Ford Mondeo Test Drive Review

Years of reading British car mags have made me a bit of a skeptic. If it’s a Jaguar, Lotus or Ford, our UK friends will fall over themselves to hail it as the best in class. Questions like “is the Evora that much better than a Cayman S?” or “can the Ford Mondeo be really as capable and satisfying as a 3-Series?” often linger in my mind.

More often than not, the curiosity remains unanswered, as we don’t often get to sample the best of Britain here, so when the opportunity to test drive the Mondeo presented itself, I was rather excited to find out for myself.

The Ford Mondeo is the best example of Europe’s answer to the D-segment saloon, a class dominated by the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord in our part of the world, so naturally, these are the reference points we’ll use to compare the Ford with. Fully imported from Belgium, the highly specified 2.3-litre Mondeo is priced within the ballpark of the Thai-made Camry and the Melaka assembled Accord, which makes one wonder about the profit margins of both Japanese companies.

Back to the main subject. Looks are subjective of course, but while the Mondeo’s design is a breath of fresh air on our streets, neat, inoffensive and more dynamic looking than the Accord and Camry, the shape is rather generic and Ford’s Kinetic design is toned down for this application. The rear section of this sedan version (there’s a hatchback in Europe) in particular, appears rather bulky too.

Which may not be an illusion, as the Mondeo is no small car. It’s taller and quite a bit wider than both Japanese cars while overall length (4844 mm) is closer to the Camry (4825 mm) than the class busting Accord (4945 mm). Despite this, the Ford’s 2850 mm wheelbase is lengthier than the Accord’s 2800 mm, which is quite something, since we all know how much rear legroom the Honda has. As a comparison, the E60 5-Series’ wheelbase is 2888 mm long, so this is one big exec we’re looking at.

Space is certainly adequate with those dimensions, and tall passengers will have no complaints seated at the back, but the rear legroom champion is still the Accord. Like the Honda, the Mondeo comes with all-black leather seats and trim, as opposed to the Camry interior, which is specified with light hues for a more cozy and warm ambience.

Up front, comparing the Ford with its Japanese rivals is an exercise of comparing regional tastes. Italians aside, Continental cabins have always been more functional than glitzy, and the Mondeo stays true to form. Sure, there are metal-like accents (not very convincing) and a Sony stereo, but it’s all very sober and business-like, without oooh and ahhh touches such as the Accord’s watch-like dial faces and brushed trim and the Camry’s “floating” instruments. You get two white on black basic dials with straightforward fonts, and a centre console with perhaps half the amount of buttons than the Honda. Personally, I like it this way especially when the basics are covered.

Ford Mondeo Test Drive ReviewBasics such as memory powered seats that are comfortable (could go a touch lower though), a full featured steering wheel with four-way controls on each side, and well located and easy to use minor controls.

Ford also surprised this writer with its material selection. While soft plastics on the main dash moulding and door caps are common on European cars, the Mondeo has the slushy stuff in places I didn’t expect – like the furthest panel from the dash below the windscreen, and below the base of the centre stack, all along the transmission tunnel, places that even some premium brands don’t bother with. Other than one shiny bit of plastic (power window switch area) and steering buttons that are not 100% tight, fit and finish is very good. I did have one annoyance though; my knees hit the bottom of the steering boss everytime I step out of the car. I’m not tall and sit pretty close to the wheel so that grouse might not apply to everyone though.

The Mondeo gave a decent first impression on the move. I didn’t demand much from it in the first two days, only going through my daily routine which includes long highway cruising and city traffic. The ride comfort is very good on those 17-inch wheels, rock steady on the highway and brilliant on bad roads. Bigger intrusions that you’ll certainly feel in the Japanese cars are rolled over with authority, sparing occupants from feeling their sharp edge. The Accord feels a little too firm after the Mondeo, which damping is very well judged. It’s much like comparing a Civic with a Golf, the former lacking the composure and stability of the European car. One thing I picked up though; while insulation is good, the drivetrain sounds a little wheezy at low speeds.

Ford Mondeo Test Drive ReviewThen I drove it hard. Half a day taking the Ford through the B-roads of Selangor, it turned out to be one of the most impressive drives I’ve ever had in a car this size. To just say that the Mondeo has great handling and great balance is simple, so I’ll try my best to convey what went through my mind as I smiled my way through the bends.

While most of today’s cars have grip limits and safe handling beyond what their targeted drivers put them through, what sets the best from the merely good is how they behave when you’re really pushing on. In the Mondeo, you feel that the car is always on your side as you explore its ability, bit by bit, corner by corner. Like a great dance partner, the connection between driver and Mondeo is excellent – the naturally weighted steering is rich with feedback, the brakes firm and easy to modulate – so there’s no need for guessing how much grip in reserve does it have, or will I brake in time for that, you get the drift.

It’s a big car, but you easily forget its size thanks to the brilliant body control that does so well in managing the shift of weight, so you can concentrate on the next corner. The abovementioned ride comfort also plays a big role in the Mondeo’s ability to flow across country roads with finesse.

In view of this, it’s almost forgivable that the Mondeo doesn’t ship with ESP (although it does have seven airbags including a driver’s knee bag). As a comparison, both the Accord and Camry come with vehicle stablity programmes; the Honda has front and side airbags while the Toyota only has two.

Ford Mondeo Test Drive ReviewHowever, that intense exercise also revealed the areas that could have been better. In Malaysia, we have a sole option of a 2.3-litre Duratec HE engine with a six-speed auto ‘box. The twin cam engine produces 159 bhp and 208 Nm, quite underwhelming compared to the Accord 2.4’s 178 bhp and 222 Nm. In practise, although not a handicap performance is merely adequate, and you’ll have to rev hard to get the best from it. It doesn’t sound unpleasant as you do so, but it’s definitely not VTEC sweet. The overall package will be nearer to perfect should it come with say, Ford’s Ecoboost turbo engine or even a TDCi.

The gearbox meanwhile, is great news – not only because we’re used to having dated four-speed units from Ford – but because it’s smart in D and quick enough in Sports mode, something which can’t be said about the Focus sold here. Oh yes, and you pull back for upshifts, push to downshift, which is more intuitive than the usual layout (only “driver focussed” brands like Ford, BMW and Mazda seem to use it though). The extra ratio over its rivals means 110 km/h equates to just 2200 rpm, benefiting crusing economy and sound levels.

So I have to grudgingly concede that the the Brits were right about the Mondeo after all; this is a great car to drive and to live with, and it can be considered as a good alternative to entry level premium badged compact execs – not only do you get a much bigger car and the same level of equipment, it’s a good deal cheaper too.

We don’t see it creating big waves in our Camry and Accord dominated market, but for the few who go against the flow, you’ll be very satisfied, in the driving department at least.

By now, you must have gathered that I highly rate the Ford, but both Paul and Harvinder also gave the thumbs up, so the Mondeo gets our unanimous recommendation as a car keen drivers shopping at this level need to try out before opting for something else.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• asgard on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:13 am

1st, a good alternative to japanese, price it lower will help

• Gajen on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:26 am

i still feel camry or accord better,camry looks very luxurious inside,this is like lacking something or a few….like projector headlamps,rear sunshade and the speedo looks very simple

if i had a choice,its mazda 6,cos its for young people! lol

• Formless on Jun 06, 2011 at 5:49 pm

There are 2 kind of buyers, one kind of them make purchase decision based on the spec-sheet and the pattern of the fake-wood trim in the cabin (usually they care very much on how many CD can store on the cd-changer), another kind of them make purchase decision after test drive a car.

• sudha on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:29 am

well written piece..loved the bit on the handling department. :)

• seancorr on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:30 am

If only we could see more selection on the road rather than the usual A and T. I hope F makes a bigger impact this time haha.

• Black Dog on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:36 am

I agree, some European cars do drive better, but their design looks so dated, espiecially the ugly Mondeo rear lights! Not to mention their terrible reliability problems, which any car reviewer can't predict in a few years.

British mag. Top Gear love to condemn and don't do justice to most cars their preview, esp. SUVs. Not many vehicles, even very expensive ones, are good enough for them. They represents the epitome of British snobbishnest, still stuck in previous generation's mindset of sport cars.

The world has changed.

• John Dease on Feb 01, 2010 at 1:13 pm

I really cant stand it, every time a European import model gets reviewed here, ignorant and unrealistic ppl will give stupid comments like the so-and-so importer/distributor is stupid/silly/greedy and should price the car lower. GET REAL!!! it’s a CBU and you want to compare with locally/ASEAN assembled prices??

For the benefit of the ignorant, effective tax rate for passenger cars (meaning [import duty x CIF=CIF1] + [excise duty x CIF1=CIF2] + [sales tax x CIF2]) is between 150%-197% for Non-ASEAN CBUs compared to 121%-155% for ASEAN CKDs.

For the benefit of the ignorant AND lazy, allow me to illustrate what this means in ringgits and cents, let’s say the landed cost of both the Mondeo and the Accord 2.4l car for simple argument sake is RM60,000.

Tax & Duties
    Accord 2.4l (ASEAN CKD) tax = RM60k x 137% = RM82,222
    Mondeo 2.3l (non-ASEAN CBU) tax = RM60k x 175% = RM104,945

Cost after tax
    Accord 2.4l cost after tax = RM60k + RM82,222 = RM142,222
    Mondeo 2.3l cost after tax = RM60k + RM104,945 = RM164,945

Profit margin (this is a rough estimate without even considering storage, transport and insurance)
    Accord 2.4l profit = OTR RM171,800 – RM142,222 = RM29,577
    Mondeo 2.3l profit = OTR RM178,888 – RM164,945 = RM13,942

From my simple illustration, you tell me who is profit mongering and if the Mondeo price can be further lowered? Do note that I’m not accusing Honda of profit mongering I’m pointing my fingers squarely at the people who earned RM82k for doing NOTHING while Honda has to make do with earning RM29k for assembling, distributing, and spending millions marketing a car.

• theanswer on Feb 01, 2010 at 3:07 pm

no dual zone aircond? ceh~

• To be realistic, autoconnexion should priced lower than camry and accord unless they wish to see it as exotic car on the road

• neveraproton on Feb 01, 2010 at 5:21 pm

To theanswer 7:07am:

Of course there is dual air con; look at the graphics showing two separate temperature gauges. They are set the same here.

• ford fusion!!

please..hahaha

• its a good car but the pricing is not attractive. Sime should put this at around 140-150k. but the selling price is at 17xk.

bad marketing. not many will buy this car. even lesser than focus.

if only the pricing is better…

• Backseat on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:18 pm

I am yet to drive this car on M'sian roads but I was driven around in one for a week and I was very impressed. Reviews only do so much – if you're in for a car in this price range, give it a shot and you'll prolly be cancelling your booking for an Accord/Camry.

• I read that just like the S-Max and Galaxy MPVs, the 2.3 litre Duratec in the Mondeo will soon be replaced by the 2.0 litre EcoBoost SCTi which makes 200bhp (203PS) and 300Nm of torque.

• nighttrain on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:21 pm

Exterior body colour, white, or black or silver. Grey just doesn't work it. Gold!

• arcana on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:38 pm

at that price i still think that mazda 6 is a good car to consider…..

equivalent specs and possibly more in certain areas…..

not to mention that the car drives well with good comfort eventhough it rides on 18 inch wheels….

i'll still pick the ford's cousin anyday……

btw….does the new mondeo share the same platform as the current mazda 6? or different?

• petrol head on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:46 pm

I still feel we've been short-changed. There is a version where the speedometer looks significantly better than this version. Frankly, if I like this car and had to pay another 2-3k for the significant speedometer, I would.

Ppl who buys into Ford are different. Buyers of Camry and Accord can't be a convert… well, maybe now with the global recall of default items.

• Paul Tan on Feb 01, 2010 at 7:15 pm

The Ford Mondeo and the Mazda 6 do not share the same platform. The Mondeo's wheelbase (Ford EUCD platform also used by Volvo S80, Volvo XC60, Land Rover Freelander 2, etc) is much longer than the Mazda 6's which is under 2,800mm in length (Ford/Mazda CD3 platform).

• Its 2.3 liter, price shud be compared wif 2.4 accord and 2.4 camry which is also around 170k. To me 170k is expensive for a 2.4 Japanese and reasonable for 2.3 European. Hope ford can offer 2.0 option

• MR-S Boey on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:12 pm

It's not what the price your customers CAN pay, it's the price they're WILLING to pay :)

Ford has poor brand recognition here. PLus besides the bigger towns, not many service centres.

More upfront for the Malaysian market though is the RESALE VALUE.

• mr_3m on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:07 pm

Love the Mondeos, drove the previous generation and that was a good drive(for a practical family saloon)…

and agree with JOhn Dease… for a CBU model, u cannot get any cheaper esp considering its a 2.3liter car… unless u want to kill off the importer/distributor (not a good idea…)

• Impressive! :)

• Black Dog on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:30 pm

John,

So, with so much extra paying to the Govt for doing nothing, how do you expect people to buy? Unless you're a real Ford fanatic with extra cash! On top of that, you need more extra cash for future parts, servicing and low resale value!

This chicken & egg thing has been going on in Malaysia for the past 30 years.

• shawal on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Its an attractive car, but in no way it will deter buyers from accord 2.0 VTi-L or the 2.4 model cuz of its pricing… both will appear as better buys cuz honda service centres are everywhere now, n our mentality will think its a cbu , hence all parts oso cbu….have to wait…n pay shipping charges so on , so on, i think this mondeo is an introductory model for ford's big comeback , since the next focus n mondeo will be 'global' car…

PS: Camry looks like a whale….vios is like a dugong , and celica was like a shark… their engineers must've been eating wayy2 too much seafood….

• I guess it’s the case of you, Shawal, eating too much seafood to identify those models with fish family. And I have nothing to do with Toyota marques. Cheers.

• limwe on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:48 am

"the Ford’s 2850 mm wheelbase is lengthier than the Accord’s 2800 mm"

Lengthier? Paul, isn't there a more suitable word called "longer"?

• don’t forget, james bond drove this! lol.

• Ah Bear on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:25 am

Engine need to be spunkier…….

More sport kit at the front/rear bumpers, side skirts and price should be cheaper than Camry for first 100 buyers.

• Electronic Stability Program (ESP), or VSC for Camry 2.4, or VSA for Accord 2.4 already proved to be able to prevent 43% of fatal accident and 80% of rollover accident.

It's kind of surprise when the Mr Paul said "it’s even forgivable that the Mondeo doesn’t ship with ESP". Is Mr Paul implicate that it is okay for us to have 43% higher chance to die and 80% more chances to crash our car? It seems that Ford had stuffed a handsome sum of advertising $$ to Mr Paul to make him say this.

If you ever involved in a serious accident which is caused by slippery roads and loss of control (loss of traction), which I did, then you'll understand the importance of ESP / VSA / VSC. To me, a vehicle without ESP is rubbish. I'm driving Accord 2.4 now, and it did help me prevent crashing my car in at least 3 occasions.

In USA and Canada, the law have been passed to make sure all vehicle are equipped with ESP starting 2012. When will it happen in Malaysia? With "respectable" Mr Paul saying "no ESP is forgivable", I think it might need another thousand years!

• Peter on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:28 pm

John,

You mean ESP / VSA / VSC has saved you at least 3 times?

How did you drive until all these features come out to your rescue?

Normal careful driver will be scare out of hell if they ever meet with once ESP in action. and you experience 3…. something wrong with…..

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 3:57 pm

unfortunately for D-segment cars, they loose their value quick so quick that a 5 year D segment is cheaper than a C segment car of the same age in UK.

• Paul Tan on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:34 pm

First of all John, the author the review is Danny, not me. Secondly, he said almost forgivable, not forgivable. He Was probably making a comparison of the strange lack of stability control against the class leading amount of airbags. Thirdly, our reviews are not "paid reviews", there are other publications if you want to throw those accusations and hit the mark.

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:35 pm

To actually have this car on offer in our market is already a great development.

The pricing could be better, but I also don't think autoconexxion have big enough margin to sell it at 'charity price'.

John Dease sample calculations are realistic enough to show some insightful knowledge with regards to price and profitability.

So, the asking price is 'normal' / 'fair' for a 2.3L non-ASEAN CBU.

Sadly, its not 'cheap' like the 407 (which is a CKD btw) but

certainly, it is not 'over-priced' like the Camry (CKD) or Accord (CKD).

Perhaps owners of Camry and Accord don't mind paying (in-advance, mind you), in excess of RM10,000 extra just to get the piece-of-mind assurance that is associate with these brand (e.g. wider service networks, reputable customer service quality, reliable products, high resale value).

Or most often than not, they just don't really care.

Just gimme a Toyota or Honda, they say!

the rest is non-existence.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:10 pm

John, we at paultan.org are proponents of ESP/VSA/VSC and can't wait for the Government to make them mandatory across the board. Stability control's effectiveness, as you pointed out, is beyond doubt.

In the review, we were trying to stress the point that the Mondeo's chassis and controls offered good feedback to the driver (so you know the limits and what's going on down there) which is a good "safety feature" in our eyes. We did not literally mean that "it's OK not to have ESP", do see the context of the sentance as well.

It's ok not to agree, but your comments on our integrity is uncalled for. We do not do "favours" for advertisers (or any party for that matter) by saying things we don't mean.

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:52 pm

John or Harry or Micheal or Steven,

A vehicle without ESP is rubbish?

ESP is a safety feature that often than not, being equipped to a car because its either truly necessary (300bhp front wheel drive certainly need it) or as 'cover' to a poorly-developed car. Can't sorted out the handling, suspension, chassis etc? Give it an ESP. That will help sort things out.

The fact that you and/or the Accord 2.4 had to relied to the ESP 3 times to prevent from certain accidents showed who and/or what are the real rubbish here.

And don't tell me I don't know how's the handling of an Accord 2.4.

Hahaha.. What handling?

Or maybe Danny had pissed off certain quarters from the T& H camps with this test review article. Its not hard to see that T&H products that were use as benchmark / comparison seem to fall short against the Mondeo. Well, the Mondeo is one of (if not) the best D-segment car in Europe, bar the premium brands offerings.

Seems like honest and truthful information is not welcome by them.

Wonder why… because their over-price products are actually rubbish?

Who knows.

• budlee on Feb 02, 2010 at 10:30 pm

intermilan

John or Harry or Micheal or Steven,

A vehicle without ESP is rubbish?

"ESP is a safety feature that often than not, being equipped to a car because its either truly necessary (300bhp front wheel drive certainly need it) or as ‘cover’ to a poorly-developed car. Can’t sorted out the handling, suspension, chassis etc? Give it an ESP. That will help sort things out."

Do you have an article or video regarding this matter? On how good handling, suspension chassis, etc is better compared to having ESP in a car?

Does this mean vehicles with enough airbags to float it over water, is a cover for poorly-developed body structure?

Just wondering that's all, since its some NCAP and IIHS recommends highly in any of the vehicles that it gives full marks. Its just a bit odd, that Mondeo comes from a land where ESP is mandatory and ships it to Malaysia without it. Even here, most cars are starting to have ESP as standard.

• To Mr Paul & Mr Danny:

Sorry for the doubt on your integrity, I've always enjoy reading articles at Paultan.org. What I would like to stress is that no matter how good the chassis is and how many airbags is, prevention is always better. It is definitely better to prevent skidding at all than crashing the car and depend our life on the airbags. You're trying to mislead readers that by having good chassis and airbags, the car is as safe as a car with ESP.

To Imtermilan:

Yes, my opinion remain, cars without ESP is rubbish and should be avoided at all cost. Always do some study on what you're writing. ESP is to cover poorly-developed cars? You really give me a good laugh man! Take a look at the following list, they are just some vehicles that are equipped with ESP in Malaysia, and I'm 101% sure that most of them are highly-developed :)

Kia Forte 1.6SX – RM82K

Kia Forte 2.0 – RM94K

Honda Civic 1.8 – RM115K

Toyota Altis 1.8G – RM118K

Honda Civic 2.0 – RM129K

Peugeot 407 2.0 – RM129K

Honda Stream RSZ – RM159K

Volvo S40 – RM170K

Honda Accord 2.4 – RM170K

Toyota Camry 2.4 – RM170K

Volkswagen Golf GTI – RM210K

Volkswagen Passat CC – RM240K

BMW 320i – RM250K

Mercedes Benz C200K – RM250K

Volvo S80 – RM260K

Lexus IS250 – 270K

Nissan Murano – RM330K

BMW 523i – RM340K

Volvo CX90 – RM350K

Mercedes Benz E200 CGI – RM360K

Nissan 370Z – RM370K

Lexus RX350 – RM370K

Lexus GS300 – RM420K

Jaguar XF 3.0 – RM480K

BMW X5 3.0i – RM490K

Porche Boxter – RM500K

Porche Cayman – RM540K

Porche Cayennne – RM630K

BMW 730Li – RM650K

Mercedes Benz S300 – RM640K

Lexus LS460 – RM740K

Porche 911 Carrera – RM850K

As we can see, Kia Forte which is priced at RM82K is equipped with ESP, while Mondeo which is priced at RM178K is not. This is definitely a big stripped off version of Mondeo to suit the people with mentality like Intermilan.

• Modern car has ESP and whatever electronic shit in it assisting the driver, No more raw car tat gave a birth to a real hero behind the wheel. I want to be the hero, not makcik behind the wheel. Dont care whatever u guys say bout all those electronic shits. Bash me hahaha

what …this car dont have esp….great, real hero buys tis, and its behave great even without esp, tat a great manufacturer, another real hero

• FIXER (Member) on Feb 04, 2010 at 10:13 am

All those ESP,VSC,ASC,ABS,EBD & whatever alphabet soup in a car are there to aid the driver in an emergency situation not to prevent or eliminate it completely.Just because your car have all of those things doesnt mean you are completely out of harm.It doesnt make you invincible.You cant defy the laws of physics.The driver must have understanding of how should a car behave in an emergency.Once the driver understand this,with or without those electronics,you still be safe.Do have common sense when driving.Thats the most important thing you will ever need.

Btw i drive a Kancil.In the wet my car has zero grip.Tyres are still new mind you.Emergency braking in the wet is big No No.I think my handphone has more electronics inside than my Kancil..Lol

• whoever uses ESP

• FIXER (Member) on Feb 05, 2010 at 7:47 am

Psychic?

• Maranello red on Feb 08, 2010 at 3:59 am

With regards to handling, I think this video on youtube tells all:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zON4bWsl2Ek

• antsng on Feb 09, 2010 at 10:17 pm

ESP… TC…. develop for Handling purpose but are they all the same accross the brands. Exp: Toyota ESP vs BMW ESP, which system its better? Its KIA RM82k ESP have the same playing level as a Merc RM250k ESP system???

its like, yes u got a 2L engine but mine have 150bhp and urs only got 140bhp.

So ESP in Bimmer would control the motion in 1/1000 sec while the KIA would in 1/30 sec ??? (my rough idea)

Any input from the field regarding this ESP or TC things???

• rakyat on Feb 12, 2010 at 9:26 am

okay, i'm not an expert in electronics (well, not as pro as our friend here John anyway) but i think it's safe to say ESP is quite a recent development which started being implemented say, about a decade or so ago? does that mean all cars before that were undrivable and crashing around at every corner?

sure, we definitely welcome new safety aids and stuff, the more the better, but imho,

any driver who relies solely (or heavily) on ESP to save his ass couldn't be a very safe driver and should be BANNED from the road. accord or whatnot.

• Danny on Feb 18, 2010 at 2:54 am

John said,

February 2, 2010 @ 4:34 pm

To Mr Paul & Mr Danny:

Sorry for the doubt on your integrity, I’ve always enjoy reading articles at Paultan.org. What I would like to stress is that no matter how good the chassis is and how many airbags is, prevention is always better. It is definitely better to prevent skidding at all than crashing the car and depend our life on the airbags. You’re trying to mislead readers that by having good chassis and airbags, the car is as safe as a car with ESP.

To Imtermilan:

Yes, my opinion remain, cars without ESP is rubbish and should be avoided at all cost. Always do some study on what you’re writing.**

My CIVIC ET2.0 also don't have the ESP, is that mean my car also rubbish?

With or without ESP "may" help u to avoid some acc (due to over speed or poor handling skill? ha ha), but if other driver hit u whether side impact or behind, ur accord will not gain higher survivor rate than mondeo base on NCAP!

Last, but not least, don't always depend ur life on so call "ESP" on the road, u may not have the change on next time. Drive carefully with legal speed are "basic safety protect feature". Cheers! :-)

• sicilian_defense on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:15 pm

goodness. Skidding on accord for 3 times in a row. Its not the ESP u should be worried about, its your driving. ESP is not some super-duper thingie which can sabe u from idiotic driving. No electronics or tech in the world can save us from idiotic driving. Or in this case, from idiotic driving who spins his accord with ESP onto you. Now that's rubbish.

• DeepSpace on Feb 27, 2010 at 11:50 pm

Which is worst: car without ESP or someone twisting people's words? In this case, I've to say the later is worst.

This is what the reviewer stated:

"In view of this, it’s almost forgivable that the Mondeo doesn’t ship with ESP (although it does have seven airbags including a driver’s knee bag)."

This is what John claimed the reviewer to have stated:

"It’s kind of surprise when the Mr Paul said “it’s even forgivable that the Mondeo doesn’t ship with ESP”."

See the difference? Maybe the reviewer edited the original review before I read it, but… unlikely. So as it is I interpret the phrase "almost forgivable" as "still NOT forgiven"! Just like the phrase "I almost forgot" mean I didn't forget, or "I almost have an accident" mean I didn't have an accident!

As for the Mondeo doesn’t ship with ESP here, I agree that that's not good. Ford try to cover it with 7 airbags. But airbags only provides protection for the people in the car. ESP helps by enabling some control over the vehicle during emergency maneuver around obstacle and hopefully without smashing into it or worst still – into someone else. I live next door to the neighboring country Brunei. Their Mondeo come with ESP and more choice/options! I would prefer Ford Malaysia give us the options too. Other than that, I think Mondeo is a good car. I've not driven 1 yet but have sat in a few. I myself own an Altis and my friend are all Camry, Accord and Civic. Mondeo has the most quiet and comfortable cabin, almost like (there is the word again) being in the Toyota Royal Saloon Crown. And in rainy weather, you will also noticed that Civic and City have the noisiest cabin. You can almost hear every drop of rain hitting the roof as if the roof are made of drum! I do not know about Accord roof insulation, have not sit in 1 in raining day yet, but I doubt it will be as good as the Mondeo.

Cheers,

• Paul Tan on Feb 28, 2010 at 12:37 am

We did not edit the story.

• DeepSpace on Feb 28, 2010 at 9:11 am

As we were talking about ESP, this happened last night.
    http://www.theborneopost.com/?p=13118

• Civic 2.0 on Feb 28, 2010 at 8:39 pm

kepada sesiape la..

you want to buy what car??

mazda 6,camry 2.4,accord 2.4, and mondeo??

• xatomic on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:22 am

As far as ESP of course is a bonus and sweetener to the features of a car, I believe that not all ESPs are designed the same. I dont think having a ESP means u can take the corner at whatever speed and believe ur car electronics will help come out in one piece

Fat chance u expect ur Jap/Korean ESP to rival the German's one. At the end there are still lot of variables that decide the likelihood of ur car crashing – like the tyres, suspensions, chassis.

Needless to say ur Accord with ESP in 'tofu suspension' in no way can take the corner in the same speed as a bare Go Kart (extreme example of a car without any electronics). Does that put things in perspective?

• mchammer on Mar 24, 2010 at 4:36 pm

i think the price does matter… 178,888 – how many malaysian can afford?? 2.3Litre – i think most will hop to the 2.0 (and lower pricing)…

• Hmmmm…… meant only for retirees,cottonheads,apek,auntie,and those who dont have enough money for a merc,bmw .in uk,only boringmen drives one

• camry & accord test drive fail, mondeo succeeded on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Mondeo is best than any other fail cars like: camry, accord, corolla,
    with: 2,5 Litre engine, Titanium x,
    if u doesn’t believe me,
    watch this youtube:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfE-e3ibFxE&feature=related

• Sparc on Jul 07, 2010 at 7:13 pm

I don’t see the point for the argument whether which car, cost or additional ESP between the reviewed brand. Everyone knew, T&H and even Ford brand is high reputable name. Is more like Japanese Vs Continental brand. All the additional electronic system being designed to minimize the risk or fatality rate to the driver. To design a car without additional Airbag, ABS, ESP, traction control, etc. The structure of the car, high strength steel, handling or aerodynamic of the car is the first need to be consider. I will say 20-30 years back when they design the car at that time. Since electronics or onboard computer come into picture, additional safety feature can be implement.

Based on the statistic, the designer realize that additional side impact beam, ABS, etc. may directly reduce the accident rate. Being continental car, always have a good reputation in terms of safety wise, quality build up. Take a look at 90’s continental car and 90’s accord. Which accident rate higher?

Have you drive a ford and honda in the same segment before? I do not. No matter what car you drive, is all depends the driver mentality to handle or to drive well. No one give you guarantee to speed beyond 200km/h and you think ESP can activated to save the car and yourself when you try to avoid something on the road. What about the tyre? how about if the on board computer failed? How reliable the electronic system in the car?

I saw quite a lot Wagon mondeo in Germany, So i believe it suits well with the european road. Sorry, I do not know the “spec” there. Plus the platform developed with Volvo another reputable brand in terms of safety. If the model can stand in Germany, so I will not ask about the performance and handling or reliability. (Of course different operating temperature and condition)

I trust Mondeo have gone through the NCAP test and receive quite a positive rating.

So what is the problem? you like it, you buy it or stick to T&H if you think not worth to buy.

Most important is the after sales service, reliability of the parts and $$$ for typical Malaysian. But since we afford to get 170k for a mondeo, I trust the maintenance cost will not be a problem. Enjoy the ride!

Personally, I like the TDCi Wagon mondeo :)

• I dont give a damn have esp or what ever syit u have in the car. All the kaki tonggang arak nowdays drive any car also crashing to longkang and die. Lastly, any kaki tonggang arak yg cerdik sikit naik uberX saga FLX 1.3 . Without esp or abs still safe because the driver is so relax. Send you safely at home.