaysian driving style. That's why now no more CVT g/box from Honda after so many failures with the previous City, even if the owners follow the servicing schedule.

Just FYI the previous City CVT g/box cost RM30k…..

• Cooper (Member) on Nov 22, 2009 at 4:15 am

CVT gearbox can't overhaul whn having a problem, tht why it cost expensive…

• Master Mind on Nov 22, 2009 at 4:53 am

Gear box problem still the main problem for Nissan…Conclusion is the proton car now better than nissan?????non sense!!!

How can the world company status like NISSAN facing the gear box realibilty issue????

• fxxtheProton on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:13 am

Conclusion from Proton: " see..that's y we fall back to use old technology, use old gear box is better for our nation ppl car :) "

• extended warrenty. because they know things could be wrong, because cvt is delicate not robust. extended warrenty is to put confident to the buyers without really confident on the thing they sold if it fall into some aggresive nature of the driver.

anyway, cvt is good for light and moderate application i guess.

• Great I have a 2005 nissan maxima which if you read the blogs have MAJOR TRANSMISSION issues which Nissan refuses to amit that they have a faulty transmission.The cost to the consumer is fortune to fix. This will be the last Nissan I but it's ashame it's a nice car.

• compared to other automakers, i think nissan has the better cvt gearboxes.

if my memory serves me right, i believe cvt were used by nissan back in the 60s or 50s, which effectively gave them 40 years to study and improve on it.

for fuel efficieny, comfort and low end torque, you cant go wrong with a cvt.

just ask all modern cvt users, the accleration given by the car makes it feel different.

• Nissan in Malaysia is managed by outdated management that does not respond to market forces..so they will pray hard to get customer by doing nothings significant..

• This mean CVT is originally unreliable tranny.

• kenso on Nov 22, 2009 at 5:27 pm

I find it most puzzling that when a manufacturer extends a warranty, everyone seems to have the impression that it's due to problems. To me, if a component has problems, the solution would be to improve the manufacturing process, not giving out warranties (which costs more to the company in the long run since frequent component change is expected if that component is defective).

I must sound terribly silly because when I read an automaker extending their warranties, the impression I get is that they are very confident of their technology that (in the case of Nissan), they're confident the CVT will not give any problems within the first 10 years of its lifespan instead of the previous 5 years.

Of course if ETCM chooses not to adopt such a policy for Malaysia, we can probably deduce that the manufacturing process of Malaysia and the US is so different that the quality of the CVT here in Malaysia is inferior compared to the ones in US and therefore, prone to technical problems.

• The only covers USA consumers.

Malaysia?

• the japanese car sellers locally are riding on the brand…

we are getting the baseline version of models for the price of a supposedly luxury version.

And, probably because of such reason, they will eventually lose out to coming reliable competitors such as China and Koreans.

At the moment, I'm seeing success on the Kia Forte and perhaps some mix of Mazda 2 (due next March 2010). Chevrolet is coming in with their Cruze model as well and Hyundai will punch in more with their upgrade/facelifted models on the existing Accent/Elantras.

No more will it be just the usual Nissan, Toyota and Honda brands…

If they don't wish to sit and watch…so, be it.

I've already taken a liking to the latest korean cars…design and reliability wise.

Hoping they would do more.

• appetite4destruction on Nov 22, 2009 at 9:29 pm

agree with NEET… by d way i30 and forte look nice indeed..just waiting to test drive

• I didnt know Continuously Variable Transmission technology existed that long ago. When the second generation Honda City was launched in 2003, they boast their CVT feauture with 7 speed mode. That made me to convince my parents to buy the City over the Vios that uses conventional slushbox automatic due to the reason that it provides better fuel efficiency.

But now suffering from the vibration problem when accelerating from standstill even though the car follows the maintenance schedule constantly. The petrol $$$ saved is not even sufficient to replace the new gearbox which costs almost RM20k. Honda Malaysia should implement this CVT Transmission Warranty so as to make the consumers satisfied and continue to support Honda.

Btw, just saw the Naza Forte review in both the NST and STAR motoring. Looks like a good deal to grab cuz it's a 1.6 at the Vios-City price range (available in 2.0 also at RM90k+). Might even recommend my parents to sell the CVT City and get the Forte cuz initially was looking at the New City. But with its Naza badge and it is manufactured in Gurun, quality wise might be a let down compared to the ones imported from S.Korea. Naza after sales service also sucks.

• Warranty Void if you service your car outside…

• keluangman on Nov 22, 2009 at 11:59 pm

even scooters doesn't survive longer than kapcais due to this delicate and non-robust CVT technology. Those with CVT transmission, esp the new Lancer owner, pray hard that your cvt g/box will last longer than 3 yrs after all the aggresive and abusive Evo X wannabe driving. HAHA!

• CVT are for toys only lar

• Littlefire on Nov 23, 2009 at 3:36 am

I think is the lubricant quality and the maintenance of the CVT which a lot of people neglected.

CVT need special lube to maintain the gearbox and not normal auto ATF old.

If i not mistaken, normally CVT will need to change the oil every 20'000km as they are more sensitive. Dont follow the manual recommended as for 40-50'000km, they are given to those driving oversea which their weather is not the same as us.

I have encouter this problem since driving Proton Wira 1.6L, as a lot of Auto gearbox also kong. Following the service center advice… Luckily i change it annually and until over 10 years, still the same gearbox.

So please remember that if you service ur CVT gearbox but the right lube for CVT gearbox and not normal ATF and try to change it every 20'000km. U will regret it when it got problem…

• kancil_driver on Nov 23, 2009 at 4:48 am

I love the way CVT rides! My next car will definitely be CVT tranny.

• 112bz on Nov 24, 2009 at 7:51 pm

Nissan is taking these actions to demonstrate their confidence in the CVT technology and to show their commitment to stand behind their products.

It is important to use the correct CVT fluid that has been specifically designed for use in the CVT and should not be replaced with other transmission fluid. :)

• Blane Jones on May 19, 2010 at 8:05 pm

I wrote a letter several months ago and I recieved one phone call and when I tried to call back did not get an answer. It seems like none of the nissan transmissions are any good and I have an 05 maxima an it’s a lemon the trans went and shift lock when and the car is only 5 years old. But no one will call me to try to rectify the problem after 50,000 miles the trans just goes. Becareful people.