Some info on upcoming May 1st fuel pricing system unveiled, but much more details needed!

Fuel Wallet GaugeGood news for those in East Malaysia – the way you buy your fuel and how much you pay for it will likely remain the same after the 1st of May 2010, while West Malaysians will have to adapt to a new and likely more expensive price structure.

According to Domestic Trade and Co-operatives and Consumerism Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob in an interview with The Star, there are many people who have to use 4WD vehicles with large engines in East Malaysia because of the terrain so the new fuel pricing mechanism will only come into place later.

From the interview, the matter of factoring in engine capacity in subsidy entitlement considerations sounds like a done deal, with the only thing left to be decided is what is the threshold of engine capacity before you go up a ‘price bracket’. The Minister also revealed that each person who owns a car will only get a subsidy (both in terms of price and litre quantity sense) for one car only, so if you are a parent and have a few cars in your household under your name for each of your kids you may want to start transferring the ownership to the actual user of the car.

Interestingly, the Minister also revealed that the government has no plans to touch the diesel subsidy for the moment. But he did say that the ‘market price’ for our Euro 2M diesel right now is RM2.09 per litre. If you’re shopping in the premium executive car segment, it might be a good idea to go for either the 320d, the 520d and the 730Ld now depending on how deep your pockets are.

For the rest of us who can only afford (relatively) everyday joe cars, there’s a new Ford Focus TDCi coming very soon so that might be a good idea as well.

Read the full interview: Still in dark over system

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• G Spotter on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:42 pm

so..more tourist will visit East of malaysia..bravo

• mitlanevo on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:44 pm

gotta convert my evo to diesel later, haha

• rickyll on Jan 19, 2010 at 3:58 pm

Judging from the past experience, I don't think the G is going to come out with a fool proof and fair system. Pity those in the middle income group, they will be hardest hit. Using Mycard is one thing, whether the Mycard could be read is another. I had encountered so many problems whenever I used my Mycard for transactions or others. Thinking of going to change a new Mycard.

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:02 pm

Why so secretive? This is not helping the auto market one bit. Everyone is going to play wait and see how this pricing issue will pan out.

So it looks like I have to siphon petrol from one car to the next since I have 2 cars registered under my name…..LOL.

I wonder what is stopping me from pumping into a jerry can…like what I do on trackdays…..

• donno on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:04 pm

how if i have 2 cars, 1 for my parent, and i cant transfer the name as both loans under my name? Then it would burden a family that needs to go to 2 different places at the same time…. This is rediculus!

• R we look stupid? on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Sure or not?

To all petrol and diesel user, this is just a trick to make us short term happy. Lets see what happen in the future.

Sure toll or other stuff will increase to cover up for this…

We are not stupid!

• R we look stupid? on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:17 pm

To droll,

Haha… good one… good sharing…

Malaysian starts moving out and migrating to overseas. Overseas investors do complain as well.

Too bad, our boss still dreaming!

• Sistem Of A Down on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:27 pm

F*** THE SYSTEM! tak habis2 menyusahkan rakyat….

• for me is simple..abolish the tax on cars..implement unsubsidize fuel for middle class and above..

• There goes my plan to get a diesel Ute, since the diesel price is still "undecided". Yeah, I m in the middle lower income…… :(

• The good news is, if it is true, "there’s a new Ford Focus TDCi coming very soon so that might be a good idea as well." Muahahahaa

• adijb on Jan 19, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Oh, dear. I still have 2 and a half years to go on my kancil loan which is used by my wife. The government is being overly restrictive it seems. Hope they release the detail information soon and not wait until the very last day.

• rexis on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:05 pm

How many billions of ringgit will be saved by cutting subsidy to foreigners?

– – – – – –

Come on people, this is just a huge smoke screen behind a huge price hike, gov is planning for fuel tax.

Remember the RON95/97 gimmick, we all end up paying more, without much complaints because most people have no idea what is RON95, including ministers.

Remember all those gimmick about penalizing the rich blah blah blah, they are all imaginary. The rakyat is the one who suffered.

Think about that, our boss like to yell 1Msia 1World, while always separating them into classes, really 1bullshit.

• Kelvin on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Give us Euro 4 fuel at unsubsidised prices, i don't mind. At the same time, abolish the stupid AP system and high import and excise duty on cars. Spend the billions saved from fuel subsidy on the exisitng pathetic public trasnport system!

And, i don't mind you REALLY implement this GRADUALLY. Thanks!

• So basiclly what it means is…" Too bad we cant do anything about the bad roads that keep sinking, u have to live with it.. all we can do is help you with the fuel subsidy".

• m'sian on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:20 pm

East Malaysia and West Malaysia got different scheme….1 malaysia concept not applicable?

• keretakura on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Current G with his stupid policy … will wait & see

• As usual, announcement policy FIRST, THEN only start thinking about the way to implement it, and consult those involved.

You can't expect some people to pay market price for fuel, hi road tax AND world's highest car price at the same time!

• Guys…another round at the ballot box and show them who's the BOSS!

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Esky said,

January 19, 2010 @ 9:25 am

You can’t expect some people to pay market price for fuel, hi road tax AND world’s highest car price at the same time!

Some people? make that the most of us…lol..

Can't transfer ownership leh..my daughter not even 1 years old..lol. But I'm sure some creative people would find a way….after all, they can still vote when they are dead. I'm sure we can transfer ownership to the deceased.

Ok, thats morbid….oh well….

• Proton Bashers Unite on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:52 pm

stupid government

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:54 pm

"For the rest of us who can only afford everyday joe cars, there’s a new Ford Focus TDCi coming very soon so that might be a good idea as well."

Oh and I don't think a new Ford Focus TDCi qualifies as an everyday joe car….since everyday joe can only afford a Perodua or Proton….

• kemosabe on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:04 pm

This is what will happen when the government/law makers does business with the citizens.

The citizens will always be on the losing side.

Subsidy may seem to lessen the burden of the citizens, but to a small group of people, its guaranteed profits. Profits that belongs to the people in the first place.

• mkhee on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:07 pm

F***ing G is suckering the rakyat with this stupid policy to fund Petronas' involvement in F1 which probably costs hundreds of millions per year! It was just an excuse that they wanted to plug leakages by not allowing foreigners to pump subsidised petrol. Have they done any study to actually show the % of foreigners pumping our petrol vs our own rakyat? My estimate would be less than 5% which can always be recovered if Petronas does not sponsor the Mercedes F1 team.

• mkhee on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:11 pm

by setting up a system to read the Mykad requires huge amount of capital. Guess who will benefit from those? Gives the cronies chance to make money there. The cost of the system is probably being inflated a few hundred % to benefit the few ppl at the expenses of the general public. BN boleh!!

• chun (Member) on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:12 pm

I assume this Focus TDCI you are talking about is the brand new Focus that was just unveiled in Detroit? If so, I can't wait!

• justice (Member) on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:16 pm

y bother with the subsidy system and y must the proposal be so complicated? 1 subsidy for 1 car.seriously, isn't the subsidy meant for own rakyat's benefit doesn't matter how many cars he or she own? this is sorta like a tax for owning more than 1 car per person already.

do off with the motorsport program. focus more onto the benefit of rakyat, not rake in the benefits of rakyat.

i'm beginning to feel a lot of burden with my measely <2k salary = no savings. i work to pay off debts and hardly for entertainment, much to say having the extra cash to afford entertainment. soon bicycles are to have road taxes as well.

• _xXx_ on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:19 pm

don't u guys sick of news like this? xhabis2

• those that came up with this idea r really stupid buggers..reduce car price n let the fuel be unsubsidise…i wonder if they implement this who will oversee it…or will it be another stupid project by the current G.

• D700S on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Guys and gals,

There is no point whining about this. The only thing we can do is either :

1. Suck it up and let our 'system' digest (as per usual, with all the 'purging' effect like what I've seen on this board)

2. Show our dissastisfaction (raise awareness by flooding our local dailies with our unhappiness, sign online petitions, blogging, facebooking which will lead to resentment and hopefully a new G)

3. Change our lifestyle (stay home, change jobs, work from home, work harder, work smarter)

4. Boycott ! Take public transportation instead

5. Leave the damn friggin' country :)

• suck to death by big on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:43 pm

To the moron ministers up there, just sell petrol and cars at market price. Done!!!! The G are sucking everything – high petrol price, high car price and high road tax!!!!!

Later and very soon electricity tariffs and toll rates will increase. Then other things will follow. Inflation is coming soon. Next year (after June) no import on second hand parts. Wait till you all see the effects.

It is true, I really got sick of news like this. Memang tak habis-habis.

• mkhee on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:44 pm

yes, sickening and frustrating reading all these news everyday. How do you feel when all ur hard earned money is being used to pay Michael Schumacher's salary?

• Prolife on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:45 pm

There goes the One Malaysia Concept!! East Malaysia vs West Malaysia price.

Why they can't just implement that all the foreigners will have to pay the unsubsidized petrol and that just it. Simple and minimum cost. SG charges cars that go into their land, why can't we do the same thing?

The G is actually using more money to create a complicated and costly system which benefits non of the people but G.

Don't use a Nuke to make a small hole.

• alpha999 on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Aiya……how to transfer ownership if young parents have kids who just starting crawling.

What about young couples who just married but without kids and to be eligible for this subsidy are limited to own just 2 vehicles ??

• Another flip-flop scheme by the flip-flop G, run by flip-flop G servants.

I think Flip-Flop Malaysia is more fitting than 1Malaysia.

I tired to comment or to offer suggestions. Bashing is better. hahahahaha!

• wochomi on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:53 pm

I don't understand why you people complaint bout our new fuel system. This is progress lah… make our nation more canggih. Buy petrol put in:

1)Bonus Link Card

2) Credit Card

3) Mykad

Then call attendant becoz mycard stuck inside kiosk…. due to poor lamination quality,,,,,…

• Confused on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:55 pm

I'm confused: I'm a foreign worker and don't have a MyCard. I have a company car owned by a local company.

Where will that fit in the system?

To those that suggest immediate substantial reduction in tax on new cars: not possible. That would immediately depreciate all existing car values to far below the balances on current hire-purchase or other financing agreements leading to massive defaults and instability in the financial system.

But the cancellation of the AP is an imperative: it artificially inflates the price of cars for no benefit to the wider population.

• Paul Tan on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:00 pm

The new Focus diesel will be coming by this month end or early next month. It will be based on the current Focus.

http://paultan.org/2008/11/17/new-ford-focus-tdci…

• Arell on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:04 pm

It is unfair for bigger engine capacity car owners to pay more for fuel since they are paying higher import duty, higher income tax as well as much higher road tax. All fuel subsidy can be removed completely if the sales tax/excise/import duty reduces. That is a fair deal. The whole purpose of imposing higher roadtax on much bigger capacity engines is because more fuel subsidy is required. So the roadtax of larger capacity engines should be reduced drasticly since no fuel subsidy is required in future! Gov thinks rakyat stupid or what?

• Thank God i'm a Sarawakian….

• i'm a sarawakian but live in selangor. darn. let's migrate to sarawak and sabah. hahahaha

• nabill on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:25 pm

it seems that they are telling ppl not to vote for them next time…..thy are soooo good in screwing up everyting…a true master

• Bravo.. Barisan Nasional memang pandai perah duit rakyat..

• mkhee on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:44 pm

To put it bluntly, this scheme is just to benefit a few ppl at the expense of the entire rakyat. Let's see how are they going to implement it. From what I'm reading so far, it's gonna be messy implementing it.

• littlefire on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:59 pm

The G only give to Sabah & Sarawak some candies just becoz they are going to have local elections. After election, for sure they will raise the price. Dont be so happy Sabah & Sarawakians, they have reap ur forest & oil to where? Ask urself!

• Headache on Jan 19, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Talks about creative in Malaysia !

• wuttaheck on Jan 19, 2010 at 8:27 pm

garf said,

January 19, 2010 @ 11:09 am

Thank God i’m a Sarawakian….

———-

too bad for sarawakian/sabahan who lives in peninsular..hehe

• Hey…everybody pays income tax maaa…the lower income group pays little and as we go up the ladder, the higher end pays 29% from their income to the government. That not yet include other taxes impose by the government. So, why only the lower income gets to enjoy the subsidy. This is unfair for the higher income group plus this higher income group does generate revenue to the government, creating jobs opportunity to the people and helps stabilising our sluggish economy.

What if a pensioner (from lower income group some more) wins a PETRONAS compeitition and drive home with a new S500. This poor fella of course happy since never in his life time would dream having this car but due to government move, he need to sell his car since the fuel prices is rediculous.

This is called unjustised.

To all people out there, better start selling your car immediately before the price starts to drop this 1st May due to goevernment move to immediately reduce substantially the tax on new cars.

Damn…I need to sell my Gallardo soon…and start aiming for PERODUA made…

• Woosa on Jan 19, 2010 at 8:33 pm

@garf

bet you won't be so thankful in a very near future..

• Rizal_shah on Jan 19, 2010 at 8:59 pm

the car i'm driving now-taxed at 40k.sedap dah tu kau tax aku.

pastu rokok aku-sedap dah tu 9.30 dunhill 20.kau hambat jugak.

apa lah lg.semua kau nak hambat.

i feel so destitude,and hopeless.

we have been ripped again n again.

• intermilan on Jan 19, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Arell said,

January 19, 2010 @ 11:04 am

It is unfair for bigger engine capacity car owners to pay more for fuel since they are paying higher import duty, higher income tax as well as much higher road tax. All fuel subsidy can be removed completely if the sales tax/excise/import duty reduces. That is a fair deal. The whole purpose of imposing higher roadtax on much bigger capacity engines is because more fuel subsidy is required. So the roadtax of larger capacity engines should be reduced drasticly since no fuel subsidy is required in future! Gov thinks rakyat stupid or what?

===========================================

This statement alone make the whole scenario regarding fuel subsidy very clear.

There should be no issue with luxury or higher CC car, as they pre-paid for the subsidy up-front, in term of high road tax.

This fuel pricing should only be implemented to foreign car.

No need to implement complex pricing system at pump.

Just introduce levy for every foreign car that enter or leave the country. How much? Itu study la.. Takkan ini pun aku nak bagitau.

RM10-15 per day from date of entry. Sudah. Kan senang?..

Takde duit nak bayar? Patah balik.

As to the foreigners working in the country, all the Indonesian etc, most don't have personal transport, if they do, most have motorcycle at most.

Beside this foreigners are here to work and some to study. Let them enjoy a little subsidy rather than spend billions of taxpayers money just to deny them subsidise fuel… they will just borrow/steal(?) other people MyKad.. Tengok lah nanti..

• shaycoat on Jan 19, 2010 at 9:02 pm

G is no good in implementing a system. The fuel price are tagged on the cc of car. How about 2nd hand car with high cc (i.e accord 2.0 1997) bought by average joes? Are they still need to pay higher fuel price as their car cc are big?

• Haha…

1Malaysia but 2 territories East and West… with different policies & benefits.

To citizens in Peninsular, Sabah and Sarawak, its time to wake up!

• udang_geragau on Jan 19, 2010 at 9:56 pm

haha..this is our G..whatever they do..they will ensure 'somebody' will make money out of that…

• paparadzi (Member) on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Discriminate me by the cc of my car, and I will be campaigning against the BN.

Solution:

1. Abolish fuel subsidy.

2. Abolish all subsidy.

3. Abolish / reduce road tax.

4. Reduce car price by reducing the tax significantly.

5. Implement minimum wage so the lower income people can cope with the higher cost of living.

6. Dole / cash payout for the hardcore poor.

In short, other than the income tax, people should be taxed on their consumption, and the tax money should go into helping the poor people either directly or indirectly.

• Kerana nyamuk kelambu dibakar…

Kerja bodoh jer nih… The fuel subsidy abuse is only happen at the border town, but people in Ulu Tembeling, Long Pasia, Matang Kunda, Limau Kasturi and others rural area will be affected by the new petrol control mechanism.

WTF…. we got many brainless minister nowadays…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:40 pm

stupid G

• skiborne on Jan 19, 2010 at 11:19 pm

yeah true, ufair for those who drive big cars, they bring more money, make growth economically, bring more business, pay more income taxes, and yet not theyre not getting any subsidies, G, should instead abolish subsidies on the foreigners like singaporeans, thais, and nigga students who drive here, then its fair enuff, gosh, why cant the G think? oh yeah i know, bcs they dont drive malaysian cars, so how would they know kan?!

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 19, 2010 at 11:37 pm

This is all politics really.

I'm sure the government will still subsidize quite a lot of malaysians (its clear what they are doing with East Malaysia), especially those in thier own voting demographic. I'm sure a lot of tought would be put into it how not to loose the next election.

BTW, the reason why they need cheaper fuel is becasue the government hasn't put in any money for infrastructure there….now they are turning it around and saying oh what a good job we've done by giving you a subsidy….

Imaging what a nice propaganda when each time you pump gas, the pump tells you that your government looks after you by giving you a subsidy. Doesn't that give you a nice fuzzy feeling? Numbs the pain a bit before they whack you with a big stick.

And on top of it, they person that is tasked with running this charade is laughing all the way to the bank.

• Funny malaysia on Jan 20, 2010 at 12:28 am

First you complaint car price in Malaysia is expensive but you can still afford to purchase two-three expensive cars, now you complaint you can't afford to feed them. Who asked you to buy those cars in the first place. You know the French (eg.) are 10 times richer than us but not all of them owns a car, its too expensive for some of them! …so know your place people.

My idea is just abolish the fuel subsidy and spend that money to develop the country. Just imagine what that billions of RM can do to our country. If the rakyat can't afford to buy fuel they can buy cheaper cars like P1 or P2, that contributes even more revenue to the country.

Much as I hate the current government but I think they don't have lots of choices. Any government will face the same issues, the problem is Malaysians are already pampered with cheap fuel price from the beginning and the government can't change that over night. At the same time they want to win the hearts of the voters again. That's a lot of things to do at once for a bunch of clowns don't you think.

So yes, that's my opinion. Just abolish the damn fuel subsidy. I'm not rich but I don't own expensive cars and I know my place… hehe

• mystvearn on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:02 am

Looks like everyone migrate to motorcycle to save fuel?

What happens if a person mods his Kancil. Put a 70L tank or something, just fill up at the station, go home, transfer fuel to bigger car? May not be worth it, but if doing on industry scale, may be cheap.

• alvin_chan on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:04 am

To curb this situation, I got 1 stupid but kind of practical idea which I used it to fulfill my company petrol claim..

1) In order to hit the target of refuelling RM90 of petrol, although my car is half empty, I drive my second car out and refuel it together at the same time, at the same station, at the same pump… will this work since i can refuel my car that is given subsidy and also refuel my second car that has not given the subsidy?… Hehe… But anyhow, stupid implementation given by our G…..

• squawk on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:10 am

You all better trade in your cheapo Tritons and Naza Rias for Mazda RX8s and Mini Cooper S. Otherwise you get no subsidies. Even a C200 will get, but not you.

• KelapaAssap on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:31 am

Let stop buying vehiles…., wait & c… within 2 month reducetion in G income.. then all the ppl will run from this ouw country… Foreign investor also thing how to invest in Malaysia…. bravo to our Minister, make all become poorerrrrrr

• fuck up !

• zaeidos on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:53 am

Kelvin said,

January 19, 2010 @ 9:11 am

Give us Euro 4 fuel at unsubsidised prices, i don’t mind. At the same time, abolish the stupid AP system and high import and excise duty on cars. Spend the billions saved from fuel subsidy on the exisitng pathetic public trasnport system!

And, i don’t mind you REALLY implement this GRADUALLY. Thanks!

———————————

yeah sure u don't mind..but for just one second plz think of other ppl u moron!!not all are rich like u.ppl like u just thinking on how to buy cheap benz/bimmer but never cross ur mind that other ppl struggle to buy fuel and for sure groceries price skyrocketed if the fuel price getting higher

• Better not take away on Jan 20, 2010 at 2:05 am

To those who want to siphon petrol from smaller car to bigger car, I got a feeling next they will want to check for nanotag in the bigger car fuel tank.

Sounds ridiculous, but anything is possible here.

• Pro (Member) on Jan 20, 2010 at 2:47 am

BN is digging their own grave. Bravo !!!!

• sang bertiga on Jan 20, 2010 at 3:29 am

Jaga ur ic now…if lost, mati ooooo…..takkan nak cucuk your temporary IC… confirm stuck inside

• why do not spell it cleary? Let the rakyat know what is going to happen and get the feed back from rakyat. hopeless GOV!

• Herminem on Jan 20, 2010 at 3:40 am

What if i buy a new car and register for Sabah or Sarawak plate will I still enjoy the subsidies even though i'm in West Malaysia?

Thanks our beloved G I feel like i'm a foreigner in my own country even when we eat we have to pay 5% G tax plus 10% service charge and now our also need to pay more to sip fuel dem…

• Why so many complains? Blame yourselves. You put those that walk in the corridors of power there. Now they make a decision for you. We all know what is happening to this bolehland. Next time make a better choice, to those that have not voted..don't complain when someone else makes the choice for you.

For now, I accept their grand plan till the next election.

• klaka seram on Jan 20, 2010 at 4:33 am

our G really creative in sucking people's money

TQ G, we luv U

• tamaki on Jan 20, 2010 at 4:43 am

G act autism ,juz keep empty promising ,in other way ,implement some "scam" to suck rakyat blood and toil money. A negligible and tiny me devote vast time to surviving in fact community but burden a ton of debt for instance, car loan sustain a ridicules high price vehicle, toll, fuel, traffic,and reckless and irresponsibility driver. bad move

• The Gov is smarter t on Jan 20, 2010 at 5:58 am

Why is the positive thinking people trying to give good suggestions/ideas on the process of depriving foreigners of subsidized fuel?

Why do you think that the Gov is stupid & clueless?

The Gov is much much smarter than you think.

They are achieving the exact objectives they want. Which might not be the stated goals you hear on the news.

But the Gov can only screw you, if you let them.

• Next election on Jan 20, 2010 at 7:03 am

Where are all the Smart Ppl? Do sumting!

• yes, we all played a part in this grand fiasco. so come next election, make the right choice. i rather see something done than nothing at all.

the g basically just F'ed us up real bad.

• william on Jan 20, 2010 at 4:45 pm

the goverment can squeeze us anything for money

bring it on

tax whatever u got

u wanna follow US !!!

please think of what we get in return ?

we got nothing compare to them…

• The End is Near on Jan 20, 2010 at 6:56 pm

IMO, the G is running out of money. look at the edu system, big cuts here and there, my father in-law works for the edu ministry and travels a lot, but he gets no travel claims. A lot of education funds/projects are getting the boot also. ppl just dont see the bigger picture as the truth is, the G is trying to recuperate their losses from other 'projects'. The G cutting back on the 'small' things like education, but when push comes to shove, they turn to rape our wallets through the area they can siphon cash the most, FUEL!

Thus, this new fuel subsidy system will be a way for them, to suck up a few millions frm us, the rakyat, in a more quicker way. Maybe their gonna implement this system for say 5-6 months until the year's end, and they could rack up hundreds of million $$. then, as an act of so called 'compassion', they abolish the system, to make them looks as they care for our well being. look at the last RM2.70 fuel price hike way back. in just a few months of that absurd price, how much did they gain? we as rakyat also then senyap saja after they reduce the price back to RM1.80. and now their doing it again. Its a trend i see. damn. no use complaining now, as its gonna be inevitable.

• squawk on Jan 21, 2010 at 2:31 am

You can already see how 'poor' the country is by looking at how many Amanah Sahams and gov bonds have been launched in the last few years. Every time one is launched, it means the gov needs your cash to pay for something e.g. propping up the KLCI. And to think we're also on a national budget deficit.

• Edwin on Jan 21, 2010 at 6:24 am

one car for one mykad. I have 2 cars in my name but my wife drive the other car, if I transfer it to her name,

Problem 1) that means I have to pay higher interest as bank loan will consider the car as 2nd hand car, plus my wife is housewife without income can she get the loan ?

Problem 2) Then the cost to transfer the car to her is around RM300. Another $$$ spend un-necessaryly. !

Problem 3) The insurance in my name have 55% NCD, if the car in my wife's name, it will be zero NCD, that is a HUGE lost.

suggestion, why not just use the REBATE system used earlier, renew road tax and claim for the rebate, so only local claim for this rebate, no need mykad, no need to spend $$ to upgrade the pump, no abuse, subsidy clearly as road tax will have engine cc, SIMPLE right.

• willpower on Jan 21, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Rakyat didahulukan? interesting & creative

• arian on Jan 24, 2010 at 10:23 pm

It doen't make sense.

I wonder y others country which got produce an oil/petrol able to sell a very fuel in their country, but we can't make it?

for example~ Irab. for another example, taiwan not produce any fuel/petrol, although their fuel/petrol price was high(market price) but their imported tax, road tax….more & more cheaper then us…& tat a fair deal~

But for us, here? ….i juz feel like kena tipu, or tipu kanakx2 sajer…wat a G we hav~~!

• Arell on Jan 25, 2010 at 3:46 am

High import duty, high roadtax, no fuel subsidy: Gov benefits.

Pay for AP, those few man benefit and buy many many big cars, have helicopter, and many many big cars for their children as well. Who pay? all the rakyat!

• Lower Income Person on Feb 04, 2010 at 3:32 am

Its time to convert to NGV or migrate to Motorcycle.

Its help reduce the traffic jam too.

damn G.

• sad proton owner on Feb 21, 2010 at 8:32 am

Its time to sacrifice proton and perodua for the greater good, I dont mind paying full price petrol if im driving a friggin' rx-8 or subaru impreza. Sadly, this is not the case. Every month pain coz of paying car loan, every day pain go into my car hear almost every part of my car making funny noises (proton symphony anyone?). Don't give us the bs reason about how proton provides jobs bla bla.. the moment the factory close down, im sure toyota, honda and other car manufacturers will fill in the small pea sized void.

People, Its not time for us to get a new 660cc car, its time for us to get a new friggin' government.

• Daddy Aiman on Feb 22, 2010 at 10:20 pm

really hope that the present Government will reintroduce the subsidy payment to those eligible like what has been introduced during Pak Lah regime.

1Malaysia boleh!!!