First 2010 F1 car to be unveiled – the Ferrari F10!

2009 wasn’t a year to remember for Ferrari, which just won one race and finished fourth in the constructors’ championship. The Scuderia is keen to close that chapter and look forward to 2010, and becomes the first team to launch its 2010 challenger.

Maranello’s F10 machine is the result of substantial design work, after Ferrari decided to switch its focus to 2010 early in last year’s campaign. Piloting the F10 will be Felipe Massa and two-time champion Fernando Alonso, who makes his switch from Renault. Making a debut along with him is Spanish banking group Santander. Naturally, hopes are high.

“This championship will be very important for us,” team boss Stefano Domenicali told Autosport. “The last championship, for different reasons, was not very positive, that is why we are dealing with this one looking to be competitive – and this is what Ferrari deserves to have.”

Domenicali added that Ferrari has “two new drivers”, taking into account the “new version of Felipe” after the Brazilian’s dreadful mishap in Hungary which left many wondering if his F1 career was over. More pictures after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=804]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wow nice car and 2 very established drivers! Hope Ferrari will be back to top 2010!

• fasgen on Jan 29, 2010 at 7:17 pm

Merc Peronas GP will win again this year.. because Ross Brawn has the sercet technical to win.. last year… Brawn GP first year.. be champion.. because he knew secrets ot technical.. + Scumacher… + Petronas..

• mitlanevo on Jan 29, 2010 at 7:20 pm

F10, hmmm……. not a good name…..

• alonso is arrogant. i don want him to win.

• azrai on Jan 29, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Nice and smaller car.

• Both Mercs will overlap Ferrari multiple rounds!!!

• kimi_ on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:27 pm

the design not nice…

• Ferruccio on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Wheelbase looks visibly longer now. We will see this with all other teams I'm sure

• kemosabe on Jan 29, 2010 at 9:48 pm

F10 sounds better than Ctrl-Alt-Del.

• not suprised anymore. they are like other team just normal team

• Aminbotak on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:27 pm

The design remind me of Sukhoi Su-27 Fighter Jet, because of the nose job I presume..

• F10 could be the machine will bring back to ferrari dominance pace..we'll see it..

• DukeKTM on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:05 pm

can't wait to watch Schumi competing with his old team that brought up his undisputed career achievements…Merc GP Petronas..German team German driver…Scuderia Ferarri…Italian..should get Italian…Trulli..hahahaha…just messing around..

• tokmoh on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:08 pm

F10… latest 5-series is codenamed F10 too… hmm…

Sorry, I'd go for Vettel this yr :)

• sukhoi35mk (Member) on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:09 pm

Fernando Alonso is the only F1 driver beaten MS twice to became world champion…furthermore, brawn won last yr season because they have a very competitive car in the beginning of the season due the loop hole in the defuser regulation and their 2009 cars were without KERS which mean their cars were lighter. Ferrari 2009 F1 car look less competitive as the team decided to concentrate on F10 in the middle of last season and their KERS system kept on broken down. In fact, in the end of last yr season, Brawn looked no so promising anymore instead Red bull looked very promising. I believe if red bull got their cars right in the beginning of last yr season thus brawn may not able to be the champion….So, good and competitive car + alonso, sure will give brawn a good fight

• The car comes with a bar code ….

• keyboard.rosak on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:28 pm

First 2010 F1 car to be unveiled?

i tot Merc GP Petronas already unveiled their car earlier?

• osh_kosh on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:48 pm

gosh… the nose job near the pitot tube look very much like Red Bull's 2009 cars…

• alldisc on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:49 pm

i dont like alonso before but when he joins Ferrari my favourite team – sigh.. i dont know what to say.

i am a big fan of michael schumi especially during his Ferrari times but he is now in a rival team. again… dont know what to comment.

i may just be a genuine spectator for this season – much like last season too.

• Ferruccio on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:22 am

keyboard.rosak said,

January 29, 2010 @ 3:28 pm

First 2010 F1 car to be unveiled?

i tot Merc GP Petronas already unveiled their car earlier?

Merc GP Petronas only unveiled team, drivers and car livery using 2009 Brawn chassis.

Their real 2010 car will only be revealed early next week at the Valencia test.

Thus Ferrari is indeed the first to reveal their 2010 car. Photos of the new Williams also spotted already. They're all looking more or less the same, long-ish nose, stretched wheelbase

• ReactiX on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:42 am

The body looks bulky now, especially from frontal view of the car. well, i hate Alonso too, and Ferrari is never be my team :)

• i love it!

• 2fast on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:22 am

Hope Ferrari will be competitive this year unlike 2009, it will make for an exciting 2010 championship.

• Cocobear on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:36 am

I am getting seriously sick by looking at those bar code stripes on the top fin. It has been there as long as I can remember. Why Ferrari can't produce some innovative billboard for their F1 cars?

The long nose is reminiscent to the Jordan Mugen Honda, which I kinda love it. They got some inspiration from RedBull for the bulging nose design.

All the best for Alonso!

• i dun like the nose…

• Ferruccio on Jan 30, 2010 at 6:44 am

Isn't the barcode ad space for Marlboro? They swtiched to that to get around the tobacco ads ban. It's not representing Ferrari's brand

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:17 am

ish….i miss the barcode on the wings…santander looks like cock

• Steven on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:43 pm

Car looks sleek & very clean. Hope that its reliable. Expect Ferrari to be competitive & team to live-up to its billings. Both Alonso & Massa are extremely passionate characters due to their Spanish & Latino roots. Expect fireworks.

• blackbox on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:54 pm

These remind me that Kimi help them to won the only one race last year and they still don't know how to appreciate a good driver. Ferrari did not deserve to win this year.