200 km/h rollercoaster at Ferrari World theme park!

Abu Dhabi is slowly but surely catching up with its showy sister emirate Dubai. It’s already a Formula 1 host, and later this year we’ll see the world’s largest indoor theme park and the first ever Ferrari theme park open its gates at Yas Island. The mega development covers the already in use racetrack, shops, hotels, thrill rides and everything else that will make it a “Disneyland” for the car enthusiast.

Unsurprisingly, everything here is the biggest or the fastest. The theme park’s red roof, which is supposed to be inspired by the side profile of the Ferrari car, shades over 2.15 million square feet and is imprinted with the largest Prancing Horse emblem ever made (66-metre diameter).

The star ride at Ferrari World will be the world’s fastest rollercoaster. Travelling at speeds “in excess of 200 km/h”, one doesn’t need to be in Alonso’s car to feel extreme G-force and wind on the face at 200 km/h. Passengers can expect to be launched over 62 m through the roof and back down again to replicate the F1 G-force experience. Another rollercoaster ride is the GT Racing Coaster which will have two “competing” cars racing along parallel tracks to the “finish line”. As you can see here, the car is a replica of a Ferrari F430 Spider with a cabin for four – another world’s first?

Those who attend the Abu Dhabi GP this year are bound to have a blast! More pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=969]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Peter on Mar 17, 2010 at 6:20 pm

I wana go there!

• wow very nice..but sure the ticket will be pricey..

• kaskas on Mar 17, 2010 at 6:23 pm

damn cool!!! 1st

• stroller on Mar 17, 2010 at 6:24 pm

surely these sheikh are die hard fan of ferrari team…

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Mar 17, 2010 at 6:26 pm

first.?

I wish to have a trip to Dubai and Abu Dhabi to see all of these grand construction

• omg….200km/h gotta try it someday!!!!!!

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 17, 2010 at 6:30 pm

200 km/h only?

• White Jack on Mar 17, 2010 at 6:36 pm

Wow crazy speed on RC !

Bolehland should build this since the cars here so expensive, we can only take the ride on RC :)

• Charger on Mar 17, 2010 at 6:41 pm

No drive-thru video of it? :D

• Wondering? on Mar 17, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Why only 200km+? I tot F1 cars on straight line go up to 320km/h or more. 200++ won't give you the real F1 experience!

Wondering what's the G forces F1 drivers are experiencing. Does the rollercoaster go close to this G-force level too?

• RH PumpkinKing on Mar 17, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Grrr…. I want it..

Maybe the should fit a steering wheel in the cabin to have more "shoik sendiri" feel. :D

• hahah! on Mar 17, 2010 at 6:49 pm

wah.. best la.. sronok dapat pegi.. tp jauh la..

• I want to go there!

• Nice

• malaysian on Mar 17, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Crazy Pak Arab….

• dongrik on Mar 17, 2010 at 7:02 pm

Arabs are expert on wasting their money… Millions people needs food around the world… they say, who cares!

• wat the………spectacular.

• krazyfacts (Member) on Mar 17, 2010 at 7:07 pm

Can't afford to buy one ,

just try this 'ferrari' rollercoaster would be enough.

LOL

• people on Mar 17, 2010 at 7:09 pm

wah cool man…

• The description "ït corners like it is on rails" has been taken literally ;)

• The description "ït corners like it is on rails" has been taken literally ;) Pity thay don't make F1 replica rail cars.

• linear_system on Mar 17, 2010 at 7:15 pm

sure cost alot to be in this theme park..since got "ferrari" on the name..

• droll on Mar 17, 2010 at 7:15 pm

aaaaaaaah, the things you can do with too much money…….

• GILAA

• Bigsby on Mar 17, 2010 at 7:22 pm

Awesome stuff. This place is huge. Despite having a reletivly lower roof, you can see the structure from Abu Dhabi's main highway. The red oozes out like blood in the dessert. Lovely.

• Kevin Lee on Mar 17, 2010 at 7:32 pm

sounds like a wonderland dream for the kiddies like us

• Coooooooolllllllllllll!

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 17, 2010 at 7:39 pm

Enjoy it while stocks last ( the oil that is), another great marketing by the west enterpreneurs.

• Wheeluser is a stoop on Mar 17, 2010 at 7:54 pm

what a waste of money…very stupid

• Muahahahahahahah

i will be going soon.

i get free tickets every year to fly around the world.

So this time it will be Abu Dhabi.

• "200 km/h only?"

Try driving at 200 km/h while your head is out the window. That's some scary shit. =)

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 17, 2010 at 8:04 pm

Wow, a petrolheads dream vacation. Rich petrolheads that is…

So, any planned 'study visits' here? :-P

• Black Dog on Mar 17, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Awesome! My next destination!

Datuk Fernandes, quickly get landing rights there!

• ojlee on Mar 17, 2010 at 8:16 pm

200km/h = ??? G force

• just me on Mar 17, 2010 at 8:39 pm

how about the ticket price?

hopefully its affordable…

• The amount of speed doesn't determine G-Force. What determines it is the change in the speed. Eg. from 100 km/h to 20 km/h in less than 2 seconds.

• aqeel iman on Mar 17, 2010 at 9:03 pm

I'm speechless……wow….

• here the link to people who dont know bout g-force

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G-force

"This top-fuel dragster can accelerate from zero to 160 kilometres per hour (100 mph) in 0.86 seconds. This is an acceleration of 5.3 g" – wiki

• Jeffrey Chew on Mar 17, 2010 at 9:19 pm

Moron Coaster!! 200km/h w/o roof or windshield???

• complaining 200kmh only? if driving in car is nothing but u imagine your riding coaster with no roof and not straight road 1, got slope up and down and turn summore la. fikir fikir la

• bryan.jones on Mar 17, 2010 at 9:56 pm

went there last month as a vendor before testing the new cayenne at yas circuit beside it.. finger cross for launching ceremony invitation..

• bryan.jones on Mar 17, 2010 at 9:57 pm

jeffrey, helmet will be provided… more games inside it..

• Squawk on Mar 17, 2010 at 10:01 pm

Pure indulgence.

• King Samurai on Mar 17, 2010 at 10:48 pm

G-Force = you feel it when 'kecut perut' kicks in…LOL..

Mau pergi sana tapi wang teda…

• S.Roma on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:07 pm

200 km?

shit so fast !

how bout its acceleration? can we fell the 4.0 sec from 0 – 100 kmh? this one is supercar category…

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:23 pm

Hope Top Gear will make a feature here soon

• Remember to apply sun block lotion with max SPF to protect from the deadly UV rays from the sun.

• raybrig on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Bang Tony, how about try set up Lotus roller coaster world theme park in Sepang circuit..

• G-Force on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:58 pm

200km/h without roof and with fast turning will cause you a hell of experience, I don't think normal people like us can withstand it with our neck…manatau ur head oso can cabut :P.

Read this link…interesting

http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2005/mar/03/thi…

• theanswer on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:05 am

200kmh? considering that this 'car' moves on a rail up,down left right..turn immediately..yes it's scary!

• Porsche has the biggest automobile museum, the Porsche Museum and now Ferrari challenges it with the world's biggest indoor theme park!!..cool~

• wohoo on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:50 am

Porsche museum in Germany….built in home country…but Ferrari (Italy) built in Dubai?? A lot of fuel and oil i guess….all these rides sucks all the resources there like H2O in order to achieve 200km/h…lol

• MoFaz on Mar 18, 2010 at 2:10 am

Arabs export more than 10 million barrel of oils everyday. that's US $284,800,000,000 per year. let them enjoy the money.

• awesome….gotta go at least once before i kaput..

• maxtek on Mar 18, 2010 at 6:12 am

Eh, where's Proton's themepark ah?

• MyArabicPride on Mar 18, 2010 at 7:53 am

why is everyone so pissed off when they hear that arabs have made something good ? i mean i was reading the comments and so many of them were just plain mean and rude.

u people r stupid .. all of you… your all dumb ! face it malaysians u suck ! and u'll always be misrable kampung villagers !!! let your jealousy kill you !

• "@ MyArabicPride"

Look who's being 'mean' and 'rude'

• wohoo said,

all these rides sucks all the resources there like H2O in order to achieve 200km/h??

________

i thought its a roller coaster? Roller coaster runs on gravity not Ferrari engines. Pls pls do correct me if im wrong.

come on if Disney land say wana open a new theme park u guys wont say waste of money.. Ferrari opens one and u says its a waste? Just take this as an Adult version of a theme park. no more stupid mouse duck or any other cute and cuddly animals. not one but only The Prancing Horse! Oh yeah!

• I wish i can test drive ferarri there..huhu

• stupid…200km only…have u ever try opening the window at 180km….

• Hdriver on Mar 18, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Impressive.!!! Are we having a Proton theme park as well? hahaha….

• wochomi on Mar 18, 2010 at 7:38 pm

Yes, Proton Theme Park in Tanjung Malim. There's a circuit where u can race your GTi (best car proton ever made) and also a Godzilla theme rollercoaster with SAVY as the cart to test the cabin strength against the monster stompings.

• Manglish AUH on Mar 18, 2010 at 8:55 pm

The ticket's gonna be very expensive..

• MyArabicPride on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:56 am

@Tim.. get ready to be punchen back when u punch someone ,dude !

• Hameed Koyakuti on Mar 22, 2010 at 5:27 pm

This is f**kin awesome dude….Forza Ferrari!!! Yalla Sayarah Ferrari!!!

• 200km/h on roller coasters ? bloody hell…!!!

• Fahmi on Mar 25, 2010 at 8:03 pm

TAK DAPAT BELI FERARR, NAIK ROLLER COASTER FERRARI PUN JADILAH…HAHAHAHA

• rewlie on Apr 08, 2010 at 9:05 pm

200kmh on roller coaster is damn fast, no roof, no windshield and no doors! Some more, if they really want to apply real F1 G’s experience, they will build the launching pad based on 270 degree downwards, means you hop in on flat 180 degree rail, then straight away they throw you down to 270 degree rail.

Imagine the G’s that you will face, take that!

• Pena Maya on Jun 13, 2010 at 9:26 pm

this looks cool.