US customers “come back” to Toyota in March

US customers “come back” to Toyota in MarchToyota has built up a well earned reputation for quality and reliability over the years, and while the current recalls and safety issues it’s facing might have dented the rep, there remains many happy and loyal customers in the US who aren’t swayed by the vicious, political mileage seeking elected reps, media outlets that are always sniffing around for a good story and suspicious new cases of unstoppable cars cropping up at a fast rate.

Toyota sales for the first two months of 2010 has been understandably down (by 10% in February) but 0% financing, subsidised leases and free maintenance incentives introduced for March has proven to be effective. For the first eight days of this month, North American sales surged about 50%, the Associated Press reported. Analysts forecast a 30% bounce for the full month as initial excitement tapers off.

“Incentives work best in the early going, but they start to peter out as the month goes along,” Edmunds senior analyst Jessica Caldwell said. “That’s why it’s important for Toyota to find something else in the months ahead.”

George Magliano, director of North American auto research for IHS Global Insight in New York, said Toyota quickly attracted loyalists who had deferred buying until an incentive was offered. But the offers won’t help for long, he said. “This will boost sales a little bit, but it’s not going to continue beyond this month. They’re still wrestling with the recalls and new reports of problems.”

But when heads are down, any form of encouragement is valuable, and Toyota will be heartened by this development.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Toyota people are th on Mar 12, 2010 at 11:58 pm

Why do they still buy Toyotas despite its controversy? Toyota is just a corporation simply wants to make money and couldn't care less about its customer's safety or life for that matter.

• "Suicidal BLIND" happy & loyal customer

• xenogearz on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:24 am

I wished that the recall had affected Malaysia's Toyota cars as well. Then, we could have also enjoyed 0% financing and free maintenance incentives from UMW.

• Agreed!

• Vbkcheng on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:39 am

8 days sales up already declare as customer given back the confident?

For me, it is more on the game to safe their share market price lar…

• initial R on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:47 am

Toyota people are the worst drivers said,

March 12, 2010 @ 3:58 pm

————————————————–

Coz of the brand "Toyota". Ppl still blind with the brand….

• SaLeS aDViSor on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:48 am

if they want to recovered their reputation, they should practice like hyundai, 5years/300,000km warranty…. thats what i call sincere…..

• 4G63tDSM on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:49 am

Actually if you stayed in North America long enough, you'd understand that recalls are very common.

People understand that you are re-calling to fix a safety issue.

They still make great cars albeit very boring.

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:57 am

Toyota people are the worst drivers said,

March 12, 2010 @ 3:58 pm

Yeah right? As if Proton "care" about its customer too. Let the 25 years "excellent" record complaints speaks for itself. Haha. This is a very shallow argument. Try commenting much better idea next time will ya!

The power of brand and long term quality assurance. Toyota is one of the best car manufacturer in the world. Small things like that wouldn't effect them at all. Go to USA ask them, wanna buy a Proton car? Errr? What's that? Sounds like some nerdy brand with power window issue. LOL!

• john joe on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:57 am

if they dont care why they recall?

• I dont agree. If they dont care about safety, would you find Airbags, ABS, EBD,VSC and etc in their models? Even J-spec Vios which is the lowest entry of the whole range has ABS/EDB as standard. Just a minor problem effecting it doesnt make they care less about it. They have done well and i hope other car makers realise the importance of passanger safety.

• Even Toyota Japan let alone US Toyota should LEARN from Toyota Malaysia as UMW Toyota never had any recall issues, UMW T the best in Toyota world.

Malaysia UMW Toyota Boleh.

PS: Is Malaysians' live cheaper than left-hand drive Toyota market? Why Saudi or any Mideast market don't cry foul over latest recall?

• Mysticmind on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:06 am

Actually, there's another 2 case SAP in USA IN THIS WEEK.

1 – prius SAP in US hiway, lucky saved by patrol car 'force' braking infront of the car. something like that.

2 – In new york city, a granma.

lucky both still alive.

#1st victim said, there's no way you can shift to N while the SAP happen.

malaysia toyota dhf, just go die with your deathly T. nothing can stop you to die with ur love one.

• kopi-man on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:12 am

If you understand the standard that USA set for the cars, you will understand why Proton is not even able to enter the market. Don't talk about recall, most Proton cars don't even meet the basic crash standards.

Now you will see who's life is cheaper.

• alpha999 on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:25 am

haha…..due sticky pedal, drop 10 %, but due to insentitves, up 50%

very impressive recovery, most likely top seller for 2010

go toyota

• totot112 on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:27 am

kopi-man said,

March 12, 2010 @ 5:12 pm

If you understand the standard that USA set for the cars, you will understand why Proton is not even able to enter the market. Don’t talk about recall, most Proton cars don’t even meet the basic crash standards.

Now you will see who’s life is cheaper.

————————————————————

Yup agree on that statement. Eventhough last time proton do make Left hand car and sell it to some Left hand drive market but was cut off due to every year the International Safety regulation keep getting tighter and tighter. So some manufacturer won't be able to get in easily.

Proton may be able to do get into their market with the later newer model which possible to meet the minimum requirement.

• rexis on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:30 am

It is similar to when Proton offer discount to the old Saga. For such a krap kar people also rush to buy it.

Toyota, after all, is still Toyota. Btw, you need to be good at marketing to stay on top, not technology.

• staff on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:35 am

SY0H,

again, dont forget my book title for you…

"POWER WINDOW FAILURE: A TRUE STORY"…

hahaha… Lame, keep bringing same old issue…

• c14man on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:55 am

kopi-man said,

If you understand the standard that USA set for the cars, you will understand why Proton is not even able to enter the market. Don’t talk about recall, most Proton cars don’t even meet the basic crash standards.

Well said !! For those who say people who buy Toyota are risking their lives, or worse still, Proton drivers who say Toyota buyers are risking their lives, i think you are making a sarcasm to Proton. =p

Many many many Malaysians have, are, and will continue to risk their lives because they have no choice but to buy Proton. Dont tell me those people buying Proton are not risking their lives. Hahaha… what a joke!!!

Dont talk bout high tech safety features, a simple knock using your knuckle to Proton and Toyota cars will tell you how thick of metal are used in both cars.

Wake up people !!

Those who are thinking Toyota are making less reliable cars because of this recall are obviously blindly led by the media…

Recalls are made to ensure other cars dont suffer from the same problem, and to prevent it from happening. THEY RECALL BECAUSE THEY CARE !

Try complaining to Proton… They will tell you "Ah, ini perkara biasa la… Proton mesti ini macam punya la.. apa you expect?". Worse still "Itu model Proton (referring to other model than yours) pun ada masalah sama"…. -_-lll

• choseon on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:57 am

hehe! toyota days are numbered.

nippon auto industry going bankrupt very soon!!!

nippon cars diehard fans beware!!!

• huhu…and here they increase the price to cover there…haha….malaysian got conned again and again….kah kah kah kah

• i'm waiting for Proton recalls.. yes, i'm waiting..

• ahamay on Mar 13, 2010 at 2:40 am

Any parts may fail on a Toyota except the engine because the engine are designed and made by Yamaha.

• langatian on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:08 am

haha..

its all about

CAPITALISM!!!!

All must realize it!

• BMW M-Problem on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:41 am

I STILL WILL BUY TOYOTA…… WHAT DO YOU EXPECT TO BUY CONTI CARS…

CONTI CARS ARE WORSE THAN JAP. PROBLEMATIC……DEFECTIVE BY DESIGN..

• at the end they've paid with their own money… same like me la… they decided the best from what they've seen… who care unless u buy for them… so respect la other people…

• Wake up people !!!…. Nobody believes that toyota sales are up 50%. They are masters at "spinning" the facts. They have spent millions on lobbyists , advertisements and are underwriters of the news media. It is true that the domestic car makers did have quality problems in the past but not anymore… toyota has masterfully created the perception that their cars are better. Go take a look now at the domestic auto makers……Let the best car win !!!!!!!!!!!!!

• acerman on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:26 am

People buy cars as within their budget. If they have big money surely they will buy more expensive cars like BMW 7 series, Merc SLk or others, for some it ain't gonna happen. These 'some' have no choice but to buy proton cars and perodua cars. These cars are cheap and some of you out there would not even know that these Proton and Perodua car owners actually bought two or three houses. I have many friends. Most of them drives P1 and P2, and most of them have more than two houses. They can see their future actually. What say U?

• oomph on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:29 am

This is not about Proton, let's distinguish the issue.

The issue here is Toyota cars quality going south..to the extend that endangering consumers life.

Still some die hard fans defending Toyota..wait till they get class action amounting billions in the US. Some lawyers already working on it. Then we could see how negligible Toyota has been..despite saying safety in their motto.

• why some of u guys juz so stupid??? Did you know actually the case already happenned for while time…the giant-toyota juz settle it undertable & let it happen & happened again…then they notice the trouble & hav to recall after the incident happend widely & force by the goverment.

So did you guys still think tat'scall got responsibility?

Stupid…go buy the deathly car la…if blind of car brand….

Nowadays,if you say buy a toyota becoz of budget, i can accept, but if u say toyota still is the best…., then i wnna say..wtf..you are idiot!!

• bmpower on Mar 13, 2010 at 9:12 am

yes. toyota sales are back in.

they buy their own car! that's it!

• subhero on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:27 pm

kopi-man said,

most of the car manufacturer has set their export car for several country.

which is include (what i read & understand lah)

1. 1st class country (Negara2 Maju)

2. 2nd Class Country ( Negara2 membangun)

3. 3rd class country ( Negara2 bermasalah)

so dats y thier mark their car with UK spec, US spec, Asian Spec. coz every spec have the diffrent quality including the safety issue.

BUT its doesnt mean. whos drive and sit inside PROTON risking their live. so if like dats why our PM's agree to sit in their perdana V6's? is it Perdana making by TOYOTA?. HONDA?.

its depending on who the driver. NOT the brand of the car. i do agree with

c14man said,

( Wake up people !!

Those who are thinking Toyota are making less reliable cars because of this recall are obviously blindly led by the media…

Recalls are made to ensure other cars dont suffer from the same problem, and to prevent it from happening. THEY RECALL BECAUSE THEY CARE !

Try complaining to Proton… They will tell you “Ah, ini perkara biasa la… Proton mesti ini macam punya la.. apa you expect?”. Worse still “Itu model Proton (referring to other model than yours) pun ada masalah sama”…. -_-lll )

so U kopi man. please open up ur mind. dont put ur head bawah tempurung.

we are HUMAN. no HUMAN will be terlepas doing a problem. if u always condem our proton product. u are labeling the bad things for Malaysians now proton its not like proton 10 years before maa..

now in H-line product so many features in the car. EBD, ABS, TWIN AIRBAG, LOTUS HANDLING, LEATHER SIT, GPS, . So, comparing to vios J spec?.. what the scrap on the road. people still buy it bcoz of the NAME. not the QUALITY. (ONLY for J spec.)

so kopi man?… is it vios J spec sell in US? next time u compare with other branding car. coz im using the PROTON . and i believe many here are using PROTON. myb including U?

its just my cents :)

• subhero on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:38 pm

i dont understand why this issue they are comparing with proton?.

its never relate with proton. proton are make by malaysia. not Japan.

its to far between malaysia and japan. 6hours by flight. 6months by car. so ?

i dont understand lah.

BUT the good things is!!. PROTON never call for RECALL for their export product in between 3 years.. including local product. so whos the best now?

like nabil RL2 said : "LPS" or in long word (LU PIKIRLAH SENDIRI)

• please gov decrease on Mar 13, 2010 at 4:04 pm

walaupun Toyota baru2 ni mungkin kurang berkualiti sebabkan masalah recall tapi kena ingat pada masa sama jenama2 terkemuka lain spt GM ( chevrolet ), Honda, Volkswagen, Hyundai juga recall kereta masing2 malah bukan sahaja di US, tapi di China, pasaran kereta penumpang terbesar dunia semenjak 2009. Tpi saya kagum dengan Toyota sebab dia tak lari dari masalah dihadapi malah menari jalan pelbagai jalan memulihkan kembali kredibilitinya dan yg plg sy kagum kesediaan presiden toyota iaitu cucu kepada pengasas toyota untuk dtg ke US dan China dan negara2 lain mintak maaf kepada rakyat negara2 tersebut, buat diskusi khas bincang permasalahan. Saya da baca 1 artikel di China Car Times. Jualan Toyota nampaknya kembali pulih. Di China pasaran dikuasai oleh Volkswagen, GM selain pemain tempatan spt BYD dan Chery.

• Mysticmind on Mar 13, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Latest new one (yesterday) SAP victim is Norwegian, 170++kmh ram into guard rail. The front wheels just damage, he did stop the car after that (braking not by brake!) . Google yourself T blind supporters!.

http://www.vg.no/bil-og-motor/artikkel.php?artid=…

(use google translate to understand)

• Kontraktor on Mar 14, 2010 at 1:48 am

No Matter What Happen !!! I will still buy Toyota (forklift) only for my warehouse foreman use.

hehe!!!

• crash dummies on Mar 14, 2010 at 2:02 am

Mysticmind said,

March 13, 2010 @ 10:49 am

Latest new one (yesterday) SAP victim is Norwegian, 170++kmh ram into guard rail. The front wheels just damage, he did stop the car after that (braking not by brake!) . Google yourself T blind supporters!.
    http://www.vg.no/bil-og-motor/artikkel.php?artid=…
    (use google translate to understand)

—————————————————————-

Wow, car crashed onto guard rail at 170++km/h only front wheels damaged.

Must be super-duper Toyota's G-CON protects the car driver safely.

• jay_bp on Mar 14, 2010 at 3:14 am

subhero..

would you still buy proton if the price is the same with others (toyota, honda etc.) for the same segment car?

if yes, you are lying..if no, we already know why..

• Mr Paultan….may I know…do you have the data shows who are mostly view this website?

Most of the time….Proton will appear eventhough the main topic is about other maker.

:) Malaysia

• Tiadaid on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:14 am

jay_bp said,

March 13, 2010 @ 7:14 pm

subhero..

would you still buy proton if the price is the same with others (toyota, honda etc.) for the same segment car?

if yes, you are lying..if no, we already know why..

———-

For me, I would. And I'm talking from my experience owning a Honda, the so-called reliable brand.

• Kambing Gurun on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:19 pm

rexis said,

March 12, 2010 @ 5:30 pm

It is similar to when Proton offer discount to the old Saga. For such a krap kar people also rush to buy it.

===

At a price of 26,999, what did you expect from that car? I bought that car and it's a really nice car and easy to maintain. At least no SAP.

• stewpid (Member) on Mar 15, 2010 at 10:15 pm

arr? wth always related to protong in this article?

and why always ppl blindly back-up Toyota ass..

"Tapi saya kagum dengan Toyota sebab dia tak lari dari masalah dihadapi malah menari jalan pelbagai jalan memulihkan kembali kredibilitinya…bla,bla,bla" wt!

pleasse ar…

please read why this issue started… and going big news… Toyota never care you… they just stuck there becoz of ppl dying everyday on the US roads… before this they juz ignore and sweep the issue under the carpet. they being forced by the US gov.." if you not recall your car, we will kick you out from our market…" is that clear?