Ford adds 203 PS turbo inline-4 to Mondeo!

Ford has announced a few updates to its cars in conjunction with the Geneva show that’s coming up very soon at the end of this month. First, the Kuga’s 2.0 litre Duratorq TDCi engine has been updated to a new model that produces 163 PS instead of the 136 PS version that it previously had. This brings down the car’s 0 to 100km/h acceleration time from 10.7 seconds down to 9.6 seconds.

Next, the Mondeo gets a new 2.0 litre Ford EcoBoost SCTi 4-cylinder petrol engine that makes a very nice 203 PS. It comes standard with the 6-speed Powershift twin clutch transmission. Ford doesn’t really say if this engine replaces anything in the Mondeo engine line-up but looking at power output, it slots neatly between the 2.3 litre Duratec HE with 161 PS and the Volvo-sourced 2.5 litre 5-cylinder Duratec with 220 PS. The 2.0 litre Duratorq engine in the Mondeo also gets the new 163 PS model, which means the Mondeo 2.0 TDCi is now available in three power outputs – 115 PS, 140 PS and the new 163 PS. The range topping diesel Mondeo is the 2.2 litre Duratorq making 175 PS.

I wonder if the fact that Ford has squeezed at least 163 PS out of their 2.0 litre Duratorq engine means that we can do the same with our Focus TDCi with some rechipping. That would be quite an interesting take on an actual affordable ‘hot hatch’ for Malaysia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:18 pm

lovely…

• dukenborg on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:21 pm

Will this herald the day when diesel finally trumps petrol in the acceleration game?

• Paul Tan on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:25 pm

I would be seriously interested in doing a shootout between a rechipped Ford Focus TDCi versus a Mk6 Golf GTI, including comparing in terms of costs! Doubt a Focus TDCi with a rechip would cost as much as a Mk6 GTI.

• droll on Feb 19, 2010 at 9:28 pm

http://www.ecu-chip.com/products/ford.htm has a page that shows what a recipped TDCi 2.0 can deliver. an additional 25bhp and 47Nm of torque. that's good for 161bhp and 367Nm. i'm willing to bet that it will out accelerate the gti while it is in its powerband (probably up to 3000rpm).

• droll on Feb 19, 2010 at 9:31 pm

btw, this other page http://www.dcptuning.com/car-ecu-remap-engine-map… shows 166bhp and 380nm. i think the 2.0 Duratorq tune that Ford has achieved isn't too far off with what aftermarket tuners are doing.

• mitlanevo on Feb 19, 2010 at 9:47 pm

FORD FOREVER!!!

• theanswer on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:20 pm

last nite watched casino royale on tv..bond drive ford mondeo..looks superb..i mean the car..

• look like persona at this side…huhu

• nabill on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:56 pm

seems diesels really respond to ecu tuning and chipping compare to petrols….any idea why? does it mean factory settings are very conservative?

• dukenborg on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:21 pm

A shootout between a re-chipped TDCi Focus & its arch-nemesis the Golf GTi! I'd like to see that too Paul! Maybe make it a quarter mile drag, & burn some rubber on the tarmac just for fun! Then round the track to compare the kinematics!

• tokmoh on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Err… Paul, Focus diesel vs Golf GTI petrol? The Focus doesn't sound performance-ish, but more economical for sure.

• Paul Tan on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Doesn't "sound" performanceish? That's just prejudice. Focus drive and handling outclasses all c segment competitors to me.

• Choon on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:55 pm

I seconds Paul for this – Focus TDCi has a lot of potential… The handling and suspension feels a lot better than last Petrol Focus, I love it :)!

With such price, I have no complaints…Just too bad their parts is priced relatively – too high!

I once need to replace new rear viper handler, they quoted me RM280+ while I manage to find RM 40+ outside! I wish they can revise all the part price, that would gives the car better second hand value.

BTW, General re-chip of any turbo car is around RM 2,500 using unichip, while Golf GTi ECU remap might cost RM4K+ but without any bulgy piggy back "chip"…which is much better :)

• The Loner on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:05 am

But watch out our Diesel fuel sold. Without proper care on the engine will cost you dreadfully on maintenance & repair

• Paul Tan on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:31 am

Even Volkswagen has a Golf GTD with 170 PS and 350Nm of torque.

http://paultan.org/2009/03/28/volkswagen-golf-gtd…

• droll on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:17 am

diesel engines are starting to get scary nowadays. 2.0 turbo diesels can easily hit the bhp output of a naturally aspirated 2.0 engine while giving you massive amounts of torque and incredible mileage – something petrol engines can only dream of.

• arcana on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:47 am

i think comparing the focus TDCi with a golf GTD would sound right as compared to golf GTI as mentioned earlier…..

• klaka seram on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:56 am

Paul, keep us updated with the shootout. Very interesting :)

• tokmoh on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:13 am

My concern is abt petrol vs diesel, which I think is unfair comparison. Performance-wise, I think Golf GTI>Focus TDCi. But f/c-wise, Focus TDCi>Golf GTI. IMHO, some things cannot change… diesel will always be… 'different' than petrol. Diesel tech may hv advanced, but so has petrol.

To compare Focus diesel with a Golf diesel is more right :) I'd pick the blue oval badge. In white :D

The petrol rival from Ford for Golf GTI is perhaps the Focus ST, or Focus RS.

• tokmoh on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:18 am

Of cuz, I believe Focus TDCi is still pretty quick, and handling is legendary, but what I meant earlier by not being performanceish is that it pales when compared to Golf GTI.

• Paul Tan on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:26 am

How can we say all that without pitting them head to head first? U may have preconceived ideas about where the two cars stand but I prefer to test

and find out for myself whether a diesel hot hatch can match a petrol powered one, especially the "king of the hill" gti.

• mr_3m on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:41 am

i agree with Paul here… the shoot out is meant to see which car can give you better performance per pound or ringgit… not outright performance/handling alone… you all know the GTI MK6 is RM210k, and the Focus TDCi even with rechipping will not be more than RM140k…

so let the shoot out begins…

• danielhashim on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:57 am

lame duck goes to malaysia,huhuhu,plain jane,lack vigour and lastly

bmw wannabe.only cotton heads drive this car

• mr_3m on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:25 am

danielhashim said,

February 19, 2010 @ 8:57 pm

lame duck goes to malaysia,huhuhu,plain jane,lack vigour and lastly

bmw wannabe.only cotton heads drive this car

———————————————————

typical BMW driver mentality???

• dukenborg on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:18 am

Agree with Choon that wiper blades for Focus is priced too high! Luckily its banana wipers allow for changing just the wiper liner, so choose a silicon wiper from any accessory shop & viola! Ford Malaysia please take note!

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:56 pm

I always had a soft spot for the new focus…its just that even now, we just don't have the drivetrain that matches its chassis…and whats with Ford not bringing in thier estates since they are CBU'ing them anyway?

Really tempted to buy a cheap used AD Resort and stuffing a SR20VE in it.

• Calvin Wong on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:34 pm

Hi. Can any one tell me where I can do ECU remap for Ford Ranger XLT? Thanks>