FPT to showcase 2-cylinder turbo at Geneva

Fiat’s powertrain division FPT will be introducing its two-cylinder engine at Geneva early next month. At first I thought FPT was the first to bring back the two-cylinder engine back to cars in this modern times but then I remembered that Tata did it first with the 35 horsepower Bosch-powered 2-cylinder 624cc engine in the Nano.

The TWIN-AIR 2-cylinder engine will produce 85 horsepower via turbocharging, and it is part of a new range of small engines producing from 65 horsepower to 105 horsepower. The engine’s CO2 emissions are rated at 95g/km. At Geneva, it will be installed in a Fiat 500, and a production 500 with this engine will be launched in ‘next July’ (does this mean July 2010 or 2011?). It consumes 15% less fuel and has 25% more power than an 8 valve 1.2 litre, while comparisons with a 16 valve 1.4 litre shows a savings of 30% and the same performance.

In terms of installation space, the engine is 23% shorter and 10% lighter. Fiat says because of its small size, the engine is very suitable to be coupled with a motor-assist or mild hybrid type of electric motor positioned between the engine and the transmission. This way the motor will be able to further improve economy via harvesting wasted energy through brake energy regeneration and using the same energy to help the TWIN-AIR engine through electric motor assist.

Look after the jump for Fiat’s full press release and more pix.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=866]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hYbriDMAN on Feb 25, 2010 at 10:11 pm

2 cylinder turbo??

I thought 2 cylinder engine will never be turbocharged coz there will be a problem with turbo lag…anyway..nice work fiat..:-]

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Feb 25, 2010 at 10:36 pm

first.?

I heard lesser number of cylinder in an engine will cause the engine not running smoothly and more vibration than a higher number of cylinder engine.

Right??

• Mysticmind on Feb 25, 2010 at 10:50 pm

Now we see what should it be IF MV Agusta not sold yet again. Sigh…

Future technology are Small engine,high output +durability.

Forced induction with forced strenght and 'forced' lifespan.

• odi862 on Feb 25, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Maybe we can expect a compact hybrid car from this. I might want one for commuting to work if the price and design are ok. 1st?

• chaku on Feb 25, 2010 at 11:41 pm

agree w mysticmind. This is the reason y proton bought MV agusta. Proton wanted to develop small yet powerfull engine. Unfortunately after a lot of critics, especially from rakyat, Proton hv to let go mvagusta.

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 26, 2010 at 3:38 am

chaku said,

February 25, 2010 @ 3:41 pm

agree w mysticmind. This is the reason y proton bought MV agusta. Proton wanted to develop small yet powerfull engine. Unfortunately after a lot of critics, especially from rakyat, Proton hv to let go mvagusta.

—————————————–

i think not. it was piss poor management by mahaleel

• i think pak l*h give decision to sell MV agusta..damn stupid oldman, just follow his son in law said..

• bmpower on Feb 26, 2010 at 5:33 am

chaku said,

February 25, 2010 @ 3:41 pm

I second that, agreed too.

There's also about human mentality. Poor and typical citizen just didn't see the big picture. They don't see the vision, more pity is they just blinded by japanese brand.

Most common people just see what their both eyes see. They don't see beyond that.

• nabill on Feb 26, 2010 at 6:37 am

watever hapened to that cam-less engine introduced by fiat abt last year?

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 26, 2010 at 8:12 pm

does fiat still use that 100HP FIRE engine?

• moha377 on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:51 am

It seems that many still not forget what Proton really missed by selling MV Agusta….including me…poor Proton…

• littlefire on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:23 pm

But still, MV agusta is a motorcycle company. We are not as big as Honda or Yamaha company. So why bought a losing money company at first? Dont tell me, u buy MV agusta for it's engine technology and throw anything away? U need to pump in more money not just take and go…

Besides that, their engine are design for motorcycle at first and not cars. So u will need more R&D to turn it into car engine… Talk is cheap..

• opaque on Feb 28, 2010 at 4:12 am

i think if u watch disc turbo abt mv augusta, u will realise that their r&d is abt increasing the power output from the same engine. by funding new small engime im sure with lotus eng they can develop similar tech.

• these protonbasher still dont answer the simple question……

is the power windows & other quality problems in proton car can really causing fatal accident like what the "prestigious & high-quality" toyota had did??????stucked accelaration pedal is 1thing…….even in malaysia there was already complain about failing steering rack of new toyota vios which only clocks no more than 10000 mileage…just read the "hot" stuff on utusan Konsumer

basher will always be basher….

• mechanical (Member) on Mar 01, 2010 at 3:53 pm

2 stroke engine in the car..fiat dare to change, it is good..

I think after this "mat rempit" will be confused, "is it sounds of a YAMAHA RXZ or 125Z" ?? hahahahahaha

• Paul Tan on Mar 01, 2010 at 10:25 pm

its not 2 stroke, just 2 cylinders but with 4 stroke

• keyboard.rosak on Mar 02, 2010 at 1:04 am

it's just a 2cylinder engine on their previous MultiAir engine
    http://paultan.org/2009/03/10/fiat-reveals-a-new-…