Toyota uploads recall safety videos

Toyota Camry

Toyota posted up four videos related to its ongoing recall crisis. The first one and probably the most important one if you own one of the affected Toyotas is a safety instruction video letting you know what to do in case your Toyota’s accelerator pedal goes bonkers on you and won’t release when you take your foot off it. The rest are to do with the floor mat recalls, how an electronic throttle works, and how the pedal assembly works (and why it sometimes sticks). Look after the jump to watch the videos.

VIDEO: How to stop if your Toyota pedal gets stuck

VIDEO: Toyota Pedal Assembly – Why Does it Stick?

VIDEO: Toyota Electronic Throttle Control

VIDEO: Toyota Floor Mat Recall

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• japanesecarsucks on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:23 am

Look at the end of the video – Toyota, Moving Forward. Talk about being irony lol..

• peYno on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:35 am

lesson 1.. how to stop yur toyota pedal got stuck

lesson 2.. how to sell your toyota car to 2nd dealer

• 3 sec to turn off the engine…if we do have 3 sec before an accident…

• peYno on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:37 am

lesson 3.. how to scrap your toyota car

prrrfthh sorry.. most of the car are JDM and urban US/europe market toyota…

but same ah beng in malaysia tot.. their AVANZA, INNOVA and VIOS oso same level as those cars…prrrrtfhhhh

• Gajen on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:53 am

responsibility

• KaiMun on Feb 14, 2010 at 7:39 am

in another point of view, we can see that Toyota has made a very brave move… that's something we should respect to…

yes, although is their mistake at first and may cause your life, but they dare to admit it and fixed.. thats something different from others manufacturer… and something really we should respect on…

PS: I'm Not Toyota Salesman, Not Toyota Fans, Not Toyota Supporter, Not Toyota Owner, Not Toyota Future Owner too!!!

• redkde on Feb 14, 2010 at 8:02 am

hehehe they should learn from proton how to design the pedal….

• Christopher Tinto on Feb 14, 2010 at 9:22 am

?? ???

Toyota Banzai !

• slimershine on Feb 14, 2010 at 9:22 am

like a briefing how to die… scary..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 14, 2010 at 9:25 am

good job toyota

• Jerangkung on Feb 14, 2010 at 9:59 am

Video: How to stop if your Toyota pedal gets stuck, says that this is a rare occurances and if you are not experiencing any problem with your pedal, your Toyota is safe to drive.

Toyota drivers may not experience it yet as it is a rare occurances but it doesn't guarantee that the chances of sticky pedal won't happen. typical bullshit!

• peYno on Feb 14, 2010 at 11:07 am

after so many ppl died and they ARE FORCED to recall the car by AMERICAN PPL… finally they come the guidance (video)????prrrrrfthhhh

i told u malaysia ppl simply conned by japanese…prrrfthhh

• peYno on Feb 14, 2010 at 11:09 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

February 14, 2010 @ 1:25 am

good job toyota

Rgds

myvi owner

dont laugh at me.. myvi oso toyota maa.. so i am oso toyota owner maaa

• koozold on Feb 14, 2010 at 11:24 am

Gong Hei Fa Choi!!!

• drgn86 on Feb 14, 2010 at 11:47 am

toyota is in denial over its electronic control module (ecm), particularly the electronic throttle control system (etcs-i) being defective while having the defective vehicles recalled and rectified using another seperate system to override the acceleration when the brake pedal is depressed, like volkswagen did, so much for credibility, toyota…

and the first video, instead of stomping on the brakes with both feet first, which may cause the vehicle to mishandle and initiate a dangerous situation, eventhough with all those passive safety systems like vsc, ebd, abs, ba etc., why don't shift the gear lever to neutral earlier? pretty dumb, i guess…

• drgn86 on Feb 14, 2010 at 11:52 am

it's quite insane to have the accelerator to be controlled by electronic systems instead of mechanical ones… imo, such critical and important aspect of controlling the car should not be depended on electronics, as they are unpredictable, unreliable and complicated to rectify…

luckily, my camry (pre-facelifted acv30) was one of the last toyota models not to be using the etcs-i system…

• Admit it T supporters.

This is not the case of responsibility, this is because being FORCED too.

Remember, remember T recall,

Remember it is by American Government for pedal and Japannese Government for brakes.

• Ah ok now i get why cars fail to work in an EMP strike.

• KaiMun said,

February 13, 2010 @ 11:39 pm

"in another point of view, we can see that Toyota has made a very brave move… that’s something we should respect to…

yes, although is their mistake at first and may cause your life, but they dare to admit it and fixed.."

You may not know: Toyota was FORCED to recall the cars, they didn't do it voluntary. In the US or EU countries, cars with apparent dangerous faults will not allowed on the road any more, if not recalled by the manufacturer or importer, that's it.

• I don't understand why to brake with two legs, After you shift to neutral or turn the ignition off, nothing to worry already what!

• Toyota Sucks on Feb 14, 2010 at 5:05 pm

ppl have always talking about toyota car like its worth every single penny…

and now look..? u think thats brave to admit the problem?

that doesn't concern about braveness..

its the responsibility!

QUALITY AND QUALIFICATION!

they have failed the ppl…

in fact the have failed themselves!

• kancil elite on Feb 14, 2010 at 5:18 pm

looks like there is high concern for safety over there….here our car makers still offer us cars without airbags, without abs, milotin

• don't even bother .. driving Neo is fantastic, fun and …. no "pedal of death"..

• yippi33 on Feb 14, 2010 at 7:12 pm

in other words…"Oro'?!!we suck big time!!"

the third vids informative though..

based on the second vid, the main root cause is the material used for the enjoining surface that is in contact with the pedal shoe right? as a remedy, a reinforced steel is used to reduced the tension on the rubbing parts..in my opinion, this is just to prolong the lifetime of the materials before it starts sticking..they are not tackling the main rootcause of it which is the material..so overtime, there is a possibility that its going to stick anyway..which translate to the risk being transferred to the second hand owner of the car..so, for those who planned to buy a second hand toycar should consider this before buying..just thinking outside the box though..haha

• sayapdewa on Feb 14, 2010 at 7:41 pm

very interesting how the toyota tackle the problem without involving the third party…if the problem occur, the first step is how to resolved it…not like typical malaysian, always blame others first rather than fix the problem…

good job toyota…

• elww78 on Feb 14, 2010 at 8:05 pm

If everyone do bother to open youtube and watch this…most luxury T buyers are tauke or millionaires who only bother their business 24/7.

• glacius_25150 on Feb 14, 2010 at 9:07 pm

In your face u toyota proud owners! That should shout your mouth on other makers

• redkde on Feb 14, 2010 at 9:11 pm

kancil elite said,

February 14, 2010 @ 9:18 am

looks like there is high concern for safety over there….here our car makers still offer us cars without airbags, without abs, milotin

————————————————————-

halo brother…please think before commenting stupid things… waja, persona, exzora, gen2, savy – all these models have airbags and abs as a option… if u want airbags just buy the model with airbag & abs ….same goes to Toyota "Pedal of Death" Vios… there is option single air bag…. very safety huh!… the milotin is just a myth from the 80s….

• littleboy on Feb 14, 2010 at 9:45 pm

i really salute TOYOTA……good move!!!

• Kalau mau tukar keta, pilih la nissan .. powerful and safe .. ciannya Toyota ..

• totot112 on Feb 15, 2010 at 12:24 am

Never know that it has to do with the Electronic throttole control too….

Thought only the Padel and Floor mat for most toyota and the Brakes system for Pirus.

New things to worry of is the Electronic throttole control also suspect got defects:

Read here:
    http://kansascity.injuryboard.com/automobile-acci…

• read somewhere abt T brand new slogan …"Toyota: try to stop Us"

• Funny, i still see many T bashers, to date i have not seen any safety precaution measures released by H brand and its world wide recalls?

Atleast T is doin something for its "pity people"

• peYno on Feb 15, 2010 at 2:59 am

kancil elite said,

February 14, 2010 @ 9:18 am

===========

yes u r rite… at least ..low end version of proton exora got single airbag and crash test rated.it show the future direction of proton minimum spec.. but low end version of perodua product got tin milo , no crash test rated and no airbag…

• peYno on Feb 15, 2010 at 3:02 am

redke… the funny thing.. most ofT supporters hereare not the JDM toyota car owner like estima, alphard or at least camry… but they are only 2nd class ASEAN toyota car owner like AVANZA , UNSER and some even perodua car owner but acting like they are the REAL TOYOTA owner..

funny kan…prrrrfthhh

• redkde on Feb 15, 2010 at 4:07 am

peYno said,

February 14, 2010 @ 7:02 pm

redke… the funny thing.. most ofT supporters hereare not the JDM toyota car owner like estima, alphard or at least camry… but they are only 2nd class ASEAN toyota car owner like AVANZA , UNSER and some even perodua car owner but acting like they are the REAL TOYOTA owner..

funny kan…prrrrfthhh

———————————-

agree with u…pity them….they have been conned by The Pedal Of Death and try not to admit it….

• endre on Feb 15, 2010 at 4:34 am

electronic throttle tech very scary better use the old technology

• transformer (Member) on Feb 15, 2010 at 5:41 am

there are rules and law that regulate/govern "automotive recall" in US and Euro, does Bolehland has one ? Who are the one who enforce them ?

Anyone can share ?

• pity those who buy the defective car…they have high hope in their car…and already willing to pay the overpriced car just to have a so called reliability..and what do they got?the paddle of death…

• tokmoh on Feb 15, 2010 at 6:53 am

redkde said,

February 14, 2010 @ 8:07 pm

peYno said,

February 14, 2010 @ 7:02 pm

funny kan…prrrrfthhh

———————————-

agree with u…pity them….they have been conned by The Pedal Of Death and try not to admit it….

>>> Ya man. And if anyone criticise them, they'll call u gay, very poor, blind, blablablabla

Hypocrites. When they bash proton, if u try to defend they'll say u cannot take criticism. Now look at them.

• peYno on Feb 15, 2010 at 7:02 am

some of them just kancil and myvi owner .. but acting like own TOYOTA JDM car…and protect toyota kaw kaw….

prrrfthhhh pity them

• redkde on Feb 15, 2010 at 8:46 am

and some more still dare to claim The Pedal Of Death is responsible, caring, caring for their customer, honest hahahahaha what the heck….do they realized The Pedal Of Death only care for their good name…hahahaha

seriously…no more toyota in my list, ugly(except camry), underpower, deadly, sticky..what else..hehehehe p/s : honda is still in my list…

• You would think the auto industry would tighten up there standards after the turmoil. The Tundra has a mass recall as well. Atleast they're taking action to resolve, this might hurt them in a long haul.

• Hoping that the problem of toyota cars is not contagious to their subsidiary such as Daihatsu and lead to a Perodua recall

• power roots addict on Feb 15, 2010 at 8:31 pm

little boy said….I really salute Toyota…good move !!

…..—————————————————

Do you really need to ampu them , your mother Japanese ehh ?

• totot112 on Feb 15, 2010 at 10:00 pm

zul said,

February 15, 2010 @ 10:31 am

Hoping that the problem of toyota cars is not contagious to their subsidiary such as Daihatsu and lead to a Perodua recall

————————————–

No It won't since Daihatsu or Perodua mostly using the older tech and also if it does….(IF) they will also wait till people complain then only rectify it on warranty claim….no complain means the car is sold as it is.

• Squawk on Feb 15, 2010 at 11:14 pm

Toyota: Moving Forward… but don't expect us to stop.

• Peter on Feb 16, 2010 at 6:50 am

TOYOTA name is only great once and not every Sunday .

Anybody who knows Science , will understand Law's of Physics .

What goes up must come down . In this case Toyota had climb up and it is time for Toyota to dive down .

I agreed with what Mohd said that the US law will not allowed any vehicles found to have defects that may caused death or injuries to be allowed on the road irrespectively what car brand until recall to fix the problem is enforced or implemented . In this case TOYOTA.

Most Toyota are bread and butter cars for manys simply it is cheaper to own and more economical to run about ( smaller Toyota models only !). Toyota cars does not portrait a luxury image that comes with comfort, safety, endurance, performance and quality but only simply reliability. For your info most modern cars are very reliable nowadays and not only TOYOTA.

I disagree with what ELWW78 said about poor towkey and lower liner Millionaires owning a Toyota having no time to fix the defect but rather be death or take a chance owning a T since they are so busy each day. I believe most upmarket Towkays or Millionaires who value their lives more do not drive a T or own a T , that why they is no need for them to be of concerned.

TOYOTA cannot move Forward until the confidence level of their cars or products in the future making are proven once again without further defects . This would be a long haul to climb back .

Mind you Malaysian lifes are equally precious if not on Par with that of the USA and Euorpeans and would not take risk owning a TOYOTA . No matter what honesty TOYOTA apologise had come . bear in mind those deaths or injuries caused by TOYOTA cars defects cannot have their loves one being replaced once again. Can they?

Have we forgotten that MITSUBISHI CARS also did a cover up on their car defects for safety reasons without recalls previously . In the end , Mitsubishi Cars were not as popular as once , one good example , the Mitsubishi Cars plant in Adelaide , Australia was closed down due to bad sales thereafter.

Most Europeans and USA cars manufacturers will immediately recalls their cars if any defects is being detected as a precautionary measures to avoid accidents driven by the users .

In this case , does any other japanese cars manufacturers besides TOYOTA ever really practise mass recalls or make known to the public that there is a defects in their cars?

may be some and may be NO. If any recalls does comes , it is will be tarnishing their brand images in which they will hesitant to do or force to do so till last minutes.

The questions still remain unanswer in our mind now as how reliable , trouble free and durable are these days Japanese Cars given the current investigation going on into Japanese cars .

For Safety, Quality and Longetivity , Europeans cars wins hand down on over the Japanese cars not forgetting the prestige or premium tags that comes along with it.

Japanese cars wins had down over European cars for their cheaper Bread and Butter cars in which lower income groups can afford to own a brand new cars without hassle. Then the Prestige or premium tag cannot be mentioned on the same breadth and, depth compare to any Europeans cars.

IN CONCLUSION even TOYOTA cars does have flairs and defects in their vehicles . All cars produced by human factors are not perfect after all.

So I would not praise TOYOTA cars as some senseless does .

• Do Malaysian T models also affected by these?

• Very sad story of toyota..I wonder which automaker will teplace toyota..like european cars..but the price really expensive!

• Low Sin Sum on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:11 pm

Paul,

I have been reading your blog with great interest for some time. My brother own a 1994 Toyota Camry. According to him, he has experienced sticky pedal for a few time (It's very scary!). However, UMW claim that Malaysia version of Toyota does not have the same problem as in USA and Europe. Please advise.

Best Regards,

Simon Low

• Yes Paul, my colleague drives a Corolla Altis (>5 yrs model) and when i told her abt Toyota's gas pedal and carpet problem she said she had also encountered her pedal being stuck in the carpet… so what can be done? Can she send her Altis back to UMW to get them to fix or change it coz UMW has not offered any recall at all and still claims their local models are not affected? Pls advise! (I believe ppl in our country are less vocal and thus all the unheard problems which most probably have occurred and not brought up)

• one eye close??

• Alvin on Feb 25, 2010 at 10:16 am

Peter i not totally agree with what you said.in this case toyota response was too slow the pedal problem have been detect on years 2006 but toyota didnt make any action till recently!!& i dont think toyota was responsible.if they have quickly repsonse this case,i think it will save a lot of life !

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/8529950.stm

check this passenger was kill on their rented lexus.

http://business.timesonline.co.uk/tol/business/in…