3rd generation Ford Focus global car for Europe, North America and the rest of the world!

The Ford Focus has always been one of the best-handling C-segment cars I’ve ever driven. The biggest drawback it has for the Malaysian market is that it’s a little small on the inside, being an European product where their C-segment cars are a little smaller. Their Civic is a smaller hatch compared to the large 2,700mm wheelbase version we get here.

And here it is, the latest edition of the Focus. Ford pegs it as all-new, and technically it should be considering that the 2nd generation Focus has already been facelifted. So this is basically the third generation and for the first time the Focus is a world car instead of being two different products for North America and the rest of the world. I had a go at the North American product earlier this week and I can understand why American journos have been calling for Ford to bring the Euro Focus across the ocean. Well, they don’t have to do that anymore – they are going to get this new global Focus as well.

The design is far edgier compared to the outgoing Focus. Ford attempted to add some Kinetic Design elements to the current Focus when it got facelifted but because there’s just so much you can change during a facelift, the end result was not as ‘kinetic’ as say, the new Fiesta or the new Ford Kuga. With this new body, Ford has pulled out all the stops with their Kinetic Design – check out details like the ‘zorro Z’ design at the front wheel arch. The ducktail on the sedan’s boot is also pretty prominent. Some might feel it’s perhaps a little too overdone, especially the details of the front bumper. They look like they belong on an aggressive model like an ST or an RS, but these are just your regular Focus models. But this could also be a good thing for some customers – no mods needed.

Wheelbase has unchanged, though the new Focus is a little longer mostly due to pedestrian safety requirements. This means the overhangs are longer. What this will mean is that the interior space is probably largely unchanged over the 2nd generation. Ford says based on their market research this is a good balance between size and fuel economy but to me, for a world car there definitely will be markets where a larger vehicle will be called for. After all, that is why Honda split the CIvic in two. In these markets, certain buyers will look to other vehicles no matter how good the Focus looks simply because of interior space. The new 3rd generation Focus also differentiates between the sedan and the hatchback variant more than the 2nd generation did. The vertical tail lamps are gone on the hatchback in favor of wider rear glass but the tail lamps remain mounted high-ish.

Changes to the platform between the 2nd generation and the 3rd generation mostly covers the way the suspension subframes are mounted. There has been some changes which are primarily driven by the desire to increase the level of NVH damping of the Focus. Thus you can expect the new Ford Focus to feel a little more refined than the outgoing one. Techniques such as the use of sashed doors, dual plane sealing, more aerodynamic wing mirrors and windshield wipers are used. Ford says the new Focus Global C platform shares only about one third with the new Mazda 3, while the rest are exclusively Ford.

Ford wanted the new Focus to be more refined and more quiet, as quiet is one of the factors that we take into account when our brains process the feel of ‘quality’. Quietness is also a big thing for what Ford defines as the new Ford flavor these days – they are investing alot into ways they can make their cars more silent, as I will show you in an upcoming post.

The Detroit showcar features a new 2.0 litre DI Ti-VCT engine. Those acronyms basically mean the engine has direct injection and dual variable valve timing, both on intake and exhaust. This new engine makes up to 20 horses more power than the current Mazda-based Duratec 20, while consuming 10% less fuel. The 4-speed auto has also been replaced by a new 6-speed Powershift dual clutch transmission. Apparently there is also an active grille shutter system, which shuts off some of the air intakes to improve aerodynamics whenever the extra cooling is not needed.

The new Focus will also debut an EPAS system for the first time. EPAS is basically an electric power steering. Alot of other manufacturers have started using EPAS systems in their cars but most people say an electric power steering is more ‘dead’ and unnatural compared to a regular hydraulic one. But Ford believes that a properly tuned EPAS can actually improve steering precision and feel over a hydraulic one.

According to Ford, there are over 250 parameters and settings in an EPAS that has to be finetuned in detail to achieve a good feel. As the 2nd gen Focus was a great drive, I hope Ford got all the variables right! There’s also a Dynamic Cornering Control system which counteracts slip on the inner wheel during a corner to improve cornering performance and turn-in.

Also new is the MyFord system, which is basically like iDrive. You use a phone-style 5-way button on your steering wheel to control the user interface. MyFord is built on Microsoft Windows Auto. Quite a few companies are basing their new in-car systems on Windows Auto, such as Fiat’s Blue&Me and the new system from Kia. There’s also voice commands, so you can say Call Muthu for the phone to call up Muthu in your phonebook. MyFord is the sibling to the touch operation-based MyFord Touch and MyLincoln Touch showcased at the CES end of last year.

This is one of 10 cars that will spawn from this new “Global C platform”, as Ford calls it. The first was the new C-MAX and Grand C-MAX MPVs which we saw at Frankfurt last year. Ford plans to put the this new third generation global Ford Focus into production for Europe and North America late this year, with a showroom debut in early 2011. It will be quite some time before it hits Malaysia (only early 2012 optimistically), but let me let you in on a secret – we’ll see an interesting new variant of the 2nd gen Focus here soon. This additional variant to the current generation Focus will feature diesel power!

Look after the jump for more shots of the new Focus.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=726]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pumpkin on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:06 pm

wow…

• DEUTSCHLAND BOLEH on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:11 pm

Err.. I'll have the Golf. Thank you very much.

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:11 pm

WoW

• GOOD!!! look cool…

• Nice car! When this car wil bring in here?

• alamak! Not 1st! T_T

It looks sporty!

• It is good to know that Ford is improving to compete in a more competitive environment. =)

• Han!h on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:25 pm

WoWW!!!

• klguy on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:32 pm

hope when it comes here the price is still within the current focus range. else sure susah want to sel.

• wsX (Member) on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:34 pm

a new variant of focus 2.5 here? 6-speed tdci perhaps. .

• azrai on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:37 pm

Nice looking car. if only it is price competitively here in Malaysia, sure will be ahit like previously Ford Laser and Mazda 323 in the 80's.

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Mar 30, 2010 at 7:46 pm

only can dream about the price since well..u know the tax system plays…

(back then during 80's it wasn't like this)

• peYno F**K on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:40 pm

focus always be a competitive car.no matter what.it is one of the best car in its class.pity many malaysian are not appreciate this car.i'll go over this car than golf mk6.it's the best choice i reckon

• Coolguru on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:43 pm

ANd we just have the 2nd gen launched not long ago in Msia. Given the styling, all-new, etc… I doubt the 2nd gen would fly.

Hence, unlikely we see the 3rd gen comes in anytime in 2011. Maybe 2012 if the big tsunami didn't hit our shore like the movie 2012 predicted… :D

• dejavu on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Nice. Hopefully they bring in 1.8 n price it competitively against Altis&Civic

• bis apple on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Msian has this "love" for Ford cars. If only

someone can bring in these beauties at sub 80-90K prices

then i see a great following for the Ford branding in Msia.

• Mohd Nazri on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:56 pm

look like korean car

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 11, 2010 at 10:15 pm

The rear light cluster shape is one of the most complicated I've ever seen!

• TheophilusChin on Jan 11, 2010 at 10:16 pm

A bit over done here and there.

• trav_da_man on Jan 11, 2010 at 10:17 pm

I have to say, it looks impressive. If the 2.0 with powershift is priced at less than120k, i bet its a sure winner!

• abang haji on Jan 11, 2010 at 10:25 pm

The dashboard looks busy….

• delicious both sedan and hatch… :((~~~

• Jaw dropping design!

• austin_cipan on Jan 11, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Why call Muthu?

• Very Nice. When will be the launching of these focus into our shores???

• beautiful car indeed… I will choose this one or mazda 3 for sure… the only problem is.. Malaysia Ford is kind of slow in bringing a new car in.. Mondeo has been in the market for years and we only get to hold to it recently, fiesta is already on the road everywhere and we haven't seen any in our road, c max, and other model seems far from our reaching….

• jules (Member) on Jan 11, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Finally. The sedan version has a nice behind.

• nighttrain on Jan 11, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Paul! What's the weather like in Detroit? Is it like SEMA with the babes? Yeslah, babepics please…

• madpc on Jan 11, 2010 at 11:31 pm

It's a fact that EPAS/EPS feeling is dull compared to HPS. If I'm not mistaken, current Focus are using EPHS (hyraulic+electric) supplied by TRW. That is why the steering effort is absolutely smooth. For me, EPHS is comparabe to EPS. It's also tuneable, low fuel consumption & cheaper than EPAS.

But EPAS technology is still expensive to be consider by low volume OEM. But at least in future we hope Proton will introduce EPHS to replace their old HPS.

It's nice to drive car with variable steering ratio so that less effort at parking mode while heavier at higher vehicle speed.

• heard the diesel focus will here soon…

• mitlanevo on Jan 11, 2010 at 11:47 pm

as good as always :-)

• nice, look forward to seeing it here. although by then, i probably won't be in the country anymore…oh well.

nice design, seriously. the rear lamps are quite unlike anything i've ever seen in a car.

• frossonice on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:05 am

Ford European design are always a little bit weird, in a good way.

• shawal on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:08 am

it looks bloody friggin awesome!!!!!!…..I genuinely really really really really want 1!

• tokmoh on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:14 am

Coolguru : The 2nd gen has been ard since 2005, facelift was recent but nt that long after d facelift got sold elsewhere outside msia.

Danny Tan : The rear lights for saloon version looks a bit like rear lights of Ford Galaxy MPV n new Hyundai Sonata mixed n match. The results to me is SMEXYYYYY!!!

Oh yeah, this looks very good indeed, though I wish it could've been more truer to its concept!! :D

• mohsin on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:17 am

Is it Ford or Renault Laguna or Samsung SM5?

• Jaybond on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:23 am

Very nice looking car! Way better than Civics & Corolla.If you want it to have competitive price, it's got to be localization. Pity that AMI has closed its factory…

• Redwings on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:28 am

wow…6-speed Powershift dual clutch transmission. This is good to beat those other c-segment cars…civic, altis, mazda3, lancer, 308..

Heard fiesta is coming to shore soon.. and when the new generation focus will be coming?…but please keep this 6-speed powershift dual clutch transmission…

• perkasa on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:33 am

nice car..5* for the interior..

rear lamp like volvo cars..hmmm..

• Alan Mulally on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:33 am

Ford Motor Co. says it improved the redesigned Focus compact with safety and fuel-saving features like those found on Porsche SE sports coupes. Now the automaker must persuade consumers to pay more for a small car.

• shawal on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:44 am

where shud u spend… on the focus or the Alfa Giuletta…?

• mytouch on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:45 am

Wow,awesome car!! Good job Ford!!

• mystvearn on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:48 am

Malaysia can have 80-90k prices. It will be called, Naza Focus :P

• DEUTSCHLAND BOLEH on Jan 12, 2010 at 1:18 am

I hope the price and the specifications is very competitive. For now, the 308 is still very much affordable.

• wow……..hhaha

• mynuszero on Jan 12, 2010 at 1:34 am

waiting for some1 to say it looks like Toyota :)

• _xXx_ on Jan 12, 2010 at 1:36 am

oh yeah, middle finger pointing tail lamps…coolz

• xatomic on Jan 12, 2010 at 1:40 am

The sedan looks like a hatch..anyway still looks better and more modern compared to current one

m sure it gonna perform and remain the undisputed best handler in the C segment… too bad i already got the mazda3 …consideration for those who only think of toyota and honda (or even nissan)

• The cockpit is soo kickass!

• mr.ratherbeshotthanb on Jan 12, 2010 at 2:51 am

they definitely got this one right.FINALLY

• l3ryan on Jan 12, 2010 at 2:53 am

I HOPE, that the price will be competitive in msia.

European cars will always be the victim or over-taxed and over-blown price unless they are locally assembled.

• PUG LION-PUG LION-PU on Jan 12, 2010 at 3:04 am

We urgently need a model like design flood our road !!!!

I dun mind that's a NAZA Focus soon!!!

bcos, until now, most of us are still paying expensive price for H & T, kind of 'uniform' on the road~~

• Lancermania on Jan 12, 2010 at 3:08 am

all look so good except d front bumper….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 12, 2010 at 3:40 am

very nice car

• Not much headroom for rear passenger.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 12, 2010 at 4:11 am

Nice….now where is the estate?

• looks like kia ceed :)

• if sime darby is da dealer…i doubt it'll be cheap as sime darby is kinda "good" in pricing. hyundai i30 2.0 is about 110k, this 1? 120k?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 12, 2010 at 4:54 am

much better than proton waja

• Victor on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:03 am

by the time i complete my honda city 7 years instalment, i'll consider a few reputable brand. Saab/ Ford/ Honda/ Mazda. 2.0 litres entry.

• Mazda 3 MPS said,

January 11, 2010 @ 8:54 pm

—————————

Much? Try light-years ahead. But then, you are 'trolling', right?

• Very sporty front. Weird tail. Interior cluttered.

• whatever on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:48 am

FORD is always the best……..

• khimfoh on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:58 am

From the side profile, it the sedan version looks like a mini Ford Mondeo and the hatchback looks like a grown up Fiesta. Overall the 3rd generation Focus looks absolutely stunning.

• shoon1983 on Jan 12, 2010 at 9:30 am

overall nice. like the sedan. somehow feel the sedan's rear similar to some renault

• front part looks like korean car

• amirad on Jan 12, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Great. Another practical driver's car.

• amiran on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Another design that goes hairwire, this time inside out! Cost cutting has taken its toll.

Marrying Uncle Sams taste (and its Great Wall counterpart) with rest of the world won't work!

Or should I suggest that they just make LHD cars for the world.. this should greatly reduce their car-making cost!

• Annoy-nimal on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Interior looks messy as opposed to clean flowing designs of other european big brands. I like the CR-Z interior better though. Seems like Ford people were trying too hard to give it an aggressive look.. like a fighter jet cockpit so to speak. But it kinda match the exterior… Love it!

• odi862 on Jan 12, 2010 at 10:54 pm

With the right pricing, this sure will sell well. Just like Kia and Hyundai, at first many are skepticism due to the depreciation, high fuel consumption, quality problems and they are 'Korean' cars but now they beginning to gain more footing in Malaysian market. This is mainly due to the improvement in their technology and image besides the lower pricing might be the man reason. For Ford, it has the fan and probably a new ones if they take some measures to boost their sales figure here.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 12, 2010 at 11:17 pm

Ian said,

January 11, 2010 @ 10:14 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

January 11, 2010 @ 8:54 pm

—————————

Much? Try light-years ahead. But then, you are ‘trolling’, right?

————

trolling?

• marvel on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:20 am

Awesome awesome… i am going to get this as my second focus!

• Abzaja on Jan 13, 2010 at 8:55 am

nice interior…macam bat mobile, but rear exterior not my cup of tea laa

• interior looks bad… to crowded… make it simple as what the exterior looks like….

• DEUTSCHLAND BOLEH said,

January 11, 2010 @ 5:18 pm

I hope the price and the specifications is very competitive. For now, the 308 is still very much affordable.

—————————————————————-

I tot u want the GOLF ??!! 2 head snake….

• 1kereta on Jun 27, 2010 at 5:00 pm

petrol price going up…. pls bring in the hybrid model..or full EV…

• Went to Ford SDAC yesterday. they say that the launch date for the new focus will be around August. the new fiesta with a 1.6L Turbo will be launched at the same time too!

• Desmond on Feb 17, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Waiting for 3rd generation :)