Entry level Scirocco gets 120 bhp 1.4 TSI engine

The UK market will get a new entry level Volkswagen Scirocco next year. It will be powered by a 120 bhp version of the 1.4-litre TSI engine which packs in 200 Nm of torque. Next step up is a 158 bhp/240 Nm version of the same engine while the just launched in Malaysia Scirocco GT comes with a 197 bhp/280 Nm 2.0-litre engine.

The entry level Scirocco comes with a six-speed manual gearbox. 0-100 km/h acceleration takes 9.7 seconds before reaching a 200 km/h top speed. Claimed average fuel consumption is 15.6 km/l.

The equipment list is still pretty good: a six-CD changer with iPod preparation, auto lights and wipers, 17-inch Donington alloys, ABS, ESP and six airbags are standard. Adaptive Chassis Control (ACC) is optional.

I have sampled this engine before in a Mk5 Golf with seven-speed DSG, and it performs much better than the modest figures suggest. No GTI style kick in the back acceleration, but there’s very little turbo lag, it pulls strongly from low rpm and is smooth and refined. In real world performance terms, it should have no problems matching 2.0-litre saloons.

It’s unlikely that this variant will make its way here, but here’s hoping that Volkswagen will bring in 158 bhp 1.4 TSI versions of the Mk6 Golf and Scirocco to lower the entry price of these very desirable cars.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jihad on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:19 pm

maybe this is the chance for us to own a Roc!!

• Wow…hoping they will be selling here in Bolehland !

• chyan on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:30 pm

I hope i get to own the 'roc too someday. :)

• mouse on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:40 pm

sweet stuff from VW again!

• yeah man, i would love to be able to get the mid level variant.

if it comes here, maybe the price is gonna be around 180k?

• pulge on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:01 am

Agree with you Paul! Wish I could own the Roc with 158bhp 1.4 TSI and tapau my fren's Putra Evo 3. hahha

Mk6 Golf with 158bhp 1.4 TSI is surely on my wishlist if it make its way here.

• 1.4 giving 200 nm. Must be turbo charged right but is it petrol of diesel.

• TURBOfans-VW FANS-An on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:32 am

good choice! the 1.4 high range sound good enuf!

• 20v_ke35 on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:45 am

give me the price!!!

• this 1.4 is turbo charge+supercharge..and petrol

• nice car = ) 200nm just the right amount for city driving. hehe.

cfa, its petrol. we cant use the diesel here… our diesel could kill even the most advance engines…(just a joke)

• Gajen on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:24 am

i wouldnt MIND…the entry level…gosh 120 hp and it takes 9.6 seconds only??? thats fast…!

This makes the 1 series very ridiculous…

• cfa said,

December 22, 2009 @ 4:13 pm

'1.4 giving 200 nm. Must be turbo charged right but is it petrol of diesel.'

1.4 TSI is a petrol engine. 120hp with turbo, 158hp with turbo and supercharger

Diesel is also available, but not here: 2.0TDI with 170hp, 350Nm, 222km/h and 5.3l/100km or 2.0TDI with 140hp, 320Nm, 207km/h and 5.1l/100km

• Mysticmind on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:44 am

Funny :)

when peoples get 1.4 with 120hp output.

plus 158hp somemore…

some of Malaysian ready to die defending a car they love that they think superbly built.

even that car had 0.66cc (or 660cc) with GREAT HP! = 51hp only hahahahaha!

well.. you know what car it is. ;)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:54 am

they should bring this here

• Cross Polo on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:18 am

Mysticmind said,

December 22, 2009 @ 5:44 pm

———————————

hahaha…….

• mystvearn on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:18 am

Nice car!. Better with smaller engine. No one cares about the engine cause its a Sirocco, and that what matters most.

• Tiadaid on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:00 am

Given the option of the Scirocco or the Golf, I'd pick the Golf. Not a big fan of the Scirocco's front and backside…

• klaka seram on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:32 am

Very sporty design, but too bad only 2-door.

• Never Change on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:45 am

Oi… my friends had tested the car… shit.. dammm fast. & very good pickup.

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:24 pm

pulge said,

December 22, 2009 @ 4:01 pm

Agree with you Paul! Wish I could own the Roc with 158bhp 1.4 TSI and tapau my fren’s Putra Evo 3. hahha

Hahaha….no chance in hell, unless the Evo3 engine is running on 3 cyc.

THis is good though, small displacement engines with force feeding making a come back. Just like in the late 80s minus the unreliability and emission problems. Almost all the sport coupes (short of honda) then had some sort of force fed "small" displacement engines.

• littlefire on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:28 pm

Mysticmind,

Dont laugh at others, how about someone superior 1.6L cps engine against this small little 1.4TSI engine by numbers & performance?

• lchan on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:01 pm

Scirocco is bautiful. Rubbish unethical pricing fom VWMalaysia with 35k premium over mk6 gti for no apparent reason. 158bhp will most probably be 200k range……ripoff!

• How about side-by-side with Fiat Bravo 1.4 T-jet ?

• littlefire on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:47 am

4G63tDSM,

I think the 2.0 Gti might can tapau evo. Have seen a youtube about golf gti againts evo7 or 8…

VW can win the evo due to the DSG box.. Damn.. (Both also stock)

• VGM did bring in some 1.4 TSI powered Jetta but did not sell at all. Even the Cross Touran brought in here was 1.4 TSI powered but responce was poor probably due to pricing.