Honda Malaysia: important notice to owners of 2nd generation City (08) and 1st generation Jazz (03)!

Honda Jazz

As most of you should know if you’ve been keeping up with the news on this site, there has been a recall for the 1st generation Honda Jazz and the 2nd generation Honda City (based on the 1st gen Jazz) worldwide due to a issue where water could possibly enter the power window switch and potentially cause a fire.

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd will be participating in the exercise, but they also reported that there are currently no reported incidents in Malaysia. There are currently 12,935 units of 2nd Generation City 2008 YM with 7,713 units of V-TEC and 5,222 units of i-DSI respectively. As for the Jazz, there are 3,090 units of 1.4-litre Japan made 2003 YM.

Honda Malaysia says that when the power window master switch is exposed to excessive amount of water (such as rainwater), especially when windows are left open for prolonged period of time, electrolyte materials from rainwater would sip into the power window switch unit. This would decrease the insulation resistance between the electric circuits, which could lead to current leaks. In severe cases, the switchboard would melt or burn. According to Honda Malaysia, there are a total of 3 burn cases reported so far, 2 in the US and 1 in South Africa.

Honda City

“We will be writing to all our customers directly and inform them of the preemptive measures to address this situation. We are in the midst of preparing the replacement parts and we will then carry out the necessary inspection and replacement when the parts are ready. All charges incurred in the inspection and replacement work will be borne by the Company. We would like to assure our customers that all current selling models are not affected,” said Toru Takahashi, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Honda Malaysia.

For more information, please call Honda Toll Free number at 1-800-88-2020, or visit any authorised Honda dealer. Of course, this recall exercise should logically only apply for customers who bought their Jazz from Honda Malaysia. But being a popular JDM model, there are most likely be grey import units out there as well. These owners have to somehow do something about it as well.

Honda Malaysia says that they will assist owners of grey import cars without discrimination but they are unable to confirm at time of publishing whether any work on grey import customers cars regarding to this update will be subject to any charges or not.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ayahcik on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:56 pm

me never wind down my window.hehe

• Rocky-Deen on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:16 am

are u really sure about that? paying tolls? parking ticket? unless u're on EX-5!

• how about 2007 ones?arent they similar except for a few things?

• Baron on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:29 am

at least proton cars never burn because of power windows. haha.

to bad, expensive car but lousy power windows system.

• i don't think this problem is an isolated case effecting two models, when I went to Honda Service center and service my car, a customer complained to me about his brand new CR-V. water sipped into it and the car malfunction… need a hair dryer to solve the problem…

Honda might as well give each customer a hair dryer, or at least install air dryer in the switch board just in case water sipped into it.

• just wrapped it wif black plastic bag and you are good to go….haha

• so existing owners can just drive their cars to service centre then they will repair now?

• laburit on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:59 am

yeah ria, follow russia, not used pen but pencil in space…. easy solution….

• kopi-man on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:01 am

My WAJA power windows switch has been changed 3 times by EON, while I am paying for that! now what to say about it.

• Mysticmind on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:02 am

Smart Tag no need to wind down the window lah. haiyoh!..

• Honda City cause acc on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:06 am

Very lousie honda, power of lousie dream

…… ivtec vtec all gimick but no results in F1.

• oliver chantk on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:46 am

Look how responsible Honda is compared to Proton by making us to pay more because of poor rosak fragile parts they fitted to out cars.

• Abzaja on Feb 02, 2010 at 2:57 am

These Honda cars are very good in all aspect…bravo

• keretakuda on Feb 02, 2010 at 2:59 am

better than power window failure..

• peYno on Feb 02, 2010 at 3:17 am

oliver chantk said,

February 1, 2010 @ 5:46 pm

Look how responsible Honda is compared to Proton by making us to pay more because of poor rosak fragile parts they fitted to out cars.

===============

Ah beng.. u should read carefully.. Hond Power window is caused by switching that can cause FIRE.. and DEATH

Proton Power window problem cause by malfunction motor than never cause DEATH

Perodua Power window problem is similar as Honda.. SWITCHING problem..

• kayel on Feb 02, 2010 at 3:40 am

i own city vtec 2007 version….need to refer to my service center as my production year could affected with this…

• I know some of you had a nightmare with proton car.and when toyota and honda recall their cars due safety issues, u want proton make the same thing bcoz of power window failure.haiih. all the bashers like to see power windows problem only at proton. But at another view, it was showed that toyota/honda or even another car compony are not produce a perfect car. Maybe you can't imagine how simple problem make a worst tragedy in toyota car!

• Remedy (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 4:03 am

i had both left and right perodua power window switch problem.. and my parent honda city gear box problem(90k odo), same my brother city and niece civic..cost rm5k for 2nd hand gearbox..haish.. honda nowdays..

anyone else honda owner have same gearbox problem..?

• gen2lama on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:00 am

Remedy…i drive 'nothonda' only…..near 300k km….still can pay cash for toll (sometimes-T&G no credit) = power widow ok la kot…..gear box pun oklah kot…

– just lucky

• i thought the honda gearbox prob is no more?still exist eh?

• Tiadaid on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:09 am

Remedy said,

February 1, 2010 @ 8:03 pm

i had both left and right perodua power window switch problem.. and my parent honda city gear box problem(90k odo), same my brother city and niece civic..cost rm5k for 2nd hand gearbox..haish.. honda nowdays..

————–

RM 5K for City gearbox? Where can I get it? I'm having same problems with my Honda City. The City with CVT are known for gearbox problems, not just in Malaysia, but other countries where the City was sold. I've found the same problems reported in India as well…

• Squawk on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:51 am

So T & H make potential deathtraps?

• peYno on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:01 am

no wonder sporean and urban countries oredi change thier taste and go for KIA FORTE…. but malaysian still with thier old taste T vios and H city…hahahha

• Remedy (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:24 am

Tiadaid said,

February 1, 2010 @ 9:09 pm

RM 5K for City gearbox? Where can I get it? I’m having same problems with my Honda City. The City with CVT are known for gearbox problems, not just in Malaysia, but other countries where the City was sold. I’ve found the same problems reported in India as well…

———————————————————

Honda Service centre.. first time went rm6k..but my parent dont want.. suddenly after one week rm5k.. they said got discount.. bla bla bla.. tipu la..

atlast went to workshop.. rm4k..

yup.. CVT got problem.. that why the new honda city for our local market use auto-torque converter gear box.. Maker reason.. CVT low 2nd hand value.. true indeed..

• same problem with me ,where u got the gear box changed ? mine going to knock out anytime.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 02, 2010 at 10:16 am

my frens car 2005 Honda Jazz JDM. affected?

• At least Proton power window does not death. Toyota, Honda nowadays….

• switching problem, floor mat problem…

cutting cost = low quality?

we still buy outdated technology from japan cars..

keep it up fella!

• Go for Kia, the power to surprise. i owned a Kia Rio (JB model) for 5 years now. No problem at all.

• acerman on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:24 pm

Kia? Then why some people said it has low 2nd hand value? Can somebody give me strong facts and reasons?

• madimat on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:31 pm

buy Honda C70 laa… never got power window,.. so guarantee never get power window death-by-fire problem. Can rempit some more..

• have experience the power switch malfunction once. will refer to Honda later on.. anyway, this one can be repaired FOC.

more worry about the CVT gear box issue. my City is 2007. sure will face the gear box issue? any preventive action recommended?

• gen2lama on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:16 pm

pakai proton pun boleh senyum saje apa……

• Swift on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Japanese cars rock.

Proton crap are for pathetic people.

• JeffChong on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:31 pm

That is why, don't laugh at Toyota owners when the case about the recall in US last week, now Honda Malaysia pulak kena……

Aih…technology nowadays……what to say ah….

• Honda..Power of Night Mare!!

• Safety 1st on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:41 pm

Toyota = gas pedal problem (accident) = death

Honda = power window problem (burning) = death

Proton = upgrade to MIT engine + turbo (speeding) = death

choose ONE ..

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:22 pm

People always complaint Proton's faulty power windows. How look what happen to Toyota's sticky pedal and Honda's power window switch which can cause death.

Based on these cases, Proton problem is minor.

So, blind basher out there please shut up.

As I said many times, all manufacturers and their suppliers do come defective parts. So, please always complaints Proton blindly.

• xavier lert on Feb 02, 2010 at 9:14 pm

i own fd2…and old civic SH4 (1991)….i must say the quality of old honda is far far better then current one……FYI 90% of the car parts are still ori (including the pwr window…20yrs and all 4 are workin..)….and the ODO is almost 400k km….

• staff on Feb 02, 2010 at 9:59 pm

for the Kia thing, the low resale value because market demand is low and spare parts are expensive (ppl say this… i just re-tell)…

But as for their current model, maybe in 5 yrs will change their 2nd hand value…

• gen2lama on Feb 02, 2010 at 11:30 pm

wooo xavier, almost 20years odo almost 400km……my crap car almost 7 years , odo almost 300km….100% ori part also…

always big smile….own proton wih smile…..

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 03, 2010 at 12:03 am

Safety 1st said,

February 2, 2010 @ 11:41 am

Toyota = gas pedal problem (accident) = death

Honda = power window problem (burning) = death

Proton = upgrade to MIT engine + turbo (speeding) = death

choose ONE ..

————————————————————-

To Safety 1st,

You can control from speeding but you can't control the 1st two above from happening. Right?

• What makes you think proton has no defects? Probably they cover it up, not to mention Proton causes more death than Toyota and Honda.

Proton has no air bags, the car does not absorb impact thus it is very likely the driver might die due to the superman stunt of flying out from the wind screen, or the car might crumble like a piece of paper with the driver squashed into pieces.

No product is perfect, the problem is other car makers try their best to rectify the problem, where as proton couldn't care much as long as Mahathir and his family are safe in a Whiteman German car and Proton CEO and directors' families in their Lexus, BMW, Mercedez.

• peYno on Feb 03, 2010 at 5:44 am

perodua salesman oso oredi changed their promoting style. all this while.. they said p2 belongs to TOYOTA… original design of p2 comes from TOYOTA bla bla…

now they said.. In this case it is nothing to do with perodua coz perodua car is developed by MALAYSIAN…not TOYOTA…prrrfthhh

• Have seen some proton models burned on highway…

• acerman on Feb 03, 2010 at 5:56 pm

I love to see a Kia in my garage, but I'm afraid of its realiability and its spare parts prices.

I must admit than Kia has move forward way far better than Proton in terms of technology and specs, but in other aspects, Kia cars had not got my attention due to its OEM spare parts or are there OEM spare parts that I don't know of?

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 03, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Oh Ngan, who say Proton cars doesn't come with airbags. The base line don't have. Yes. Toyota Vios J also don't have.

Have you ever seen Honda, Toyota, Merc, BMW… even Ferrari crashed into pieces and burned?

It's all depends on hows the impact (speed) and with what or by what? Please make sure what you said based on real world… Proton cars also have their crash test based on Europen, Australian, Middle East standard. Even wind tunnel testing at Volvo's facilities and much much more.

• Accord on Feb 03, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Remedy said,

February 1, 2010 @ 8:03 pm

————————————————————-

I dont have gear box problem but got wiring problem….. Start to feel has been cheated by Japanese.. Next time, i will never to consider by Honda or ToY ota.

• Sbpir on Feb 03, 2010 at 11:10 pm

Dunno which version model my father have…

• In order words, most of the accidents in proton, the car will crash like rubbish, and the engineers not even able to find what is the rootcause causing the crash, then blaming the driver's behaviour.

while in honda and toyota, they wouldn't crash into rubbish, and a smarter engineers did able to find the rootcause and implement a improvement.

what's said?

• but u dont forget the spare part of honda car is so expensive 4 example the gearbox is more than rm20k men………….

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Mounting reports are indicating the Toyota Prius is also affected by unintended acceleration – but faulty pedals and floor mats have nothing to do with it. Brakes problems….

Well, who said other cars wouldn't crash into rubbish? They do and all depends on the speed with what and by what. Make sure you have knowledge about impact.

I'm just a car lover and hope everything will solved up soon. Just want people don't simply talk rubbish and bashing each others including Proton!

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 04, 2010 at 6:06 pm

It shows that no matter how many decades you manufacture the car and its components, manufacturing defects still happen.

When comes with Proton, many people said almost 25 years still come out a crap car.

What blind bashers (not only for Proton) want to say about this?

The lessons… everything do have good and bad… pros and cons… Human too!

• opaque on Feb 04, 2010 at 6:45 pm

boi said,

February 4, 2010 @ 9:25 am

while in honda and toyota, they wouldn’t crash into rubbish, and a smarter engineers did able to find the rootcause and implement a improvement.

Yeah Boi,

no wonder that toyota take action when the nthsa order them to rectify their mistakes and halt production of 8 of their models.Hmmm…smarter huh. Then they will face huge fines..dunno how much it is. The recall to rectify cost them US$1B. Then the prius hybrid got problem also maufactured in japan..that's JDM one. Wonder the demand will fall..then they lower the price. Yahooo…can buy cheaper totota…in my dream

• Fiona on Feb 05, 2010 at 1:05 am

I know this is off topic but since we're discussing the Honda i-DSI models and such I just wanted to ask how many of you have heard of people or have had a problem with you ABS 2008 model?

When I got the car it was fine. During the warranty period the ABS light came on a few times and the mechanics said "Thats how the ABS works". Right after the warranty period, I sent my car for its 60,000 km service and they told me the ABS pump needed to be changed.

It's going to cost me RM3k n though I highlighted it to them during the warranty period, they did not write it down in black and white. I'm in a predicament now as a result. They offered me a discount of 15% and after making more 'noise' they offered 20%. Jeeze.. I expected not to have to worry for at least 5 years about major problems!

Do let me know if any of you have experienced this problem before. Thanks.

• jonjwlee on Feb 05, 2010 at 9:09 am

Does anyone know if Cities manufactured before 2008 are included in the recall as well? It would seem odd that they would be excluded from the list, seeing as they are almost identical to the '08 Cities and therefore also share a significant number of parts with the Jazz/Fit.

• prado700 (Member) on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:35 am

Tiadaid said,

February 1, 2010 @ 9:09 pm

i have the same problem with my Honda City gear box problem.

• yes i have same problem with u………….gearbox problem……..repairing cost so higher than what i think………what iwill we do?

• prado700 (Member) on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:40 am

new honda city gearbox cost more than RM20K if install at Honda.

• Tiadaid on Feb 06, 2010 at 5:50 pm

prado700 said,

February 5, 2010 @ 4:40 pm

new honda city gearbox cost more than RM20K if install at Honda.

————–

Find a forum about the honda city, and you'll find more people. I've even found problems with City in other countries as well

• Me also own a 2007 City which is very very much similar to 2008 models in many ways.

So far, I haven't received any letter from Honda regarding the recall but I am surely not feeling comfortable with this.

Some more, I dp oealize that the power window master switch in my City is easily exposed to rain water dripping from the driver's side window frame (when screen down).

Sometimes, I saw the switch got wet by some water drops but so far no short circuit or fire ever happened (god forbid)…

• buddhasen yadav on Apr 17, 2010 at 6:16 pm

I am having HONDA city ZX 2007 model, I was facing issue of power Window , same was reported to dealer also during last two servicing , they ignored it and are saying that it is is not related to this fault. Today the wiring of this switch in driver ‘s door seems burnt and burning smell is being obereved. I require immediate check up pl.

car is aavailable in Noida , I have already called my local service centre and waiting for them……

• NK NG on Jun 30, 2010 at 11:18 pm

I owned a Honda City VTEC 1.5 registered in Feb 2008. I have had a different problem with the car.
    Sometimes in August 2009, I noticed that car’s steering kept pulling to the left while driving on highway at about 100 kph and above. Thinking that it might be a wheel aligmment problem, but it was not – after I did a alignment check.
    After a few visits to Honda authorized dealer, upon carried out check and test drive – the real problem was identified – the ‘ steering rack’ was found defective! Subsequently, a replacement was made in October 2009. Drive was straight, smooth and good after this.

But the same problem resurfaced when taking a drive on the highway on last Saturday.
    A visit to the same Honda dealer this morning comfirmed that it was a similiar problem again caused by defective steering rack. A new replacement is being arranged.

My questions are:
    i) is it safe to drive the car when a ‘steering rack’ is defective!?
    ii) if it is a ‘manufactured’ problem, will I get the same defective part again for replacement!?

I would like to get the feedbacks and comments from Honda Malaysia as soon as possible.

Thank You.

NK NG
    June 30 2010.

• Sandy on Jul 24, 2010 at 10:12 am

My Honda city 07 gives me power steering problem…getting stiff at times….once get seriously jammed at cornering..anyone face this problem before? any possible reasons?HELP.

• My Honda city 06 gives me gearbox problem according Honda Services…its was heppened after my last services on 16 jun 2010…any one can advise me what should i do? TQ

• charlie tong on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:20 am

Do you own a problematic Honda car? if yes please join me to fight against HMSB for our right bcos they treat us like shit! you can contact me at [email protected]

• mudslush on Jan 11, 2011 at 8:46 pm

I own a City ’04 GXI , have the same problem with my steering assistance problems on straights @ speeds above 80 Kmph. I have been looking at various forums to get some insight and see the issue could be with the Magnetic Polar Ring Honda uses for EPS. I am due to take it to the service station this week … will let you know how it goes.

• Honda claims to be very high tech. These days, but they produce
    Very lousy cars with so much problems. A very unethical company which only tell you what problems you have with your car when the
    Warranty period expires , then charge you sky high. Their dealers
    Make you go round and round and in the end never solve your problems. What a shame! I will never buy a Honda again. They are
    No better than Proton!

• raini on Dec 05, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Myself got a same problem. I bought the car in 2003. In 2005 Honda call back cause of gearbox defect. Somewhere in 2008 or 2009 my car started jerking but rarely. Last year the problem worse and everytime I stop the jerking quite hard. The SC changed the gear box and its cost me 4K. Before that, every time I went to SC I hate to hear they mentioned “gear box problem” because we trust Honda, right? Until I felt that it is my first and last Honda. Now they said my steering rack got problem. Damn shit!